Suzuki Baleno: Petrol 1.2 MT & Diesel 1.3 MT Drive Review

Thread Starter #46

But it's not mentioned anywhere in the brochure if zeta gets 15 or 16 inch alloys.Can anybody plz confirm who has seen zeta variant in person?
The Alloys are 195/55/R16(My test Car too had same size) and normal steel rim is 185/65/R15. Also, the spare wheel is a non-alloy one with size 185/65/R15.

I am confused between petrol grand i10 ,baleno and ritz. Grand i10 has a weaker body shell, and judging by the weight of baleno which is almost 150kg lighter then ritz petrol. I dont think baleno's body is stronger than ritz. So which one should i go for?? Rittz zxi has quote from dealer 616000.
Baleno has been made from high tensile strength and is based on a new platform and Suzuki equips it with TECT (Total Effective Control Technology) to provide the passengers and driver with enhanced safety during a crash along with the dual airbags and other safety features as standard. As of the RITZ, comparing to Baleno, it is no match and the RITZ now is quite a dated car with an uncertain future. Even if you buy Sigma/Delta Variant of Baleno, you'll not be disappointed. Plus, Petrol Baleno is a nice driving car with impressive driving manners.

Kindly share your thoughts and views for the following;

1. Can baleno be assumed as a safe car in terms of structural built quality?
See weight wise it is lighter than Swift but the built quality from standards of Maruti is certainly improved.

2. Whether suzuki TECT a market gimmicks or a real thing ?
Though Suzuki claims to have equipped Baleno with TECT, but its effectiveness can be judged if we witness a crash or we get a crash test video.

3.MS claim that they have used high tensile material for the cage to prevent damage while collission, with the current price bracket of baleno is it really possible for them to use high tensile steel and light weight composite material for strong body chasis (A car of this size with starting price of 5.20 Lacs)
Well using safe material to build body shell is no issues. As I said, if you compare it to Maruti's hatchbacks, Baleno is superior to them. Pricing is done to compete so a well priced option is always worth considering. With changing standards, car makers are being forced to price their vehicles low and provide good quality and safety.

4. Crumble zone and side impact beam not visible in their structural image.
A Detailed Video of the Baleno's making shall help.

5.Do you reccomend baleno over new ford figo hatch!
In Petrol yes but in Diesel no.

I am confused between dzire vdi & baleno delta/zeta diesel.
I have booked both cars and both are ready for delivery. I am not able to take a final call due to mixed reviews of baleno. Please guide which car should I finalize? My daily running is around 80kms.
Driving wise, you'll not find much difference in Dzire Diesel or Baleno Diesel as both are 1.3L DDIS. Feature wise Baleno is better than Dzire. If you want a new feel of gadgets and better safety features go for Baleno Diesel.

Excellent review Aakash.
I haven't gone to check Baleno in person as test drive haven't started here. But my father checked it out and he was quite impressed.

Imo diesel doesn't makes sense over Jazz and Figo which have a much better engine, handling and road presence.

But Petrol is the one iI m interested in. Delta is VFM considering it will be under 5% road tax bracket and for Zeta will have to pay atleast 90k more as it is under 8% tax. Let's see how the td goes.

I agree with bhvm's comment! If you look at Zest, it isn't that big which makes it tough for city commute! It's an couple of inches bigger than Bolt and honestly, if you can't afford Figo diesel with safety equipment, you better go for Zest. It is an VFM option compared to Baleno and both carries same engine! Don't buy Baleno if you want diesel. WE have other better diesels than this. And regarding FE, you would get believable, better mileage in Zest and I heard from couple of my colleagues that they are getting healthy 14+ in City(medium to horrible B2B traffic) with their Zest. It's an stunner figure if you ask me!
And one more thing--Zest got 90ps power in engine and VGT. Even as reported by lot, the interior quality and NVH is better than Baleno.

@bhvm_
Thanks for your feedback but im looking for a fuel efficient hatchback for easier city commute .
I've got a ford fiesta petrol which isn't very fuel efficient and is hard to find parking [frustration][frustration]
Hence the lookout for a hatchback.
Plus my budget is around 7.5L plus or minus 20-50k
As furious_driver wrote; one correction--Zest got better powered 90ps engine and VGT not 75ps with FGT. Even as reported by lot, the interior quality and NVH is better than Baleno. Along with lot of segment first features; sturdy built with Harmon system to name few.
Take a test drive and then decide:)

Any info on accessories for Baleno. I have checked in website, there is no info.
Can I fit Reverse Parking Sensor with Rear View Camera in Zeta variant. Same is available for S Cross as accessories

Here is the price list for Gurgaon.
Bale.JPG

Highlights:
  • Ex Showroom price for base petrol is 4.98 lac for Gurgaon, it's 5.03 in Delhi as per what is reported by reporter saab (Akash)
  • Prices at the time of delivery will be effective; God help those who have 2-3 months waiting period :biggrin:
  • No handling/logistics charges (Looks like no or very few dealers of MSIL are charging the handling/logistic charges). In fact even in Meerut and Gaziabad too I havent got the logistics charge part in the quotes. Good job MSIL [clap]

Here is the price list for Gurgaon.

Highlights:
  • Ex Showroom price for base petrol is 4.98 lac for Gurgaon, it's 5.03 in Delhi as per what is reported by reporter saab (Akash)
  • Prices at the time of delivery will be effective; God help those who have 2-3 months waiting period :biggrin:
  • No handling/logistics charges (Looks like no or very few dealers of MSIL are charging the handling/logistic charges). In fact even in Meerut and Gaziabad too I havent got the logistics charge part in the quotes. Good job MSIL [clap]
So it's great that in Kochi prices at the time of booking will be effective! [clap]

Still to keep yourself on safer side, get the same in written from the sales guy, some sort of agreement which states that the price will be what is effective today (But this may end up with you losing offers, if any). Maybe there is a clause stating "prices, specifications and features may change without any prior information" and after that the dealer will easily forget this promise looking at the huge margin.

In the Gurgaon price list what is this Nexa card?
Also, I can't see the price for extended warranty.
I was also having the same question. And a quick google search gave this result:
http://www.deal4loans.com/bankbranch/news/maruti-suzuki-nexa-hdfc-bank-allmiles-credit-card/
NEXA.JPG
You interested in stuffing your wallet with an another credit card? This one is also just an another CC scheme.

:offtopic: BTW can anyone explain me how banks manage to give so much offers to CC users but we debit card users aren't given any offer despite of the fact that we aren't taking any loan from them?

BTW for the people who don't believe in having credit cards, will this charge be waived off?

Please help me guys. I am confused between petrol grand i10 ,baleno and ritz. Grand i10 has a weaker body shell, and judging by the weight of baleno which is almost 150kg lighter then ritz petrol. I dont think baleno's body is stronger than ritz. So which one should i go for?? Rittz zxi has quote from dealer 616000.
I think the Ritz top end zxi gives best value because you get all the features with great discounts. The Ritz also has split rear seats if that appeals to you

Guys,
Zeta and Alpha variants have alloy wheels.But it's not mentioned anywhere in the brochure if zeta gets 15 or 16 inch alloys.Can anybody plz confirm who has seen zeta variant in person?
The Alloys are 195/55/R16(My test Car too had same size) and normal steel rim is 185/65/R15. Also, the spare wheel is a non-alloy one with size 185/65/R15.
I think Zeta has 15 inch alloys. Please see carwale specification for Zeta
Compare Maruti Suzuki Baleno - CarWale

Hello guys,
I am happy to inform that my Baleno Zeta Silver has already reached stockyard.Nexa Mandovi Mangalore is really better than Bharath nexa mangalore.Mandovi is more transparent and they checked the stock list and I booked the car.Bharath nexa did not give me any details about delivery and told 6-8 weeks waitin period.
Will do PDI on Monday and take delivery by Tuesday.
Can't wait to get my hands on Baleno and feel the Mettle[:D]

Thread Starter #59

I am happy to inform that my Baleno Zeta Silver has already reached stockyard. Will do PDI on Monday and take delivery by Tuesday.
Can't wait to get my hands on Baleno and feel the Mettle
Man that is really fast![clap] I am really happy for you buddy. Even more excited about the fact that this purchase of your's would be the 1st ownership review of new Baleno on TAI.[:D]

Excellent review @ Akash1886.

I am not considering this car though and interested in new ford figo as of now. Airbags and ABS from base model made me excited but serious concerns regarding the built quality.
I am curious to know how this car will fare against the new ford figo, if we are comparing only the built quality.
Have done TD of figo and the new figo build quality is inferior to previous model IMO. Not done TD of Baleno as looking for diesel and thus preference is new figo. Still I am curious to compare both built quality. Help Anyone?

[ I am happy to inform that my Baleno Zeta Silver has already reached stockyard./QUOTE]

Congrats: nkonamme [clap][clap]

I can understand how u must be feeling. The excitement is at its peak when the new car is just a few days far from you.

Wishing you unlimited happy journeys with your new beauty.

Auto_Pilot