Royal Enfield Thunderbird Booking Cancellation Experience in Bangalore

Update:
2nd Free service was due on 25th May but due to rain I got it done on last Saturday (3rd June). There was nothing much to attend for them other than the regular service procedure. Still it cost me 469.00 out of which 300.00 was for Engine oil top-up.
Engine oil was just topped up instead of completely being changed? I am guessing you meant changed but wrote topped up? I understand that the new Engine needs Fully Synthetic oil, yet I do not understand the logic behind just topping up the oil which would run an additional 3k KM or the next service date by then the Oil would have burned a lot which is not advisable.

I did hear some say they have used synthetic oil & ran the bike for 5k KM without changing the oil & not many issues, however the engine differs from a car & the max you can run your motorcycle without oil change is 4k and then you need Oil change.

Thread Starter #93
Thanks for the responses.

Did you buy the crash guard with the dealer or outside? and, what is the cost?

Any upgrades planned?
I bought in from a different dealer. I have paid Rs 950 for it.
Engine oil was just topped up instead of completely being changed? I am guessing you meant changed but wrote topped up? I understand that the new Engine needs Fully Synthetic oil, yet I do not understand the logic behind just topping up the oil which would run an additional 3k KM or the next service date by then the Oil would have burned a lot which is not advisable.

I did hear some say they have used synthetic oil & ran the bike for 5k KM without changing the oil & not many issues, however the engine differs from a car & the max you can run your motorcycle without oil change is 4k and then you need Oil change.
It was top up. As per RE engine oil replacement is due at every 6000KM or 6 months duration whichever comes earlier. I too was confused about this top up. SE told me that the engine level decreses at times may be after 3 or 4 months which require only top-up. However I wasn't fully convinced with that.

TB-350 booking cancelled,

1.I personally found rusting in new bikes both painted and chromium plated parts.
2.No alloy wheel and tubless tyres
3.Vibration above 70 km /hr- I personally feel it
4.Most of the owners I contacted is not satisfied with the bike,and service- some says oil leakage,rusting vibration and high service cost near to a 4 wheel
Moreover the reviews I found not supporting TB-350
I am not in a position to spend near 1.5 lacs for a gambling

Sad to see your booking gets cancelled.

During rainy season, most vehicle gets rust rt? that is why they paint with some yellow color stuff (i've seen in many two wheeler). When you wipe off the water, it may not. My car's suzuki sticker on the rear (S) had rust. They wiped of with something and went off completely. After rain, we never wipe of those water droplets. Now, I am taking care of that.

Anyways, I got enough time to cancel if at all needed [clap]. I think, you can invest few more lakhs and go for Harley [:)] or even a Hayabusa @ 12 Lakhs. I hardly find any other models (other than RE) where you can get a 350/500 cc at 1.5 lakh.

Hope to see gns 's reply to vibration at 70km/hr

1.I personally found rusting in new bikes both painted and chromium plated parts.
4.Most of the owners I contacted is not satisfied with the bike,and service- some says oil leakage,rusting vibration and high service cost near to a 4 wheel
@sbtrajesh, Here are my views,
1. Rusting - this is manageable if you do a regular maintenance like appus suggested and also a lot of products are available which can be applied to prevent/remove rust.
2. Alloy - This is a personal liking. I would always prefer a spoke wheel for a Bullet.
3. Vibration - If the engine is properly tuned and ridden seductively, this will minimize to a great extent. There are a lot of parts in a bullet which tend to vibrate, needs to be tightened as part of periodic maintenance. After all it is made of iron and steel.
4. Not all people who buy bullet have passion towards it. Some use the bike as a commute bike and some use as a occasional riding bike. But definitely the passion and maintenance defers from person to person.
5. Service cost - have you compared with that of the new gen bikes like CBR's and Ninja's which are in the same price range.

I agree that bullet has some issues, which are manageable. If you have the passion towards it, you can live with it.

@sbtrajesh, Here are my views,
1. Rusting - this is manageable if you do a regular maintenance like appus suggested and also a lot of products are available which can be applied to prevent/remove rust.
2. Alloy - This is a personal liking. I would always prefer a spoke wheel for a Bullet.
3. Vibration - If the engine is properly tuned and ridden seductively, this will minimize to a great extent. There are a lot of parts in a bullet which tend to vibrate, needs to be tightened as part of periodic maintenance. After all it is made of iron and steel.
4. Not all people who buy bullet have passion towards it. Some use the bike as a commute bike and some use as a occasional riding bike. But definitely the passion and maintenance defers from person to person.
5. Service cost - have you compared with that of the new gen bikes like CBR's and Ninja's which are in the same price range.

I agree that bullet has some issues, which are manageable. If you have the passion towards it, you can live with it.
1. I used to wash my vehicles once in a month due to my busy schedule
2.I like alloy and tubeless Tyre - I can't afford a puncture .
3.You search all the reviews and personally ask the TB users vibration is with all the vehicle-even the RE official agree with it.
4. I have no passion to any vehicle, I have Ritz and wagon-R - comfort according to my budget

Sad to see your booking gets cancelled
. I think, you can invest few more lakhs and go for Harley [:)] or even a Hayabusa @ 12 Lakhs. I hardly find any other models (other than RE) where you can get a 350/500 cc at 1.5 lakh.
I am a poor banker, I have some limited budget ...[cry]
I have a RD 350 in 90's -I know the power and comfort of a 350 cc vehicle.

Thread Starter #98

Rusting can happen, and it is not just for Royal Enfield. Infact, i personally feels that the chromium plated parts of RE last longer than many other makes
Yes, it is a fact. This should not be reason for cancellation as RE never released a bullet with alloys. One would not have hope for an additional feature from a manufacturer who never announced its availability
My persoanal feeling, You are trying to convince yourself for cancelling it. In fact, TB is the best one to ride betweeen 60-90kmph. It gives me more confident than my pulsar while driving at 80kmph. Vibration is happening while riding below 50kmph and above 90kmph. And that too can be reduced to some extend by using proper gears at certain speed. Also, I understood that one need to lubricate chain at least weekly once. Periodic lubrication will result in vibration and you will feel it while riding. I think, you are misguided by someone here.

If you contact me, I am satified as of now. Yes, mine is just 4 months old, no idea how it will behave as my ownership progresses.. Hope for the best. I haven't experienced oil leakage yet. I think you are refering to old RE bikes like classic, electra etc..
Yes, one personally has to decide whether they need to spend 1.5L or not. If you ask me, I would suggest you to keep away from RE bikes as it requires, more attention than the other bikes available even for cheep rates. Those who have passion towards bikes only can sustain with an RE.
Afer all, How many new generation bikes have you seen in Indian roads lasting more than 10 years? If you really go into those details, you will realize why RE bikes are still being sold more than its manufacturing capacity in India.

Thread Starter #99
Hope to see gns 's reply to vibration at 70km/hr
To be frank, I am not concerned about the vibration now. I think my mindset has build up and do not feel any disturbances due to so called vibrations. If you ask particularly driving at 70s, TB is the best one in this price range to drive at a speed between 60-80-90kmph. I always prefer riding it above 50 KMPH so that you can feel the pleasure of real thumping (thumping is drastically reduced in new TBs though) from back. But as you know the Bangalore traffic these days do not allow me to ride above 55kmph for a long time. At a speed of 70, you will hear only thumping and all other rattling kind of sounds Will disappear. I can feel vibrations only when looking into mirror these days. My body is very much used to it.

Frnds,
IT's ALL ARE MY PERSONAL FEELINGS or CONCERN while investing 1.5 lacs and have continues head ache- (In malayalam a proverb - Investing cash and buying a biting dog)
1.comparing other bikes RE have more chromium plated parts. even the wheels are rusting, As I said earlier I love bikes for riding only-I used to wash vehicle once in a month, I can't clean the vehicle every day-in kerala monsoon is very high I used to travel some distance in mud road.

2.Is there any option for alloy wheel,I can use tubless vehicle,
Using tubeless tyre in my wagon-R,Ritz and Activa, I can't think about a vehicle without tubeless tyres- driving in village chances for puncture is more.

3.No frnd, No one misguided me, I have collected phone no's from the dealer having TB-350, and call them, visited some vehicle personally- one of them is my child hood friend, he sold his two year old TB due to continues oil leakage. for just 60k.
I am a not a rich man to spend near 1.5 lacs and sold the vehicle bellow half the value after 2 year.
I know old model RE's(left break,right gear) are hot cake in market like RD-350 and RX-100

Yes, I know that You are a lucky person-but it may be my faith or luck, persons whom I contacted are not happy with TB-350, only one person I found- he is continuously using RE bikes- he own no other vehicles

4.Yes I agree with you friend, you have to care a RE bike as his child, I like RE bikes, when buying a new bike after a long gap, my first thought goes to RE and booked TB-350 without TD, and checking reviews,I used to drive my vehicle uptp 30k km /3 to 4 years and replacing it.
I am daily commuting to my office around 10km, and weekend traveling to my small coconut and rubber estate- You know the road to farms are always through mud road ...I can't care the vehicle as You said friend.
I wrote a detailed mail to RE's sales department about my concerns about the bike-personal mail to southern sales head Rubert- still today I got a replay from there side

I bought a biting cat with smaller investment.

Bullet is simply absurd bike in 21st century other than some nostalgia and ego attachments.
5 of my friends have bullets and myself with bajaj.I do sometimes pity them.they have endless problems to discuss starting from rust, starting problems, oil leaks, brakes, fuel consumption and battery charging.

2.Is there any option for alloy wheel,I can use tubless vehicle,
Using tubeless tyre in my wagon-R,Ritz and Activa, I can't think about a vehicle without tubeless tyres- driving in village chances for puncture is more.
I believe you can get alloys and tubeless for bullets in the after market.
I have heard lot of people driving in villages prefer Bullet than other bikes. Because no other bike in India is as tough as Bullet.
I also believe, that no other bike in India is maintenance free. This is just my opinion.

Bullet is simply absurd bike in 21st century other than some nostalgia and ego attachments.
5 of my friends have bullets and myself with bajaj. I do sometimes pity them.they have endless problems to discuss starting from rust, starting problems, oil leaks, brakes, fuel consumption and battery charging.
Are we overlooking something. We can't compare Apples to Oranges directly, except for a few things, because they both are fruits. Please don't tell that only bullets have problems. I have owned Bajaj, Yamaha and Suzuki bikes in the past and have went through all these problems over the course of ownership. It happens for all bikes, just not for bullet.

I believe you can get alloys and tubeless for bullets in the after market.
I have heard lot of people driving in villages prefer Bullet than other bikes. Because no other bike in India is as tough as Bullet.
I also believe, that no other bike in India is maintenance free. This is just my opinion.

Are we overlooking something. We can't compare Apples to Oranges directly, except for a few things, because they both are fruits. Please don't tell that only bullets have problems. I have owned Bajaj, Yamaha and Suzuki bikes in the past and have went through all these problems over the course of ownership. It happens for all bikes, just not for bullet.
I search many forums and reviews frnd,and take this decision.I need a trouble free bike at lleast for 30 k km.or3 years.

v

I search many forums and reviews frnd,and take this decision.I need a trouble free bike at lleast for 30 k km.or3 years.

v
No problem. I was just trying to understand the concerns you had, because I am also planning to buy one soon. I think you have made a good decision, based on your requirement.
All the best for your new buy. Hope you have shortlisted, which bike are you going to buy. Keep us updated.

Thread Starter #105

5 of my friends have bullets and myself with bajaj.I do sometimes pity them.they have endless problems to discuss starting from rust, starting problems, oil leaks, brakes, fuel consumption and battery charging.
Contrast here. I have been with my Pulsar 150 for last 7 years and decided not to buy any more Bajaj in near future. My decision was based on my experience having back pain during 40-50KM ride everyday. I can confidently says that I am out of that pain now even after riding 165Km at a stretch. I went about 165 one stretch (230 Km up and down in a day) once in my new TB from Bangalore to Mysore and did not feel any pain other than a little tiredness.
No idea which bikes your friends are using. Most of the bullets seen in Kerala are bit old and people there are fond of customization on their bike. My friend's Electra had that leakage issue but this thread is all about new thunderbird (2013) which is much refined and I hope such niggles are addressed by RE. I haven't faced any such issues as on date.
Everyone who says bullets are of "Ego Symbol", I have a only one question. Which is the other cruiser available in India for that same price tag and can go 300-500 Km a day without much tiredness? Yes, if your requirement is just to go from point "A" to "B" Bullets are not for them. And if you are looking for bike to go short distance, again bullets aren't for them. Bullets normally owned by people wish to travel long distance with their bike frequently.

v
Trouble free bikes? does it really exist? The only advantage I found in Pulsar is maintenance cost. Parts are cheaper comparing with Honda Unicorn. Between Pulsar and Unicorn, I feel Hondas are any day better than Bajaj.