Renault Duster Now Launched at Rs.7.19 Lakh (Coverage – Pg.19)

re: New Renault Duster To Hit Showrooms in June 2012

Raja,
The Duster is badged under the Dacia brand world over & unfortunately this Dacia is a low cost brand. lets hope things are different in India. In fact the launch could have happened sooner had Renault not decided to completely change the dash which earlier shared parts with the logan. Thats why the windows were blcked out in the Auto expo 2012 New delhi.

Jazzy
Very much Similar ...[drive][lol]

Dacia duster

Renault Duster

Raja,
The Duster is badged under the Dacia brand world over & unfortunately this Dacia is a low cost brand. lets hope things are different in India. In fact the launch could have happened sooner had Renault not decided to completely change the dash which earlier shared parts with the logan. Thats why the windows were blcked out in the Auto expo 2012 New delhi.

Jazzy
Even though Dacia is a low cost brand, Logan had decent quality. The interiors were hard and there were lots of cost cutting but it is a solidly engineered car.

Renault India has assured that there won't be any complaints about Duster's interiors. Let's hope it is a good package.

Can the Renault Duster Give a Tough Fight to Scorpio?

Most probably in June Renault will launch the Duster though the price is unknow at the moment speculations are it will launched in the 7 to 10 lakhs budget in both petrol and diesel options.
Most of us have already seen videos of the duster doing some real hardcore stunts and at the same time though it's my opinion it does look urban and modern .
Scorpio for many years as we know had a good reputation and till now do good numbers when it comes to sales .
So guys do you think that many buyers who are planning to buy a Scorpio can swing their vote against it and go for the Renault Duster with a proven dci engine and reputation of being a chart buster in sales wherever it is launched so far for being a spacious , reasonable ,practical and a no nonsense urban compact suv ?
Disclaimer - the thread is not for mahindra or Renault bashing , prospective buyers and fanboys and ( all members of the forum too ) of both the SUVs can share their opinion and debate in a healthy way which can infact enlight all members of the forum to make a good choice depending on their requirements.

Re: Can the Renault Duster give a tough fight to Scorpio

it all depends on pricing.

if the 110bhp version is priced lower than the SLE variant, then sure it will give a tough fight to scorpio but again the restricted dealer network will affect its reach countrywide.

but it will definetely see more prospective townside customers.

Scorpio over Duster:
Macho looks
Road presence (its a full size SUV)
Power
Can seat 7/8

Duster over Scorpio:
Fuel efficiency
Ride and handling
Compact
Solid build quality

Having owned a Logan for 1.15 lacs kms, the 1.5Dci powered Logan is extremely fuel efficient, great driveability, has decent dynamics, and finally acres of space. Scorpio can seat 5 in good comfort, the last row is for either luggage or people. Its dynamics on the highway is questionable. If only seating 7 is primary requirement, I'll go for Innova as people sitting at the last in scorpio will be uncomfortable. For 5 seats, Duster is the safe bet.

Scorpio over Duster:
Macho looks
Road presence (its a full size SUV)
Power
Can seat 7/8

Duster over Scorpio:
Fuel efficiency
Ride and handling
Compact
Solid build quality

Having owned a Logan for 1.15 lacs kms, the 1.5Dci powered Logan is extremely fuel efficient, great driveability, has decent dynamics, and finally acres of space. Scorpio can seat 5 in good comfort, the last row is for either luggage or people. Its dynamics on the highway is questionable. If only seating 7 is primary requirement, I'll go for Innova as people sitting at the last in scorpio will be uncomfortable. For 5 seats, Duster is the safe bet.
Crazy cat the only problem I find is and this is just my opinion the duster dosent look as imposing and bucth like the Scorpio and in videos that have seen I find the seating position a bit lower for suv standards what's your take ? And since you used a Logan the parts and maintenance of dci engine is cheap or expensive ?

Yes, its not a full sized SUV. It will be wide, but not tall. It is for someone who doesn't like a big SUV for its traditional drawbacks, like someone who prefers a sedan with high GC. Its doors also looks like the one on the Logan, you can judge the height with that.

Logan's maintenance is on par with the competition, similar to swift diesel. 60k service was quite expensive at around 17000rs, as parts like timing belt were replaced.

Few pics of the Duster from Auto Expo, taken by myself. I found the design to be slightly awkward. It won't appeal to a layman immediately but one will get used to it I'm sure. It did look quite big & butch to me though, which is a good thing..I'm also glad they are changng the interiors for the better

Jazzy thanx so much in your view which has a solid presence the duster or the ecosport and if you were to buy 1 which 1 u will go for ?

Hmm, frankly speaking I will go with EcoSport, only on the ground of it having a far superior advanced engine (the 1lt ecoboost 120+bhp). Moreover I have owned a renault logan before, so I would tilt towards the Ford to try out something genuinely new...
Looks wise your brownie points go to which ? And is the ecosport in real bugger then the jaaz in length and width too ?

Duster is more bigger UV, while ecosport is kinda compact UV. It is best to see both in flesh & then decide. As for me, I am betting on Duster more than ecosport as ecosport looks more like a hatch with high ground clearance.

Jazzy,
If I am right, that 1l engine is in petrol & not diesel, right ? And if that is the case, no point in opting for petrol ecosport.
And Logan will be no match to Duster by any means.
BTW, were you happy with Renault a.s.s ?

Looks wise your brownie points go to which ? And is the ecosport in real bugger then the jaaz in length and width too ?
Lookwise as I said, Duster is a bit awkward at first sight whereas Ecosport looked more contemporary to me. Yes, as confirmed by Ford ecosport will be over 4mts in length, so it has to be longer than jazz. Height & width would also be more than jazz. Now it remains to be seen how much space can it offer inside. Hope they do a better job than the current fiesta, which lacks space big time in rear seat...