Suggestion Needed for a New Car Under 12 Lac.

Thread Starter #61
@TSI:I haven't missed anything that I needed.The car offers everything that I desire for.It has serious power,very good power delivery,very good steering wheel,fantastic pick up,good and comfortable seats and a very well weighed steering.
Yes it has no automatic climate control and auto folding mirrors,but my Esteem was also like that,I don't need too much fancy things if the car is so so much fun to drive and full of life every time.

Parc- tata safari strome is getting launched in september just wait till September till you decide on anything atleast you will have one more option to choose from .

Thread Starter #64
@Gurrala:
I have tested Yeti too by sitting inside and no doubt the car was very good.But low models have very less features while the mouth watering 4X4 top model is way out of my budget.So I decided to keep away form Yeti.Also the Yeti can never be as much fun to drive as the Laura TSI is.

Today I did a really long test drive of Mahindra XUV 500 4X4.It was of about 44 kms and what I felt was that the 4X4 XUV 500 was very much more fun to drive than the 4X2 and felt really more stable than the 4X2 one.Also this car was really very much fun to drive on a small single lane road we tested it in the hills of Manesar.Even my brother also declared it very well handling as compared to the 4X2 and driving this car in 4X4 mode was really very much confidence inspiring too.

I guess the waiting of XUV has come down drastically, i would advice you to enquire the same with couple of other dealer's.

@Gurrala:
I have tested Yeti too by sitting inside and no doubt the car was very good.But low models have very less features while the mouth watering 4X4 top model is way out of my budget.So I decided to keep away form Yeti.Also the Yeti can never be as much fun to drive as the Laura TSI is.

Today I did a really long test drive of Mahindra XUV 500 4X4.It was of about 44 kms and what I felt was that the 4X4 XUV 500 was very much more fun to drive than the 4X2 and felt really more stable than the 4X2 one.Also this car was really very much fun to drive on a small single lane road we tested it in the hills of Manesar.Even my brother also declared it very well handling as compared to the 4X2 and driving this car in 4X4 mode was really very much confidence inspiring too.
OK. That's fine. I think now I will have to do a TD of XUV 500 very soon !! it is interesting listen from you

@ParC:I knew that exactly same response will come,you really know how to feel the car.

But was it still anywhere closer to TSi on the fun factor?
Arey leave aside these vehicles(I haven't said 'trucks' or 'tractors' this time) and go for a real car.Book your Laura TSi soon and get your car.On the Raksha bandhan gift your brother's Innova back to him(you mentioned somewhere that you are using Innova now a days and your brother Activa[lol]).

Thread Starter #68
Okay mates,I have everything ready with me and tomorrow I will surely book the XUV 500 W8 in White or Red colour.
But still I have some more cars in mind which are:-
Skoda Laura TSI-This car was like a missile.
New Ford Fiesta Petrol-This was most talkative car,it felt like we are really driving.
Tata Aria Pride 4X4:There is one car with the dealer which is available at very good discount.

Okay mates,I have everything ready with me and tomorrow I will surely book the XUV 500 W8 in White or Red colour.
But still I have some more cars in mind which are:-
Skoda Laura TSI-This car was like a missile.
New Ford Fiesta Petrol-This was most talkative car,it felt like we are really driving.
Tata Aria Pride 4X4:There is one car with the dealer which is available at very good discount.
Go ahead with the XUV 500 and my suggestion would be go for white. It looks great in white. And driving a SUV is always a fun, especially that king of the road kinda feeling. And XUV comes with never ending list of features.

Thread Starter #71
Guys again I am too much confused.
I have been driving a Safari GX 4X4 since yesterday's afternoon and today I again test drove XUV 500.Then again I drove the Safari and now I am thinking Safari or XUV-Safari or XUV.
One has feeling and one has features.
One reads my mind and one responds very quickly.
One feels live,like it is talking to me while another feels like a faithful dog,who is just following every command of mine.
To make it easy,Safari felt like it has feelings,it reads my mind and is lively while XUV felt like loaded with gadgets,quick on responding and like a dog.
My God,I am really more than confused now..

Guys again I am too much confused.
I have been driving a Safari GX 4X4 since yesterday's afternoon and today I again test drove XUV 500.Then again I drove the Safari and now I am thinking Safari or XUV-Safari or XUV.
One has feeling and one has features.
One reads my mind and one responds very quickly.
One feels live,like it is talking to me while another feels like a faithful dog,who is just following every command of mine.
To make it easy,Safari felt like it has feelings,it reads my mind and is lively while XUV felt like loaded with gadgets,quick on responding and like a dog.
My God,I am really more than confused now..

OK do not get confused. Think of buying both the Dogs[clap] One will listen to your mind and other with your hands !!

Thread Starter #73
Guys,ParC is again here to bore you all with some more theory and experiences.Actually I am now very much confused,in fact I am in such confusion that today I spent one hour reading about Force One too.Then I realised "What are you doing"?And then I left it and thought of what I really found in the cars and now I am listing my requirements and pros and cons of some cars as I found them.

My requirements are:-
Monthly running:Not more than 1,000 kms,some times it can go upto 1500 to 2000 kms too.
Fuel type:Any one,both are acceptable.
How much I can spend?Straight upto 15.8 lakh,not even a single penny more than this amount.
What type of roads I drive on?Its the Gurgaon e-way.The road is fantastic.Any person residing near IGI in Delhi knows about it.I drive from here to my office which is 9 kms ahead of the toll plaza.
More requirements:Good or commanding looks,good performance and hence ease of driving,some features to make it comfortable for me and of course a good space in case I want to make any outstation trips like Jaipur,Mussoorie etc in our gang of girls!!
Anything else:Car must offer good reliability at the top.

Now I am mentioning pros and cons of some cars which I have found till now.

Mahindra XUV 500 W8:Fits in my budget pretty well.

Pros:-
  • Good looks.
  • Loaded with features.
  • Good performance.
  • 2 way adjustable steering wheel.
  • Comfortable.

Cons:-
  • Some horrific ownership stories,else I find no cons in this car.It suits me very well and I just delayed my booking due to the issues.
  • No Toyota car like reliability.

Tata Safari VX 4X4:This car is in the heart.

• Safari still has a status which is not given to any other car.It commands a special respect.
  • It feels very spacious and has most comfortable and big seats.
  • Front seat mounted screens give a very rich feeling.
  • A good 4X4 system.
  • It has a talkative steering.

• Storme is around the corner.
  • It feels crude in front of XUV 500.
  • Lack of features.
  • Feels quite old too.
  • Music system feels very cheap.

Honda City V i-vtec:This car really feels best.

• Priced good.
  • Ageless looks.
  • Have a good respect on the road.
  • Very good performance and low maintenance.
  • Fantastic to drive and has a very much talkative steering wheel.

• Like XUV 500,I don't find any cons in this car too.
  • This car only feels very hollow made in front of XUV and Safari,but both of them are SUVs.

Skoda Laura TSI:This car is really special.I just can't forget this car.

• This is a sedan but felt better built and tougher than even the SUVs.
  • This car has a true respect.Whoever I asked if I must buy a Laura people say "Are you buying a Laura"?Everyone respects this car.
  • This car is a rocket,it performs very well.
  • The steering wheel is very talkative.
  • Power and performance is far ahead than any car even priced 25 lakh.
  • Very comfortable to drive as well as on rear seats.

• Spare parts are expensive.
  • Lack of features,not even an automatic climate control or auto folding mirrors.
  • No more cons in my view.

I know all this but still I am confused.

@Parul

From your list it self, I could say the following

If a SUV : it is XUV 500. I have also read the stories about this on this forum, the issues are minor in nature and some body really just get used to it to enjoy the drive and have control on it fully. I really do not comment on built quality in long run, as this is one area you need to examine on the Mahindra vehicles, yes they are not like Toyota in reliability. But again there is a huge price factor between M&M SUV and a Toyota one.

If a Sedan : It is Laura and nothing more to explain about this wonderful car for driving pleasure. May few features are missing, but you will really enjoy the German built and finish. Though it is bit costly on the pocket to maintain but , I understand that it is not like earlier these days as cost of spares has come down to a larger extent and service charges are also within control. Since your driving is not on very bad roads often, so I do not think this will give you so many service troubles.

Apart from the above, I wanted to ask you that have you checked the Toyota Altis any time ??

any reasons for not considering the jetta 1.4 TSI?

i know that it is not vfm infront of the laura but since you are comfortable with sedans you might as well try the jetta too.