Mahindra XUV5OO: "The Dark Knight" Buying & Ownership Experience [65K Kms Crossed]

Re: Mahindra XUV5OO: "The Dark Knight" Buying & Ownership Experience [50K Kms Crossed

That's a great FE bro.

Even i clocked 18.2 KMPL 2 days back while i was going back to my hometown. It was to good to see that FE[;)]

Otherwise i get something around 12-14 kmpl in Delhi.

And i can understand your situation driving back and forth from XUV and Pajero. Two different beasts from different categories. lol

Re: Mahindra XUV5OO: "The Dark Knight" Buying & Ownership Experience [50K Kms Crossed

Wow, just finished reading all the 92 pages in your thread. Must congratulate you on giving such an in-depth details of your XUV. I have plans to buy one in near future and by reading your thread it has made me more bent towards buying this beast. Would request you to kindly update your thread on regular basis. Would congratulate you on your writing skills & I loved reading every bit of it.

IR, even my XUV is nearing 3 year mark, did you opt for extended warranty? Are there any discounts on it?

Thread Starter #1,369

Wow, just finished reading all the 92 pages in your thread. Must congratulate you on giving such an in-depth details of your XUV. I have plans to buy one in near future and by reading your thread it has made me more bent towards buying this beast. Would request you to kindly update your thread on regular basis. Would congratulate you on your writing skills & I loved reading every bit of it.
Thank you sir, the new XUV should be much better - i keep saying under 25 lakhs the gearbox/ mhawk engine combo is one of the best!

Ill try my best to keep updating, though running of my XUV has come down due to other vehicles and also that i drive abroad half the year.

IR, even my XUV is nearing 3 year mark, did you opt for extended warranty? Are there any discounts on it?
Nope i didn't go for it, time will tell if i was a fool. [roll]
So far so good, only had to spend once out of warranty for a leaking ac pipe, that was replaced. I found the cost of extended warranty too high.(some 22k or so? for 2 years). i have anyways most parts updated, so took my chance.

Even mine is approaching 3 year mark.

Thoroughly confused about the extended warranty.

Does it cover electricals as well or just the engine and drivetrain parts?

Thread Starter #1,371

^^ I think this is going to be an interesting dilemma for many owners, my suggestion is to decide based on the running and anticipated running, trend of issues faced in the past.

In my case, after the first 2 years, running of the vehicle was substantially decreased, thanks to mahindras support, i have had most vulnerable parts replaced, upgraded. The last 2 years of ownership has been fuss free barring one incident of AC pipe leaking (which i am unsure of cause) . My clutch was also replaced long back under the proactive recall, i have had no failures or issues per se.

The only way i could have incurred 23k cost on repairs was if something major went kaput like the clutch, since i was already convinced on mechanical front, i took a chance. I think minor repairs wont cost me 23k (or so i think) .

On a separate note the right side embedded LED has conked off, it is having some loose connection internally as i saw it flickering, mahindra asked me to replace whole unit, which i completely declined. I need to find a LED tinkering in pune who can open and paste back the set - i heard there are some operators in Nana Peth Pune, never had the time to explore further. Any tips here welcome.

I think I'll go for the extended warranty, I've already had my fair share of niggles. the HU still hangs sometimes.
my question is the warranty 'full' just like initial 3 years? I mean Every nook and cranny Is covered?

anyways, flickering leds Means they're dead. get the whole unit replaced in warranty ASAP. this again seems to be a common issue which xuv.

@IR: do let us know if you are able to get those LEDs fixed, I would like to change those LED to some powerfull ones.

Thread Starter #1,374

anyways, flickering leds Means they're dead. get the whole unit replaced in warranty ASAP. this again seems to be a common issue which xuv.
Need to check fine print on the warranty.

By Flickering i meant they keep on for sometime and then go off and then start sometime again, a loose wire somewhere is what i suspect. Now the problem the unit is air sealed pasted unit, it requires to be opened carefully and resealed.

@IR: do let us know if you are able to get those LEDs fixed, I would like to change those LED to some powerfull ones.
Yes sure. How the red Cheetah doing, every time i see a red one in Pune, i think of yours!

Thread Starter #1,376

Disaster has struck! Well my worst nightmare came true. I have had rat related problems and been taking odd precautions at the farm - however this time the rodent has caused devastation.

The driver side foot well has wires damage as well as the engine bay, i painfully spent a whole day doing all jhugads to tie together the wires, going through the harness and eliminating one problem after the another as all sorts of diwali lights come in the dashboard. I think i have atleast solved 90% of the chewed wires, however the ECU isnt connecting (even via OBD) and the engine check light flashes.

The vehicle is at a no man's land at the farm and just getting a flat bed there will cost me 15k - so is a disaster of sorts, i am still trying to eliminate some issues but have a suspicion that a short might have blown off the ECU - not sure just a hunch. At the moment trying all possible jhugads.

To add to my woes, the battery also gave up as it was old anyways and put the bolero battery there to manage things.

Disaster has struck! Well my worst nightmare came true. I have had rat related problems and been taking odd precautions at the farm - however this time the rodent has caused devastation.

The driver side foot well has wires damage as well as the engine bay, i painfully spent a whole day doing all jhugads to tie together the wires, going through the harness and eliminating one problem after the another as all sorts of diwali lights come in the dashboard. I think i have atleast solved 90% of the chewed wires, however the ECU isnt connecting (even via OBD) and the engine check light flashes.

The vehicle is at a no man's land at the farm and just getting a flat bed there will cost me 15k - so is a disaster of sorts, i am still trying to eliminate some issues but have a suspicion that a short might have blown off the ECU - not sure just a hunch. At the moment trying all possible jhugads.

To add to my woes, the battery also gave up as it was old anyways and put the bolero battery there to manage things.
That is horrible man. you can tow it to the svc with the Pajero.

Thread Starter #1,378

That is horrible man. you can tow it to the svc with the Pajero.
I was thinking of same , but not sure how safe it would be to tow long distance, dont want the xuv crashing in to the pajero, with no power, steering and brakes will be a pain.
I might need a hard tow line.

Sorry to hear that bro. I hope no other damage is done to the wires inside the engine compartment. Since you are done with most of the wires I recommend you finish the rest and go directly to a M&M dealer for a full check up.

Between mine is about to cross 78K[:)]

Mate IR,
Thats very sorry to hear.
Rats are absolute nuisance and let me place some rat Poison around the vehicle today itself!!

Are the wires color coded? Because connecting wires wrong way will cause more damage and could even blow up the ECU or Battery. Is the vehicle in Warranty with RSA? Try calling them. They might help you tow the vehicle to SVC. However, These best thing I can think of right now is Disconnect the battery +ve and -VE to prevent further damage. Please don't try starting the vehicle.

You may use a metal rod/Pole for towing.
Do keep us posted.