Maruti Suzuki Ertiga ZDi Bought: Ownership Review

Thank You, we were confused between Red and Grey and at last opted for Grey though my wife had inclination towards white. Infact all the colors of Ertiga are stunning.

@ERTIGA_ZMR

Congratulation for your New "LUV". wish you many happy miles and safe drive.
Granite Grey looks stunning on ERTIGA. i have also booked granite grey ZXI and eagerly waiting for the delivery.

I was informed that adding after market stereo and other electrical stuff (power windows and fog lamps)will void the warranty.

Is this true?Is there anyway to install a stereo and other lighting(fog,LED)without cutting into the factory harness?

Please Help!

Friends, my Ertiga is showing mileage as 12.5KMPL in all conditions. Total KM run is only 65KM. Kindly let me know when it will start showing more than 15KMPL.

Is it advisable to learn driving on new car or shall I wait for 1st servicing? I know driving but not a confident one. So I drive in 1-2-3 gears only, till now I have driven less than a KM rest all by driver.

Friends, my Ertiga is showing mileage as 12.5KMPL in all conditions. Total KM run is only 65KM. Kindly let me know when it will start showing more than 15KMPL.

Is it advisable to learn driving on new car or shall I wait for 1st servicing? I know driving but not a confident one. So I drive in 1-2-3 gears only, till now I have driven less than a KM rest all by driver.
ZMR,

Don't worry. It should improve as you put more miles. Mine had run 60 km when I took delivery & it was showing 10 KML mileage.

Thread Starter #1,090

I suggest you to first learn driving from a driving school instead, it costs merely 2k here in Chd.
If you insist on learning driving on this car only, you'll be able to drive easily on empty roads but will definitely face problems on congested and roads with traffic, and overtaking or letting others overtake(specially buses and trucks) is confusing for most of the beginners and this have costed many people's lives too. Not just see the positive side, do think the worst cases and that too with your expensive car.
Just join a driving school, and you'll gain much of the required confidence within a week!
Cheers! [:)]

Source- Me with 10 years of driving experience. :)

I suggest you to first learn driving from a driving school instead, it costs merely 2k here in Chd.
If you insist on learning driving on this car only, you'll be able to drive easily on empty roads but will definitely face problems on congested and roads with traffic, and overtaking or letting others overtake(specially buses and trucks) is confusing for most of the beginners and this have costed many people's lives too. Not just see the positive side, do think the worst cases and that too with your expensive car.
Just join a driving school, and you'll gain much of the required confidence within a week!
Cheers! [:)]

Source- Me with 10 years of driving experience. :)

Saby bhai, I have take driving lesson and also passed the Bangalore RTO test and holding a valid and honest DL :P.

Only issue with Ertiga is, it's a big car as compared to Santro, Spark or Indica. I drove test vehicle around 6-7 Km and drove it nicely. Since it's almost a new car and I am by nature very careful not to hurt anyone is causing me over cautious.

Please answer my query about mileage, it is showing 12.5 KMPL right now, will it increase to 17 KMPL in city.

Dear zmr.. Ur car won't change to higher or even lower mileage at any given time. It depends on driving conditions and gear change too. As mentioned in ur post, U have said U drive mostly in 1st-2nd-3rd gears and that too for short distances and rest of the driver... Now
1. Driving short distance and that too with frequent gear changes (that too 1-2-3)consumes more fuel bcoz my q3 and kizashi gives me 6,if I drive in my area or less than 1km, if I take it to long drive or work I get 8-9as gear changes wud be minimal.
2. And mileage also depend upon driving adjustability with driver and car. Now since ur driver drives it most, its more accustomed to his way of driving and since ur drive a bit more slowly the vehicle will deliver less mileage
3. So I prefer U drive it more and get it accustomed. After first service let anyone drive..

I am in blr too(the 4th ertiga owner (got my car in April) in blr).. and I drive both ertiga and q3.. So call me up , I can help u too.. Probably u can drive my ertiga and get used it...and then start in urs

Thread Starter #1,094
Saby bhai, I have take driving lesson and also passed the Bangalore RTO test and holding a valid and honest DL :P.

Only issue with Ertiga is, it's a big car as compared to Santro, Spark or Indica. I drove test vehicle around 6-7 Km and drove it nicely. Since it's almost a new car and I am by nature very careful not to hurt anyone is causing me over cautious.

Please answer my query about mileage, it is showing 12.5 KMPL right now, will it increase to 17 KMPL in city.
Oops. Sorry! [embarass]

I also got average of 12-14kmpl in city initially for about first 3K kms, then average will start increasing as you'll clock more kms,
And what I noted was that 1st service didn't matter at all for car's average as Engine oil is added at 10K kms, so don't wait for 1st service thinking the increase in car's average, It'll surely increase as the time passes and when car has clocked around 3-4K kms...
If you want to utilise diesel's last drop, keep a VERY LIGHT foot on accelerator, don't revv it hard, shift gears just below 2K RPM and No hard braking. [;)]