Re: Tata Indica V2 DLS - List of Problems. Help Required!
Sorry bro, I can’t comment on this regard. However, my car also developed high decibel level recently along with a rattling noise. The silencer had developed a hole and it was welded. The silencer pipe was aligned. It suffered a blow from a huge speed breaker, hence was making a rattling sound. Once these two issues were addressed, no more noises for me.
As you had said about the removal of the CAT CONVERTOR, is it an offense or against the regulation to remove that? If I do remove it what would be the pros and cons can you please guide me?
Have you considered replacing the clutch cable? I had this hard-clutch issue and thought for going for new clutch plates. Got a wild thought of trying out new clutch cable and splendidly the issue was fixed. It is now butter-smooth. In your case, I doubt if they actually installed new clutch plates. Better get it checked. New clutch plates should work almost frictionless manner.
Had gone to TASC (Om Sai) yesterday they say no need to replace the clutch cable. should I force them to remove and replace it? They did some adjustment saying that the level of the clutch and the brake should be equal but I don't find any difference in performance!
It seems the brake pads are jamming. Lift your car with a jack and check if the rear wheels are rotating freely without engaging the handbrake. If not rotating freely or making abrasive noises, get the brake assembly checked. Also, check if after driving, the rear rims gets heated more expected. Greasing of rear wheels should be done at every 40,000kms. I religiously do it; I hope you do the same. Without greasing, the rear wheels’ bearings lose their integrity and abrasion occurs, resulting in heating.
I checked the rear rim it is not hot but the front ones both are hot. Is it Ok for them to be hot? Any things to be done for it?
Kindly mentioned how old your car is and how many kilometers have you covered? In Indica, we very well know that 0-100kmph or 0-60 kmph takes ages, however out of all 5+R gears available; the car pulls the best when in the 3rd gear.
Sorry. let me give the history of this. I had taken it in 2002 / 03, then had used for about 2500km, then there were heavy rains here in 2005, the water had entered inside. I felt so bad that I just could not help it , then I left it standing like that up to 2011, as I was also outstation and have no one in the family to drive, my wife doesn't know and kid too. Then after much sentimental thought I took it with a towing van to a garage, they serviced it and replaced so many parts have got the list of them, then unfortunately, the rats bit my wires. (Also have a photo of a dead rat found in my dickey beneath the spare wheel), then I gave it to the local mechanic, he also replaced parts out, and rewired the whole thing with a spiral tube. told me to tie Tobacco Pouches, so that rats don't enter again. (unfortunately they do. Is there any way to prevent these rats. today also they bit my front right turn signal wire and the windscreen washer plastic tube, so got them replaced today). Then after the local mechanic serviced it, the brake oil light used to light up. then he replaced the brake container (black one). the it was running a bit OK. then I felt I should go to a TASC for better service and ended up going there 4 times spending above 50K for that!
Even the instrument cluster was affected. so the hunt began for the replacement part. TASC (Om Sai) said they don’t have. I visited so many scrap dealers also. then finally Om Sai got one for me but that too with a little bit scratches on the panel and a broken reset pin of odometer, which I then opened it and fixed it with a FEVIQUIK!
So over all I think 2500km at brand new level + 5000Km after the above incident so I think its around 7500km clocked!
But yes on 3rd gear it runs smoothly a bit. Today just asked the TASC (Om Sai) to let me drive a customer TATA INDICA VISTA VX diesel variant. its very smooth to drive. brakes are like feather leaf touch!
If you are comparing performance with any other small car, then let me tell you Indica is not made for performance (speed wise). I removed my Catalytic Converter (CAT CON), used Engine oil additives and good quality diesel. Pick up with AC improved quite commendably. Without AC, my Indica is hoot to drive (*As per Indica's performance standards
)
With the AC ON, the car makes a rattling sound. TASC says the problems with the fan. last time they told same thing and told me to change the bearing..(I still have that bearing with me) but no difference in performance and reduction in sound!
Check if you require some repair work on your steering column. Steering wise Indica's hydraulic steering isn't that bad.
After 11 years, my car too had the same issue with the suspension. I thought the suspension gone kaput. Got them checked and just the LHS was replaced. Garage guys said RHS needed repair. They checked the travel of the suspension’s piston-rods and repaired it. However, after all this, I have driven for more than 200kms but it didn’t find any improvement. Will get it checked once again this weekend.
I found the TATA INDICA VISTA VX steeing very smooth! How??
I am from Bhubaneswar, so can’t help in this regard.
I hope my suggestions help you
But please guide me what to do. I am just frustrated. looks like riding a bullock cart!
And what is SYSTEM D.where it is available in MUMBAI and how do we use them. Please help! Atleast I can get my car running with a pickup Sir!
Many Thanks to you.