Skil 9080 Car Polisher - Review

Excellent article and efforts CRACING!

This one about car polishers, I wanted to do some research and write something after on my personal use and observations. I would give this link in our thread: http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...83-exhaustive-guide-car-detailing-basics.html
Hello Sir,

Thank you for your appreciations. I still don't believe I made this article but this car detailing topic is too vast so I was not able to provide complete details. However, there is no end for it and different people opt different ways that suits them better.

i.e DA or Orbital polisher costs 3 to 4 times of a rotary polisher so not everybody can afford it. Experts advice DA or Orbital polisher because its safe on paint and easy to handle but if one has confidence and do some practices, rotary polisher can be a best car polisher. Of course, rotary polisher is no good for most of wax applications because its too fast but for that we can opt hand application. On the other hand, I have read plenty of rotary polisher users using it without any issues and some don't even like DA or Orbital polisher. Its just a personal preference.

1. You have quoted But, I find it one B&D model is available @Rs.3500/- in India (KP1200 Car Polisher). It has different handle, Disc Diameter10" but no speed regulator. What is your opinion? Shall we go for the 6” model Black n Decker KP600 60W?
Yep, B&D has KP1200 car polisher available in India but its good to call it a Waxer rather then Polisher. Below are the reasons:

1. Its not so powerful for polishing. No Load Speed of 3200 rpm will drop when pressed on surface because of low wattage (i.e 120w).
2. The backing plate is non removable and 10 inch would be too big when working on small portions or panels.
3. AFAIK, the inter foam pad is not usable. User has to fit bonnet on it for polishing/waxing. Also 10" bonnets are not easily available in India.
4. Wool bonnet that comes with it can make swirls so not recommended. Even on Rotary, DA, Orbital Polishers. Read below for more info.
5. It has no speed control and runs at 3200 RPM at no load. No good because wax application should be done under 600 RPM speed for perfect bonding.

Wool bonnet is used for paint removal/corrections because its most aggressive. Once finished, we have to use different dense foam pads for removal of micro fine swirls. Process is just like we use sand papers. i.e 400 -> 2000 -> 4000 -> 6000 Grit.

p.s My neighbor had bought same machine two years ago but was not satisfied. It hops a lot or reduces speed if pressed hard. Newer cars have curved surfaces so large backing plate is also the reason for hop. I saw them using once and never again.

B&D KP600 is not available in India and also I cannot find its spec in official B&D websites, including international. From international sales websites (Link), it seems a Random Orbit Waxer/Polisher which is a good thing but I doubt 60w would be sufficient. No speed control is also a problem. May be its better alternative to manual process and pricing is also good.

2. You have put the pictures of Skil 9080 Car Polisher parts. Please tag/identify the name of parts so that anybody can understand what are what and understand the use and explanation from your beautiful article.
Yep, I thought to write another review once I get hands on the polisher. However, parts that come with the polisher are easy understandable and the manual provided is also well written for installation instructions. PDF User Manual can be viewed/downloaded here

1. Polisher aka Machine Unit. It weights 3.5 KG excluding cable so little heavy to handle.
2. One that looks like D is called D Handle. (For me it looks like G though) It has to be attached to the polisher/machine with two screws provided and allen key to tight it.
3. Alternatively, there is also Auxiliary handle provided that attaches to polisher/machine. You can use either D handle or Auxiliary handle. Which ever you feel better to hold the polisher.
4. One that looks like plate, a nut in the center and yellow color band round it, is called Backing plate. It has dia of size 7", nut aka spindle size is M14 (14mm approx) and Velcro aka Hook & Loop in the other side of the plate. Yellow colored hard foam is also sandwiched in-between.
5. Orange color waffle pad is provided for wax/polish application and it attaches to backing plate using Velcro aka Hook & loop thing. Size is 7" so you have be careful in corners/edges and do let backing plate to touch anything.
6. Finally user manual is provided and a booklet for Skil/Bocsh service center locations.

3. I understand different pads are used for different purpose -Ultra-Light Finishing – Finishing -Light Polishing/Finishing - Light-Medium Polishing- Heavy Polishing- Medium-Heavy Cutting- Heavy Cutting. Is Foam sponge OK up to Light-Medium Polishing?
Sorry, I think I have not understood you here. There are different types of foam sponges for aggressiveness needed for user. Depends upon dense, material of foam and etc.

Here is chart that has details of different pads from different brands:
PAD_CHART.JPG

There are some laser cut pads like CCS, Waffle, Hex which are made to reduce heat produced when polishing plus some other benefits but I see most don't like it or they are more satisfied with flat pads.

4. What backing plate size you prefer for people like us? Smaller is better? Whether it comes with interchangeable sizes?
As per expert recommendations, 4 - 5 inch backing plates are used for large plane surfaces like roof top, doors, hood, trunk and etc. 2 - 3 inch backing plates for small areas like fender curves, hood curves, A, C as well as B if painted pillars and etc. Anything above 6 inch, especially on rotary polisher tend to hop and will be difficult to control.

Kindly note; Polishing pads should be 0.5 - 2 inch bigger then backing plates so that backing plate doesn't touch the edges or curves of the car body.

Here is a nice guide from Chemical Guys:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CI78DjvsLwA

Few days ago, I had visited to Bosch service center to find Velcro Backing Plates and lucky, I could get one 5" plate. It is not Bosch branded but quality is good and fits well to my Rotary spindle. Cost is Rs. 175. Now I'm looking to buy Lake Country Flat White Polishing Pad for AIO product application but it costs Rs. 850 per pad so I shouldn't make mistake when choosing.

Here are the snaps:

Velcro_Backing_Pad.jpg
Skil_9080_With_Backing_Pads.jpg
* 7" Backing Plate is the one came with the machine and 5" is the one I bought.
* M10 written in 5" Backing Plate is wrong/typo. Actually its M14.

Similar pad is available in ebay India but cost is Rs. 350. Link The nut doesn't look well molded into the pad and I doubt it holds strong while polishing.

Another one is listed in paytm which costs Rs. 170. Link Overall quality doesn't look good in pictures.

You're welcome and thanks for sharing informative videos. [:)]

Hello Friends,

Little updates about my recently purchases related to this topic.

I had placed order for 8 pcs. buffing pads kit in Aliexpress for 6.75 USD and today I have received them. It took just 20 days to reach me and service used was CNZ Express which has no tracking.

The kit contains 4 pcs. of orange color polishing pads, 2 pcs. of black color finishing pads, 1 pc. wool buffing pad, 1 pc. backing plate and 1pc. M10 drill adapter. All are 5 inch in dia.

• Orange color pads are little hard, just like the one came with my rotary polisher. It is used for medium to heavy cut with compounds. i.e Removal of swirls, scratches and paint correction.
  • Black color pads are soft and is used for final buffing or wax application. I'm not sure about cut because these are Chinese pads with no brand or spec. I guess it has little or no cut.
  • Buffing wool pad is soft but not thick enough. Whatsoever, it is most aggressive and used only for heavy paint correction.
  • The backing plate sent to me has M10 spindle nut and not M14 as mentioned in product description by the seller. So it does not fit to my rotary polisher. However, I have told this to the seller and yet to receive his response. Quality of the backing plate is same as the one came with my rotary polisher and the one I got locally.
  • The drill adapter is M10 and fits to the backing plate. With this adapter we can use drilling machine as a car polisher. Experts would not recommend this idea but if you really wanna try, then use variable speed drilling machine with auxiliary handle. SPEED SHOULD NOT EXCEED 1500 RPM AND FIXED SPEED DRILLING MACHINES SHOULD NOT BE USED.

Actually, I just bought these to see how really they are. I had no intention to use these pads on my car because I don't know their aggressiveness and cannot take risk. But they are not useless to me; I would be using them for other polishing works. i.e wood finishes, painted panels, ceramic tiles, fiberglass, stainless steel, chrome finishes and etc.

Link to 8 pcs. Buffing Pad Kit: Click here

Now lets move to next products.

I was looking for Lake country pads for AIO application. First I found white pad to be correct choice since its made to be used with AIO products but later found its not a finishing pad and may require finishing pads to be used next. It has light cut and when used with rotary, there is a risk of making swirls or holograms.

So the gray pad was the best bet to me. It is a finishing pad, has no cut and can be used with Glazes, Finishing Polishes, Liquid waxes and sealant products. Also many people use black pads with AIO product on rotary polisher. If any cut has be done by product itself but not by the pad. Of course, almost of all AIO products have no cut so I would not worry.

I was looking for flat pads because most find it better when used with rotary polishing but it was not available due to less demand so had go for CCS. Greencarcarez had 5.5" CCS black pads, placed the order for 1 pc. and received within 48 hours. However, I'm yet to try the pad but once I do, will let you all know.

Link to LC Gray CCS Pad: Click here

Last one is, CarPro Rayon Glass polishing pad which I had ordered with the above pad. Since from long time, I needed this to polish my windshield which has plenty of swirls. First they were caused by dirty wiper blade due to careless driver of previous owner then I took it for car polishing shop to polish the glass but they made it worst. Wiper scratches were reduced but rotary swirls allover because they used wool buffing pad! Last month I had visited to 3M car care thinking they are professionals but they used 3m paint polishing compound with wool bonnet. It was just a trial to see if swirls reduce but obviously didn't worked.

Today evening I had some time to work on car windshield. Did a trial for 30 mins (Plenty of passes in 1 sqft area) and I could reduce 50% of swirls. [:D] Product used was Rotary Polisher, 5" Backing Plate, Carpro Rayon 5" Glass Polishing Pad, Proklear Pre-Cleaner (It comes with their NSG kit) and plenty of water.

Now that I know it works, I can go ahead and buy Carpro Ceriglass 150ml bottle to completely polish the windshield.

Link to Carpro Rayon Glass Polishing Pad: Click here

Thats all for now.

Thanks...
Best Regards

Hello Friends,

Today I had some time to write complete work report of windshield scratch repair, which I had finished doing few days ago. As stated in previous post, Proklear's PreCleaner assured me that it is possible to reduce the swirls on my car windshield but needs a real glass polishing compound. So I got ahead and bought the Carpro Ceriglass 150ml bottle (Not the kit because I use rotary) for 1k from Ultimate Detailerz, Bangalore.

The process to polish the whole windshield took 2 hours (including checkup and rest) a day for 4 days. Actually its a messy job and needs more energy to polish for long period. I used to start the work after dusk (7pm) because the scratches look more visible at night and finish at 9pm. Divided the windshield by 8 parts (1 sqft each) and polished 2 parts each day. Used 24mm oddy masking tape for marking the partitions to be polished. Spraying water every few mins is required to break-down the compound and help the pad move smoothly. Also keeps the glass cool. I have used 50% of compound (75ml or more) to polish the whole windshield. Note: Respirator mask, Safety goggles and safety hat is must before using the machine.

Little about Skil 9080 Rotary: Now I'm very familiar with this machine and can control it easily. Before I though it would be difficult but it really isn't. I have used D handle for better control and speed setting from min ~ 1 (Which I believe to be around 600-800 RPM) to polish the glass.

Finally after 4 days of work, I completed the windshield polishing and was able to reduce the scratches/swirls upto 95%. 5 percents left are tiny white dots and deep scratches here or there but removing these will require deep sanding/polishing which is not a good idea. However, the glass is crystal clear now and I can drive at night without any trouble. [:D]

Below are some shots for comparing between how it was before polishing and after polishing (Please excuse for low quality shots). Left Side (Passenger Side) is not polished and right side (Driver Side) is polished:

CR_ANHC09_Windshield_Polish_01.JPG CR_ANHC09_Windshield_Polish_02.JPG

CR_ANHC09_Windshield_Polish_03.JPG CR_ANHC09_Windshield_Polish_04.JPG

CR_ANHC09_Windshield_Polish_05.JPG CR_ANHC09_Windshield_Polish_06.JPG

CR_ANHC09_Windshield_Polish_07.JPG CR_ANHC09_Windshield_Polish_08.JPG

See how the lights scatter on right side but on the other side, the light is so clear after polishing. In my city, most of two-wheeler rides go on the opposite side (next to footpath) and their vehicle light used to blind my view. Thankfully, I did not hit someone or something.

Thats it for now.

@TSIVipul. Sir Ji, what happened about your purchase of Skil Polisher? You didn't reverted but I was awaiting here. [:)]

Thanks...
Best Regards