Tata Nexon Test Drive Review

I went in for another TD today with my family. 3 members in all (me tallest at 5'6", :p). All felt the same thing, but we also came to the conclusion that the driver seat has very less leg room width as well alongwith a lack of headroom (Though ofcourse there was a decent 4" of headroom left but in practice thats quite a lot less headroom compared to even Baleno). Basically my left knee was hitting the side of grand console and right knee was hitting the panel on the door panel.

Ofcourse if I buy it, I am sure I will be able to adjust to the cabin size but at this moment I feel that why should I need to adjust while buying a new car.

If you are comparing Nexon cabin with Accord then you won't be satisfied as accord is three segments above and got good space even in that segment. However if compare it with the segment then you will find the space enough.

Why would I compare it with Accord? That will be simply illogical for me to do. I am comparing it with every other car in its price range but since I also own a baleno so more specifically to that. After coming out of Tata showroom, I directly compared with Duster, Ecosports and Creta since these were the other brands in the same vicinity. Infact I have taken TD of Verna, Brezza, Ecosports, Duster, S-Cross, Ciaz, Corolla Altis and have not faced similar issue in any of these cars.

Well, perception is absolutely a personal thing. [:)]

Still, I should suggest that you should not compare Baleno with Nexon as these two are completely different cars (type wise). Secondly, your (and the members of your family) perception will greatly be influenced by the experience you have with your present car. If you are using a Honda City and try Nexon, you are bound to find Nexon cramped. On the other hand, a person using Honda Brio would find Nexon roomy enough. So, are you sure that your judgment is not getting influenced by your present experience, which I suspect, as your present wheels are Honda Accord, a mid-sized sedan, if I remember correctly, and that's a very spacious car indeed.

Finally, may I inquire whether you are heavily buiilt or not (if you wish, you may ignore this question, and I wouldn't mind)?
From all the reviews from Professionals and mild enthusiasts on the forums, it seems my experience is a bit unique, whereas I have 3 more people who went with me who infact are now more adamant than me to drop Nexon. Let me also point out what these people drive. Maybe it will help someone.
1) Friend (5'11") drives a Swift - Slim built
2) Me (5'6") - drives Accord - Heavy Built
3) Brother in Law (5'7") - drives Wagon-R - Slim Built
4) Wife (5'4") - drives Baleno - Medium Built

Just to add we did play around with seat height and steering tilt but ofcourse not for a long time.

Thread Starter #48
Why would I compare it with Accord? That will be simply illogical for me to do. I am comparing it with every other car in its price range but since I also own a baleno so more specifically to that. After coming out of Tata showroom, I directly compared with Duster, Ecosports and Creta since these were the other brands in the same vicinity. Infact I have taken TD of Verna, Brezza, Ecosports, Duster, S-Cross, Ciaz, Corolla Altis and have not faced similar issue in any of these cars.

From all the reviews from Professionals and mild enthusiasts on the forums, it seems my experience is a bit unique, whereas I have 3 more people who went with me who infact are now more adamant than me to drop Nexon. Let me also point out what these people drive. Maybe it will help someone.
1) Friend (5'11") drives a Swift - Slim built
2) Me (5'6") - drives Accord - Heavy Built
3) Brother in Law (5'7") - drives Wagon-R - Slim Built
4) Wife (5'4") - drives Baleno - Medium Built

Just to add we did play around with seat height and steering tilt but ofcourse not for a long time.
My friend, at the end of the day, it's your money, so the choice is yours!

Good luck! [:)]

Today I did a small test drive of the Nexon Petrol here. It was drive of about 6 kms to and fro. Some of my observations based on this short Test Drive are as follows:

20171006_123355.jpg

20171006_122220.jpg

1) Petrol Engine is too small for this size of car in terms of capacity. The increased power and torque don't translate into a great driving experience. Turbo lag very evident. Where is that 170 Nm of Torque is my only question?

2) Acceleration in sports mode not really peppy.

3) NVH levels still are good.

4) In-City driving at best can be termed as average.

5) I shifted from Sports to City mode, there was a slight jerk too.

6) Transmission in petrol is not really well meshed. Could be a lot better.

7) Just about an average performer as far as Petrol engine is concerned.

8) My pick would any-day be the Diesel Nexon. Diesel Nexon is miles apart and ahead of Petrol Nexon in terms of performance.

9) If one drives the Petrol and Diesel Nexon back to back, I am sure, he/she shall be left asking for a more powerful performance from petrol one.

10) The one good thing though, I fell in love with the voice of Siri, "Sports mode activated".[glasses]

11) No Revetron badge on the engine cover like Tigor. Though there is small sticker placed in the hood which mentions "Petrol".

20171006_122411.jpg

20171006_122326.jpg

20171006_122356.jpg

20171006_123521.jpg

20171006_122530.jpg

A lot of discussions have been made in this thread. You see friends I have petrol 1.2 litr. Car. I never drove any diesel car. I saw the car today in a shopping mall today. It's look attracted me. Since my family is small I don't need space. But I drive my car. My question is how is clutch of this car in diesel version i.e heavy or light? How is the gear ? Butter smooth or hard? Is the ORVMs electrically adjustable? Driver seat height adjustable? Steering wheel tiltable and telescopic? Please help me on these matters and also advise whether driving ease is equal in petrol and diesel car.

OVRM I believe is electrically adjustable along with Driver seat height adjustment, atleast from mid variant. Steering is rake adjustable (Tiltable) and not reach adjustable (Telescopic). Experts please correct me if I am wrong. I think a look at the Nexon spec sheet should answer your query. The rest of your query are perception based and are individual specific. Hence only a TD will answer those query.

@Akash-nice crisp inputs. A question in general, why didnt Tata Motors use the 4 cylinder Revotron engine used in the Zest and boost the turbo to get better BHP/torque ? That could have perhaps improved the perceived lack of smoothness .

The variant list is a turn-off,
I did consider to buy a TATA , BUT.... well the car is not at all VFM, What I was looking for
And what I found out
1. Good Diesel Engine---OK
2. A good Music system with Reverse camera and Bluetooth with tel facility ---- Somewhat exists, even though the Music system is too Boomy like a boombox can be adjusted to ones likes/dislikes ---- will give ok (Touch screen Exists only in top variants (2-lakhs for that one piece is too much to bear)
3. Navigation, does not exist, Though TATA would say I can connect my phone and then load some app and then download map and all. I can do it with a Rs. 200 mobile holder stand on my old car (16 year old)
4. Rear seat armrest, THis is also present only in top variant. Can get one fitted with all bells and whistles including remote for ICE at local seat works for any car no big deaL bUT lessens the options value
So altogether you end up paying lakhs of rupees unnecessarily to get a rear arm rest and reverse camera, Also the XM trim is good but for lack of my necessary features, There is no way to upgrade the ICE without major modification due to totally crap dashboard layout (My opinion, But have seen FFord faceplates on sale on ebay, These face plates and fittings may come too, But well compared to Hondas, Fords, VW and Suzukis, I would say it may not. Can anyone say this car at this price will sell 100k numbers any time soon. Dont thik so.). Well did not see too many people looking for and queing up up for this at local dealer. Everyone I saw there was going rounds of Tiago. Most were asking SA about Tiago XZA. If there is a que for TATA nexon I'am out of TATA que. The Nexon miserably fails my VFM concept (except for the Diesel Engine). Just wisihng the same engine is plonked on another good car I saw there "TIGOR" (or even a ZEST?)

I did consider to buy a TATA , BUT.... well the car is not at all VFM,
I would like to disagree to what you are saying.May I know,which cars are more value for money as compared to nexon??Is ecosport or wrv or creta in your list??Kindly explain. But Please keep in mind the feature list in Nexon,before a fair comparison.

Sorry looks like you did not read the last lines, I'am not looking for a particular type of car, I said I would be happy to buy a TIGOR or Zest with the same diesel Engine....
As for feature list, I really dont care if the ICE is made by Harman or JBL, I can live with one from JVC or Pioneer or Hitachi(clarion) The JVC one serves me for all other cars.
What I need is a Reverse camera, Rear armrest, Offline GPS Navigation and a reasonably good Diesel engine. Well TATAs usually have good ground clearence which is a must, That is one box ticked well. Well the Ecosport may be good, Now let me check that too before finalising.

The variant list is a turn-off,
I did consider to buy a TATA , BUT.... well the car is not at all VFM, What I was looking for
And what I found out
1. Good Diesel Engine---OK
2. A good Music system with Reverse camera and Bluetooth with tel facility ---- Somewhat exists, even though the Music system is too Boomy like a boombox can be adjusted to ones likes/dislikes ---- will give ok (Touch screen Exists only in top variants (2-lakhs for that one piece is too much to bear)
3. Navigation, does not exist, Though TATA would say I can connect my phone and then load some app and then download map and all. I can do it with a Rs. 200 mobile holder stand on my old car (16 year old)
4. Rear seat armrest, THis is also present only in top variant. Can get one fitted with all bells and whistles including remote for ICE at local seat works for any car no big deaL bUT lessens the options value
So altogether you end up paying lakhs of rupees unnecessarily to get a rear arm rest and reverse camera, Also the XM trim is good but for lack of my necessary features, There is no way to upgrade the ICE without major modification due to totally crap dashboard layout (My opinion, But have seen FFord faceplates on sale on ebay, These face plates and fittings may come too, But well compared to Hondas, Fords, VW and Suzukis, I would say it may not. Can anyone say this car at this price will sell 100k numbers any time soon. Dont thik so.). Well did not see too many people looking for and queing up up for this at local dealer. Everyone I saw there was going rounds of Tiago. Most were asking SA about Tiago XZA. If there is a que for TATA nexon I'am out of TATA que. The Nexon miserably fails my VFM concept (except for the Diesel Engine). Just wisihng the same engine is plonked on another good car I saw there "TIGOR" (or even a ZEST?)
I agree some of the points above.

I took extensive test drive of Nexon 25Kms. And driven Tigor 50Kms.

No offense to Nexon lovers but I found Tigor more easy to drive, comfortable and practical than Nexon.

Blame it on the tyre spec. Tigor tyres are puny when compared to the Nexon. The 17 inch wheels do add to the weight of the steering. I would stick out my neck and say Tigor is mainly for City drive and Nexon is best enjoyed on a highway.

Coming to Ecosport and Nexon, no doubt the top end of Nexon is VFM or should I say cheaper when compared to Ecosport. When it comes to mid variants, if one does not consider lack of touch screen to be a deal breaker, then it's a really close fight and at the end of the day choose which brand gives you a better experience. If you want touch screen, then Ecosport it is. If you want ride quality and handling along with a good nvh control, then it's Nexon all the way.

Blame it on the tyre spec. Tigor tyres are puny when compared to the Nexon. The 17 inch wheels do add to the weight of the steering.
Are you sure?? Which car has that size.[surprise]Am I missing something??Did you mean to say 215/60R16 size which Nexon has?

Blame it on the tyre spec. Tigor tyres are puny when compared to the Nexon. The 17 inch wheels do add to the weight of the steering.
Exactly!

Does new EcoSport 17" tyre have same problem?

BTW: I took test drive on the highway. My opinion remains same.