Guide: How To Make Your Car Battery Go On & On!

Dear Mr Mudhan,
I am very careful to search on my Amaron battery and on the warranty card but i can not find the code as you said.
I took some pictures as below:
sccs.jpg
gggfdsgf.jpg
You can see that my warranty card is very different from yours and it have not manufacturing date on the stamp, sir. I have no idea?????

Best Regards!

cracing,
your Battery seems slightly sulphated, and your cells need 'equalizing'.
it's controlled overcharge (upto 14.8 or 15v ) that mixes the electrolyte, sheds sulphation, restores capacity. now you need to find a local expert who can do it..

Here we go again. I have tested these after disconnecting and cleaning the battery:

Total voltage of battery is 12.26v and each cells voltages shown below:

+ve probe & -ve probe of Multimeter
-------------------------------------------
+ve of battery & 1st cell = 1.45v
1st cell & 2nd cell = 1.95v
2nd cell & 3rd cell = 2.00v
3rd cell & 4th cell = 2.06v
4th cell & 5th cell = 2.08v
5th cell & 6th cell = 2.07v
6th cell & -ve of battery = 0.56v
Good that have you checked every available combinations. So the 1.45v+0.56v should the volt of the 6th cell. 2.01v Isn't?

Yep, electrolyte levels are fine since I have top'ed up few months ago.

One my friend said the following to do; it will recondition the battery and again runs good for a year or more.

Disconnect the battery from the car, recharge the battery using 12v home inverter till 100%. Then remove 50% of electrolyte on each cells and dispose off. Get a battery solution bottle from battery shop and use it to top-up each cells, that means 50% of each cells.

Now have kept the battery for charging using my home inverter and once its 100%, I will check all the voltages but I don't think I will use battery solution to recondition because I don't know whether its a good idea and it looks a risky too.
Definitely your battery needs reconditioning to reduce sulphation. Battery Equalizer solution is used for dissolving existing sulphation. But I'm not sure about the amount of electrolyte that need to be disposed off. Anyways If you are planning to do it then collect all those electrolyte taking out from the cells into a container. So If anything goes wrong you can use this to refill. Years back when I was playing with a small 6v battery, accidentally spilled good amount of electrolyte outside. Even though I filled with distilled water it never came into life[roll]

Try following the things said by BHVM, he got lots of personal experiences with the solar inverters and the batteries [:)]

Regards.,

cracing,
your Battery seems slightly sulphated, and your cells need 'equalizing'.
it's controlled overcharge (upto 14.8 or 15v ) that mixes the electrolyte, sheds sulphation, restores capacity. now you need to find a local expert who can do it.
Definitely your battery needs reconditioning to reduce sulphation. Battery Equalizer solution is used for dissolving existing sulphation. But I'm not sure about the amount of electrolyte that need to be disposed off. Anyways If you are planning to do it then collect all those electrolyte taking out from the cells into a container. So If anything goes wrong you can use this to refill. Years back when I was playing with a small 6v battery, accidentally spilled good amount of electrolyte outside. Even though I filled with distilled water it never came into life

Yes, thats something what my friend said too but I will not be doing it because I'm no good in that and even getting it done by local experts won't give me peace of mind either. So I have decided to buy a new battery and give this for exchange. Whoever gets it, will repair and enjoy for an year. [:)]

Now I wanna choice between Amaron Pro or Exide Mileage (Matrix is out of choice because its a sealed battery) but cannot. Most of friends say Exide, including one who has bought Amaron battery recently. Its like heart says Amaron and mind says Exide. [roll]

Price for Amaron Pro 35ah is Rs. 4551 on local dealer, Rs. 4441 on Battery Wale and Rs. 4299 on Battery Bhai (But not available for my city). Rs. 500 discount for old battery

As of Exide, not yet inquired locally.

Good that have you checked every available combinations. So the 1.45v+0.56v should the volt of the 6th cell. 2.01v Isn't?
Could be but I have no idea about these things. :tongue:

I had charged the battery till 13 volts for 4 hours yesterday, using home inverter and then kept unplugged all night. Today morning, the battery voltage dropped to 12.5v!

nothing wrong.
12.6v is said as 100 % state of charge.
12.5 is very close.
assuming that your inverter charges with 10 amps, it could have 'pumped' only about 40A in your old Battery within 4 hours ...pretty neat. I wouldn't worry until battery self discharges to 11.8v or less in morning.

nothing wrong.
12.6v is said as 100 % state of charge.
12.5 is very close.
assuming that your inverter charges with 10 amps, it could have 'pumped' only about 40A in your old Battery within 4 hours ...pretty neat. I wouldn't worry until battery self discharges to 11.8v or less in morning.
Yeah 12.6v means fully charged. Battery could be good for few more day or months if properly charged but I'm afraid to use it.

No idea about inverter charging amps and I don't have clamp multimeter to test.

As of hydrometer gravity, it still same. 125 Gr on all cells except one has no gravity. Battery status indicator is still black.

Hello friends,

Today I have finally bought a new battery. That is Exide Mileage MI35L.

Actually I was very interested to buy Amaron Pro but was disappointed with the stocks of local dealer. They had only two pieces of Pro and both manufactured in Aug 2014! Dealer said, these Pro batteries won't sell more so we keep less in stock but there is no problem with the MFD date being old as we give you warranty from date of purchase. Me and my brother didn't felt good so had to leave it and go for Exide/SF dealer.

The same dealer that I had bought two Exide tubular batteries and M&M inverter last year. He had the stocks in his warehouses so bought it to me after 5 mins. The battery wasn't so new but not so old either which I thought to be ok. No mention about MFD date but PKD is Jan 2015. He said, its not possible to get batteries manufactured within 2-3 months because it takes time to come from far distances/states.

Price is stated below:

Printed MRP: Rs. 4491/-
Selling Price: Rs. 4350/-
Discount for old battery: Rs. 500/-
-----------------------------------------
Total Paid: Rs. 3850/- Including Tax

Got it fitted by them and gave the old battery to them.

Now some showtime:
Exide_Mileage_35ah_Box.jpg
Date mentioned is barcode is 130115 aka 13th January 2015
Exide_Mileage_35ah_ANHC-09.jpg

Thats it.

p.s Battery is already charged (Don't know in factory or by dealer) and total voltage after connected is 12.85v.

Thanks...
Best Regards

congrats...
12.81 is very healthy and shows a freshly made battery.
I usually don't give away old batteries for rs 500 unless it's damaged or shorted cell.

I parallel it into my Solar system as a capacity extension. just think that your new rated 80 ah Battery is now a 35ah one. now who wouldn't buy 35ah Battery for rs 500?

congrats...
12.81 is very healthy and shows a freshly made battery.
I usually don't give away old batteries for rs 500 unless it's damaged or shorted cell.

I parallel it into my Solar system as a capacity extension. just think that your new rated 80 ah Battery is now a 35ah one. now who wouldn't buy 35ah Battery for rs 500?
Thanks bro.

Yeah I thought of it but it wouldn't be useful to me, because I already have 2 100ah tubular batteries connected to 1.4kv inverter for home UPS. Even if I hook the 35ah battery for old inverter, it won't be used by anyone.

Of course, the guy who takes it will be happy but its not useful for car until reconditioned.

older batteries with weaker plates are not suitable for car use and they can't deliver a burst of power (over 300 amps ) to start an engine. however they're still. perfect for small light duty applications like Solar storage and powering LED streetlights, Home lights, night lamps etc.

that's what I do.
thanks.

hai i have ritz petrol variant and fully loaded with lots of DIY. My battery is tata green which is OEM one and now if i hear song or 1/2 hour or 1 hour battery gets discharged quickly to 11.9V even my car refuse to start.

Its 5yrs old one and i want to know is this time to replace my battery but if i use My ICE only in moving or engine on status its works like cham.[confused]

Finally I found the right thread here for battery issues. I have global ford fiesta 1.5 diesel. I have to replace the OEM motor craft battery which lasted a month less to 3 years. It is 60AH but bigger in size (rectangular). I checked Amaron and Exide for 60AH and they all come in kind of square in shape and some empty space will be left out in the battery shell which might shake sometimes. The only battery with same size as of my existing battery is Amaron FLO 65AH which perfectly fits the space. Is there a problem if I upgrade my battery from 60AH to 65AH?

Please advice.

Many Thanks
Harish

Thread Starter #104

Dr MUDHAN

@rnharish

In my opinion, choosing a 65Ah in place of 60Ah should not be a real concern, unless you're going for a really very larger capacity.
Generally there is a feeling that the larger the Ah, the longer it takes to fully charge the battery. Another thing is the size. If the same size battery comes in different AH i.e., 45AH, 55AH, 60AH, 65 AH then the 65AH is going to have more lead plates. If the size is the same, they have to squeeze the plates closer together or sometimes make the plate thinner or weigh more.

Another suggestion, if you want to have the correct AH and if you are concerned about the extra space , you can fabricate suitable sized metal bracket/s , place either side to fix the battery in the center.

SAMPLE DESIGN: (Side folding could be more taller to suit your battery holder plate)

Stall Plate Brackets.JPG

Hai to all,

Nowadays my car if it's not used for even 10 to 15 days the battery is fully drained to 11.9V. The battery is 5years old one and 35A.

Can any one advice a gud replacement for this battery as I have lot DIY in my car.