Mahindra Brings Reva E2O EV. Priced at Rs.5.96 Lakh

Re: Mahindra Reva E2O Comes on 18th March 2013

E2O A few key points from the launch event
Li-ion battery - 100km range
Has regenerative braking
Keyless start-stop system
Hill Hold
Connected Car
Has a SIM card and a electronic system which can communicate with smartphones and control funcitons on the car
Will have Apps for Android, iOS and Blackberry
You can remotely control your car from your smartphone, lock doors, turn on AC etc
You can even get a remote energy boost when your battery is totally dry
This gives you about 8-9 kms
Reva is setting up charging infrastructure in cities
HU apart from music, iPod connectivity etc can also do something more
HU is connected to the car's ECU or main computer
It can give you information about your driving efficiency etc
It also remotely syncs up data for remote monitoring and diagnostics
All e20's will get their first charge for all cars from Solar Energy
How to charge the car sustainably?
3mx3m solar panel can power your car
This panel will cost less than your years conventional fuel cost
Affordable solution
Phase wise Launch
I Phase - 8 cities, 29 dealer outlets
Price
5.96 L on road Delhi with the state subsidies included
No exports as yet. This is India launch only
Total investment on the reva plant was only 100crore

Brochure: Brochure scans of the Mahindra e20 surface

zengetz

Event looks good so far but really dumb questions coming from the audience!!

I wonder why Mahindra didn't announce the price of this model for other cities, anybody has an idea about the Delhi subsidy for electric cars?

Features of the Mahindra Reva e2o include, Hill hold, courtesy lights, iPod connectivity, one – touch foldable seats, 4 JBL speakers and 2 Tweaters, dual-damping Glove Box, CD, DVD, USB, AUX, MicroSD, turning radius of 3.9m, 6.2 inch touch screen, personal web-page, driver information system, keyless entry, start/stop, electric wing mirrors, rear defogger, scissor wipers, LED tail lamps, Projector headlamps, follow me home headlamps, reverse camera, digital user manual, GPS navigation, Integrated Maps, and Bluetooth.
Read more at Anand Mahindra says India is ready for electric cars | Rush Lane

ACI's review of E2o

The e2o’s mechanical layout is similar to earlier Revas. Its uses a tubular and box section chassis, the body is made of high-strength plastic and the electric motor sits behind the rear wheels. The all-important lithium-ion batteries are placed below the front seats. The new car has been crash-tested in Spain, it uses 10 on-board computers and Reva has come up with a number of innovative solutions for which it has filed 30-odd patents. You can plan your trip with the help of Google Maps, the software telling you how far you can go before having to turn back. You get an additional 10km of ‘limp home’ range before your battery completely dies and Reva can even ‘revive’ your dead battery and give you a further 10km still, all via a remote link to your car. A 15-minute quick charge can get you 25 additional kilometres, you are connected to the car via a phone app that can start your air-con for you, lock and unlock the Reva, and the company even sells a solar charger for the car for approximately Rs 1.5 lakh (The Sun2Car program can get you a free 50-60 percent charge every day, sunlight willing).
Mahindra e2o review, test drive | Review | Autocar India

The reviews looks promising. The car has a lot of innovative and useful feaures never heard of at this price point in an electric car.

But the bigger question is - will the Indian market accept this 2 door car with a limited range for 6 Lacs? How many Indians are actually environmentally conscious?

The reviews looks promising. The car has a lot of innovative and useful feaures never heard of at this price point in an electric car.

But the bigger question is - will the Indian market accept this 2 door car with a limited range for 6 Lacs? How many Indians are actually environmentally conscious?
It will be my mom's next car, which serves her purpose.

I have a question for the technical guys out here:
How many units of electricity will it consume in charging this car for 5 hours?

More powerful Mahindra e2o in the works

Mahindra has revealed that it is working on a more powerful version of its electric car the e2o. This version will be manufactured specifically for export markets. Exports of the e2o will commence by April 2014.

The e2o’s current drivetrain consists of an electric motor that uses a 48-volt lithium-ion battery capable of powering the car for about 100km on a single charge. It makes 19kW at 3750rpm and 5.4kgm of torque at 3400rpm.

As for the domestic market, Mahindra will introduce a variant with power steering in the future.

More powerful Mahindra e2o in the works | News | Autocar India

Renuka Kirpalani
Hmmm a lot of sarcasm on FB about the Mahindra E20 as expected. Comparisons were bound to be drawn once the price was announced. But hey Ive driven it and walked away pretty impressed. Its leagues ahead of the original Reva in every sense. Comes with some cool stuff and yes it may have a smaller range then fuel filled cars and have 2 doors not 4, but its a step in the right direction for sure !! Mahindra are the first company to take this step and are working hard to set up infrastructure with it. Cleaner environment and less dependency on fossil fuel is what we all need ! So I say Kudos its a great start!!

From FB page.

The Delhi government offers a chunky 29% subsidy on the E2O and this subsidy means that the electric car costs 5.96 lakhs on-road Delhi. In Bangalore though, the E2O costs 7.05 lakh rupees for the base T0 variant while the T1 variant is 40 thousand rupees dearer, at 7.45 lakh rupees.

At this price i am not expecting this model to be a brisk seller[cry]

The Delhi government offers a chunky 29% subsidy on the E2O and this subsidy means that the electric car costs 5.96 lakhs on-road Delhi. In Bangalore though, the E2O costs 7.05 lakh rupees for the base T0 variant while the T1 variant is 40 thousand rupees dearer, at 7.45 lakh rupees.

Initially I don't think the state governments offering the subsidy will lose much. It would take some time for demand to pick up (i.e. if it at all picks up). So in real world terms, loss to exchequer (due to 29% subsidy) is very minimal.
However they do get the appreciation of being environment friendly and can add one small point in their election manifesto.

At this price, diesel hatch seems as a better option. We can get Swift/Micra for this price. Running cost doesn't make much difference, as we need to change battery once in 5 yrs which is costing 1.5L.

No hope for electric car in India right now without heavy subsidy. At this price diesel looks more attractive definitely. You can drive anywhere without charging issue as well as running cost is more or less equivalent to electric (add battery charges for KM runs)

At this price, diesel hatch seems as a better option. We can get Swift/Micra for this price. Running cost doesn't make much difference, as we need to change battery once in 5 yrs which is costing 1.5L.

No hope for electric car in India right now without heavy subsidy. At this price diesel looks more attractive definitely. You can drive anywhere without charging issue as well as running cost is more or less equivalent to electric (add battery charges for KM runs)
+10000 and driving will be limited within the city only as the availability and time to charge the battery will be the issue.

Oh my god,7lacs for this is not possible. I mean its a nice car,pretty hitech i must say and has Figo interiors but really no one in india is up for the inconvenience of owning an electric car at HUGE price. The government needs to do something.