Suggestion Needed for a New Car Under 12 Lac.

@Parul

From your list it self, I could say the following

If a SUV : it is XUV 500. I have also read the stories about this on this forum, the issues are minor in nature and some body really just get used to it to enjoy the drive and have control on it fully. I really do not comment on built quality in long run, as this is one area you need to examine on the Mahindra vehicles, yes they are not like Toyota in reliability. But again there is a huge price factor between M&M SUV and a Toyota one.

If a Sedan : It is Laura and nothing more to explain about this wonderful car for driving pleasure. May few features are missing, but you will really enjoy the German built and finish. Though it is bit costly on the pocket to maintain but , I understand that it is not like earlier these days as cost of spares has come down to a larger extent and service charges are also within control. Since your driving is not on very bad roads often, so I do not think this will give you so many service troubles.

Apart from the above, I wanted to ask you that have you checked the Toyota Altis any time ??
Gurralla - it is not me or you buying the xuv remember this Parul is a lady again a busy lady at work no matter what you say please research not just in this forum but elsewhere too I can provide you links we're you will see you need to take the car to the service station more then any other conventional cars. Xuv is not a yeti period.
Skoda is not German it's Czech and rapid prices of spares are ok not the Laura remember this again ,first there are no problems as such in Laura I agree and is a fantastic car all around no question about it but if god forbid things go wrong after the warranty expires its going to be very expensive to maintain much more then say a Honda civic , corolla .

Parul in this month Hyundai is launching the elantra which will come in your budget perfectly and is proven car all around the world you can test drive it this month itself .

If you are ready to wait till end of September - strome or xuv .
If you want to book a suv tommorow and are ready to give a little more attention then you would normally give to any car - xuv

Sedan -fun of driving like rocket - Laura.

Sedan- beautiful to look , loaded and loaded more with features elantra .
And above all first decide if it's a suv or sedan things will become much much easy for you belive me .

Parul
Iam just curious to know something what do you mean when you say safari " has a talkative steering " ? To be honest with you safaris steering is a pain in city because it has a huge turning radius it is very difficult to take u- turns in city with safari .
And I know Scorpio is not in your wish list so i wont bother suggesting you but just for sake of knowledge contrary to general perception after looking at the huge muscular Scorpio it's actually very easy to drive in city and has a very less turning radius and is fun to drive in city .
Safari has a edge when it comes to highways and open roads that's where you will actually experience the real power of 2.2 dicor .
I read your comment many times so iam really interested to know your perspective when you say the steering is talkative will you please explain .?

Its a girl's way to say responsive. [;)] Am I wrong?
As raja said, first decide-- Sedan or SUV, or a Hatchback?
Else you'll keep coming back to the same point of dilemma.

Regarding the steering. Yes scorpios turning radius is much better. So parking it in buildings which need a lot of adjustments is very easy in a scorpio.

People misinterpret the feel of steering on the scorpio. But i like it. Since our long distance travel involves driving along ghats the light steering feels a boon to drive as i can easily handle the steering with as low pressure as 3 fingers.

From reviews it seems that the duster has a bit of heavy steering.

Gurralla - it is not me or you buying the xuv remember this Parul is a lady again a busy lady at work no matter what you say please research not just in this forum but elsewhere too I can provide you links we're you will see you need to take the car to the service station more then any other conventional cars. Xuv is not a yeti period.
Skoda is not German it's Czech and rapid prices of spares are ok not the Laura remember this again ,first there are no problems as such in Laura I agree and is a fantastic car all around no question about it but if god forbid things go wrong after the warranty expires its going to be very expensive to maintain much more then say a Honda civic , corolla .

Parul in this month Hyundai is launching the elantra which will come in your budget perfectly and is proven car all around the world you can test drive it this month itself .

If you are ready to wait till end of September - strome or xuv .
If you want to book a suv tommorow and are ready to give a little more attention then you would normally give to any car - xuv

Sedan -fun of driving like rocket - Laura.

Sedan- beautiful to look , loaded and loaded more with features elantra .
And above all first decide if it's a suv or sedan things will become much much easy for you belive me .
I agree with you on the XUV issues, because I never used it and even did not do the TD of it. Yes there may be bigger issues with it and it may disturb Parul frequently.

Regarding Skoda, OK it was a mistake its not German, its Czech !!
Yes there is a possibility after warranty things will be costlier with Skoda, I agree for this too, but again Laura is a fantastic car to drive any time.

Again you have mentioned about Elantra, I did not have much information on this, may be it is a good car, but with the first experience of Hyundai service of any car( a service center is my neighbor and works head is my friend), it is also costly in maintenance always when you compare this with Suzuki.

After looking at all this one thing comes in my mind is Toyota Altis, very good car as I often drive one my friends car and I have his experience all the time and believe me it is just no nonsense car with good reliability and of course genuine in service cost too. This Altis is 3 years old and run for 40000km so far.

Some how I do not have much expectations on "Storme" for some reasons !!

If you talk about waiting for Ford Ecosport, then I will say yes to this

Like you said, yes Parul has to first decide on SUV/MUV/Sedan/Hatchback. Then things will become easier.

I agree with you on the XUV issues, because I never used it and even did not do the TD of it. Yes there may be bigger issues with it and it may disturb Parul frequently.

Regarding Skoda, OK it was a mistake its not German, its Czech !!
Yes there is a possibility after warranty things will be costlier with Skoda, I agree for this too, but again Laura is a fantastic car to drive any time.

Again you have mentioned about Elantra, I did not have much information on this, may be it is a good car, but with the first experience of Hyundai service of any car( a service center is my neighbor and works head is my friend), it is also costly in maintenance always when you compare this with Suzuki.

After looking at all this one thing comes in my mind is Toyota Altis, very good car as I often drive one my friends car and I have his experience all the time and believe me it is just no nonsense car with good reliability and of course genuine in service cost too. This Altis is 3 years old and run for 40000km so far.

Some how I do not have much expectations on "Storme" for some reasons !!

If you talk about waiting for Ford Ecosport, then I will say yes to this

Like you said, yes Parul has to first decide on SUV/MUV/Sedan/Hatchback. Then things will become easier.
You are correct Hyundai is expensive when it comes to service cost compared to Suzuki and hionda but cheaper then skoda .
ALTis is a no nonsense car feel it shut it and forget it but no where close to Laura in terms of fun .
Strome is great right now only on paper [evil]. And I won't be surprised that even it can need to go to service stations frequently like the xuv 1 has to be ready for that too .

What a funny situation for we Indians , SUVs in affordable range require visits to service station and the ones which don't require are priced double .
And btw you have company for your liking for the yeti my dad he loves that car a lot I have driven the yeti apart from being noisy its a mind blowing car excellent fit and finish which mahindra and tata might take 20 years to give .its expensive on paper but once you sit inside you feel that though expensive the interiors the comfort the features are worth it .

You are correct Hyundai is expensive when it comes to service cost compared to Suzuki and hionda but cheaper then skoda .
ALTis is a no nonsense car feel it shut it and forget it but no where close to Laura in terms of fun .
Strome is great right now only on paper [evil]. And I won't be surprised that even it can need to go to service stations frequently like the xuv 1 has to be ready for that too .

What a funny situation for we Indians , SUVs in affordable range require visits to service station and the ones which don't require are priced double .
And btw you have company for your liking for the yeti my dad he loves that car a lot I have driven the yeti apart from being noisy its a mind blowing car excellent fit and finish which mahindra and tata might take 20 years to give .its expensive on paper but once you sit inside you feel that though expensive the interiors the comfort the features are worth it .
About Yeti, your 100% right Raja. Price wise it is far from me, but unfortunately I driven this car[frustration] and what to say it tempts a lot but I am not in a position to own one right now !! its built and its features are awesome !! it also very peppy in traffic and in comparison Storme must be much bigger to handle in city traffic which painful and it may be very good for a Highway drive but again some thing really pulls me back that it is TATA !! not to offend any one but truth is truth with TASS [cry]

You are right but strome so far who have driven it say it drives like a car the turning radius is just 5.2 which is lesser then the sx4 too and the suspensions are great and it has very less turbo lag .
About tata a.s,s whatever it is but remember whenever your car in under warranty tata motors will never crib in giving you replacements this i have heard from practically every tata car owner.

And again tata strome will be a new product and like you most of the time suggest its always better to buy a product after atleast 6months to 1 year of launch so incase there re issues we will be atleast aware of them .
Yes you will miss the exclusivity factor but in return will gain peace of mind which matters more in long term right ?

You are right but strome so far who have driven it say it drives like a car the turning radius is just 5.2 which is lesser then the sx4 too and the suspensions are great and it has very less turbo lag .
About tata a.s,s whatever it is but remember whenever your car in under warranty tata motors will never crib in giving you replacements this i have heard from practically every tata car owner.

And again tata strome will be a new product and like you most of the time suggest its always better to buy a product after atleast 6months to 1 year of launch so incase there re issues we will be atleast aware of them .
Yes you will miss the exclusivity factor but in return will gain peace of mind which matters more in long term right ?
+100. I agree with you on everything Raja, but two things about Storm & TATA.

TATA really produce some good cars and at times they are better than foreign origin. But TASS is pathetic, they are very good at spoiling a good running car always, this is with my own experience with few cars. This really needs to be focused and corrected. Replacements are OK, but the thing is number of times you have to visit TASS will annoy you !! due to their bad handling of vehicles

Regarding Storm I agree with you on its features, but it cannot reduce its size in the traffic !![clap]

I feel Nissan Sunny is a great car in this range. It has great rear room and is very very comfortable. Add to that the novelty factor and fantastic mileage

+100. I agree with you on everything Raja, but two things about Storm & TATA.

TATA really produce some good cars and at times they are better than foreign origin. But TASS is pathetic, they are very good at spoiling a good running car always, this is with my own experience with few cars. This really needs to be focused and corrected. Replacements are OK, but the thing is number of times you have to visit TASS will annoy you !! due to their bad handling of vehicles

Regarding Storm I agree with you on its features, but it cannot reduce its size in the traffic !![clap]
The main USp of strome,safari,Scorpio,fortuner is size [:D] other then taking many people inside the presence is what people love SUVs for .as far practicality is concerned nothing beats hatchbacks . My freind in London has 1 suv and 1 hatchback his everyday car is a fiesta hatchback as he needs to work in London city and suv is a ranger over which is only used on weekends and outings but when asked what you love the most ? Comes the answer ranger rover [clap]

Thread Starter #87
Parul
Iam just curious to know something what do you mean when you say safari " has a talkative steering " ? To be honest with you safaris steering is a pain in city because it has a huge turning radius it is very difficult to take u- turns in city with safari .
And I know Scorpio is not in your wish list so i wont bother suggesting you but just for sake of knowledge contrary to general perception after looking at the huge muscular Scorpio it's actually very easy to drive in city and has a very less turning radius and is fun to drive in city .
Safari has a edge when it comes to highways and open roads that's where you will actually experience the real power of 2.2 dicor .
I read your comment many times so iam really interested to know your perspective when you say the steering is talkative will you please explain .?
Raja,from talkative steering I don't mean a very responsive or very light steering,what I mean is a steering which feels very much confidence inspiring.
In UK I have driven a BMW of one relative for some days and anyone who has driven a BMW car can tell what a true talkative steering really is.
I just mean to say,the wheel feels like it is connected to your mind,you can sense that where the tyres really are going and how they are turning.
I hope you got my point,I am not as well experienced as you people,but I try to feel the car and I just made this small theory of myself but yes,I can't argue on this topic because this is my own thinking.

@Nozzlering:The talkative steering does not mean only responsive steering.It means a steering wheel which we can feel.The XUV has more responsive wheel than Safari but it feels more electronic,it does not feel like we are working on it but feels like a computer is controlling it after taking inputs from us.
I drove Verna and I will say that I found Verna the best example of a nervous or completely electronic or non-talkative at all steering.

@Superbad:Sorry to say,but I don't believe this parking theory completely.In our society the parking is in basement that is two storeys deep and I parked the Safari in that parking and took it out about 4-5 times in two days.And there are some tight turns too while going down.It is like go down on ramp and then take a very sharp U turn and go on another ramp.We have to cross 4 such ramps and 3 such turns but Safari took all of them very easily.
And in case the space is less to move the car then we can use the power under our feet by making correct use of clutch with sudden and high accelerator inputs to make the front or rear part of the car take the right direction.
The parking attendants and some fellow workers in my office use this technique when parking in less space and they do it very well,only some tyres are burnt.

@Gurrala:Yesterday itself I added Corolla to my list,a lot of people recommended me Corolla saying "Its very easy to live with this car".In fact my neighbor also owns a 2005-06 Corolla and he has covered more than 1.5 lakh kilometers in the car but was still praising his car like its brand new.Any Corolla owner on board?

@Vaibhav:Thanks a lot for the suggestion but I don't find the Nissan Sunny a car of my choice.By the way I have enjoyed the super luxury of Teana once,but this car is way out of my budget.

Raja,from talkative steering I don't mean a very responsive or very light steering,what I mean is a steering which feels very much confidence inspiring.
In UK I have driven a BMW of one relative for some days and anyone who has driven a BMW car can tell what a true talkative steering really is.
I just mean to say,the wheel feels like it is connected to your mind,you can sense that where the tyres really are going and how they are turning.
I hope you got my point,I am not as well experienced as you people,but I try to feel the car and I just made this small theory of myself but yes,I can't argue on this topic because this is my own thinking.

@Nozzlering:The talkative steering does not mean only responsive steering.It means a steering wheel which we can feel.The XUV has more responsive wheel than Safari but it feels more electronic,it does not feel like we are working on it but feels like a computer is controlling it after taking inputs from us.
I drove Verna and I will say that I found Verna the best example of a nervous or completely electronic or non-talkative at all steering.

@Superbad:Sorry to say,but I don't believe this parking theory completely.In our society the parking is in basement that is two storeys deep and I parked the Safari in that parking and took it out about 4-5 times in two days.And there are some tight turns too while going down.It is like go down on ramp and then take a very sharp U turn and go on another ramp.We have to cross 4 such ramps and 3 such turns but Safari took all of them very easily.
And in case the space is less to move the car then we can use the power under our feet by making correct use of clutch with sudden and high accelerator inputs to make the front or rear part of the car take the right direction.
The parking attendants and some fellow workers in my office use this technique when parking in less space and they do it very well,only some tyres are burnt.

@Gurrala:Yesterday itself I added Corolla to my list,a lot of people recommended me Corolla saying "Its very easy to live with this car".In fact my neighbor also owns a 2005-06 Corolla and he has covered more than 1.5 lakh kilometers in the car but was still praising his car like its brand new.Any Corolla owner on board?

@Vaibhav:Thanks a lot for the suggestion but I don't find the Nissan Sunny a car of my choice.By the way I have enjoyed the super luxury of Teana once,but this car is way out of my budget.
Thanx a lot for the explanation you explained it quite nicely and I understand now perfectly what you mean[:)].

We have a Nissan teanna in my family it's pure bliss.
Btw did you read all those threads which I had pointed you too ?[evil]

Thread Starter #89
I am yet to completely read all those threads.Actually I have my office everywhere I go and hence it's not that easy to read them all taking all the time.
Rest I have read them and got some points saved in my mind.