My Tool Collection & DIY Adventures With Them

Thread Starter #152

These are the remaining set of pic showing the completion of above posted DIY.

Tools used:
1) Long nose plier,for cleaning the inside area of taillight.
2) Phillips screwdriver.
3) No.10 t shaped spanner.
4) 1/4 square drive ratchet with extensions,and helpers.
5) Lots of colin spray
6) spare cotton cloth.

Time required for completion:just 1 hour.

IMG-20180918-WA0049.jpg

IMG-20180918-WA0016.jpg

IMG-20180918-WA0017.jpg

IMG-20180918-WA0042.jpg

IMG-20180918-WA0058.jpg

IMG-20180918-WA0050.jpg

IMG-20180918-WA0034.jpg

IMG-20180911-WA0003.jpg

IMG-20180918-WA0005.jpg

Thread Starter #153

Well,this is the latest addition in my tool inventory.I have had many wrenches but never was I successful in laying hands on ratcheting wrenches.
I was searching for it for the last 2 years.It was available online,but I was not sure of the quality.Moreover I find no fun at all in purchasing tools online. I want to see and touch and feel and smell(and taste if that's possible!) and then buy. And there is lots and lots of joy in it.
Maybe I am an old fool,but that is how like it. And that is how I want to be ever.
So It's only now that the search has ended when I found one in my local tool bazaar. The pictures will speak for themselves.

IMG-20180921-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20180921-WA0001.jpg

IMG-20180921-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20180921-WA0003.jpg

IMG-20180921-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20180921-WA0005.jpg

Thread Starter #154

DIY Changing engine oil of my Activa 125

Today being a sunday had a few hours spare time,so went ahead and changed the engine oil,at 3500 kms thereabouts.This thing was at the back of my mind for quite some time.Honda recommends change every 4 months.Well my running is not that much.I barely did 3500ks in 2 years.Tha last oil change was in jan2018.So it was 10 months.Lets change it now,I decided. This time I cleaned the centrifugal filter too, which I missed in my last oil change in jan.
There was lot of plastic debris inside it. That was very concerning. Anyway its all fine now.The scooter is running very smoothly post the oil change. The sound is more subdued.I feel like flying,honestly,when I drive my scooter.
Rest the pics will speak.

I enjoyed using my tools shown here,in this DIY
IMG-20180923-WA0030.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0031.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0028.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0013.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0014.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0016.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0020.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0018.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0024.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0008.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0025.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0021.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0017.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0006.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0022.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0029.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0023.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0027.jpg

IMG-20180923-WA0009.jpg

Total time spent on thus DIY=40 minutes.That's all.

@mayankdixit

Few weeks ago I have also replaced engine oil, gear oil and air filter of my Honda Dio 2014. Last engine oil was changed a year ago and it had turned black even though I rarely ride my scooter. This is the second time I'm using Motul Scooter LE engine oil and I like its performance. Brought it from Amazon for Rs. 248/-. Fortunately I could buy Air filter from Honda ASC counter for Rs. 180/- MRP. [:)]

However, I didn't know my scooter uses separate gear oil (my previous LML scooter didn't) and I was running with bad oil since several years. [frustration] Vehicle manual and gear box says quality required that is 0.12l but no mention about grade. Honda ASC said, engine oil or gear oil can be used but they didn't have fluids in small packs as they use large qualities for servicing. Upon researching on Internet found that some use gear oil and some use remaining engine oil for gear box. I went to nearest automobile shops and they said engine oil can be used for gear box but gear oil is highly recommended. However, all the shops and fuel stations had minimum 1ltr packing. Its more then required but may be it will be useful for other things like chains, gears, hinges and etc. Also I can change gear oil of my scooter often and my friends scooter's. Cost for GS Caltex 80w90 gear oil is Rs. 250/-

Anyway, now my scooter is much better and I enjoy riding it. Last time when I changed stock oil to Mutul, it did improve engine performance but now the vehicle is smooth and makes less vibration/noise because of new gear oil and air filter.

Sorry, I couldn't take pics of my scooter and tools while working. I hate to use mobile/camera with dirty hands and my brother talks more then helping so I took few snaps only after finishing.
CR_Motul_Scooter_LE_01.jpg CR_Motul_Scooter_LE_02.jpg

CR_Dio14_Gear_Oils.jpg

CR_Dio14_Funnels.jpg

CR_Dio14_Air_filter.jpg

Meanwhile, I have also replaced stock bulbs of my Honda Dio to Philips Blue Vision. I had bought the bulb from Amazon for ~300. Seller mentioned 4000k white light but Philips updated the packing of new batch and it is 3700k now. The bulb had blue coating on filament but upon installing I couldn't notice much difference other then blue tint on reflector and the throw still has yellowish tint. Thats because the bulb is indeed 3700k. Philips Crystal Vision 4300k on my car throws white light with blue tint and I like a very much. I thought to return the bulb but I had opened the packing and also got busy with Ganesh festival.

CR_Philips_BV_HS1_01.jpg CR_Philips_BV_HS1_02.jpg
CR_Philips_BV_HS1_03.jpg
CR_Philips_BV_HS1_04.jpg CR_Philips_BV_HS1_05.jpg

Here is stock Phoenix bulb:

CR_Phoenix_HS1_01.jpg CR_Phoenix_HS1_02.jpg

Thread Starter #157

@mayankdixit
Few weeks ago I have also replaced engine oil, gear oil and air filter of my Honda Dio 2014.
However, I didn't know my scooter uses separate gear oil (my previous LML scooter didn't) and I was running with bad oil since several years. [frustration] Vehicle manual and gear box says quality required that is 0.12l but no mention about grade. Honda ASC said, engine oil or gear oil can be used but they didn't have fluids in small packs as they use large qualities for servicing. Upon researching on Internet found that some use gear oil and some use remaining engine oil for gearbox. I went to nearest automobile shops and they said engine oil can be used for gear box
That was very nicely executed DIY. And good pictures too. Happy to see like minded DIYer on the forum.I am getting exact same feedback here in kanpur,when asked about gear oil change!!Even the manual is unclear about the specifications of gear oil.

Regarding light and bulbs I am more inclined towards engines and oils and tyres and polishes and all,and I find I am less of a bulb-vulb sort of DIYer.Maybe I am scared of the intricacies and all this electronics stuff. I feel always" not sure" if I may blow up a fuse or wire or something. I let the lights and bulb remain mostly in the factory state/setting only.Let them stay as they are and learn to live with the limitations they have,has been my motto so far.It's good that you can do all this stuff,which I will not do/can't do/or maybe can do but scared to do.
Bhvm ji any comments.??
Please do comment if you feel so.Don't just remain silent and increase the suspense.[;)]

That was very nicely executed DIY. And good pictures too. Happy to see like minded DIYer on the forum.I am getting exact same feedback here in kanpur,when asked about gear oil change!!Even the manual is unclear about the specifications of gear oil.
Okay. So you still have stock gear oil?

Regarding light and bulbs I am more inclined towards engines and oils and tyres and polishes and all,and I find I am less of a bulb-vulb sort of DIYer.Maybe I am scared of the intricacies and all this electronics stuff. I feel always" not sure" if I may blow up a fuse or wire or something. I let the lights and bulb remain mostly in the factory state/setting only.Let them stay as they are and learn to live with the limitations they have,has been my motto so far.It's good that you can do all this stuff,which I will not do/can't do/or maybe can do but scared to do.
Bhvm ji any comments.??
Please do comment if you feel so.Don't just remain silent and increase the suspense.[;)]
I see. I would also advice to stay with factory rating when it comes to bulb upgrades. I have seen people using high wattage bulbs but it does more harm then good. First of all it hurts oncoming traffic, melts headlight housing and may also cause fire. Safe upgrade would be LED or Projectors and they should be good quality bulbs.

My car has led bulbs on all exterior and interior lighting except headlight which are Philips Crystal Vision 55/60 factory rating. Surprisingly none of the china made LEDs blow in 4-5 years usage!

I'm also not much into electronics but I like doing DIYs sometimes where possible. Few months ago, I did my whole housing rewiring including installation of new MCB, RCBO and etc. I made a plan before doing the DIY and fortunately everything went well. I had to make dozen holes on 16" walls and that took a week time but did a much better job then paid workers and saved money.

Thread Starter #159

1) So you still have stock gear oil?

2) Few months ago, I did my whole housing rewiring including installation of new MCB, RCBO and etc. I made a plan before doing the DIY and fortunately everything went well. I had to make dozen holes on 16" walls and that took a week time but did a much better job then paid workers and saved money.
1) Yes,I am still driving on gear oil from the factory.But its just 2 and a 1/2 years and 3500 kms,that's all.Its 2016 model Activa 125

2) You are very humble.Wiring of the whole damn household is a big project. I dare not even dream of it.It's quite time consuming too. Besides there is always life risk,due to electrocution and all. Hats off to you.

1) Yes,I am still driving on gear oil from the factory.But its just 2 and a 1/2 years and 3500 kms,that's all.Its 2016 model Activa 125
I guess the manual says to replace gear oil once in two years and mechanics advice every year. You won't believe but my 4 year old scooter odo is 1k only (I don't feel safe riding around city so I use it within 1-2 km range only). Still the engine oil turned black within a year. Its because chemical reaction with metal parts. I think you should plan on changing gear oil soon and I'm sure you will see noticeable improvements. [:)]

2) You are very humble.Wiring of the whole damn household is a big project. I dare not even dream of it.It's quite time consuming too. Besides there is always life risk,due to electrocution and all. Hats off to you.
Lol. Yeah at first I was scared to do the job but when I contacted several electricians, their knowledge was horrible. Acting as if they know everything but nothing and quote like professionals. They don't know wire gauge, color code, amps, which mcb,rccb to use and etc. Kya fark padta hai type workers. They just know to drill holes and place wires.

I had given one electrician to move electricity meter board and he ruined it! I had to fix all his mistakes and then I had confidence to do my house rewiring. Electricity has no smell, heat or visibility so everyone has to be careful with it. I have always turned mains off and confirmed with multiple testers before touching the wires. I have used double pole MCBs so it can turn off both positive and negative wires. Also I have two RCCB/RCBO (one for mains and one for invertor), to cut off supply if someone touches live wire/socket.

Bhvm ji any comments.??
1. 80w90 is a safe bet for any gearbox use when in doubt. the 90 grade is a thicker oil that prevents rubbing of gear teeth which are under higher torque than engine components, hence require a thicker/Stickier film to protect themselves. I believe engine oil in gearbox will improve temporary FE/acceleration due to lower viscosity but will wear out the gears earlier.

2. Always available for any light related queries[:)]

Okay. So you still have stock gear oil?

I see. I would also advice to stay with factory rating when it comes to bulb upgrades. I have seen people using high wattage bulbs but it does more harm then good. First of all it hurts oncoming traffic, melts headlight housing and may also cause fire. Safe upgrade would be LED or Projectors and they should be good quality bulbs.

My car has led bulbs on all exterior and interior lighting except headlight which are Philips Crystal Vision 55/60 factory rating. Surprisingly none of the china made LEDs blow in 4-5 years usage!

I'm also not much into electronics but I like doing DIYs sometimes where possible. Few months ago, I did my whole housing rewiring including installation of new MCB, RCBO and etc. I made a plan before doing the DIY and fortunately everything went well. I had to make dozen holes on 16" walls and that took a week time but did a much better job then paid workers and saved money.
1. True that. Overwattage bulbs are always a disaster.
2. The problem is in Standards itself. I am yet to meet anyone who is absolutely happy with stock headlamps. Using the same dim as candles 55/60w bulb standard (35w for 2 wheelers) with max 1100 lumens from 50+ Years ago is way too much risky on todays roads. Esp with every other moron high beaming with cheap & Misaligned 100w bulbs.
3. That made me nostalgic when I did solar wiring myself for my Home and office.
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...general-discussion-solar-diy-home-office.html

That reminds me I dont remember quite when the gear oil in my 2008 Activa was changed. It always goes to ASC, And I just hope it has been changed on time.
My humble activa has seen less use, only done 17k Kms till now though.

Thread Starter #162

When you want all the four wheels of the car in the air(make it 5, because technically spare is also in the air!!),you have to have 4 stands at least. I cant play Tyre- Tyre at home if car is not properly raised. And jack stands are never enough if you are paranoid like me.
Posting pics of the current no. of jack stands in my possession. Blacks are branded ones(black bull) while red and white are non branded ones.All have 3 ton capacity.I work sometimes in wet/water filled gallery.So dust,mud and water cant be avoided.
The white over spray paint is due to my effort to cover any and all raw/exposed/rusted iron areas.

IMG-20180927-WA0015.jpg

IMG-20180927-WA0011.jpg

IMG-20180927-WA0018.jpg

IMG-20180927-WA0017.jpg

IMG-20180927-WA0020.jpg

IMG-20180927-WA0019.jpg

IMG-20180927-WA0016.jpg

IMG-20180927-WA0012.jpg

red one is the lightest of all but still strong
IMG-20180927-WA0013.jpg

IMG-20180927-WA0009.jpg

white one is the heaviest and most sturdy of the lot
IMG-20180927-WA0010.jpg

IMG-20180927-WA0014.jpg

@mayankdixit

Sirji, what a coincident. Yesterday I was checking big bull 3 ton jack stands on industrial buying website and thought to ask your advice. Today you have posted the pics of same jack stands. [shock]

They cost around 2k for 2x 3 ton jack stands with safety pin. I think two are sufficient to help me replace engine oil every year. Please let me know build quality of big bull jack stands and at what price you bought them.

Updates of my vehicle: Yesterday I got brake and clutch fluids replaced from ASC. Here you can see pics of new (First three pics) and old (Last three pics) fluids condition. Also told to check condition of worn outer tie rods but they came up with worn steering rack also. Damn! However, they said its not major and doesn't need replacement of any parts now. [roll]

Also ordered Motul 8100 x-cess 5w40 4l engine oil from Amazon and will received it tomorrow.

Thread Starter #164

@mayankdixit
They cost around 2k for 2x 3 ton jack stands with safety pin. I think two are sufficient to help me replace engine oil every year. Please let me know build quality of big bull jack stands and at what price you bought them.
I bought it about 5 years ago.It was only 1400/- then. Red ones are non branded,and possibly Chinese. But look strong,cost me 1200 for 2.Wt=2.5kgs each.
Big bull is of better quality.Wt=2.7kgs each. Go for them.I have used them many times in my swift, XUV and now Nexon. No issues.
What is that pen thing being used for brake oil. Some quality/fluid deterioration tester of sorts??

I bought it about 5 years ago.It was only 1400/- then. Red ones are non branded,and possibly Chinese. But look strong,cost me 1200 for 2.Wt=2.5kgs each.
Big bull is of better quality.Wt=2.7kgs each. Go for them.I have used them many times in my swift, XUV and now Nexon. No issues.
What is that pen thing being used for brake oil. Some quality/fluid deterioration tester of sorts??
Industry buying customer care says the list is for single jack stand and not pair as shown in picture. I am contacting other suppliers to know the details and quote.

It measures moisture level in brake/clutch fluid. Old fluid was more then 3% which means fluid need to be replaced. New fluid is less then 1%. You can also see difference in fluid color. I got the pen from Aliexpress and it costs around 2 usd only. Link or more.