My Italian Horse in Bossa Nova White - Fiat Punto 90HP

I was suprise to hear that Fiat A.S.S repairs bumper.MASS never repairs bumpers they just replace it and always asked me to repair it under insurance

IMO get the bumper repaired if the damage can be healed to perfection. Being in city, you may have to face such things in future too, so if the damage is repairable, better stay away from replacement.
Sorry to note about the incident Raj. But give a thought what Akash has suggested. I think, it makes more sense by getting it repaired.

Now on a peace of mind to that Verna driver, I think, people should stay away from such things for their personal safety. You actually never know what the other person will do. I am saying so because in Delhi, things are so different. People kill each other for just a scratch on the sideline, forget the impact for that matter.

Person safety comes first before anything.

Note:- I am not saying that you or others should not do anything about it but in a control manner. Just a suggestion

[thumbsup]

Thread Starter #198
5600 kms update:

+ FE has been more or less steady at 14 kmpl & even 15.5 kmpl in the last filling.
+ Ride quality & build quality... blah blah blah !!!
+ Steering feel is awesome, perfectly weighted & precise turning.
+ Handling corners at high speeds is cakewalk for the punto, she does not lose the line even with rough surfaces.
+ View from both the ORVMs is great.
+ From 3rd gear onwards, performance is good. She has enough torque to pull cleanly without any sudden jerk or boost.
+ AC chills like anything, in no time.
+ Front seats are very very comfortable.

- Slight rattling from dashboard & rear parcel tray. I bought a FIAT because I thought its sturdier than a Maruti. Anyways, I have done some ICEing on the car, so it may be the culprit. I have to get it checked.
- Acceleration in first two gears in pathetic. Whats the use of buying 90 hp?
- Legroom in the rear seat is very very tight.

I work in VW, so I drive the VW polo extensively. Comparo between Polo 1.2 diesel highline & Punto 90 hp:

* Punto is cheaper by a huge margin.
* Punto has got more power & torque.
* Polo feels more responsive in initial gears but the performance dies down as revs climb. Its the opposite in punto.
* Polo is noisier & has more vibrations.
* Ride quality of polo is harsh, especially at slow speeds. Punto feels more planted at high speeds.
* Both cars are built strong & feels sturdy. Infact the punto feels heavier but interior fit & finish & build quality is leagues ahead in the polo.
* Punto has got many features which polo does not have, like auto AC, USB port, Blue & Me, etc. which is missing in the polo.
* VW brand is 100 times superior to FIAT.
* Resale value of VW is also much better than FIAT.
* A.S.S. of both are equally pathetic!

But finally at the end of the day you are quite happy with your decision i think.

BTW nice comparison between Polo and Punto , i have always never been a fan of Polo after i drove it! Punto scores more when it comes to VFM factor.

Thread Starter #202
end of the day how do you feel about 7.5lac spent smile ,neutral ,frown ?
Hmm, for the 7.75 lakhs that i spent, I would have liked a bit more rear legroom. Most importantly, I was not expecting rattles & squeaks from a FIAT.

So, I would be neutral. If the rattling issue is solved, then I would smile. [:)]

Nice comparo. I too agree that Polo lacks in high rev range. I have driven a friend's Polo 1.2 TDI comfortline and the noise at idle was annoying. Although the car looks slick and neat but they still need to work out on the engine and performance front.

VW being the 2nd biggest automaker can not fool indian market with substandard tuned and refined 1.2 engines. Look how Hyundai or Fiat or Honda's engines are.

i can only agree with what raj said about punto. initially it felt to me that for paid amount fiat did not include quality inspections when car came out of production line.
which i have mentioned in my ownership review .

but i am shocked to note whatever said about Volkswagen. i am in a belief that vw cars are better than fiats considering the reputation,sales figures globally.

anyway never got a chance to TD vw.

Thread Starter #205
Some pics from a recent trip to my friend's farmhouse in Uran. The dislodged rear bumper when a verna rear ended my car can be seen in the pics -

Great pictures Raj , looks like car is due for a wash now!

BTW damage is not as bad as i expected , still you have not fixed it?

Your Pintu is shining out in the greenery, Raj. And needless to say that she is really beautiful already. Scorp must be feeling jealous. No? :wink:

Thread Starter #209
Great pictures Raj , looks like car is due for a wash now!
Thanks buddy. I had to wash the car myself. You should have seen the car after I returned to mumbai. The road was dirty with mud as it was a truck route & coupled with rain, it was like a dirt track with a white punto (without mudflaps!!!) doing 150 kmph!

My car was no more Bossa Nova White. It was Chikkad Wala Brown! It took me a whole hour to clean the car. And the tyres. And the alloys.

btw, it the first time my car crossed 130 kmph (!!!) & it felt very stable. It reached 150 kmph & I was not pushing the throttle hard. Had I done it, I feel it would have reached 170 kmph easily but it was too risky on that road.

BTW damage is not as bad as i expected , still you have not fixed it?
Yes, the damage is not very bad. I will repair it after mid july, due to some reason.

Nice set of pictures Raj.[:)]
Looks like you are enjoying the rains.

Rain+Driving is really amazing.
Driving in the rains is really awesome. More so, on an empty village road, windows rolled down & 8 am in the morning.

Your Pintu is shining out in the greenery, Raj. And needless to say that she is really beautiful already. Scorp must be feeling jealous. No? :wink:

Scorpio is gone buddy. [cry]

Products I use for my car care -

1) Motomax car shampoo
2) Cyclo tyre foam
3) Armor All tyre shine
4) 3 different micro fibre cloths for body, tyre & dashboard

Aah yes cleaning a white car after going on a muddy road during rains is a tough ask! I have experienced the same with my Aria. BTW what's the difference between tyre foam and tyre shine?