New Maruti Alto 800 Now Launched at 2.44 Lakhs

Alto 800 got few awards like
A) Reigning champ Maruti Alto 800 triumphs as Auto Bild India & Car Wale recognized Maruti Alto 800 as the winner of the Golden Steering Wheel “Best Hatchback Car of the year” for 2012.
B) Maruti Suzuki Alto 800 felicitated as the "Entry Hatchback of the year" at the prestigious NDTV Car & Bike Awards 2013.

This car is just too awesome. The smoothness, power delivery and the mileage are just too good :)

Yes, That is the difference of Maruti and some other with their product, see Hyundai Eon launched almost same time, but could not create the buzz like Alto 800

My alto and this current gen alto easily smokes out the Eon in no time,that's the thing which kept my friend from buying Eon too. It's best suited for the aged people who wants to drive for the ingress/egress will be easy.

My new Alto 800

Hi readers [:D][:D]

I am so happy to say that I had gifted myself and my family our first car and our new guy is a Torque Blue Alto 800.

First, Let me thank the dealership CARS INDIA, Nandanam, Chennai for coordinating and getting the Car delivered though there was huge fuss between myself and SBI to whom the dealership directed me for loan. I lost cool after a week's torture by the bank guys and went for Canara with whom my accounts existed. Believe me, I got the loan process approved in an hour.

On Saturday, 11 May 2013, I got my Car delivered and watched the whole family smiling at their first car.

Coming to the review

I have driven the old Alto but driving this new guy gives a much better feeling.Initially I was little confused between Alto 800 and Eon. The Eon looked attractive at first sight, but as days passed it did not make me curious. I felt Eon's road presence is lesser when compared to Alto 800. To my eyes, The car looked good in Granite Grey and Torque Blue. TB was my family's choice.The car is spacious enough to accommodate a family of 4. 3 at the back is also possible for not-so-long travelling needs. When you key in and start, the ignition is smooth and the car does not vibrate like the old alto. The sound proofing has improved but not the best though. You could feel a huge difference in terms of noise (engine + traffic) between the older and new Alto. The gear shift is short and smooth. The Gear knob feels good to hold and placed conveniently. The car is not for 100+ flying. This is the best city car available today. At 60's and 70's the Car feels amazingly smooth. The Steer Wheel is placed a little bit lower than the old alto. This increases the maneuverability of the vehicle on congested roads of Chennai. The Steer Wheel also has a silver tint which gives a premium feel. After seeing this definitely you would straighten your back, raise your eye brows or in other words feel proud :-P. Though solid, the dashboard could have had a small holder as in the old alto. To me the power window switch position below the gear seems to be logical. One can use a hand out of the window while using other to open/close it. For me, Getting in and out of the vehicle felt the most inconvenient instances. I am 5' 10 and People with such frames should think before owning this car. The engine does not lag at lower speeds on higher gears.

This is one vast advancement from the old alto. We could easily feel the effort from MS engineers in tuning the engine for providing a ride quality of this level. I personally felt that roof rails could have been a good add on to the vehicle which would have reduced the gap between Eon and Alto 800's exterior design to some extent. At a price tag of 3.5 Lacs MS could have provided a basic multimedia player with 2 speaker setup. Personally, It turned out to be a good thing for me as I was able to choose the type and brand of the music system I needed. I went for Alpine head unit with JBL 4 inches round speakers on front doors and 6 inch ovals on my rear tray (usually custom installed). I am not diving into the technical spec's of the car but for sure, I feel rear suspension has improved and thereby improving the balance and driving experience. Turning at higher speeds are little pain as the car tilts way too much. It was little hard to digest the fact that we need to pay extra 1200 rupees to get passenger side rear view mirrors installed. The first service costs you around 900 Rupees for Engine Oil and Filter change. Boot space is large enough for a family outing. The doors are not the same old push-it-hard to lock type. The doors lock when pushed smoothly, with minimum effort. If not optional , there could have been a provision for fog lamps. The wheel caps looks really good on the wheels. Antenna is the same old pull out type. Since the headlamps twisted upwards, new drivers can assume the bonnet's length. The AC does a good job of cooling even in searing Chennai heat. But AC reduces the engine's power to an extent. One can easily identify the difference of the pull while driving up a flyover.

On the whole, Alto 800 is a great choice for first time car buyers and I won't disagree Eon is also a good choice. But I personally feel that Maruti's proven engine, service and resale cost are right in the sweet spot of the middle class. Alto 800's target market is the middle class who are most likely to own cars with lesser maintenance cost. They might also be paying an EMI towards the cost of the car. To satisfy this type of customer, the product is not expected to have any wow and oomph factors in its overall design. The product has to assure him on the level of dependency and trust the owner can have on it. MS has already won many millions of hearts in this regard and Alto 800 is no different to this.

Great ownership report mate. I think you should post this review in ownership review section along with some photographs of your car to make more fun.

Re: My new Alto 800

Hi readers [:D][:D]

I am so happy to say that I had gifted myself and my family our first car and our new guy is a Torque Blue Alto 800.

First, Let me thank the dealership CARS INDIA, Nandanam, Chennai for coordinating and getting the Car delivered though there was huge fuss between myself and SBI to whom the dealership directed me for loan. I lost cool after a week's torture by the bank guys and went for Canara with whom my accounts existed. Believe me, I got the loan process approved in an hour.
They might also be paying an EMI towards the cost of the car. To satisfy this type of customer, the product is not expected to have any wow and oomph factors in its overall design. The product has to assure him on the level of dependency and trust the owner can have on it. MS has already won many millions of hearts in this regard and Alto 800 is no different to this.

Great, balanced and crystal review about Alto 800. As tenida mentioned you could have started a separated thread with photos. Even now you can request MODs to do it. They will help you to create a new thread with your post. Once it is done, pls post pictures of your Alto 800.

@Vinod

Welcome to TAI !! with a nice ownership report buddy.

Simple and crisp true feeling of your experience with the Alto 800 which is again a practical car apart from looks(subjective).

Look forward to see more about your car in your ownership review thread soon

It seems Maruti has added a variant to the Alto 800 priced at ~3.13 Lakh (exshowroom Delhi). This is a VXi trim with many much required features. Probably they heard the consumer feedback [:)]

Maruti Suzuki launches ALto 800 in VXi trim | CarDekho.com
Exactly, I was in MS dealership yesterday for a very long amount of time and happened to check a lot of thing. The striking thing among them being the stress on Accessories that they are paying. Though like earlier days, the options remains limited but on all the variants they have some custom packages to offer as accessories combo making couple of more variants out of same car. Liked the approach ! [clap]

Maruti Suzuki Cervo is supposed to be very low cost, even by Indian standard as the company makes an attempt to capitalize on the automobile market. Maruti is putting in a lot of effort to minimize the costing of the new car.

Maruti Suzuki's Alto crosses 25 lakhs unit sales mark in domestic market.

Maruti Suzuki India today said its compact car Alto has become the second model from the company's portfolio to cross the 25 lakh unit sales mark in the domestic market.
The Alto has entered the 25 lakh club, where the only other car is the Maruti 800.

Maruti Alto crosses 25 lakh unit sales mark in domestic market | ET Auto

Maruti Suzuki's Alto crosses 25 lakhs unit sales mark in domestic market.

Maruti Suzuki India today said its compact car Alto has become the second model from the company's portfolio to cross the 25 lakh unit sales mark in the domestic market.
The Alto has entered the 25 lakh club, where the only other car is the Maruti 800.
That's a great news! but not surprising because we all know there's no one to beat the alto in Indian market.

Hard but true fact:

The new alto 800 though looks ugly, has very good interiors, plastics feel better than the previous version, the air conditioner is good.

Now i feel it will be a good option to consider alto 800 than nano or eon.

That's a great news! but not surprising because we all know there's no one to beat the alto in Indian market.

Hard but true fact:

The new alto 800 though looks ugly, has very good interiors, plastics feel better than the previous version, the air conditioner is good.

Now i feel it will be a good option to consider alto 800 than nano or eon.
True, I hate the looks of my Alto 800. Older Alto looks way more sportier and cute than this version.