Hi all, So after test driving and evaluating VW Vento Highline petrol, Honda City V MT and Hyundai Verna 1.6 SX VTVT, my wife and I finally selected Hyundai Verna as our second car, first one being Swift Vdi August 2009 model and already done 67000 kms.
Our reasons to select 1. A petrol and not a diesel and 2. Hyundai verna explained as below
1. Petrol v/s Diesel
The On road price difference between petrol and diesel car was average at 1.7 lakhs and considering that the interest part of loan on this amount will also add up to the total ownership cost of the car, the difference amounted to almost 2 lakhs. We would have taken 5 years minimum to recover this additional cost considering Petrol Diesel cost difference and fuel economies. Since we already have a Diesel Swift and that has done 67000 kms in 3.75 years, our average monthly run was coming to around 1600 kms. So second car was decided to be a petrol variant since this 1600 kms will be now done in two cars. I even used a calculator that is available online to get these calculations. If any one wants then probably I will post it in my subsequent posts.
2. Hyundai Verna v/s others
My wife and I, we test drove all the cars, where in I was more involved in technical evaluations. We shortlisted VW Vento Highline petrol, Honda City VMT and Hyundai Verna 1.6 SX VTVT. Although I am a fan of Japanese then German and lastly Korean cars, still I was surprised with the on road performance and build quality of Verna. The whole set up is so nicely done that even a person like me who is of 6'2" height can ingress and egress easily from this car. I had a tough tough time with VW Vento. Honda was still better but City still has very low ground clearance. Audio Console is too odd and is not in continuation with the door panels and dash board.
The reasons why we chose Verna were
1. Better cabin space and head room
2. High quality texture of interiors
3. Features like Automatic Climate control, ABS, Airbags, Bluetooth connectivity (not sold as an accessory), Rear parking sensors with Camera etc. that were severely missing in Honda City and Vento was giving as additional accessories
4. Fuel economy, pick up, superior Cabin
5. Styling and color option of C.Grey, Vento had option of White, Silver, Beige, Blue and Black.
Finally we booked the Verna on Jan 31 and we informed dealership that we will take delivery on Feb 14th on the day of Basant Panchmi. Meanwhile all paperwork etc was done. Smooth process.
Loan proceess
I had got the loan done from SBI as I want to repay my loan faster without any prepayment penalties as imposed in other banks. Although it is a floating rate of interest but SBI has advantages of prepayments and loan foreclosures without any penalty charges. Since I knew the loan officer, he had got the loan sanctioning and disbursement in Two days!!! I know it was fast.
Delivery Experience
Since we both had office on 14th and delivery had to be taken on this day itself, we reached dealership at 7 pm. Car was kept ready. Sales guy showed us the car and I just could not believe that our very own Verna was in front of us. He ran through the PDC checklist and showed the basics of the car and sent the car for decoration. Meanwhile he handed over all the documents etc. to me. Also gave a coupon for 3M body coating (I dont think its much of a use but will still get it done as mine is a dark color). Then we did the pooja and we were given a petrol coupon for 5 liters more by the sales officer. Car already had some fuel. ODO reading was 15 kms then.
Initial Experience
For first few days, I was driving the car like a new learner. But got used to the car pretty comfortably. The car runs very smoothly and feels posh! Love the feel of it. Have already done 780 kms in Mumbai. Planning for a short trip to Lonavala or nearby place soon. Fuel Economy is at 11.7 kmpl.
I will post some images soon.
Our reasons to select 1. A petrol and not a diesel and 2. Hyundai verna explained as below
1. Petrol v/s Diesel
The On road price difference between petrol and diesel car was average at 1.7 lakhs and considering that the interest part of loan on this amount will also add up to the total ownership cost of the car, the difference amounted to almost 2 lakhs. We would have taken 5 years minimum to recover this additional cost considering Petrol Diesel cost difference and fuel economies. Since we already have a Diesel Swift and that has done 67000 kms in 3.75 years, our average monthly run was coming to around 1600 kms. So second car was decided to be a petrol variant since this 1600 kms will be now done in two cars. I even used a calculator that is available online to get these calculations. If any one wants then probably I will post it in my subsequent posts.
2. Hyundai Verna v/s others
My wife and I, we test drove all the cars, where in I was more involved in technical evaluations. We shortlisted VW Vento Highline petrol, Honda City VMT and Hyundai Verna 1.6 SX VTVT. Although I am a fan of Japanese then German and lastly Korean cars, still I was surprised with the on road performance and build quality of Verna. The whole set up is so nicely done that even a person like me who is of 6'2" height can ingress and egress easily from this car. I had a tough tough time with VW Vento. Honda was still better but City still has very low ground clearance. Audio Console is too odd and is not in continuation with the door panels and dash board.
The reasons why we chose Verna were
1. Better cabin space and head room
2. High quality texture of interiors
3. Features like Automatic Climate control, ABS, Airbags, Bluetooth connectivity (not sold as an accessory), Rear parking sensors with Camera etc. that were severely missing in Honda City and Vento was giving as additional accessories
4. Fuel economy, pick up, superior Cabin
5. Styling and color option of C.Grey, Vento had option of White, Silver, Beige, Blue and Black.
Finally we booked the Verna on Jan 31 and we informed dealership that we will take delivery on Feb 14th on the day of Basant Panchmi. Meanwhile all paperwork etc was done. Smooth process.
Loan proceess
I had got the loan done from SBI as I want to repay my loan faster without any prepayment penalties as imposed in other banks. Although it is a floating rate of interest but SBI has advantages of prepayments and loan foreclosures without any penalty charges. Since I knew the loan officer, he had got the loan sanctioning and disbursement in Two days!!! I know it was fast.
Delivery Experience
Since we both had office on 14th and delivery had to be taken on this day itself, we reached dealership at 7 pm. Car was kept ready. Sales guy showed us the car and I just could not believe that our very own Verna was in front of us. He ran through the PDC checklist and showed the basics of the car and sent the car for decoration. Meanwhile he handed over all the documents etc. to me. Also gave a coupon for 3M body coating (I dont think its much of a use but will still get it done as mine is a dark color). Then we did the pooja and we were given a petrol coupon for 5 liters more by the sales officer. Car already had some fuel. ODO reading was 15 kms then.
Initial Experience
For first few days, I was driving the car like a new learner. But got used to the car pretty comfortably. The car runs very smoothly and feels posh! Love the feel of it. Have already done 780 kms in Mumbai. Planning for a short trip to Lonavala or nearby place soon. Fuel Economy is at 11.7 kmpl.
I will post some images soon.