Scorpio 2.6 Non Crde - Crossed 1.8 lakh kms!

Wow it's hard to beleive that Scorpio has done 1.8 lac on ODO, it's still better and not looking old.
Though front left headlamp has some water seeping issues i guess.

Btw a white Hawk can be seen besides it.[:)]

Thread Starter #107
Though you mentioned the car was abused and not taken care of , physically the car is still looking great!
Thanks buddy.

Wow it's hard to beleive that Scorpio has done 1.8 lac on ODO, it's still better and not looking old.
Though front left headlamp has some water seeping issues i guess.

Btw a white Hawk can be seen besides it.[:)]
1.98 lac kms now. The front headlamp has faded a bit. The white mHawk is not mine!

Looking at the white hawk in the pics, i thought you bought a new one[lol].

1.98lacs is preety huge figure, but at the end of the day, it is proper care and services given to the engine which have helped car clocked so many kms without much difficulty.

Thread Starter #110
The AC was not cooling well. Spent 6000 earlier in a local garage, the problem resurfaced. Took it to a reputed AC specialist. He had to change the compressor now it is working fine. When I enquired to why this happened, he said that it is because of its age. The car is 2 lakh kms run & 8 years old, so the compressor was nearing its end.

Damage - Rs. 20,000/-

The scorp serves its purpose in handling those roads of Kerala quite well, doesn't it? Besides the AC failure, at 2L+ Kms, it has to be one of the most well maintained Scorp.

Btw, this is one of your Scorp's thread that inspired me. Cheers Raj.

Avi

looks amazing for its age, cant even see a scratch, well done indeed!!
compressor replacement after 2L kms - dont even count it as damage you are lucky!!

Thread Starter #113
The scorp serves its purpose in handling those roads of Kerala quite well, doesn't it? Besides the AC failure, at 2L+ Kms, it has to be one of the most well maintained Scorp.

Btw, this is one of your Scorp's thread that inspired me. Cheers Raj.

Avi
Thank you for your kind words.

looks amazing for its age, cant even see a scratch, well done indeed!!
compressor replacement after 2L kms - dont even count it as damage you are lucky!!
Okay, so that means a compressor replacement at this age is fine indeed!

Thread Starter #114
Re: Scorpio CRDe

This car shows lesser issues & also rattles less than my new mHawk. we are thinking to get this car replaced. what would be its replacement? you guess right...!
Guys, I forgot to update this. We have sold the company's white SLX (not the non-CRDe GLX which i use) as it had run 1.7 lakh kms & replaced it with a white Scorpio refresh VLX 2 months back! We needed two cars, so we bought a white Xylo E8 as well.

I dont have it's pics as I rarely see the car, it is not my car, it is the company's vehicle as the one it replaced. so that makes it the 5th Scorpio!

1) Scorpio non-CRDe GLX - silver
2) Scorpio CRDe SLX - white (sold)
3) Scorpio m2Di - black (sold)
4) Scorpio mHawk VLX - White (sold)
5) Scorpio mHawk Refresh VLX - white

Though I am using only the non-CRDe in Kerela.

Guys, I forgot to update this. We have sold the company's white SLX (not the non-CRDe GLX which i use) as it had run 1.7 lakh kms & replaced it with a white Scorpio refresh VLX 2 months back! We needed two cars, so we bought a white Xylo E8 as well.

I dont have it's pics as I rarely see the car, it is not my car, it is the company's vehicle as the one it replaced. so that makes it the 5th Scorpio!

1) Scorpio non-CRDe GLX - silver
2) Scorpio CRDe SLX - white (sold)
3) Scorpio m2Di - black (sold)
4) Scorpio mHawk VLX - White (sold)
5) Scorpio mHawk Refresh VLX - white

Though I am using only the non-CRDe in Kerela.
Raj but still i miss the 4th Scorpio of yours.[cry]

Btw the quality of new one's have deteriorated some what, the Cruise control button seems plasticky.

Thread Starter #116

Raj but still i miss the 4th Scorpio of yours.[cry]
Me too. [cry]

Btw the quality of new one's have deteriorated some what, the Cruise control button seems plasticky.
+100. Every successive model of Mahindra, the quality seems to be deteriorating. Even build strength.

Lift the bonnet of the old Scorpio (my brute) and then lift the bonnet of the refresh scorpio, you will understand.

At last only two Scorpios for our 'The SCORPION king'!!
Even I am also feeling bad for that.

BTW,Raj do you own a travel agency or you have contracted your Scorps with companies/travel agencies?I mean,your cars really run a bit too much.
Ours running goes maximum upto 10k kms per month with all three cars combined,but yours seems to be like every car does that much every month!!

It took me 3 days reading the highlights of this thread,quite interesting is the journey of your Scorpion babe..[drive]

Thread Starter #118
BTW,Raj do you own a travel agency or you have contracted your Scorps with companies/travel agencies?I mean,your cars really run a bit too much.
Ours running goes maximum upto 10k kms per month with all three cars combined,but yours seems to be like every car does that much every month!!
Nopes, we dont contract our cars to any travel agencies.

only one Scorpio (m2Di) was bought as a taxi, since we have a travel business in Kerela & we have buses there & we needed one 7 seater also.

Other Scorpios run a lot because of our business. Now, slowly we have started avoiding road trips & adopted the air route. it saves time & money but I still prefer the road!

Thread Starter #119
The clutch master cylinder went bonkers. My uncle was travelling in the Scorpio when the clutch pedal sank completely.

A local mechanic was called & on inspection he found the master cylinder to be kaput, according to my uncle. He claims to have replaced the cylinder & the car is running fine now. But I doubt... because all he charged was Rs. 1800/-! A master cylinder cant be that cheap!

Secondly, dont know what he did with the AC, but as soon as he left, the AC again stopped cooling, so will have to take it back to the AC garage again.

Thread Starter #120
We are in the process of selling our BRUTE. For the last 4-5 months, it has been giving too much of issues. The AC is repeatedly showing problems, we have spent close to 30k just to get the AC working. The vehicle even broke down twice, fortunately never with us. Once the clutch master cylinder failed, the second time the fuel pump wiring got shorted. We cant rely on it anymore.

To be fair to the BRUTE, I wont completely blame him for the breakdowns since -

1) The vehicle is kept in a very shoddy condition, its not even cleaned unless we are in Kerela.
2) Its not looked after. Maintenance is NIL.
3) Its driven around by bus drivers.
4) Its driven to non-existent roads quite often, its abused a lot.
5) Its never seen the face of a Mahindra A.S.S., its always been given to local garages who always do a shoddy/temporary job. Till recently, we dint have a Mahindra A.S.S. in our place.

All said & done, the BRUTE is showing its age. I was quite reluctant to let him go. We have still not taken a final decision, I am somehow trying to postpone it but even I dont wish a car in which I cannot take my family for a long drive confidently.

We are considering a used car as well as we dont have good drivers here who will look after a brand new car. We may buy a Bolero or Scorpio or Xylo.