Ford EcoSport Facelift 2018 Launched in India (Coverage Pg: 34)

Ya i went to service station they said headlamps are not there in stock so they have told me to call them after 3 days then they will replace it under warranty only after they get approval from ford india.

Ecosport storm released in South American Markets, has the 2.0 Liter GDI engine with 6F35 Gearbox and all wheel drive. Considering this config is manufactured and exported to USA from Chennai- whether we can get a limited edition variant with say INR 12.5 Lacs ex showroom. I guess with Sunroof it will be around 14 Lakhs ex showroom if it is to be released in our market as some sort of limited edition.

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-news/2018-ford-ecosport-storm-officially-revealed-407166

Hello Everyone, I'm in a big dilemma to choose between Ecosport or Nexon. Both of them have something better which is forcing me consider either one of them.
I went for Ecosport titanium+ TD today (I like to go with titanium model but SA doesn;t have titanium model available for test drive)
I wasn to share my experience :
I liked the pickup and control both at low and high speeds. Seating was high and front view is good though A pillar is very thick. Everything seems to be goood except for couple of things which i'm not ablt to overcome with -
1. I didn't find the leather comfortable. Though i'm not that fit or fat, yet those sides support present to prevent from body roll on driver seat was very uncomfortable for me. In almost 20-25 min, i developed stiffness on my back.
2. While driving from top most seating position, i had to struggle to reach out for clutch or while braking. I'm 5 feet 9 and seat could well be at very back which can caused this which i realized during the end of test drive
3. Somehow it's bothering me that doors of ES doesn't autolock automatically. and rear ones specially can be opened from inside anytime and SA was pressing thaat this is being followed by every car manufacturer now. coming from dezire & honda amaza background, this is startling to know that doors can't be locked even by the front seats driver switch :|

Can anyone share their opinion on this

Somehow it's bothering me that doors of ES doesn't autolock automatically. and rear ones specially can be opened from inside anytime and SA was pressing thaat this is being followed by every car manufacturer now. coming from dezire & honda amaza background, this is startling to know that doors can't be locked even by the front seats driver switch
I wonder why Ford missed (or intentionally dropped) such a mandatory safety feature [frustration]. Your SA obviously was bluffing, Nexon (even Tiago, Tigor) has auto lock feature for sure. If you are worried about kids opening rear doors, child safety lock should do the trick.
BTW, have you TD'ed the Nexon yet? Are you looking for petrol or diesel?

I wonder why Ford missed (or intentionally dropped) such a mandatory safety feature [frustration]. Your SA obviously was bluffing, Nexon (even Tiago, Tigor) has auto lock feature for sure. If you are worried about kids opening rear doors, child safety lock should do the trick.
BTW, have you TD'ed the Nexon yet? Are you looking for petrol or diesel?
Although i've came across a video on their website which talks about a certain hidden code(have to use inner lock in front gates) through which auto lock/unlock can be enabled but don't know it's applicable on ecosport or not but i'm still surprise why i didn't find leather seats of ecosport comfortable enough :(

I've TD'ed Nexon but it was a short one, will be going for a longer one tomorrow. I'm looking for a diesel one. Hope the ride will be comfortable to help me seal the deal. Hearing such rave & great review abt Nexon has helped me overcome the fear about owning a very new vehicle with new engine as well.

Hmm, Just reading Team-BHp, some mentions of new variants coming in Feb/March . Dont know how far it is true.

Posted by Dramitn on Team-BHP.

1)Ecoboost 1.0 titanium+ manual transmission petrol,
2)Dragon 1.5 titanium+ manual transmission petrol,
3)Signature pack petrol,
4)Sports pack diesel,
5)Signature pack diesel

These are the models which will be added in February/March to the existing line up according to a little birdie

I think if the Ecoboost version is coming it will come with a new 6 speed 6mx65 gearbox and not the old IB5 gearbox.

Will try to do a comparo between ES and Nexon if we get to TD it tomorrow
Sorry folks, the petrol TD never happened as my friend is leaning towards Nexon Diesel after looking at Ford's price sheet [lol]. Anyways, here are some of my observations on the ES Dragon petrol (Titanium variant with 16inch wheels).

- Moving from stand still, there is a slight judder without throttle input. My Tiago has this too, I believe it has to do with the 3 pot?
- Engine revvs up fairly quick and has very less vibes for a 3 pot (in the cabin).
- Power delivery was decent for a car this size. I suppose it will be even better when driving alone (we drove with full load of 5 people).
- I loved the engine note inside the cabin. On the outside, its a different story (check out the video at the end).
- Redlines at 6700 RPM and I was able to reach 100kph in 2nd gear.
- Steering has active return to center feature (self centering) which isn't as eager as my Tiago or Nexon for that matter.
- As we all know, the MID is outright ugly and awful.
- Suspension didn't feel very stiff and was comfortable. It could be due to 5 on board though.
- I had hard time slotting from 1 to 2, other gears were fine.
- Some have complained that left leg gets stuck under the panel above clutch. While I didn't have this issue, my friend did struggle. Turns out it's gonna be a hindrance for those who pull their seats up close.
- Arm rest is of no use to most folks. Should have had sliding feature or placed a bit forward.
- Head unit display felt to be of high resolution and great looking UI (loved the blue theme). Didn't take my pen drive so I didn't attempt to test audio quality.
- Rear seat bench is good for 2, 3rd person has to be skinny for decent comfort.
- ORVM has a blind spot view towards it's end. Will be very helpful for those highway riders.
- No auto door lock after car moves, bummer.
- I liked the simpler alloy on Titanium variant when compared to the design of Titanium+.

To me, front fascia looks much better than outgoing model:
Front.jpg

Front 3Q.jpg

Rear wheel well has a carpet like cladding. Not sure how easy/difficult it will be to clean it.
Arch_Collage.jpg

Dashboard of ES & Nexon. Both looks good in their own design language IMO.
Dashboard_Collage.jpg

Rear seat of ES & Nexon. I prefer Nexon's bucket like seats over the flat bench. However, ES welcomes third person more than Nexon at the back seat.
Rear_Seat_Collage.jpg

Dragon Petrol Engine's note with the hood open:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9E5RPbo4W4A&feature=youtu.be

^^ Yes Prabhagar, the judder is due to the 3-cylinder engines. Despite their best efforts most mfrs (some have even used Lanchester balancer shafts to cancel unresolved vibes!) complete absence of the judder is not achieved. But how bad is it really? Something that one can get used to or does it remain an irritant?

Shashanka

Hi all does anyone have any idea about the budget impact on cars and since I will be getting delivery only in March will the price be hiked further.

3. Somehow it's bothering me that doors of ES doesn't autolock automatically. and rear ones specially can be opened from inside anytime and SA was pressing thaat this is being followed by every car manufacturer now. coming from dezire & honda amaza background, this is startling to know that doors can't be locked even by the front seats driver switch :|
I wonder why are the carmakers dropping such useful safety feature? It can't be cost-cutting, isn't it? What would it take? I think, just an update to the software, ECU already has vehicle data.