My Pre-Owned Tata Safari 3.0 - Ownership Review

Thread Starter #286
Umalkars,
In case of a puncture, how do you remove the stepney? It must weigh at least 30kg. Do you just lift it off or is there some lowering mechanism?
And how do you put it back up? Sheer strength?
The Storme's stepney is underneath.
Have a safe trip. :-)
Thanks @ZenandEnfield.

So far there was only one instance where I had to take down the stepney and I did it manually with the help of another guy. No other option.

@ umalkars
How much did that synthetic oil cost you per ltr ? Let us know if you find difference in engine sound or pick up.Even i am planning to go for that after 10k km running,now its 6.5k km done

@ samdinkar
For new car sythetic oil is worth going for ? Or should i wait till 20k running

There have been reports that using synthetic oil on a new engine (instead of the OEM mineral oil, mind you) is not good for the running in process as the synthetic oil reduces the friction between contacting surfaces, thereby not allowing the engine innards to properly bed in. While I do not have any reliable statistical data to prove it, I would not want to take a chance with using non OEM oil on a new engine - why spend more money for a nebulous,marginal benefit?

p.s.: While I took a test drive of the Storme, the SA did tell me that it drinks synthetic. Please check it out.

Thread Starter #289
@ umalkars
How much did that synthetic oil cost you per ltr ? Let us know if you find difference in engine sound or pick up
It was Rs.6500/- for 6.5 ltr (Rs.1000/ltr.) at the Shetty's garage, Baner, Pune. I guess that it should cost a bit less, around Rs.900/-, at the Mobil oil distributor. I haven't noticed any reduction in engine noise yet. Will surely update once I drive for few hundred km.

Thread Starter #292
@ Umalkars, Sam
Does the Safari have an air compressor, like trucks & buses?
Nope, Safari does not have air compressor as far as I know.

Trip to Rajasthan

Had a wonderful trip to Rajasthan covering almost 3000 km without any major issues in my Safari. Synthetic oil did show its magic, the engine was smoother and considerable noise reduction once the engine was warm.

Started on Oct 16th around 10.30pm and reached Fatehpur on 18th around 4.30pm - total distance covered almost 1500 km in 42 hours; missed a bypass to Kishengarh and instead went via Ajmer road from Udaipur. Joined back on the 6-lane at Bvewar. Got a cut in the left front tyre just 50km before Fatehpur which caused the delay. Bought two new JK tyres while returning, costing Rs.12900/- (a pair.)

Return journey was pretty smooth and fast as well, covering almost 1460 km in just 30.5 hours. Took a two hour nap near Vadodara - started at 3pm on 23rd from Fatehpur and was in Pune around 9.30pm next day. Did face heavy traffic near Ahmedabad and again near Surat and off course the usual one in Mumbai.

Overall it was a unique experience and the great SAFARI was just fantastic. Need to highlight that I got an mileage of 13+ km/ltr with AC.

@ Umalkars
- I love the shrill air horns, hence the question about air compressors.

- Noticed you travelled at night again ;-) .
How did the new lights, tyres perform? Any photos?

Thread Starter #294
@ Umalkars
- I love the shrill air horns, hence the question about air compressors.

- Noticed you travelled at night again ;-) .
How did the new lights, tyres perform? Any photos?
The lights just served the purpose, extremely powerful, had no issue about visibility during night. I was using only 2 white lights, never had to use the yellow ones. More important, it did not affect the battery at all. I had the following devices working during the night - 2 headlights (low beam), 2 auxiliary lights, and AC.

No issue so far with the tyres. Would not be fair to comment on new tyres just after around 1500 km of traveling.

Thread Starter #295
Shall I call this another milestone, crossed 190k km yesterday. No long drives after coming from Rajasthan. Will be going to Dapoli in the last week of this month, but then that's just 200km from Pune.

Suudhanshu, I really admire you for these updates - better late than never.

1.9 lakh km. Just goes to prove the indefatigable resilience of the 3.0 block.

Have you ever faced any starting problem in that the Safari cranks but does not start?

Also, any oil/fluid leakages on the floor?

How often do you have to top up the engine oil and the coolant?

Great going. Cant wait to see the 2 lakh km mark on the odo. Attaboy!![clap]

Thread Starter #297
Never faced any starting problem since I bought the vehicle. It does take a few seconds (3-4) to start (a few extra rotations I guess) and SA once told me that this is common in 3.0.

Fortunately, no leakages presently. There was coolant leakage earlier (before going to Rajasthan) and I had to change few pipes and tighten clips, but now its all Ok. The coolant level hasn't dropped even after driving almost 3500 km.

Regarding top up, never really had to do it with engine oil. I must have changed engine oils 3-4 times in last 18 months or so. Let me figure out-

1. First oil change at Pandit Automobiles when I bought the vehicle
2. Second oil change at Ahmednagar (private mechanic)
3. Third oil change at Phoenix Automobiles
4. Fourth oil change at Krishna Garage --- doubtful
5. Fifth oil change (used synthetic) at Shetty's Garage - this was immediately after 4th one as I was not sure if that fellow has really changed the oil

For coolant, it was changed (in April 2012) the first time when I bought the vehicle. Then I faced coolant leakage problems this year, so was just topping up with coolant or water and driving the vehicle. Finally, the problem was fixed in October and fresh coolant was put in there.

I guess I might touch 2 lac km. sometime in 2014 :)

Thanks. How about the clutch (hard/soft) and suspension? How well are they holding up? Does the vehicle remain in a straight line on the highway if you take your hands off the steering wheel? Also , what about the fuel efficiency after the switch to synthetic?

Thread Starter #300
Clutch is normal, I never felt it hard as such. Rear suspensions might require over-hauling (?). I will scan and put up the bills here just to get the idea about the work done on the vehicle. I vaguely remember changing few things for front suspension as well.

The vehicle, very very slightly, goes towards left if I take off the hands from the steering wheel, but I guess this is related to alignment.

The fuel efficiency is almost the same with both types of oil. I got 13+ mileage during Rajasthan trip, but that's probably due to highway driving. Once back in city, its again merely 10+. But I can certainly feel the smoothness in the engine after using synthetic oil.