How To Prevent Rats Entering Inside Car?

so i'm also facing this rat problem [frsutration] it enters the dashboard so i removed the things and decided to keep everything in the boot.

to my surprise there was rat **** even in the boot [anger]

can i palace tobacco leaves inside the cabin or keeping the leaves in the engine area will be sufficient ?

so i'm also facing this rat problem [frsutration] it enters the dashboard so i removed the things and decided to keep everything in the boot.

to my surprise there was rat **** even in the boot [anger]

can i palace tobacco leaves inside the cabin or keeping the leaves in the engine area will be sufficient ?

get a few cats & let them breed in the area and have kittens of their own & leave it to nature!

my car is parked on the main roads not a private area. anyways got 4 pouches of tobacco leaves and i put it in the engine area. one inside the dashboard as well.
will keep some paper pieces and peanuts to see if they come back or not.

Are you inviting them for dinner ?
Never keep any food or edible thing inside the car. If they got the smell of food inside the car , then nothing can stop them from getting inside. They can make holes in plastic and rubber parts. You can use mortein rat kill under the car near tyres.

Are you inviting them for dinner ?
Never keep any food or edible thing inside the car. If they got the smell of food inside the car , then nothing can stop them from getting inside. They can make holes in plastic and rubber parts. You can use mortein rat kill under the car near tyres.
There are always some peanuts or light snacks or a biscuit pack. I got to know about the rat when it chewed 2 peanuts pack and made a mess. I cleaned it and a day after saw some napkins chewed. I kept a biscuit just besides that tobacco pouch i made.

Did that to see if they still come or not. Even if there is food , the presence of tobacco should make sure rats dont come , if they do then tobacco is not the solution. Car's parked on the main road wherever there is space , no one particular spot so can't keep rat kill everyday at different spots.

i agree with Saroya reading the post even i was about to write the same. it sure sure did feel like he AHC was inviting rats for dinner and then giving them paan to digest the food.
Dinner and Paan!!. Almost fell off my chair laughing. :lol!: .

Some suggestions from my side, though I haven't experienced the problem till date.

* Don't keep anything edible inside the car, clean interior thoroughly after picnics etc.

* Close AC vents daily after parking at evening/night.

* Make sure no openings are there in the boot area (between flat surface and spare wheel well etc), if there any then close them.

* Open the bonnet dailly and do some dusting (Just to make sure no rats have acquired Permanent residentship inside).

* Plug in ultrasonic rodent repellent in an AC socket in your car parking area. If possible extend it to the floor level.

* Set rat traps below the car (Very odd thing to do, but will solve the purpose)

* Rat kill around all 4 wheels and bonnet area.

There are always some peanuts or light snacks or a biscuit pack. I got to know about the rat when it chewed 2 peanuts pack and made a mess. I cleaned it and a day after saw some napkins chewed. I kept a biscuit just besides that tobacco pouch i made.

Did that to see if they still come or not. Even if there is food , the presence of tobacco should make sure rats dont come , if they do then tobacco is not the solution. Car's parked on the main road wherever there is space , no one particular spot so can't keep rat kill everyday at different spots.
You don't need to keep rat kill everyday . Just keep 2-3 days, once rat will eat it he will die.
Hope he will not invite his relatives to your car before his death . [;)]

In last 10 months of ownership I have had two incidents of rats biting off my electricals.

In the latest incident I have initiated contact with Honda India and the below mails are to update you on the real issues and if needed we should all file a consumer protection case against Honda for the damages that we suffered.

Mail 1 to Honda Customer Service

I own a Honda Brio VX AT with Engine no. YYYYYYYYYYYYYY and chassis no. YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

On 20 January morning when i started my car the D light on the instrument panel was blinking and the malfunction light was on. When reversed it would go forward and when the gear is in forward position the car would reverse.I had to shut the car and start it again to function properly. While driving it would jerk when the brakes were applied.

I took it to Solitaire Honda, Vasai and they did a scanning and found out that the wires under the air filter were bitten by rats.The report shows A/T clutch pressure control solenoid valve C (Open or Short)

They quoted me Rs. 2034 for the repairs which I was forced to pay and the car was delivered on 21st. This is the 2nd time I have faced such rat issues with this car in just 10 months of owning the car.

I have been searching for a solution to the rodent issues and found that this is a issue which has been faced by all Honda car owners worldwide.

Infact Honda sells a Anti-Rodent tape to cover all the electricals in a Honda Car.

Honda 4019-2317 Tape, Rodent 19Mm 20M; 40192317 Made by Honda - Rodent Proof Tape - Amazon.com

There are news websites which clearly claim that Honda by selling these kind of tapes have gone too far in their green initiatives by putting customers at risk or damage to their cars and expensive repairs.

Biodegradable, soy-based wiring insulation in some cars appealing to rodents, causing trouble - newsnet5.com Cleveland

Mechanics say soy in car wiring attracts munching mice, so Toyota created a solution - wptv.com

I bought a Honda Car for its quality and clearly never expected such expensive repairs and if you dont resolve my issue I will be foreced to go to the consumer court to protect my interest.

Mail 2 to Honda Customer Service

I own a Honda Brio VX AT with Engine no. YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY and chassis no. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

On 20 January morning when i started my car the D light on the instrument panel was blinking and the malfunction light was on. When reversed it would go forward and when the gear is in forward position the car would reverse.

I had to shut the car and start it again to function properly. While driving it would jerk when the brakes were applied.

I took it to Solitaire Honda, Vasai and they did a scanning and found out that the wires under the air filter were bitten by rats.The report shows A/T clutch pressure control solenoid valve C (Open or Short) (report attached)

They quoted me Rs. 2034 for the repairs (invoice attached) which I was forced to pay and the car would be delivered on 21st. Yesterday when i switched on the car I found the SRS light on and again I took it Solitaira Honda. They did the scanning and says have reprogrammed it and the issue was resolved. There were no charges.

Today when I started the car, its the same issue of SRS light on.

Solitaire Honda being closed today has asked me to come tomorrow to correct the issue.

I would like to understand the following:

1) For fixing three thin wires of a harness and taping with black tapes is it justified to charge Rs. 1500?

2) Do you have a rate card of how much a authroized service centre can charge for all types of repair in a Honda Car?

3) Are the service centres required to clear the underlying problem of rats biting the electrical systems?

4) When the scan is being done do you only scan for that particular issue or the entire wiring system is scanned?

5) This is the 3rd time the SRS light being on has happened so is this an SRS defect issue? The 1st time was around 6 months ago and I had given it to linkway honda.

Appreciate an early reply to all the issues mentioned in the above mail.

Reply from Honda to Mail 1

With reference to your trailing mail, we wish to inform you that Honda authorized dealerships have Rodent Repellent and Auto Pest Control which have been extensively tested by our team and found to be very effective.

We hereby advising our dealership to get in touch with you and furnish the above mentioned details in order to address your concern.

Hope above clarified your concern.

Arti Mishra
Customer Relationship Management
Honda Cars India Ltd., Greater Noida

Reply to Honda Customer Service for Mail 1

I have specifically asked Hardik, the service sales representative in solitaire Honda, vasai about rodent solutions and he mentioned they don't have any.

I have also sent a mail to Honda customer service email ID for the low level of service offered. To fix three small wires I been charged Rs. 2034. What they have basically done is to connect both ends of the three wires with a black tape around it. Just a 10 mins job wherein they had to remove the air filter, didn't have to remove the wire harness and just tape those bitten ends. They kept the car for 24 hours to justify the charge.

Please do reply to that mail as I have many more queries with regards to the service.

Repeatedly on many car owners forums there have been complaints about Solitaire Honda service standards. That was the reason I didn't buy from them as it's the closest from my place. This time I was forced to take up their service and I'm disappointed.

Reply from Honda to Mail 2

Dear Sir,

This is in reference to your trailing communication.

At the outset, we thank you writing to us and sharing your feedback.

We are understanding the details of the matter from our dealership. We request you to kindly bear with us till then. In the meanwhile,we are advising our dealership to get in touch with you.

For any further concern/query you may please write back to us or let our Honda One 2 One representative hear from you at 1800-113-121 or 011-39898918.

Assuring you the best of our services at all times.

Arti Mishra
Customer Relationship Management
Honda Cars India Ltd., Greater Noida

Reply to Solitaire Vasai and Honda Customer Service for Mail 2

Arti

Before confirming to mohsina's mail I need a reply from your end for the following:

1) For fixing three thin wires of a harness and taping with black tapes is it justified to charge Rs. 1500?

2) Do you have a rate card of how much a authorised service centre can charge for all types of repair in a Honda Car?

3) Are the service centres required to clear the underlying problem of rats biting the electrical systems?

4) When the scan is being done do you only scan for that particular issue or the entire wiring system is scanned?

5) This is the 3rd time the SRS light being on has happened so is this an SRS defect issue? The 1st time was around 6 months ago and I had given it to linkway honda.

I will take the car to Solitaire only when I get a reply for each of the above points because I can't afford to be fleeced for the issues I'm facing with my car.

Sanjeev

PS: please do go through the earlier mail sent today for the reply from a Solitaire service manager about the services offered for rat prevention.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Still waiting for a reply from Honda while Solitaire waits for me to get my car.

The latest update is:

1) Solitaire Honda got a circular from Honda India. They are testing a rat repellant product of a new vendor for its effectiveness and it will take a month to know the results. The service manager mentioned that the circular came to all honda dealers due to my complaint. Im glad this has happened as we indians have a chaltha hai attitude towards poor customer service and we tend to do the same with our clients. Lets be a AAM AADMI :)

2) They again did the scanning and couldnt figure out the problem with the SRS light being on. cleaned up the ECB and the lights have gone off. Its been a week and issue hasnt come back. Service Manager mentioned if it comes back again they will have to keep the car for one day observation to report to Honda Management.

3) For the rat issue I had to use Thyamide and tobacco in the engine compartment. For 2 weeks the insides and outside of my car was stinking. I had no choice but to suffer. now the smell has disappeared but at times i still feel after parking the car in the sun for few hours. Will check the engine compartment in few weeks for traces of rats moving around.

Rats are the most viral things for modern cars.
Even rats spoiled my cars sensor wires.
They climb up via engine bay and rest over my air filter.
As they climb they bite all wires in between.

I kept fresh tobacco leafs in engine bay in all places as possible. Till now no rats issues.
I replace them every 2months.

As i have pets in home, did not try any poisoning agents.

After trying out all suggestions available on the net, only a mixture of chilli + pepper powder sprinkled inside the engine bay is working for me till date.

Last week on highway we were enjoying music and suddenly the thump from sub-woofer gone kaput.. [surprise]

After finishing the journey, checked the wiring inside the cabin and found out that there is no power supply to Amplifier. Checked the Bonnet and found out that power supply cord from battery to Amplifier is chewed up by RATS and a stinking half-bitten mango in the hood.. [anger][frustration]

This is the first time I am facing this kind of problem. Have placed Naphthalene balls inside the hood. I hope this will keep away the RATS.