Maruti Suzuki Alto LX: Nearing 40k Kms

Thread Starter #211
Re: Maruti Suzuki Alto LX: Now Spiced Up (Pg.12,13)

Ok buddy!

So how is your spoiler pasted over there?

Ok, nice HU [:D].

Did you know what is the name of that thing which is pasted on the roof just in front of the spoiler(shark fin type thing) black, and what would be its price?

And what did the ORVMs cost you?(alto k10 type)
The spoiler is fitted with clamps along the boot end. It is a thin mettalic strip which holds the spoiler.

I guess you are talking about shark fin dummy antenna which is available for M800 and Alto at almost all accessory shops. Cost 550bucks, however imo, do not go for such dummies, they look cheap.

Dont remember the exact figure but it costed around 5000bucks.

lxi.

My alto's orvm is gathering some rust-like thing from the sides. Mine is the one which comes stock from maurit's stable. Don't know the reason, but will have to replace ORVMs. Do you know the cost of the ORVMs, like you have but i want in black?

Thread Starter #213

My alto's orvm is gathering some rust-like thing from the sides. Mine is the one which comes stock from maurit's stable. Don't know the reason, but will have to replace ORVMs. Do you know the cost of the ORVMs, like you have but i want in black?
Rust on ORVM![surprise]

The K10 ones are available only in black color for about 1.2k for a pair. You can get it painted in the desired color.

How come OVRMs are getting rusted [confused]. Please share a picture or two for us to have a look.

As Akash suggested, you can get the same and painted as desired. [:)]

lxi.

I mean, no its not rust,(when i try to touch it,it feels like it is something inside the glass).

Its colour is brown and looks like rust but a detailed inspection will show that it is something paint like.
Do not have any of the pics of the ORVM.

We enquired a local tyre puncture wala and he said (read in hindi) "Arrey bhai saahaab, Ye sheeshaa toh kharab ho gaya hai, badal do"

Thread Starter #216

I mean, no its not rust,(when i try to touch it,it feels like it is something inside the glass).

Its colour is brown and looks like rust but a detailed inspection will show that it is something paint like.
Do not have any of the pics of the ORVM.

We enquired a local tyre puncture wala and he said (read in hindi) "Arrey bhai saahaab, Ye sheeshaa toh kharab ho gaya hai, badal do"
Yes, even mine (the simple one) lost the visibility too soon. The ones now are going strong since past 2 years!

Thread Starter #218

Today, after a month, my ride got a thorough wash Which it needed. I was charged 150 bucks (yes its really cheap in ranchi). I asked the guy to wax the car, and believe me, he looked at me as if i was speaking some alien language.

Purchased new steering wheel cover and a perfume bottle. Now my car has two fragrances, courtesy Ambipur & Elegant.

Yes, me also planning to get the same. Price for two?
Yes that price for a set (of 2).

Purchased new steering wheel cover and a perfume bottle. Now my car has two fragrances, courtesy Ambipur & Elegant.
Your car has two perfumes? Eh. What is the fragrance of Ambipur. I’m finding it difficult to source an original one here. Please put up some snaps of new steering cover.

Thread Starter #220

Snaps of the cover would be put up tomorrow as soon as i click them:wink:

I am using Ambipur Vanila fragrance. And yeah, these days there are lot of fakes of the same available in the market, not only in Delhi but also here in ranchi and nagpur. The one i got last time seems fake since the fragrance was lost too soon. Even though the liquid was there, the smell was nil.

The second perfume, i got today is just to keep the car fresh. It has a very mild fragrance.

Thread Starter #221

My car has completed 25,000 kms. Since the car was rattling like hell, gave it for a paid service. The job included Engine oil change, coolant change, brake cleaning, rattling rectification, general checkup. Total bill was Rs. 1900.

Also purchased a new parcel tray (aftermarket), since the last month was literally hanging down and was in a really bad shape.

Here are some pics.

IMG_19800106_011631.jpg

IMG_20120129_163652.jpg

IMG_20120129_163726.jpg

IMG_20120129_163844.jpg

The car is squeaky clean and extremely well maintained , good job buddy!

So has the rattling reduced now?

Thread Starter #223

The car is squeaky clean and extremely well maintained , good job buddy!

So has the rattling reduced now?
Yes the rattling has gone now. Even i have started driving slower on potholes after servicing just to ensure that my car remains rattle free for atleast a month.

She’s shining as usual. What parts were rattling in particular?

Thread Starter #225

She’s shining as usual. What parts were rattling in particular?

The greasing had gone, parcel tray has hanging loose, and the doors has some loose screws which resulted in rattling. The issues have now been rectified with new parcel tray, some screw tightening and greasing, but to be frank, i wont blame Maruti Suzuki for these issue, but its the bad condition of Jharkhand roads, they are the real culprits.

PS: BTW i am planning to go for DRLs. I saw them at an outlet in Ranchi. These had white illumination and hopefully will suit my ride. Any suggestions guys, i dont want my car to look like a wannabe or overdone.