Maruti Suzuki Baleno Premium Hatchback Now Launched

re: Suzuki's New Premium Hatchback Baleno Coming Up!Now Launched

My take on the pricing is it will start at 5.89 for base variant. anything lesser and swift sales will be hit hard. Even the Base varient has Abs and 2 airbags so high cost will the there. This is like a Swift 2.0 with more space , mileage , power and quality. No way can they price below i20/jazz 5.35 price that some are speculating as their entry level models are much more sparse in features.

I think Baleno will be a hit despite run of the mill features and selling through limited Nexa showrooms. Maruti needed a model with better boot space and interiors. The added safety features in Baleno will make it more attractive. Time for people to move away from tired, old swift and Swift Dezire.

MID will be standard across all variants.
The catch is , the top variants will get a more colorful & bigger one - where you can see the pie chart of torque / power + may be a couple of more features.

While the other variants will get the standard MID, which is there in SWIFT i guess.
So CVT variant will not get those pie chart of torque / power + etc.. Damn..

Pricing for Baleno will have base price of 6 in delhi as per sources as anything less will hit Swift twins hard, this will be a introductory price.

Some sites report pricing will be similar to that of Jazz and i20, but with the specs revealed, I doubt it will be below 6.

I was looking through various variants of the many car models Maruti Suzuki is selling in India and it's amazing how much a value for money product the ciaz is! In comparison, the swift dzire for example feels less VFM in it's segment!

Take the case of Ciaz VDi (O) and City E Diesel. Both have ABS with EBD, but the Ciaz offers more than the City:
Co-driver airbag
Speed Sensing Door Lock
Rear AC vents
Co-Driver vanity mirror
Driver Armrest
Rear Armrest
Rear cup holders
Body Coloured ORVMs
Turn Indicators on ORVM
Rear Defogger
Body coloured Exterior Door Handles
Chrome Interior Door Handles
Rear door pockets
Projector headlamps
Rear cabin lamp
2-din music system with 6 speakers and USB, Aux,MP3,CD

After all this, this Ciaz variant is priced at an amazing 44 thousand lower than the City variant ! Ok, the hydrid subsidy helps the Ciaz but that would still be a maximum of 10 thousand for this model. So still 34 thousand lower than the City! I'm amazed how Maruti is able to do this with the Ciaz. It certainly is not able to do this with the Dzire and the Amaze.

So now coming to the pricing of Baleno, the entry level sigma model differentiates itself from the base models of competition by having dual airbags and ABS with EBD.

Looking at Maruti's pricing of airbags and ABS on other models, it again differs a lot.
On the Ciaz VDi (O), 1 extra airbag and ABS with EBD costs only 15 thousand more than the VDi variant.
On the stingray VXi (O), 1 airbag and ABS with EBD costs 29 thousand.
On the Ertiga VXi ABS, the added ABS with EBD and BA over the VXi model costs only 7 thousand.

So now i think we can assume Baleno's standard ABS with EBD and airbags in line with Ciaz's.

Looking at the Elite i20 and Jazz, their base petrol models are priced at 5.34 and 5.35 lakhs respectively. Comparing top of the line diesel models, i20 Asta (O) vs Jazz VX, its 8.28 and 8.63 lakhs respectively. The Jazz V is a whole 49 thousand cheaper than VX ,at 8.14 lakhs, with the exclusion of magic seats and touchscreen infotainment system.

Also looking at the Swift and Dzire, Swift ranges 4.65 - 7.29 lakhs and Dzire ranges 5.16 - 7.91 lakhs. People would say these two cars are the biggest threat for the Baleno, but as Maruti officials put it, as long as customers stay within the Maruti family, there don't bother. Simply take it, if Baleno halves the sales of Dzire after launch Maruti would simply lower the production of Dzire and produce the Baleno in required quantities, right ? So Maruti does not stand to lose. So i think they will not price the Baleno higher up just to differentiate it from Dzire.

Finally coming to Baleno price speculation, the Dzire is priced at par with the competition unlike the Ciaz which is priced much lower than competition! Talking about the Nexa product S-Cross it doesn't really have head on competitors as it is a unique offering, though it is compared with the Ecosport and even the Duster and Creta.
Though Maruti is calling the Baleno premium and bringing it via Nexa showrooms i feel it is going to be priced to beat the i20 and Jazz. Even adding 20 thousand for airbags and ABS over the competition would give us a starting price of 5.55 lakhs.

But at new launch and for this season, i'm predicting the starting price at 5.29 lakhs introductory and the range to top out at 8.19 lakhs! [:D][clap]

Yes, this particular model you see here, the Maruti Baleno Sigma variant, will be available from October 26th at Nexa showrooms at 5.29 lakhs ex-showroom Delhi, according to me! [:D][:D]

Picture Source: GaadiWaadi

Most of you are correct regarding the pricing strategy.
My only question is will maruti take a risk by pricing it higher than Elitei20.

Because Elitei20 is now the market leader in the segment and package wise(looks + interiors + engine) wise , it is better or at least equal to Baleno. So unless Baleno has some really amazing feature going its way (and that is not the case), why people will buy a Baleno and not an Elitei20.

Baleno i think has almost all the fancy features the i20 is offering and the biggest USP has to be the combination. The combination of space + NVH levels and class leading ride quality + class leading fuel efficiency + fancy features + safety features. This combination is not available with the competitors i guess.

Minutes of meeting with GM of Nexa (Noida) today morning.

I had visited to another Nexa outlet in Noida that is run by the Suri group of Industries (They also run the Lalit Hotel in New Delhi under hospitality wing). So, in my 30 minutes meeting, I was informed by the GM that ever since the pre-booking news has come, their outlet has got about 50 bookings. Then in front of me, the GM got a call from a resident of Greater Noida, who agreed to book the Baleno on phone itself and all this happened in front of me. The gentleman from Greater Noida was earlier looking for Dzire and as he got to know about the Baleno he held back and decided for the Baleno. The pre-booking deal was closed on the phone itself. So, seeing/observing this hype of Baleno first hand, I can safely say that, Baleno has garnered the requisite admirers/prospective customers in good numbers.

Another thing that I saw was, the calling Data that is provided to the executives of Nexa (specifically this particular dealer) had the names of customers who were planning to buy CIAZ (all variants included) but the deal did not go through. Hence, my belief is that Baleno down the line will be aiming on the customers of Dzire/CIAZ segment. And this to some extent shows what sort of pricing it would be (expected) having i.e from Rs. 5+ Lacs to 9+ Lacs.

Baleno as of now looks a potent choice for customers who have a budget from Rs. 5 to 9 Lacs. Rest, as I will get the news then shall update accordingly.

hari.vgl Ciaz VDI is priced close to 8 Lakhs for just 1.2 Lt engine. That's why they have the leeway to add ABS optional at reduced price. Ertiga VDi is priced closer to 6.8 Lakh though with 1.3 lt engine. Considering that Baleno diesel too will be 1.3 lt, they will have to price it closer to 6 lakhs to manage the cost of airbags and ABS unless they cross subsidise with other model. If they want to gain more market share, they should do that.

The ciaz uses the same 1.3 litre diesel engine of the Dzire but in a different tune and an added variable geometry turbo, doesn't it ?

But at new launch and for this season, i'm predicting the starting price at 5.29 lakhs introductory and the range to top out at 8.19 lakhs! [:D][clap]
I would add 10 thousand more to my prediction and make the starting price within 5.29-5.39 lakhs and range topping at 8.19-8.29 lakhs. It definitely won't exceed this range. Let's see. :D

Elite i20 doesn't have airbags at the base model doesn't have ride quality (Most people complain of boat like drive quality on highways) many of the initial features in i20 have been removed, has bad mileage compared to competition. One thing that i20 has more is Bling (Read style) they recently increased the price by 9k. More the competition better for us customers.

Baleno i think has almost all the fancy features the i20 is offering and the biggest USP has to be the combination. The combination of space + NVH levels and class leading ride quality + class leading fuel efficiency + fancy features + safety features. This combination is not available with the competitors i guess.
True good amount of bling but Class leading ride quality (not true) safety features yes but structure stability not sure (Read Swift Safety details EURO spec Swift scored 5 indian spec scored Zero and structural stability was mentioned to be unstable). Lets wait and hope that this is covered in Baleno which will benefit the customers.

I would add 10 thousand more to my prediction and make the starting price within 5.29-5.39 lakhs and range topping at 8.19-8.29 lakhs. It definitely won't exceed this range. Let's see. :D
If this comes true, Maruti will be killing two of its own products which are quite successful now the Swift twins. I doubt they will do that if they do that [clap] Customer benefits so it will be good.

As i mentioned earlier even the Maruti executives have said that it doesn't bother them if the customer stays within the family. And if you think about it, isn't it true ? If some Dzire prospective customers are changed to Baleno customers Maruti themselves are only gaining!

Take for example, the case of the S-Cross. It's similarly priced to the Ciaz diesel(now SHVS). So wouldn't the S-Cross be pulling many Ciaz prospective buyers into buying it? It doesn't matter to Maruti.

Also take examples of Compact Sedan - Premium Hatchback siblings from Hyundai and Honda. See the price difference in the attached image. Especially Honda. See how close Jazz and Amaze are priced. So it shows manufacturers are not concerned about one model influencing another within their portfolio.

The detailed feature list is here as MotorBeam has got hold of the official brochure!

Sigma – Starting with the exteriors, the base Sigma variant on the Maruti Baleno comes with body coloured door handles instead of chrome, LED tail lamps, blackened A, B and C pillars and rides on 185/65/R15 tyres with no wheel cover. On the inside, aesthetic bits like metal finish on door handles and parking brake is missing and so is glovebox and luggage room illumination, MID unit and leather wrapped steering wheel. In terms of features, the base trim does not get an audio system but comes with –

* Dual front airbags
* ABS with EBD
* Central locking
* Front power windows
* Tilt steering
* Front and rear 12V socket
* Manual AC
* Driver side seatbelt reminder
* Anti-theft security system
* Dual horn

Delta – The Delta trim is available in manual and automatic transmission options and carries over all features from the Sigma. The exterior gets the chrome grille, turn indicators on ORVMs and wheel cover, while the interiors get metal finish on the door handles and parking brake. Feature additions include –

* Audio system with Bluetooth, AUX, USB connectivity
* Steering mounted audio control
* Remote keyless entry
* Auto climate control
* Auto up power window (Driver’s side)
* Rear power windows
* Electrically foldable ORVMs
* Front and rear adjustable head rests
* 60:40 split seat
* Reverse parking sensors
* Rear defogger

Zeta – The Zeta trim is loaded on most features and gets exterior upgrades like chrome door handles, 195/55/R16 alloy wheels, UV cut glass, 16-inch alloy wheels and fog lamps, while the interiors get illumination for the glovebox, luggage room, front footwell along with the auto dimming IRVM. The feature list is added with –

* Auto headlamps
* MID unit
* Tilt and telescopic steering wheel
* Follow me home headlights
* Front centre armrest with storage
* Height adjustable driver’s seat
* Push start/stop with smart key

Alpha – The top-of-the-line Alpha variant comes loaded with all the bells and whistles and retains the aesthetic look from the Zeta trim on the exterior and interior. The feature list now boasts of –

* Projector headlamps
* LED daytime running lights
* SmartPlay touchscreen infotainment system
* Navigation
* Voice command
* Smartphone connection/Apple CarPlay
* Reverse parking camera

Source: MotorBeam via Team-BHP

Thread Starter #285

The detailed feature list is here as MotorBeam has got hold of the official brochure!
If this is the official brochure , how are the mileage figures given as "TBD"?[:)]