Need Help with Suggestions for Buying!

Thread Starter #51
This is what a TD reviews has given out for fourtuner

- The best 20 lakh SUV today. Well priced too
- Stunning looks & presence
- Built tough. Built to last
- Powerful diesel. 169 BHP / 343 NM of torque (@ 1400 - 3400 rpm)
- User-friendly & spacious interiors
- Respectable fuel efficiency
- 4x4 with low ratio, LSD & lockable diff
- Toyota's excellent after-sales service & long term reliability

- Firm suspension, bumpy ride quality. Pitches on the highway
- Utilitarian rather than luxurious, interiors included
- Average brakes. No rear disc brakes
- No extras (rear disc brakes, power seats + lumbar support adjust, USB / AUX jack, reach adjustable steering etc.)
- Long wait period (initially)

td for aria

• Solid body-on-frame construction. Seemingly robust
• Futuristic styling, especially the face. Good street presence
• Spacious 1st & 2nd seat rows. Interior quality a big leap ahead for Tata
• Balanced road behaviour. Strong brakes too
• Premium level of equipment. Many segment firsts, including AWD
• Safety : Traction control, ABS, 6 airbags & all-round disc brakes

• Rs. 14.75 lakh (base) - 17.75 (top variant) on-road is simply overpriced
• Third row of seats best suited to kids only
• Unsettled ride quality at highway speeds
• Apprehensions over initial niggles with new Tata cars
• Tata's un-premium after-sales service experiences

seeing your question now i am confused too :P main problem is that you are comparing completely different class : MUV which is made keeping mind family and SUV is made keeping mind more off-roading and driving on worst road .
about disk brake new model have disk brake in rear now

did you read user ownership link i gave you ?

@KARTHICKRAMU:
If you want a 20 lacs+ SUV(Note:I have said SUV),then nothing,simply nothing is better than our old horse which is tried and tested too.It has got a great ladder frame,a superb off-roadability.The 4X4 is enough to even make a mighty Fortuner look puny and can crush the continents anywhere any time.it tackles whatever you throw at it.The road presence of this SUV is even more special than a Fortuner and its size is also not a pain in the city.
Its ride is more settled than a Fortuner and it handles far better too.I have driven this SUV many times and can bet that this is still the best thing on a ladder chasis in the 25 lacs price basket.If you think of off-roading then only thing which really loves mud and slush..her name is behind this Pajero vs Fortuner...of course,its our dear and old PAJERO UNCLE.
I HAVE DRIVEN THE PAJERO 100s OF TIMES AND CAN BET ON THIS CAR AND ITS ROBUSTNESS.

Now if you want a compact package then don't see anything else and get a SKODA YETI,the Fortuner looks good but ride and handling are really soaring.
While the Yeti is a totally different breed,its a hatchback for those who want the practicality and ease of driving of a hatchback in the city.
Its a sedan for those who love the handling and ride/comfort of a sedan.
Its a good small SUV for those who loves light off-roading.[drive]
HOW ABOUT A PACKAGE OF THREE-IN-ONE?

Oh,six family members.
Okay then I'd say its Pajero or Fortuner if you want an SUV.
Its Endeavour 4X2/4X4 or Aria 4X2/4X4 if you want an MUV/SUV combo.

Thread Starter #56
Thanks Guys.@tsi endeavour is not in my list bcoz am interested in 2wd variant only but spending 21 l on road it does not even give me air bags and am not ready to spend more on it and buy a 3l 4wd i really dont need it.With Aria and Fortuner am aware they both fall under different category but my use is still gona be the same City plus occasional highway and never off-road.So in terms of occupant-both accomodates 3+3+2 and both has 4wd.Now forget its segment or logical utility whether its an MUV OR SUV there are basic parameters which lies common and thats what am asking you guys to point out and get me out of the mess.Now these are my questions between aria and fortuner
1.which one gives enough spacious feel for all three rows and boot space
2.which one gives settled ride and not like travelling on a slow pony-so good suspension
3.which one doesnt transmit road vibrations inside the cabin,i dont like any one seating behind and keep moruning-this car making us x,y,z and so on.It should feel like float
4.which one is the safest i mean feature rich with air bags,braking etc
5.which one will accomodate three occupants in middle row comfortably and not stick on like bubble gums
6.which one is maintenance friendly like not biting my pocket,ease of parts availability,interior and exterior servicing easy and inexpensive
7.finaly my stereo type statement,out of these two which one will last over a decade in terms of good service and build/engine performance ofcourse not in showroom condition but definitely not behave like a garbage truck,I want a AMBI like trustworthiness and ease of maintenance out of these so which one.
So these parameters though they come under different segments both the cars will have to answer so lets answer them for each of the cars and lets see where they fail and finaly decide.chooooooooooo easy!
No more additions please between Aria Prestige 4wd and Fortuner--dot

Thread Starter #57
@master yes i read ownership review and infact I have read so many reviews,video review,ownerships of both fortuner,aria.I couldnt decide just with that coz finally i wanted to have an expert advice and help decide

well i am no expert but as member of TAI i am trying my best to help my fellow member in my best knowledge but don't expect pro answer from me :biggrin:
Thanks Guys.@tsi endeavour is not in my list bcoz am interested in 2wd variant only but spending 21 l on road it does not even give me air bags and am not ready to spend more on it and buy a 3l 4wd i really dont need it.With Aria and Fortuner am aware they both fall under different category but my use is still gona be the same City plus occasional highway and never off-road.So in terms of occupant-both accomodates 3+3+2 and both has 4wd.Now forget its segment or logical utility whether its an MUV OR SUV there are basic parameters which lies common and thats what am asking you guys to point out and get me out of the mess.Now these are my questions between aria and fortuner
1.which one gives enough spacious feel for all three rows and boot space
i think both fortuner and ARAI has enough space in boot to hold small bags
2.which one gives settled ride and not like travelling on a slow pony-so good suspension
I think Aria win here . what all i heard is that has good suspension not like bumpy one
3.which one doesnt transmit road vibrations inside the cabin,i dont like any one seating behind and keep moruning-this car making us x,y,z and so on.It should feel like float
I think in this also aria win as fortuner wasn't made for creature comfort but for more off-roading
4.which one is the safest i mean feature rich with air bags,braking etc
In this also Aria wins it has 6 Air Bags still cheaper then fortuner
5.which one will accomodate three occupants in middle row comfortably and not stick on like bubble gums
Well in my safari we never felt like bubble gum so i think Aria should be same and about fortuner no idea
6.which one is maintenance friendly like not biting my pocket,ease of parts availability,interior and exterior servicing easy and inexpensive
I think in this fortuner might win being toyota means less running into service centre but I have got lot of +Ve review of Aria that it doesn't make you feel like tata niggle car who love service centre also don't forget its very easy to find TATA cars spare part compare to toyota
7.finaly my stereo type statement,out of these two which one will last over a decade in terms of good service and build/engine performance ofcourse not in showroom condition but definitely not behave like a garbage truck,I want a AMBI like trustworthiness and ease of maintenance out of these so which one.
here again i think fortuner might win being toyota car as myself have corolla and it has completed 8years already and started asking some work in its 8th year only till then except regular service never visited service centre but Aria being developed with help land rover engineer it should also comes reliable
So these parameters though they come under different segments both the cars will have to answer so lets answer them for each of the cars and lets see where they fail and finaly decide.chooooooooooo easy!
No more additions please between Aria Prestige 4wd and Fortuner--dot
my answer is in Bold

@Karthickramu:
Just go and seek the expert advise because the queries you have cannot be even fulfilled by the best SUVs out there.

Rest in my opinion,since you need a 2WD so,I'd advise you to get an Aria 2WD pride variant.I hope this will suit you best.
If 4WD,then go for Fortuner any day.
Thirdly if you can be happy with an Innova,then go for it with closed eyes.I am using an Innova D-4D V from last 5 years aand it is still running strong and maintainance is not an issue at all.

Wow so many developments in this thread in such a short time! Glad to see you have finally shortened to two cars , Aria or Fortuner.

Well initially i also had the exact same confusion like you , Aria or Fortuner and i chose Aria Pride variant.

Fortuner was simple enough to rule out for me , after paying 24Lakhs i get a feeling like sitting inside an Innova only. Fortuner absolutely lacks all the premium luxury features. Go for Fortuner only if you want the piece of mind ownership , Toyota's are extremely reliable and should last really long. But in case something goes wrong with the car be ready so spend more because i heard apart from regular maintenance Fortuner's spares are a bit costly.

I chose Aria because it was absolute VFM , none of the SUV/MUV inside the 30Lakh bracket offers everything the Aria has. Aria is a decent performer , can seat upto 6 people comfortably , highway stability is good enough no complaints so far , incredibly Fuel-efficient. But TATA'S A.S.S is still the same , though they try to give the premium feel to you , their work is still shoddy like always!

BTW if you choose Aria why not Pride variant? If you can afford Fortuner for 24Lakhs then why not Pride for 18.5Lakhs?

@ AMG Taxes are indeed high in Chennai , but less than Bangalore. The price of X1 comes around Rs.28Lakhs OTR.