New Hatch For Less Than Rs.4.5 Lacs (Finalized Maruti Alto 800)

Re: New Hatch For Less Than Rs.4.5 Lacs

@Anshuman

Sorry I am bit late into this thread. I read the advice from our friends here and most have covered all the good choices and points too, so it made my job easy.

Yes, A wagon R for complete peace of mind, comfort, and good FE and low maintenance.

If you are okay with one more TATA car, then check out Vista for ultimate rear seat comfort[:)]

Being a owner of a Ritz, I will say NO, rear seat is like bench and is claustrophobic as the window visibility is less and often the ride is bumpy.

@Anshuman

Sorry I am bit late into this thread. I read the advice from our friends here and most have covered all the good choices and points too, so it made my job easy.

Yes, A wagon R for complete peace of mind, comfort, and good FE and low maintenance.

If you are okay with one more TATA car, then check out Vista for ultimate rear seat comfort[:)]

Being a owner of a Ritz, I will say NO, rear seat is like bench and is claustrophobic as the window visibility is less and often the ride is bumpy.
We used a Indica and now a Manza, Vista will be same one, so ruled out.

Thanks for clearing doubt over Ritz.

So fore runners now are -

Wagon R
Brio
Micra

Strangely no one suggested Hyundai i10 or Santro.

If the choice being made would not have been for your parents, would have lobbied for hyundai [clap]. The peppy engine, higher seating position and hyundai trust are deal makers. But the back seat comfort and suspension makes it a complete NO for elders

If your dad would drive i would have suggested him i10, but with being driven its better to go for wagonR, and go for vxi trim.Tall boy, easy ingress out and space as well with maruti network.
This why am i saying is my family has wagonR as well as i10 too along with me owner of i10 as well.My uncle gave me the same reasons as i am giving it to you.He said he enjoys driving i10 but loved being driven in WagonR.Maybe i10's a bit bouncy suspension.
New micra is good too, but dont really know how comfortable it is for the elderly people.Do check it out and see if it fits your needs and comfort for your parents.

For TD purpose do have a TD on Beat Petrol. I my parents & I had a small journey in my New Beat & they found the back seat to be comfortable (atleast in all City traffic)

I would pick Grand i10 Magna. As the car is to be chauffeur driven, rear seats take priority. In magna you get rare power windows, rear AC vents, great rear leg room, rear Power Outlet, comfortable rear seats oveall, plus good ride quality.

From my personal experience, I will suggest Wagon R high end, it will be highly comfortable and ASS is good for maruti everywhere.

My Dad (58) uses it in place like dhanbad and is fully satisified with car performance, mileage and comfort. Since Wagon R is tall, its quiet good in getting in and out of car.

Although BRIO is good as well, but I am not sure of ASS here. Same for MICRA.

Go with New Micra or Figo or Vibe or Hyundai grand i10 or i20. But you would have only basic model of the car. so little stretch your budget.

Personally i suggest, Go with i20. It provides more spacious cabin, good engine. Figo also VFM

My Vote will go for Wagon-R Vxi.All the valid reasons mentioned already by others.Now Wagon-R has some discounts going on in kolkata and you always can bargain for more.

First of all, thanks to all who have contributed to this thread.

Hard Facts - All car prices were revised upwards on Last Week of Sep/First week of Oct. [frustration]

So now the shortlisting process.

1. Brio 1.2 EMT - Good car could not find much negatives but base version looks to basic - Price Rs 4.6 Lacs OTR very minimal discounts

2. Micra Active 1.2 XL - Nice car but too huge. Did not find the engine to promising. - Price Rs 4.7 Lacs , Lucky draw offer.

3. Wagon R LXi and VXi - Nice car. The new version I found to be better than pre 2010 model I owned. But body roll is evident. Skinny tyres for LXi.
FE real time (from different feedback) City 13-14, Highway 15-17
Price - LXi - Rs 4.68L
- VXi - Rs 5.0 L
Discounts 20K

We had almost finalized this, but ...

i. Father said he was not comfortable driving it as no nose-view,what ever little bit he drives.
ii. FE was concern (thanks to spiraling petrol prices)
iii. I did not like the LXi version much. VXi was out of budget.

Did not TD Beat, Figo, Vista, Punto and others as they were out of budget or other concerns.

So what to do ?

Started looking at lower models. [surprise]

TD ed Alto 800, and I liked it, I mean it. It was surprise from earlier Alto. Power seemed to much better, AC was chiller, Interiors was spacious (almost at par with Estilo/A-Star). FE , checked in TAI threads and others ,City 17, Highway 20.

So final outcome - ALTO 800 LXI (VXI only comes with audio as extra, which anyway will get custom one). Price Rs 3.3 Lacs after all discounts.

In the process of booking this week and should get delivered next week.

@ Mods, kindly change title , "New Hatch For Less Than Rs.4.5 Lacs- Finalized Alto 800"

Anshuman

First of all, thanks to all who have contributed to this thread.

Hard Facts - All car prices were revised upwards on Last Week of Sep/First week of Oct. [frustration]

So now the shortlisting process.

1. Brio 1.2 EMT - Good car could not find much negatives but base version looks to basic - Price Rs 4.6 Lacs OTR very minimal discounts

2. Micra Active 1.2 XL - Nice car but too huge. Did not find the engine to promising. - Price Rs 4.7 Lacs , Lucky draw offer.

3. Wagon R LXi and VXi - Nice car. The new version I found to be better than pre 2010 model I owned. But body roll is evident. Skinny tyres for LXi.
FE real time (from different feedback) City 13-14, Highway 15-17
Price - LXi - Rs 4.68L
- VXi - Rs 5.0 L
Discounts 20K

We had almost finalized this, but ...

i. Father said he was not comfortable driving it as no nose-view,what ever little bit he drives.
ii. FE was concern (thanks to spiraling petrol prices)
iii. I did not like the LXi version much. VXi was out of budget.

Did not TD Beat, Figo, Vista, Punto and others as they were out of budget or other concerns.

So what to do ?

Started looking at lower models. [surprise]

TD ed Alto 800, and I liked it, I mean it. It was surprise from earlier Alto. Power seemed to much better, AC was chiller, Interiors was spacious (almost at par with Estilo/A-Star). FE , checked in TAI threads and others ,City 17, Highway 20.

So final outcome - ALTO 800 LXI (VXI only comes with audio as extra, which anyway will get custom one). Price Rs 3.3 Lacs after all discounts.

In the process of booking this week and should get delivered next week.

@ Mods, kindly change title , "New Hatch For Less Than Rs.4.5 Lacs- Finalized Alto 800"

Anshuman
Congrats Anshuman on finalizing car that best suits your needs. It is very important to buy a car that suits all your needs even if it is not best car in its class.

Not sure if VXi also comes with Power steering, which will make a world of difference (though many might argue you don't PS for a small car etc). Especially since your dad will also be using it, power steering will be really handy.

Alto Lxi has all the basic stuffs that you need it. :) Btw. which color you are buying and from which dealer?
I got Alto 800 lxi last year around at November @3.48lakh.