New Honda Jazz Officially Launched in India

Re: 2014 Honda Jazz Spotted in India

In Bangalore, VX Diesel will cost 11L atleast with 0 dip insurance and some minimal accessories. Certainly not worth selling a Kidney
Oh man, 11 lakhs on-Road Bangalore is an absolute NO for me. My maximum budget was 10 lakhs. Definitely not worth it. However, I am not really sure how it is so expensive. Last week I was checking the i20 Active and even that was 10.8 lakhs on-road. Honda company and dealership are out to rob us here.

What is the 12k amounting to Car-care + Essential kit. Why have they put Road tax + Handling charges together. How will a prospective buyer know how much exactly is the handling charge? Big scandals from these guys. VERY BAD.

Oh man, 11 lakhs on-Road Bangalore is an absolute NO for me. My maximum budget was 10 lakhs. Definitely not worth it. However, I am not really sure how it is so expensive. Last week I was checking the i20 Active and even that was 10.8 lakhs on-road. Honda company and dealership are out to rob us here.

What is the 12k amounting to Car-care + Essential kit. Why have they put Road tax + Handling charges together. How will a prospective buyer know how much exactly is the handling charge? Big scandals from these guys. VERY BAD.
Which i20 Active costs 10.8 in Bangalore and where?

BTW, Essential kit has some basic accessories like floor mat+Car cover etc. Not sure about the Car care though!
Spent half an hour near the car checking each aspects. Some observations
1. Back seats of non VX versions are very bad, forget under thigh support, seat height is pretty bad, they cover only 3/4th my back, me being 6"1'
2. Interior quality is actually on par with City, checked out both at almost same time.
3. The SA's appeared to be educated, but when asked about V vs VX and the ridiculous factors like Multi View Rear camera, Bluetooth Mic Position and "wires", they were taken back, and started answering stupidly saying segment best features ..blah blah, Oh man! the look on their faces.
4. Rear Bumpers are probably the Segment worst, one hit to the back and the bonnet is kaput!!So silly of Honda(Hope its not intentional)

I will save around 26k if i leave out the Extended Warranty, Road Side Assistance, Car Care, Essential Kit. These are the things which every dealer charges and is the extra earning for them. I have not paid for these on i20. It doesn't make sense IMO. I am ok with the pricing, but was hoping that VX would be around 15-20k more then i20 Asta since V is 9k more then the i20 Sportz(O).

I saw many members on other forum just highlighting the features present in i20 and missing in Jazz. Apart from that I did not come across anyone praising the i20 or the Jazz in other areas.
Only the prospective customers expressed thier true opinion.

In Bangalore, VX Diesel will cost 11L atleast with 0 dip insurance and some minimal accessories. Certainly not worth selling a Kidney[frustration]

Here same feeling.Better spend some money and buy Honda City Petrol SV CVT or VMT Petrol and Ford Ecosport Titanium Diesel.

Even I felt Amaze is more VFM than Jazz.Jazz should be placed under crossover range.

There are a lot of comments pointing out that Jazz is not premium enough for what it offers. To be frank, the only features in i20 Asta I will be missing in Jazz VX is the 195 R16 tires with the stunning diamond cut alloys.

- Rear AC vents - good to have, but don't really think it will be a game changer until there are dedicated cooling coils. Otherwise, it is more of a gimmick and less of a utility, IMO.

- Driver Arm rest - definitely useful, especially in the AT car. But, in my Dzire, I never use it. I find it as a distraction and usually keep it up - my dad finds it a very useful feature though. Honda provided this as an accessory for those who need it.

- Parking Sensors - not sure how much difference that will make if the car has a good reverse camera unit. Never used a car with reverse camera - so I am not sure. In our Dzire without the camera - we have the sensors and in that case it is a very important feature. Probably Honda could have given them in the SV variant alone.

- Telescopic steering - never used this feature in any of the cars I drove and never missed the absence. Probably, I can live without it.

- Cooled glove box - again, never felt this as a very useful feature, I always thought it as a gimmick to be added in the list of features. Cannot be a differentiation between premium and non-premium for me.

- Pure Keyless entry and go - will not miss this feature. But yes, it would be a very nice to have feature.

- Auto headlamps and wipers - I have the controls so easily accessible in my hands and I do not wish to depend on the technology to calculate the amount of light and switch on / off the headlight with a lag of 3 seconds. I can do it in half a second myself. As a driver, I know the how and when to use the wipers and I do not need technology to assist me with this.

- Auto folding ORVMs and MID indicating steering position - I mean, if I need technology to help me understand that the steering is not straight, I better not drive a car. Electric folding ORVM is convenience and Auto-folding is over indulgent. No thanks, I do not need them.

On the other hand, there are some other useful features missing in the Jazz

- Height adjustable seat-belts - Both Jazz and i20 missed out on this - come on even my Dzire has them.

- Seat belts with pre-tensioners and load-limiting - Looks like Jazz misses an important safety feature as it is no where mentioned in the feature list or the brochure. However, in the website under the safety section, it is mentioned. Not sure if it was mentioned by mistake or they missed out in the feature-list.

I hope I do not have to repeat what Jazz gets extra as that has been discussed some 100 times inn this thread. So features wise I am pretty happy. Jazz does not miss out on anything VERY important. For me, Jazz is premium enough with the useful features, space, quality and all that it offers in terms of comfort, ride, handling, steering quality, safety, flexibility, etc.

However, where Honda gets it all wrong is the pricing - especially of the top variants. Attached below is the price comparison between Jazz (Magnum Honda) and i20 (from Trident Honda, Mahadevapura) in Bangalore.

Jazz_Price List.png

Going by these sheets,

i-VTEC Jazz
V MT - 8.6 L on-road without zero-depreciation insurance
VX MT - 9.2 on-road without zero-depreciation insurance

VTVT i20 Asta
- 8.56 L without zero-depreciation insurance.
- 8.6 L WITH zero-depreciation insurance.

So, even with a zero-dep insurance extra and 1 yr extended warranty less, Jazz V is priced equally as i20 Asta in petrol. This is criminal.

Going to the diesels,

i-DTEC Jazz
V MT - 10.2 L on-road without zero-depreciation insurance
VX MT - 10.77 on-road without zero-depreciation insurance

CRDi i20 Asta
- 9.98 L without zero-depreciation insurance.
- 10.02 L WITH zero-depreciation insurance.

i20 Asta is cheaper than Jazz V while I get zero-dep extra and 1 yr extended warranty less. This is day-light robbery.

Whats more surprising is, something I considered over-priced till today
CRDi i20 Active SX
- 10.89 L without zero-depreciation insurance and no extended warranty
- 10.98 L without zero-depreciation insurance
- 11.02 L WITH zero-depreciation insurance

So, in Bangalore, I can easily go for the i20 Active SX for just 10k over the Jazz VX in diesel for a difference of just around 10-15k. I get a very good ground clearance + Projectors + DRLs + All round cladding + All goodies in i20 Active. This is exactly where Honda got it wrong with the Jazz.

I liked the fact that honda provided jazz with abs as standard in diesel and airbags are available from sv model onwards.

I really like the magic seats but those are only available in the vx trim and odd to see those weird aux and usb wires. They are giving such nice place for the aux and usb for the v variant and for vx such pathetic bundle of wires in the dashboard. It's plain idiocity.

Wonder what will the guy owning the v variant will say to the vx varaint owner on such a small thing.

About the prices , i read many people say that i20 prices are high , even i think the prices are high but honda has done the same thing once more.

I don't know if they are even interested to sell at a good vfm price.

Is the production limitation is to be blamed ? " well we can't sell 10000 units because we can't produce it , let's price it higher and get big moolahs"

@ vigkey - see if one person does not uses it , it doesn't mean they won't carry a weight in decision process.
Anyways the features you mentioned are easily 40k worth and just imagine the prices of jazz if these were included.

The main thing is if the competitor is providing extra features with lesser price why can't Honda do that.

I know jazz is extra spacious , "honda reliability"( i don't see any product which is not reliable under 10 lakhs. ) neutral handling characteristics.

It's just the honda badge they are proud of and if they keep doing things like this that goodwill will decrease.

@ vigkey - see if one person does not uses it , it doesn't mean they won't carry a weight in decision process.
Anyways the features you mentioned are easily 40k worth and just imagine the prices of jazz if these were included.

The main thing is if the competitor is providing extra features with lesser price why can't Honda do that.
Yes sir, that is exactly what I am also saying. I did not say those are useless features. I just said, TO ME, those missing features in Jazz compared to i20 does not really make a big difference. We are on the same boat saying the premium commanded by Honda is unjustified and makes i20 a super VFM product [:)]

Anyway, I am moving on. I have some doubts with respect to the technical specifications of the Jazz. I hope our experts here can help me with the answers.

Jazz_FE vs Weight.png

As per the spec sheet attached above, these are the doubts I have.

• Kerb weight of VX variants is LESS than the V variants by 1-2 kgs in both petrol and diesel. What could be the reason?
    - In fact VX gets the roof mounter spoiler and Magic-seats as an addition. Can it be possible that the Magic-seats are lighter than the normal seats? Is that the reason why the VX is lighter in spite of having the spoiler??

• Difference in weights between S and V petrol is just 4 kgs - while V petrol gets ABS + EBD extra in addition to all other features. But difference between S and V diesels is 10 kgs. What could be the reason?

• FE figures for the E is less than S in both petrol and diesel - in spite of it being the significantly lighter - What could be the reason?
    - Does it have anything to do with the R14 tires? Otherwise mechanically there is no change, correct?

Oh really the pricing for the package is too ambitious. 10.8 L for Jazz vx diesel? I paid 9.54L for i20 1.4 CRDI Asta. It costs 10.88 L for i20 Active 1.4 sx. Has Honda started thinking it can rob us with a mere H? Does it offer a Magic Seat or a MAGIC CAP?
High time for Hyundai to offer i20 Elite with 1.4 Petrol with an AT. If it does Jazz may be discontinued again.

I know comparing Jazz with Zest wont make sense but still a buyer has all the rights to explore all possible options within his budget!
With Jazz diesel top end (VX) priced at 8.5lacs+ ex-showroom, its about 1.3lacs expensive than the zest XT diesel. Zest power figures are also close to Jazz with 90PS and 200nm. Jazz though is costlier than elite (variant by variant) but suddenly the already VFM zest appears to be more attractive.
I know Jazz offers a lot more in terms of space and looks but Zest with its standard 1lac kms warranty and 15k kms service interval (that too free till 45k kms) tosses the buyer towards its arena.
Ratan Tata ji- Get ready for a slight bump is zest sales.

- Auto headlamps and wipers - I have the controls so easily accessible in my hands and I do not wish to depend on the technology to calculate the amount of light and switch on / off the headlight with a lag of 3 seconds. I can do it in half a second myself. As a driver, I know the how and when to use the wipers and I do not need technology to assist me with this.
Hi vignesh, Autowiper is quite a useful feature to have compared to Autoheadlamps, which comes as an add-on with AutoWiper.
Especially during inconsistent drizzles, its a pain to continuously adjust the wiper stalk. Auto wiper works like a charm increasing & decreasing the wiper speed, thus avoiding Dry wipe & driver intervention. And with maximum sensitivity, there is absolutely no lag, when wiper picks up speed for heavy rains.

- Auto folding ORVMs and MID indicating steering position - I mean, if I need technology to help me understand that the steering is not straight, I better not drive a car. Electric folding ORVM is convenience and Auto-folding is over indulgent. No thanks, I do not need them.
One can always turn off Auto folding option through vehicle setting menu. For those, who forget to fold the mirrors, while parking in malls/public parking, this is an useful option. Electric folding is a feature, but auto folding is about customizing to one's need.
When configured with vehicle lock, you can double check that the car is locked when the mirrors Fold automatically.

If not for the premium tag, these features are must for the top end, atleast when the competition is offering them at the similar price range.

Yes sir, that is exactly what I am also saying. I did not say those are useless features. I just said, TO ME, those missing features in Jazz compared to i20 does not really make a big difference. We are on the same boat saying the premium commanded by Honda is unjustified and makes i20 a super VFM product [:)]

Anyway, I am moving on. I have some doubts with respect to the technical specifications of the Jazz. I hope our experts here can help me with the answers.

View attachment 174636

As per the spec sheet attached above, these are the doubts I have.

• Kerb weight of VX variants is LESS than the V variants by 1-2 kgs in both petrol and diesel. What could be the reason?
    - In fact VX gets the roof mounter spoiler and Magic-seats as an addition. Can it be possible that the Magic-seats are lighter than the normal seats? Is that the reason why the VX is lighter in spite of having the spoiler??

• Difference in weights between S and V petrol is just 4 kgs - while V petrol gets ABS + EBD extra in addition to all other features. But difference between S and V diesels is 10 kgs. What could be the reason?

• FE figures for the E is less than S in both petrol and diesel - in spite of it being the significantly lighter - What could be the reason?
    - Does it have anything to do with the R14 tires? Otherwise mechanically there is no change, correct?
Vignesh had done good homework on the subject .The main reason for the earlier version of Jazz to be a dud is the same pricing blunder by Honda. They are doing the same.Some how they think,they are destined for ridiculous prices.I would say Hyundai had gone ahead in comfort and safety with less pricing and availability of all models.Honda want to keep all models premium.Let them be. Till the time we show this extra affinity to Honda, they will definitely play this.

Ratan Tata ji- Get ready for a slight bump is zest sales.
It is not only TATA gets its benefit but also the other car manufacturers namely Hyundai for its Elite i20, again TATA for its bolt, Maruti Suzuki for its Swift or Swift dezire or even the S-cross, Toyota for its Etios Liva.

If that happens, its well & good but it won't be easy. Because, Bolt lacks brand image, same with Zest but the Zest is a better car then Bolt. Maruti is already on top of its game with Swift & Dzire. Nothing else will happen to them. The Liva is done & dusted and will also not be effected. i20 is cheaper then Jazz but these both are neck to neck. The only thing that i20 will slighty suffer is lack of Auto gearbox. The S Cross doesn't come into picture here because it's a crossover and is the most premium Maruti offering yet.

There was a time I didn't used to even touch Hyundai cars over their Honda counterparts. That was way back in 2009-2010. The third generation City was a proper tight sedan with perfect balance of nearly everything and so was the Civic. And then Honda decided to get more volumes; we now have inferior products with more features.

No offence to any new City owner, but Honda has deteriorated here and the car neither feels as well built as the older gen was, nor it drives the way its older gen used to.

And now with this Jazz, Honda has upped the ante. After driving a couple of latest Hyundais' like Grand i10, Elite, Santa Fe and Elantra, I must accept that Hyundai is improving at a pace that is more than double of the pace at which Honda is deteriorating. With this Jazz, Honda is charging more for its badge and less for the car. It seems more like a 10 lac package with 8 lac costing car with 2 lac costing badge.

I don't think that anyone with enough budget won't look for S Cross and Creta over the Jazz if they can afford to pay a lac more. For this stupid money I can get i20 Asta, Ecosport Titanium, Ciaz, GT cousins and many more options available.

I don't know how many will agree with me, but this Jazz isn't anything that at least I will pay even 9.5 lac for. I will get an i20 Asta indeed and always at least enjoy the feeling of a 'proper' 10+ lac car whenever I will drive it.