TAIgers Pets Help & Discussions

Re: TAI Member Pet's Help and Discussions!

Guys.. Am first timer having Pet at home...

For long time we were thinking of geting a pet (mostly dog) but it did n't meterialise since we were in aparments (Generally apparment people hate such things or have some rules) But soon We will be shifting to new house which will be a semi-indipendent house. (in next 6 months)

So we that it would be right time to do something on that. Following are the points which is running in our family as of now.

• We should have a dog which could be as watch/guard dog since my wife will be alone at home
  • We thought of various dog and finally zeroed down with German Shepard since it will be easy to train and at the same time it will easily socialize with people (when our relatives comes home, I do not want people stop coming to home siting dog issue)
  • Should be buy it now in the current house (mange the apartment people in different level) and train it and take it there. in this case the dog might have some kind of discomfort with his territory and other things.
  • Or go there buy the puppy and train it with that terriotry
  • How to find healthy and original German Shepard puppy
  • What all the precautions to be taken with the dog as well our health when dog is around
  • Should we train ourselves looking the videos or with proper trainer

reason for rejection of other dogs
  • LAB, My son is not interested in it
  • Doberman, it might be ferocious when visitors visits us and it will be difficult to manage it
  • Other country dogs, none likes it at home

• Should be buy it now in the current house (mange the apartment people in different level) and train it and take it there. in this case the dog might have some kind of discomfort with his territory and other things.
  • What all the precautions to be taken with the dog as well our health when dog is around
Sethu ji, It would be nice to have pup first i.e a 2 week old at max. Then within a span of another 2-3 weeks when he is a bit grown try teaching it basic habits like pee-training et al. Once its 2-3 month old it would be advisable to train him with a proper trainer. As for finding a healthy pup, visit a good kennel or ask a good vet if he / she might know of a viable source. About the precautions, get it properly vaccinated foremost and whenever you feed the dog make sure to clean your hands with liquid hand-wash and keep a hand sanitizer handy. If an infant is around make sure, the dog is not licking too close to eyes and lips as the saliva is very dangerous. Avoid making the dog sleep on bed since the hair-fall can cause allergy too if one has sensitive skin.

Thank you Akash... Wonderful tips..

Just a question.. how to train a dog to sleep in a specific place (Small round bed which i have normally seen in movies) and pee outside, not inside the house.

For other training i can take a proper trainer.

Just a question.. how to train a dog to sleep in a specific place (Small round bed which i have normally seen in movies) and pee outside, not inside the house.
Sir, for sleeping you'll have to pick the pup for initial days and put him on the small round bed till he gets accustomed. For pee training, I think, the pup can be taught to practice it while taking him for a walk.

Adopt a dog of your choice, dont buy them and encourage pet shops.

the dog is safe.. it had fractures in its rear legs.. now the dog has become STAR in Chennai.. so many celebrities in chennai visiting the dog
These guys should adopt a street dog instead of visiting the dog ? Trisha is a exception though.

For long time we were thinking of geting a pet (mostly dog) but it did n't meterialise since we were in aparments (Generally apparment people hate such things or have some rules) But soon We will be shifting to new house which will be a semi-indipendent house. (in next 6 months)

So we that it would be right time to do something on that. Following are the points which is running in our family as of now.

• We should have a dog which could be as watch/guard dog since my wife will be alone at home
  • We thought of various dog and finally zeroed down with German Shepard since it will be easy to train and at the same time it will easily socialize with people (when our relatives comes home, I do not want people stop coming to home siting dog issue)

reason for rejection of other dogs
  • LAB, My son is not interested in it
  • Doberman, it might be ferocious when visitors visits us and it will be difficult to manage it
  • Other country dogs, none likes it at home
Let me give you few tips as per my experience before i add up few comments:

Buying a pup is different story and raising it up is all together a different one.
Its very hard and requires full dedication (Love & Care) for this job. Its as good as raising a child.
If the dog / pup gets sick its really depressing for the entire family so you need to take a very good care of him.
Also you need to decide a backup plan in case you are not around who will take care of the pet ?

Below are the few cents from me, as your have zeroed down German Shepard you should consider below points.

1) As mentioned you live in an apartment ( 2BHK / 3BHK ) space would be an issue for this type of breed as they grow big in size. Ideally you should consider small or mid size breed.
2) If you have kids(Infants - Toddlers) German Shepard will be again an issue as they shed lot of hair
3) This breed comes with huge amount of fur so maintaining it will be good amount of work for you.
4) Also it requires lot of exercise as they grow huge and tend gain more weight if not exercised well.
5) You should buy a pup with proper pedigree with papers so that you get a good breed with good temperament. If possible please check the Mom and Dad of the pup for the temperament.
6) You should get pup which is between 45 - 60 days old with minimal vaccination covered. Pup's can be trained from 2 months - 6 months and requires a lot of dedication.

All the best !!!

Satyajeet

I plan to get an aquarium, any pointers as to the size, equipment, and types of fish to buy.
For aquarium go for very basic setup, then you can keep on adding.

1) Water filter
2) Sand / Other decoration stuff (Just to create sea bed type effect)
3) Size - Depends on the place where you are planning to fit it. 2ft x 3.5 ft is great as it give more area for fish to move around
4) Fish - Tiger Sharks (easy to maintain), Gold fish, Gurami's , Sucker fish.
5) Nice under water wall paper in case you are planning to fit it next to the wall else no needed.
6) Water heater (Seasonal use)

Satyajeet

Let me give you few tips as per my experience before i add up few comments:

Buying a pup is different story and raising it up is all together a different one.
Its very hard and requires full dedication (Love & Care) for this job. Its as good as raising a child.
If the dog / pup gets sick its really depressing for the entire family so you need to take a very good care of him.
Also you need to decide a backup plan in case you are not around who will take care of the pet ?

Below are the few cents from me, as your have zeroed down German Shepard you should consider below points.

1) As mentioned you live in an apartment ( 2BHK / 3BHK ) space would be an issue for this type of breed as they grow big in size. Ideally you should consider small or mid size breed.
2) If you have kids(Infants - Toddlers) German Shepard will be again an issue as they shed lot of hair
3) This breed comes with huge amount of fur so maintaining it will be good amount of work for you.
4) Also it requires lot of exercise as they grow huge and tend gain more weight if not exercised well.
5) You should buy a pup with proper pedigree with papers so that you get a good breed with good temperament. If possible please check the Mom and Dad of the pup for the temperament.
6) You should get pup which is between 45 - 60 days old with minimal vaccination covered. Pup's can be trained from 2 months - 6 months and requires a lot of dedication.

All the best !!!

Satyajeet
Thats great.

Eventhough we live in apartment, we are moving a semi-independent house.
Yes we knw that it requires exercise, am planning to shed some weight of mine..
No infants as of now. so no worries.
Hope we will be able to take care of the pup as a child, already informed my duahgter and son

in spite of me continuously telling my son about the hiar problem he prefers it. do not know what all the other options with less hair.

For aquarium go for very basic setup, then you can keep on adding.

1) Water filter
2) Sand / Other decoration stuff (Just to create sea bed type effect)
3) Size - Depends on the place where you are planning to fit it. 2ft x 3.5 ft is great as it give more area for fish to move around
4) Fish - Tiger Sharks (easy to maintain), Gold fish, Gurami's , Sucker fish.
5) Nice under water wall paper in case you are planning to fit it next to the wall else no needed.
6) Water heater (Seasonal use)

Satyajeet
Thanks Satyajeet,
For the pointers, will check out the market, of what is available and revert back.

Dear All

I am surprised to note this thread in our TAI.

I thanked the Almighty to see such wonderful hearts here.

My dog HARRY is no more .This is his story. Please read if you could spare some time.
Sir Mudhan, I read through the link! In words I cannot describe what went in me for those 5-7 minutes of read. In truest sense, humans shall be indebted to the love of dogs and cats always. Loosing a dog / cat is like loosing a member of family. They give you much more love and absolute devotion through out their lives. Sir natural death is still much acceptable since its part of our nature / life cycle but to put to sleep your beloved pet is always more painful and tearful. Sir, I have had 7 cute pups with me and loved them and cared for them from day 1 of their birth under my car. Once they were 5 months or so, they began to run and all and in that I lost 5 of them, 1 was hit with rear limb paralysis and now only 1 Black one is there with us. So, in reality, those who have had pets only can well understand the joys and sorrows of it. Still Sir, Someday, those who departed from our lives shall meet us again! Till then, lets pray for their well being where ever they may be!

Dear All

I am surprised to note this thread in our TAI.

I thanked the Almighty to see such wonderful hearts here.

My dog HARRY is no more .This is his story. Please read if you could spare some time.
View attachment 205099

IF ONLY THEY COULD TALK!

Thank you.

Dr MUDHAN
Dear sir, your are an incredible writer. While reading that story i was feeling like watching all that with my own eyes. And during these 5-7 minutes i was unable to hold my tears. Thanks for sharing your feeling for your beloved Dog. I am feeling proud that i have got the chance to meet kind hearted and animal lover people like you through this forum.

Friends, fulfilled my wish of owning a fish aquarium.
Thanks Satyaeet for your guidance.
Size 30/12/15 inch.
Complete with oxygen, filter, stones, decoration
Crocodile fish 2
Gold fish small 4
Red cap med. 2
Gold fish big 2
Total 4100
Paid 3900