Mahindra Marazzo: New MUV By Mahindra

My observations on the Mahindra Marazzo MPV

* It is not going to compete with the likes of Innova or Hexa

* Height of the vehicle is somewhat close to the TUV-3OO

* Competition to Ertiga primarily but have to wait and see the outcome once the new Ertiga is launched.

* Shark-Fin antenna will also be provided as accessory at additional cost.

* No Petrol variant.

* 1.5L Diesel engine only.

* Manual Transmission is offered only as per SA.

* Benchmarking to Innova was done only for Space & Price.

* Size is not as big as Hexa or Innova.

* Road Presence if I compare to Ertiga will be slightly better.

* Lodgy is still a bigger MPV than this.

* Mid Variants of Eco Sport too might feel some competition because of 3 row seating.

20180903_123944.jpg

20180903_123932.jpg

20180903_124000.jpg

20180903_124010.jpg

If the height is same as TUV it is very odd as an MPV.
I cannot forsee much success for this MPV/MUV expect lukeworm response due to
- Smaller 1.5 L engine
- Not VFM (I think its over priced)
- Mahindra brand known for niggles.

Expect deep discounts few months down the line.

If the height is same as TUV it is very odd as an MPV.
Well, it shouldn't be same though but give or take 2-3% difference from TUV in height. However, as I said, in comparison to Ertiga (Present Gen), this one will have a comparatively better road presence.

Have attended the launch of Mahindra Marazzo by dealer here. At the launch the M6 & M8 variants were present. Had a good look at them. Firstly, the plastic quality on the switches and upper part of dashboard could be much better. The upholstery of the M6 specially on the seats did not look that appealing. However, the interior layout I must say is quite good and spacious. The piano Black finish on the mid part of dashboard looks elegant. Doors felt assuring too. With all 3 rows up, the boot space is limited to 190 lts. Externally, the Maroon & Purple color looked nice to me and design wise, by far, the most modern Mahindra MPV. At present, looks really cool than the Ertiga. Price wise, I have got mixed feelings. Cross shopping between XUV & Marazzo will happen a lot with people expected to incline towards former. Here are the pics of the M6 & M8 Marazzo.

Mahindra Marazzo M8 Variant

IMG_4400.JPG

IMG_4399.JPG

IMG_4369.JPG

IMG_4366.JPG

IMG_4368.JPG

IMG_4381.JPG

20180903_165428.jpg

IMG_4365.JPG

IMG_4347.JPG

IMG_4401.JPG

IMG_4348.JPG

The car has everything but grossly overpriced.
Just compare with Lodgy with similar features and nearly 2 lacs cheaper.

I'll hold my opinion till the time of a proper TD,

The 2 takeaways by just seeing the spec's and pics.

1. What good is the ladder on frame chassis, when this MPV is a FWD 2WD ONLY, traverse mounted 1.5L engine.
2. I quite like the design of the parking brake.

Mahindra now coming up with a new 1.5 l 4-Cylinder Diesel on the Marazzo which the TUV300 should have got. Almost feels like the 3 Cylinder 1.5 l Diesel engine on the TUV300 was more like a part of the R&D and the buyers as Beta testers.

Well, Marazzo will be a rival to Ertiqa but not the Hexa and Innova I feel.

I saw one on road,being driven near the dealership today. Below are my first impression.
The dark color looked good-purple
It had good road presence
The rear lights are too big for my taste
The product looks good but somehow reminds me of the Lodgy. Hope it doesn't meet the same fate as Lodgy's. I feel this product would create a market of it own.

Took a test drive of Marazzo yesterday, right after launch event conducted by local dealers. Marazzo fits right in between Ertiga and Crysta. Of the three cars, Marazzo is the most spacious, easily beats Crysta in the third row. Cars like lodgy aren’t that spacious, especially in third row. I’m 5’10” with a heavy build. After seting up driving position for myself, I sat in the second row and adjusted the seat for me and I could still sit in 3rd row with ease and wouldn’t mind sitting there for long drives if the need arises, the only other I could do this was Mobilio and Old Innova. The worst car was Lodgy/Endeavour.

Ride quality is the best of Mahindra and I was surprised by the lack of lateral movement which Mahindra is famous for. Engine sound is very quiet both inside and outside.

Power is average, and is delivered in a linear manner. Drove upto 120kph in City limits effortlessly. SA claims can drive upto 140kph with ease and only beyond that it will be okay. Innova is the complete package, but Marrazo is the second best but if it came with 2.2 mhawk, it will give a tough fight to Innova as the price difference is huge.

Electric power steering is very good. Light at low speeds and weighs up sufficiently at high speeds. Turning radius is very low, considering the length. The rear AC, which Mahindra call surround AC is interesting. You can either have powerful blasts from four vents like regular cars but also have the option of a diffuse mode which lets out air mildly throughout(4 individual vents and 2 long vents) the AC unit. Since I drove at night, couldn’t comment about effectiveness.

Compared to XUV 500, Marazzo has more space in 3rd row and rides well while XUV is better in power and handling. Marazzo is a safe handler but XUV is more fun. With our XUV close to 1 lakh kms and due to back pain of my father, we plan to replace XUV at the earliest. Our first XUV was with us till 1,35,000kms. So, made a spot booking but yet to make a decision between Innova, Hexa and Marazzo or the upcoming Rexton.

The car has everything but grossly overpriced.
Just compare with Lodgy with similar features and nearly 2 lacs cheaper.
Saw the vehicle in person yesterday and sat inside it as well,
I am pretty confident its far fat better than current gen Ertiga and Lodgy in every measureable way, looks is in the eye of the beholder but elsewhere the Marazzo is fat better than any Mahindra on market today and dare I say better than Marutis priciest car yet the S Cross,
The best thing about Marazo I felt was the interior, its supremely comfortable, feels airy and one feels like one can walk into the mpv, ingress and egress is super easy ,
The only thing I didnt like much while being stationary was the gear lever and its position, felt kind of awkward, even steering interior plastic quality etc felt on par or better than what Lodgy,Ertiga offers, also the new 1.5l is a dohc 1.5l i4 turbo, not an underpowered 1.3 like in Ertiga and makes 120+ horsepower a power rating no Maruti has ever seen since last decade, so what does Maruti have, just brand name and reputation as of now.
Also do note that its a Body on Frame underneath Marazzo, strong but heavy and safe is what BOF is for, unlike Maruti and even Lodgy that have just stretched car platforms,
So in all forms this is a kick in the right direction, although a lot will say its not Innova competition, I feel its a direct rival to Innova at 2/3rd its price which makes it an insane deal considering how grossly over priced Innova has become.
Maruti is just playint the value card to cheap levels while with Mahindra and new Marazzo, I feel they are pushing boundaries, now even with the current pricing, I always suggested Innova over Hexa when someone asks which one to buy, because Hexa isnt that cheap, but the Marazzo is cheap and feels like a Mahindras version of Hexa, and this makes it even more impressive,
If this is the direction Mahindra is going forward ,its going to be good days ahead for them, I now feel the new Mahindra compact suv the s101 will be something the Brezza and Ecosport Nd Nexon should be seriously worried about, never mind the badge, the product does impress in a big way.