New Sedan or Compact SUV Under Rs.13 Lakhs

My Options Is The New Duster, Maruti Vitara Brezza And Hyundai Creta.
The reason of choosing Vitara Brezza Saw the car in flesh Which was amazing and has a lot of features too.
Go in for the creta for its more relaxed driving nature, as your swift and fiesta are more sporty driving nature (my perception). So the creta might be somewhat different in driving and with different brand.

If you are choosing Vitara brezza then buy the dual tone colour version (especially blazing red with midnight black or cerulean blue with white).

Thread Starter #92
Vitara Brezza is not in the league of the Duster. It is a smaller vehicle and with lesser capabilities (especially off-road) .
Yes you Are right and i have dropped vitara from my list and even the duster as they removed some features that were available in the previous version's middle model.
Go in for the creta for its more relaxed driving nature, as your swift and fiesta are more sporty driving nature (my perception). So the creta might be somewhat different in driving and with different brand.

If you are choosing Vitara brezza then buy the dual tone colour version (especially blazing red with midnight black or cerulean blue with white).
Yeah Creta would be a better choice but in creta i want only the top end diesel variant which costs 18,25,000/- here in coimbatore which is very costly for a car that is of this size and i also want to buy new age XUV 5OO W10 FWD which just costs 1,50,000/- more than the top end creta that's why i am thinking. So that i thought why to spend more in buying a new car. so that decide to go with a hatchback or a midsize sedan that is Ciaz, Verna, Elite i20, Baleno or VW Polo.[:)]

Your requirements are

automatic climate control, Provided by most

good ground clearance, this would depend whether you want a sedan or a compact suv, overall expect between 180-210mm

good after sales and services, Maruti is ranked No 1.

hassle free maintenance, This depends on your driving style and periodic service.

leather seats If you meant pure leather difficult as most cars under 13 lakh on road do not provide, so you can get it aftermarket.

and touch screen audio with navigation. Provided by most car manufactures and can also be fitted as an after market option.

So my choice of sedan would be a Honda City or Maruti Ciaz
and choice of compact suv would be a Maruti Vitara Brezza or Ford Ecosport.

P.S:- compact suv's are blown up cars with a butch looks to represent a SUV, so dont look at Off roading options from them. True real practical off roaders in India within a 7-13 lakh budget are Maruti Gyps, Mahindra Thar and Force Gurkha. Rest are only imitations of looks but not on practicality.

Yeah Creta would be a better choice but in creta i want only the top end diesel variant which costs 18,25,000/- here in coimbatore which is very costly for a car that is of this size and i also want to buy new age XUV 5OO W10 FWD which just costs 1,50,000/- more than the top end creta that's why i am thinking. So that i thought why to spend more in buying a new car. so that decide to go with a hatchback or a midsize sedan that is Ciaz, Verna, Elite i20, Baleno or VW Polo.[:)]
If you like creta and like to shell out 18 - 19 Lakh then consider Hyundai elantra (upcoming or the present one).

If you are mainly concerned about the ground clearance then verna would be out of your list.

When you are considering the following:
1. Sedan - When it is a sedan consider fiat linea for its high ground clearance and elantra for its 1.6 Lit. engine or consider skoda octavia for its 2.0 lit. engine (when you would like to shell out 18 -19 lakh)

2. SUV - Xuv 500 for sure when you are in this category but how about a bolero or a scorpio for a change which is a compact car with rugged looks and stable for more than many years and it has a better ground clearance as well as it would save your rest of the budget.

And atlast consider vitarra brezza too for its newer entry into indian market.

Thread Starter #95
If you like creta and like to shell out 18 - 19 Lakh then consider Hyundai elantra (upcoming or the present one).

If you are mainly concerned about the ground clearance then verna would be out of your list.

When you are considering the following:
1. Sedan - When it is a sedan consider fiat linea for its high ground clearance and elantra for its 1.6 Lit. engine or consider skoda octavia for its 2.0 lit. engine (when you would like to shell out 18 -19 lakh)

2. SUV - Xuv 500 for sure when you are in this category but how about a bolero or a scorpio for a change which is a compact car with rugged looks and stable for more than many years and it has a better ground clearance as well as it would save your rest of the budget.

And atlast consider vitarra brezza too for its newer entry into indian market.
Ok Then verna is out but what about ciaz, cruze (considered it because of the price reduction might be cheaper this time),Rapid MT TDI. If it is a compact SUV i think the ecosport, Scorpio and Tata Safari Strome Lx makes more sense. And in hatchback i think Elite i20, Maruti Baleno and VW Polo.
Your requirements are

automatic climate control, Provided by most

good ground clearance, this would depend whether you want a sedan or a compact suv, overall expect between 180-210mm

good after sales and services, Maruti is ranked No 1.

hassle free maintenance, This depends on your driving style and periodic service.

leather seats If you meant pure leather difficult as most cars under 13 lakh on road do not provide, so you can get it aftermarket.

and touch screen audio with navigation. Provided by most car manufactures and can also be fitted as an after market option.

So my choice of sedan would be a Honda City or Maruti Ciaz
and choice of compact suv would be a Maruti Vitara Brezza or Ford Ecosport.

P.S:- compact suv's are blown up cars with a butch looks to represent a SUV, so dont look at Off roading options from them. True real practical off roaders in India within a 7-13 lakh budget are Maruti Gyps, Mahindra Thar and Force Gurkha. Rest are only imitations of looks but not on practicality.
Okay in your option i think the ciaz is a great option if its an other i think the rapid makes a sense to a worth buy. If its an SUV i think the Ecosport, Scorpio and Safari Strome makes a lot of sense for each and every buck.

So i think you have mistaken i am going to ride the car with my family not alone if i am alone also i won't buy a gurkha, thar and all. because i personally don't wish to travel or drive a jeep. And a small correction gurkha, thar and gypsy and all comes under jeep variety not SUV's.[:)].

Ok Then verna is out but what about ciaz, cruze (considered it because of the price reduction might be cheaper this time),Rapid MT TDI. If it is a compact SUV i think the ecosport, Scorpio and Tata Safari Strome Lx makes more sense. And in hatchback i think Elite i20, Maruti Baleno and VW Polo.
Sir, please decide among which category do you like to purchase whether sedan, hatchback or a compact suv.

Anyways,
If your driving pattern is fully highway then cruze would be much easier as many owners say that driving a cruze in b2b traffic is a tiresome work and legs ache due to depressing of clutch frequently. So that's why i didn't consider cruze and i suggested elantra and i think elantra is more VFM than cruze.

Hatchback Category: From your list elite i20 will be a good option as the other two baleno and polo lacks a sufficient amount of headroom and legroom when it is compared with elite i20 but still it is manageable in these two (baleno and polo) and elite i20 is more feature loaded than the other two.

Sedan category:
Ciaz is a good option. TD the Fiat linea for a change, if you get some time.

Compact Suv:
Go in for the scorpio with your eyes closed for its butch look or as you said go for the storme Lx, but consider Aria pleasure as the prices of aria is much lesser than Storme and you get more discounts in aria than Storme. And Aria feels more family like car than the truck like Storme (Apologise owners, my perception).

Thread Starter #97
Sir, please decide among which category do you like to purchase whether sedan, hatchback or a compact suv.

Anyways,
If your driving pattern is fully highway then cruze would be much easier as many owners say that driving a cruze in b2b traffic is a tiresome work and legs ache due to depressing of clutch frequently. So that's why i didn't consider cruze and i suggested elantra and i think elantra is more VFM than cruze.

Hatchback Category: From your list elite i20 will be a good option as the other two baleno and polo lacks a sufficient amount of headroom and legroom when it is compared with elite i20 but still it is manageable in these two (baleno and polo) and elite i20 is more feature loaded than the other two.

Sedan category:
Ciaz is a good option. TD the Fiat linea for a change, if you get some time.

Compact Suv:
Go in for the scorpio with your eyes closed for its butch look or as you said go for the storme Lx, but consider Aria pleasure as the prices of aria is much lesser than Storme and you get more discounts in aria than Storme. And Aria feels more family like car than the truck like Storme (Apologise owners, my perception).
Ok then i'll go in with the sedan Ciaz ZDI+ Clear Beige.[:)]

Do test drive the Ciaz on rough roads. I had a long test drive on a 'non-existent' mud road. I had a couple of under body hits which did not happen in the SX4 (180mm?). Somehow the 2-5mm GC is not translating to big difference esp. on Bangalore roads. Also, I am not sure which part of the under body is the minimum point of GC for the Ciaz. I say this because on one stone I was expecting the car to go over it very easily but the stone did hit the under body. Of course the car was wallowing in all directions on the mud road.

Thread Starter #99
Ok i'll define my needs perfectly without any flaw[:)]

Requirement:
1. hatchback or SUV under 14,00,000/- on road
2. Must have 170MM ground clearance minimum
3. Diesel only and minimum 75Ps power should be available
4. Hassle free ownership and cheap after sales and service
5. Mileage should be 18 minimum in city.

These are my requirements kindly suggest me some cars.[:)]

My options are:
1.Maruti baleno
2.Maruti S-Cross 1.3
3.Maruti Ciaz
4.Hyundai Elite I20
5.Ford Figo
6.Skoda Rapid
7.VW Polo
8.Hyundai Active I20

Doc,why not Vento?You have considered Vento and now removed from the list.Get Honda City as it has better looks than Ciaz.Remove hatchbacks from the list as you have Swift at home.Or else,get Duster or used D-Segment cars like Jetta and Cruze.

And,add Ford Ecosport too.Remove Brezza from the list as I didn't like it.Instead,I would prefer S-Cross over Brezza.In,S-Cross,consider 1.6 Alpha as its on road is under 15L.

Thread Starter #101
Doc,why not Vento?You have considered Vento and now removed from the list.Get Honda City as it has better looks than Ciaz.Remove hatchbacks from the list as you have Swift at home.Or else,get Duster or used D-Segment cars like Jetta and Cruze.

And,add Ford Ecosport too.Remove Brezza from the list as I didn't like it.Instead,I would prefer S-Cross over Brezza.In,S-Cross,consider 1.6 Alpha as its on road is under 15L.
Actually I am Buying Vento, Rather telling i am getting its better to tell my sister is going to get Vento TDI DSG. and I want to consider hatchbacks too. thats my problem i am mostly attracted towards hatchbacks, and i love elite I20 and Maruti Baleno. and in sedan i think Ciaz looks more attractive than honda city because i don't like that sharp design exterior design and everyone i ask say that the new gen city lack interior build quality and plastics doesn't feel as premium as the previous gen city's. And also adding to the detail that is the ciaz as became an success and i personally love the interior dashboard design. Yes ecosport is a good car comparing its brand value and design its the best option right now, but i don't want a ford car now, because i am planning to get a Ford Mustang GT later [;)]. thats why. in S-Cross i too think that the 1.6 is the better option now but we already own a 1.6L engine so the after math result is a bit tough that even my fiesta is 8 years old i am still paying 9,500/- for the insurance Frankly speaking i am paying the same amount from the day one we bought the car. and my dad's opinion in this is its really waste of money to pay the same insurrance amount from the day one for a 8 year old car. and my opinion is also the same. so that i decided to go for the 1.3L diesel engine in S-Cross.[:)]

S-cross is a great car ! Car like dynamics and big on practicality. It's frugal too, Maruti A.S.S is just awesome! Go for it!

:eek: :eek: Lies! , Lies! My fellow, please sit in baleno for once! I'm offended by your remarks, baleno has plethora of space and features.

I am not saying that baleno is totally a waste but still I have sat on the baleno with my height being 5'8" and it seriously lacks headroom and little bit lack in legroom when compared with elite i20 so i suggested elite i20 as the design is more nice than baleno. With the chrome in the rear boot of the baleno is not liked by many persons.

Baleno might be priced little bit lower than the elite i20 but driving a baleno would be almost equal to driving a swift and @fordfiesta 1.6 sir already has a swift so he needs a different vehicle to be driven, and driving a different vehicle with same engine from a same stable might be boring for many of us. And elite i20 will be more of relaxed drive in the highway than the baleno due to its 6 speed MT which is more fuss free in the highway. And elite i20's front looks are much bolder than the baleno which makes the oncoming vehicles to feel that elite i20 is a bigger car.

Thread Starter #104
Ok friends, Decided to go for the Hyundai Elite I20 Asta 1.4 CRDI MT Star dust Color.
Reason of choosing elite i20 against maruti baleno:
1. Still the front look doesn't inspire me much especially that odd looking front grill
2. If i buy a baleno it would be yet another maruti With the same engine and handling of the swift
3. Better interior plastic quality
4. finally want to experience a hyundai and especially the elite i20.[;)]
Now i am going to buy a Elite I20 later after the launch of Ford Mustang its going to be my next car, i'll surely go only for it (after that also i would keep elite i20).