Next Generation Mahindra Scorpio Priced at Rs.7.98 Lakh (Coverage: Pg 28)

Re: Mahindra Begins Development of Next Generation Scorpio (W105)

I think they will put the Subaru inspired / copied ( depends how you take it [;)])front which they are using nowadays on xylo , verito , vibe.

See the pic extreme left is the Subaru and right are mahindra models .

Whatever M&M does with the new Scorpio, whether they provide enough features or not but please please M&M work on the ride quality. Current version literally takes you on a boat ride if you go off the tarmac. (No offense to the Scorpio owners here, just my personal opinion).

The GC should be around 200-205 mm and provide ABS and EBD standard on all variants like Tata did with Storme. It's important since for a vehicle of this size ABS is must.

BTW: The pic posted by Raja shows that they have worked on the front and rear, also i guess they have used XUV alloys here, so the good part is that we can expect 17" now.

Mahindra is working on a substantial facelift for the ageing Scorpio, codenamed W105, which is set to be launched late 2014.

It will incorporate a redesigned front-end, with minor revisions to the rear as well. The interiors are also likely to be further optimised for more space. This will help address the issue of the car’s limited legroom in the second row. However, it’s unlikely that there will be a change in its wheelbase, with it remaining the same as the current car’s 2680mm.

The Scorpio facelift is likely to come with an unchanged engine line-up, which means that power will come via the same 2.2-litre mHawk unit that puts out 120bhp, mated to a five-speed manual gearbox. It’s also likely that the 2.5-litre m2DiCR 75bhp engine will be on offer. An automatic transmission, however, will not be available on the Scorpio facelift.

Despite being close to a decade old, the Mahindra Scorpio still manages respectable sales numbers, averaging 4,000 units per month. The facelift, however, will freshen the Scorpio’s appeal and give it a further boost.
Mahindra Scorpio facelift coming end 2014 | Car News | SUV/Crossovers | Autocar India

The Scorpio W105 is expected Jun 2014

and All new Scorpio is 2017 - 18.

Mr Goenka:"I'm sure they are working hard to create new products to counter that." M&M has a strong UV pipeline, of 12-15 products till 2020, and an outlay of about Rs 500-800 crore a year just on product development. Of this, six to seven will be new models, including an entry-level SUV targeted at small-car buyers
Source :
Mahindra & Mahindra's UV biz under serious assault as rivals plan several launches - The Economic Times

New pics of the new Scorpio while testing .

Now all those who critized tata motors for desgining the storme somewhat same as the safari . Lets see what they have to say about the desgin of Scorpio now and efforts of mahindra when it comes to exterior desgin .

2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift caught in Pune;Launch in 2014 | MotorBash.com

New pics of the new Scorpio while testing .

Now all those who critized tata motors for desgining the storme somewhat same as the safari . Lets see what they have to say about the desgin of Scorpio now and efforts of mahindra when it comes to exterior desgin .
The Safari Storme was said to be all new. The new Scorpio is just a "facelift" and I learned recently that reports about it being the new gen Scorpio is false. M&M will be developing an all new Scorpio but that wont come soon. The facelift is just to induce some freshness in the Scorpio brand.

And the new Scorpio will come in 2017 right ? It is like 4 years from now , by then storme too will be all new too who knows .

So with scorpio for coming 4 years you are going to live with a exterior desgin which is same since launched right ?

So why was so much hoopla was made out about Tata just refining the change in exterior desgin very little ?

So all in all mahindra it seems going the tata way here .

Here is what Rohin Nagrani of BS Motoring posted on twwiter about the upcoming Scorpio, kindly see the changes and yet the exterior design stays same ?

And the new Scorpio will come in 2017 right ? It is like 4 years from now , by then storme too will be all new too who knows .
and your grouse being?. they have mentioned their plans beforehand.
So with scorpio for coming 4 years you are going to live with a exterior desgin which is same since launched right ?
still selling in decent numbers is the reason. had they been selling under 1k, they would have had to prepone the all new scorpio.
So why was so much hoopla was made out about Tata just refining the change in exterior desgin very little ?
because the numbers are still the same. all many made a mention was , it may not help in increasing their numbers.
So all in all mahindra it seems going the tata way here .
product facelift is not a tata found phenomenon. its been there for ages, with increasing competition, the frequency of facelifts is going to increase.

its been documented by sanjuz already.

the all new scorpio is slated for 2017 or so , not 2014.

the 2014 variant is facelift.

storme on the other hand was said to had design inputs and what not directly from JLR etc. and was said to be an all new vehicle with an all new everything except the body shape.

and your grouse being?. they have mentioned their plans beforehand.
I have no grouse , how did you assume that ? Kindly read my post in totality , the statement was written in response to raj_5004 statement .

still selling in decent numbers is the reason. had they been selling under 1k, they would have had to prepone the all new scorpio.
Can you provide me a source please about this claim of yours ? Or its a idea which you have spun from your hat ? Or you are in touch with Mahindra management who shared this detail with you ? Or again its the "assuming game " from you .

because the numbers are still the same. all many made a mention was , it may not help in increasing their numbers.
No the design was critiqued for just being tweaked and now the same guys are surprisingly ok to live with same old age design of Scorpio for coming 4 years .

product facelift is not a tata found phenomenon. its been there for ages, with increasing competition, the frequency of facelifts is going to increase.
True and the reaction should stay same for both the companies tata and mahindra better remember that .

the all new scorpio is slated for 2017 or so , not 2014.
Did you read what I wrote ? So the same age old design stays for another 4 years right ?

storme on the other hand was said to had design inputs and what not directly from JLR etc. and was said to be an all new vehicle with an all new everything except the body shape

And it is , what's new in this ? It is a new vehicle , more refined compared to the old dicor . And has the legendary body shaped tweaked to make it look more premium then the out going generation .

Can you provide me a source please about this claim of yours ? Or its a idea which you have spun from your hat ? Or you are in touch with Mahindra management who shared this detail with you ? Or again its the "assuming game " from you .
what claim? it is the norm, new products are infused from time to time.
the bolero and the scorpio are their major money spinner products. if these dip to all time low, naturally , they would have had to do something on the war footing to reclaim lost ground.
anybody who might have tracked how companies work could figure that out

No the design was critiqued for just being tweaked and now the same guys are surprisingly ok to live with same old age design of Scorpio for coming 4 years .
it is not touted to be an all new product, so similar design lines are pretty much expected.

when a product launch is said to be all new product, expectations are for an all new design.

True and the reaction should stay same for both the companies tata and mahindra better remember that .
would help if better explanation is provided

Did you read what I wrote ? So the same age old design stays for another 4 years right ?

And it is , what's new in this ? It is a new vehicle , more refined compared to the old dicor . And has the legendary body shaped tweaked to make it look more premium then the out going generation .
the same old design with some new bits here and there, some added features etc.(maybe some mechanical changes)
that is what primarily is called a facelift.

until the vehicle is launched, how can anyone "claim" what's new in this?

QUOTE=Superbad;325760]what claim? it is the norm, new products are infused from time to time.
the bolero and the scorpio are their major money spinner products. if these dip to all time low, naturally , they would have had to do something on the war footing to reclaim lost ground.
anybody who might have tracked how companies work could figure that out
This claim ->

Which seems like its your assumption .

Dr Pawan Goenka seems to have different view then yours .

What a difference one quarter can make," rued Pawan Goenka, president, automotive & farm equipment sector, Mahindra & Mahindra

June saw M&M post its first monthly decline in sales of its UVs in 35 months. Just how serious that drag is, in the short term, is borne out by its August numbers. UV sales of M&M fell 27.5% over August 2012, with every model in its portfolio feeling the pain.

The bad times have hit so suddenly that in the matter of last two to three months, M&M has undertaken several block closures, with its plant remaining shut for almost 10-15 days across plants. The company also had to do away with several hundred contract workers and Goenka said if the tough times continue, more may go.

Compounding the worries for Goenka is a picture of rival SUVs in his rear-view mirror that is growing larger by the day. In the seven months to August, its Scorpio was overtaken by Duster, from the stables of its erstwhile partner Renault, as India's bestselling SUV (though the Mahindra vehicle demonstrated its durability by reversing the order in the last two months).

The company arguably faces its biggest challenge yet. Not only the market is falling but the competition has become acute. As many as 15-17 utility vehicles are going to hit the market over the next 3-4 years right from Maruti Suzuki, Hyundai, Ford, Tata Motors amongst others and majority of them targeted at points where M&M is the king.

Ask Goenka about the ensuing competition and he says he is not surprised by the number of new models which are on the anvil; the only thing that has surprised him is the sudden fall in the overall sales numbers in the UV space.
Mahindra & Mahindra's UV biz under serious assault as rivals plan several launches - Economic Times
it is not touted to be an all new product, so similar design lines are pretty much expected.
So you agree that the Scorpio will have the same decades old shape for 4 years right ? And how sure you are that the new Scorpio whenever it comes will have complete new desgin ?

when a product launch is said to be all new product, expectations are for an all new design
you had the same expectations for swift , vw beetle , range rover , wagon r ? Dezire ? Or your expectations are limited to tata cars only ?

the same old design with some new bits here and there, some added features etc.(maybe some mechanical changes)
that is what primarily is called a facelift.
With which the desgin stays same for comming 4 years .
until the vehicle is launched, how can anyone "claim" what's new in this?
Dint see you see the spy testing pics of Scorpio ? Is it hard to see that that the overall exterior shape stays the same ?

Here is what Rohin Nagrani of BS Motoring posted on twwiter about the upcoming Scorpio, kindly see the changes and yet the exterior design stays same ?
What I meant was -

Tata had claimed that the Safari was "all new". Yes, it was new in many ways, except the body shell. So, when Tata designed an all new platform and interiors for the Storme, they could have very well changed the design too.

This particular Scorpio is not claimed to be all new. Media is confusing this facelift with the all new Scorpio, which as you mentioned will be launched in 2017. Yes, the design will be the same except some minor tweaks for the next 4 years.

Basically, Storme was launched as a new car, not a facelift of the Safari. This particular Scorpio is clearly a facelift, not claimed as the new Scorpio... media rumours aside.

What I meant was -

Tata had claimed that the Safari was "all new". Yes, it was new in many ways, except the body shell. So, when Tata designed an all new platform and interiors for the Storme, they could have very well changed the design too.

This particular Scorpio is not claimed to be all new. Media is confusing this facelift with the all new Scorpio, which as you mentioned will be launched in 2017. Yes, the design will be the same except some minor tweaks for the next 4 years.

Basically, Storme was launched as a new car, not a facelift of the Safari. This particular Scorpio is clearly a facelife, not claimed as the new Scorpio... media rumours aside.
Better that you responded .

We had a conversation about this if you remember last time when we met . And I said mahindra will not and must not change the look completely of the Scorpio . ( even if its new platform ) my thinking and assumption

You asked why ?I said because the look and desgin itself made it a hit and a cult kind of vehicle in first place .

And many car makers worldwide have kept the basic shape and design of the their cult car same and have refined it . For example range rover , beetle , fiat 500 , swift , jaaz and many others even the fortuner .

Tata too followed the same principle . Many people love and loved the safari for its shape and desgin even now . Same with Scorpio too .

And what iam trying to say is . If Scorpio can stay with the same shape for coming 4 years ( new or not new )what was the problem with storme ? Why was it so important then ?

I have no problems with Scorpio retaining the same body shape and style ( if they make it more refined I will buy one for me too ) . I was intrested just to know will guys who crtizied tata for retaining the same body style for storme will be critical with mahindra too for keeping the same style for comming 4 years ? .

And what iam trying to say is . If Scorpio can stay with the same shape for coming 4 years ( new or not new )what was the problem with storme ? Why was it so important then ?
If M&M comes up with an "all new" Scorpio and retains the same body shell, I wont be happy. I expect an all new car to be all new.

A facelift with revised headlights and bumpers are fine, but when you are launching a new model and selling it alongside the older model, I expect that to be radically different.

So, irrespective of the hit design and the cult following, I expect the all new Scorpio in 2017 to be really different and not share the same old body panels designed in 2003!