New Sedan or Compact SUV Under Rs.13 Lakhs

Given a comparision between Verna and city,city is better,as both now have almost same features except Verna getting a 1.6 Engine and Projector headlamps,while City has Cruise control and sunroof.

Verna at early 2014 (The one having DRL/Bezel Crystal Led as hyundai calls),was the best it had all specs including rear disc brakes which it now lacks )

Skoda Rapid i didn't suggest due to maintenance issues as most have reported.
Vento -7 speed DSG is a good consideration if preferring automatic.

Given a comparision between Verna and city,city is better,as both now have almost same features except Verna getting a 1.6 Engine and Projector headlamps,while City has Cruise control and sunroof.

Verna at early 2014 (The one having DRL/Bezel Crystal Led as hyundai calls),was the best it had all specs including rear disc brakes which it now lacks )

Skoda Rapid i didn't suggest due to maintenance issues as most have reported.
Vento -7 speed DSG is a good consideration if preferring automatic.
but actually vishnucarcrazy i want manual only not automatic because the fun i got in manual will not be possible in automatic. city i also a good choice.

actually idsi2005 i told you right that again i have got confused. so kindly help me with it:help:.

My options are:
1. Maruti ciaz
2.Maruti ertiga
3.Hyundai creta
4.Maruti S-cross
5.Volkswagen Vento
6.Skoda rapid
6.Mahindra XUV5OO
7.Honda city
8.Renault duster.

help...
Instead of creta or s-cross, you can shell out some more money and go for xuv 500. Xuv 500 w8 has all the features. The maintenance is better here in Chennai with some good asc. Duster is due for an upgrade. And Renault's services are not upto the mark.

If you are looking for sedan, for petrol go for city. It has the best engine along with a low maintenance. Next in line would be ciaz.

Rapid diesel will be the best bet. It has a good diesel engine, good ride quality and a good build quality. However I am not sure of the maintenance of Skoda. I heard many horror stories. But some owners here can confirm. Next in line would be vento and city diesel.

So overall, xuv in suv and city in sedan will be the all rounder

Instead of creta or s-cross, you can shell out some more money and go for xuv 500. Xuv 500 w8 has all the features. The maintenance is better here in Chennai with some good asc. Duster is due for an upgrade. And Renault's services are not upto the mark.

If you are looking for sedan, for petrol go for city. It has the best engine along with a low maintenance. Next in line would be ciaz.

Rapid diesel will be the best bet. It has a good diesel engine, good ride quality and a good build quality. However I am not sure of the maintenance of Skoda. I heard many horror stories. But some owners here can confirm. Next in line would be vento and city diesel.

So overall, xuv in suv and city in sedan will be the all rounder
thanks nag3fat, and i think you are right rather than going for W8 FWD What about W10 FWD?
and in city what varient can i go for V MT or VX (O) MT?

thanks nag3fat, and i think you are right rather than going for W8 FWD What about W10 FWD?
and in city what varient can i go for V MT or VX (O) MT?
Its better to go for W8 rather than W10. You can save a lakh. W8 almost has all the features of the W10 except for sunroofs and some other features. You get 6 airbags in W8 itself. So if you look for sunroof, then go for W10, but generally sunroof is not required in our dusty conditions as we mostly drive with AC on most the times.

The apt option in city will be the SV variant. It has dual airbags, ABS, cruise control, audio system, Auto AC, front&rear armrest& rear defogger. If you shell extra 50K, the option would be the V variant, where you will get alloy wheels, a different audio system, fog lamps, reverse camera and auto folding orvm's with indicators. So if you want alloys, go for V. Else SV has all the required features.

And coming to VX variant, the difference between V and the VX variant will be all leather upholstery, keyless entry, engine start stop button and a electric sunroof. For this, you need to nudge a lakh extra from the V variant. My personal view is all these are just fancy and not necessity(of course views differ). At the end its your choice to choose a variant [:)]

Mr.Fordfiesta

Actually i also thought manual only has fun or enthusiasm to drive,but when i got chance to drive 3 automatics of my friends i changed my opinion,automatics have the technological enthusiasm-When we use Paddle shifts and Sports mode.

Automatics i have driven are- Polo Gt TSI, Merc-Eclass, Sonata-GDi automatic.

Its better to go for W8 rather than W10. You can save a lakh. W8 almost has all the features of the W10 except for sunroofs and some other features. You get 6 airbags in W8 itself. So if you look for sunroof, then go for W10, but generally sunroof is not required in our dusty conditions as we mostly drive with AC on most the times.

The apt option in city will be the SV variant. It has dual airbags, ABS, cruise control, audio system, Auto AC, front&rear armrest& rear defogger. If you shell extra 50K, the option would be the V variant, where you will get alloy wheels, a different audio system, fog lamps, reverse camera and auto folding orvm's with indicators. So if you want alloys, go for V. Else SV has all the required features.

And coming to VX variant, the difference between V and the VX variant will be all leather upholstery, keyless entry, engine start stop button and a electric sunroof. For this, you need to nudge a lakh extra from the V variant. My personal view is all these are just fancy and not necessity(of course views differ). At the end its your choice to choose a variant [:)]
nag3fat Thanks for you views i don't prefer sunroof and all but my family tells me to take a sunroof model car thats the problem.and vishnucarcrazy actually comparing the service costs, and fuel economy the manual is the best, me and my dad prefer only manual i feel happy to drive a manual car, and only after frequent gear changing actually fulfills my driving.[:)]

Yes.. Family things first... [:)] Just maintain the sunroof well. Also I see you live in Coimbatore.. So a ride in ghats with sun roof open letting the fresh air in, it will be awesome..

yes nag3fat you are right, even on highways sunroof open standing outside the sunroof would be awesome and one small doubt is your honda city 2014 model?

so the built quality is surely good in your car compared to this gen honda city.
6 years and 98k kms. No issues regarding build quality. I had a brief test drives of the current gen city(both petrol and diesel) I didn't find any rattling in the test drive car. And I found the new gen petrol's low end is slightly better than my car.

As already you have a ford ,try Ecosport too.
No i don't want any ford's again. one is more than enough thats why.

6 years and 98k kms. No issues regarding build quality. I had a brief test drives of the current gen city(both petrol and diesel) I didn't find any rattling in the test drive car. And I found the new gen petrol's low end is slightly better than my car.
that is really great to ear that you have used your car really well and i was that the parts of the new city is rattling in teambhp i'll attach the link: Honda City : Official Review - Page 297 - Team-BHP . thats why i said [:)]