Does Sales Figures of a Car Matter in Your Buying Decision?

Does Sales Figures of a Car Influence Your Buying Decision?

Re: Car Sales Figures – Do They Really Matter To You?

Great post thanx for your anlyasis . And you are right swift is a amazing car . And it might put 15 lakhs rs cars to shame ,which cars exactly I don't know but I belive you in that case .

Now what exactly is your opinion about this thread's topic ? Which I think you have missed while posting everything which was actually not related to the topic of the thread
Yes, let me conclude, the sales chart has nothing to do with me when I buy my car, when I buy it with a passion If I am buying an SUV and if its Pajero sport I am least bothered about the sales

If I am buying a car which is for my daily use and it has more to do with reliability than I might consider market figures/sales as its a solid proof for its reliability and its nothing to do with herd mentality as people say

Now there is a paradox I have seen have a guy with less cash to buy a car for passion alone and people who can buy a biggie settle down with a practical car which makes sales numbers just because of its trusted sales base,

So its their situation, mentality, financial stability and their passion/image/style conception of their "to be car" which plays a major part during a car purchase which can sometimes or most of the times override their own decision

My answer was inline to questions you asked swift n furious.His answers sounded sensible too,I wonder why you felt it OT.

Swift sells like hot cakes everybody wants own it unlike slow moving skodas.
Thank you for bumping in mate, I actually meant Innova which we own but have also taken on Octavia's but if the driver were better on the other car it would have been a tough competition [lol]

By the way its hard to keep up with the 90 BHP Punto on 3 digits speeds its [evil] for sure

Octavia was not selling well in its time.

However after the production stoppage, it became a good one one in used car market.

Thread Starter #48

My answer was inline to questions you asked swift n furious.His answers sounded sensible too,I wonder why you felt it OT.

Swift sells like hot cakes everybody wants own it unlike slow moving skodas.
Well I never asked any questions to swift n furious , rather I said I belive him that swift can smoke many cars costing 15 lakhs only which cars I don't know . And iam not actually interested to know but thanx as I know from you now it can / may smoke Laura and ALTis .

Beside that fiat and swift are not the main highlights of the thread . Nor has anyone debated or argued which is better then other . So there is no point in discussing that which has actually nothing to do with the thread .

Everybody wants to to own swift unlike the slow moving skodas well that's your personal thinking and you are free to have it and believe in it and that's great .
Yes, let me conclude, the sales chart has nothing to do with me when I buy my car, when I buy it with a passion If I am buying an SUV and if its Pajero sport I am least bothered about the sales

If I am buying a car which is for my daily use and it has more to do with reliability than I might consider market figures/sales as its a solid proof for its reliability and its nothing to do with herd mentality as people say

Now there is a paradox I have seen have a guy with less cash to buy a car for passion alone and people who can buy a biggie settle down with a practical car which makes sales numbers just because of its trusted sales base,

So its their situation, mentality, financial stability and their passion/image/style conception of their "to be car" which plays a major part during a car purchase which can sometimes or most of the times override their own decision

Thank you for bumping in mate, I actually meant Innova which we own but have also taken on Octavia's but if the driver were better on the other car it would have been a tough competition [lol]

By the way its hard to keep up with the 90 BHP Punto on 3 digits speeds its [evil] for sure
Thanx for replying swiftly but not furiously [;)] and thanx for your thoughts really appreciate them .
Well low sales can also give trouble free ownership does the sx4 and estilo is a pain to maintain and unreliable Because they are super duds ?

people who have a sx4 are extremely happy and there are people who have the highest selling verna and are troubled with various issues like suspensions and rattling . ( one owner is a member of our forum who sold his verna in one year and bought a figo )

About herd mentality one can read here

Herd mentality - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

And also this

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argumentum_ad_populum

Argumentum ad populum

In logic, an argumentum ad populum (Latin for "appeal to the people") is a fallacious argument that concludes a proposition to be true because many or most people believe it. In other words, the basic idea of the argument is: "If many believe so, it is so."

EAXMPLES

This fallacy is sometimes committed while trying to convince a person that a widely popular thought is true.
Nine out of ten of my constituents oppose the bill, therefore it is a bad idea.
Nine out of ten of my fellow congressmen favor the bill, therefore it is a good idea.
Other examples:
Fifty million Elvis fans can't be wrong.
Everyone's doing it.
In a court of law, the jury vote by majority; therefore they will always make the correct decision.
Google gives more hits when this spelling is applied, therefore this has to be the correct spelling.
Many people buy extended warranties, therefore it is wise to buy them.

[lol] I wasn't furious mate, I only like my car to be so

You are correct with SX4 as an example and with most of the points mentioned, but you can take it whatever way, you cannot push it by telling herd mentality

Just an insight. Personally you like having 3Roses tea and its your favorite and now if most of them buy 3Roses tea because of its popularity and because it sells more, is it fair to me by labelling you as a guy with herd mentality ?

Even though we deviated from the topic and I wished we could have stuck on to it, I also feel there is no fun without a debate, so please ignore if any messages posted were irrelevant by any of us rather than pointing it out

Swift is good or can say best overall package hatch today. There is no denying in it. It is a fact. And herd mentality according to me is not about buying the thing that is most popular. Every one wants the best and popular thing to own.

For me herd mentality is, buying a thing because it is popular without even thinking what your need is. This could go well with anything from dresses, mobile, electronics to cars.

I have seen people buying a swift and then add a carrier at the top when they realize the boot space is not enough for them as they do constant outing. Well there is nothing wrong in doing that as well. But carrier on top of swift takes away it's charm.

Now as IR said earlier

There might be some who answer the opposite of the above as well and i think that's fine as well. There aren't rights or wrong here

Thread Starter #51

[lol] I wasn't furious mate, I only like my car to be so

You are correct with SX4 as an example and with most of the points mentioned, but you can take it whatever way, you cannot push it by telling herd mentality

Just an insight. Personally you like having 3Roses tea and its your favorite and now if most of them buy 3Roses tea because of its popularity and because it sells more, is it fair to me by labelling you as a guy with herd mentality ?

Even though we deviated from the topic and I wished we could have stuck on to it, I also feel there is no fun without a debate, so please ignore if any messages posted were irrelevant by any of us rather than pointing it out
bro iam not pushing anything here , herd mentality was something you posted ,I just gave a link from wiki just this nothing else .

And herd mentality is not bad per say , its has been a part of our evolution and at times progress also .
and can you please kindly point out one post from me on this thread where I have discussed or called any buyer a part of herd in buying a popular car ?

Rather iam a guy with a view that buy a car which fully satisfies your requirements irrespective of whether it sells more or not .

I Just posted a link showing high sales means better reliability thinking / belief can be FALSE or FLAWED also , its not my view its from eminent soical pyschologist all around the world who after numerous controlled studies have come to certain conclusions. iam just pointing to other side of the story and not pushing anything.

And again what is fun in debating about things which are in no way related to the topic of the thread ?

Infact the thread is all about debating in a healthy way and you are free to post your views and debate .

Regarding swift vs any other cars you are free to start a new thread , where we can debate and discuss which can be fun too .

so lets debate ,have fun ,share learn on this thread KEEPING THE TOPIC OF THE THREAD IN MIND.

Hmm,

Herd mentality is not a bad word at all, it is a perception and a way of approach.

For the years, for so many a good car means only Maruti, because of 100 reasons, but is the situation same today, NO it has changed a lot from just brand perception to practicality where buyer has become more and more clever now and who use lot of sources before buying a vehicle and one important out of it is internet forums where he get lot of details apart from sales numbers.

So sales numbers used to be very important some time back, but I don't think it really matters to many as there is much beyond the sales numbers and buyers know how to explore them. But still manufacturers use sales numbers for marketing, fair enough they are doing their job very well. It is upto the buyer to give importance to the sales numbers or not.

But one thing is true just because a vehicles sells in more numbers so it is the best and also a vehicles sells less and it is a worst vehicle. There are too many other factors like sales and marketing plans, reaching to the masses, network, pricing, brand image, after sales service play bigger role in those sales numbers and yes some times it is also a "sheep" approach, because so many bought it,so I will also buy it[:)]

Let me give you an example of 'herd mentality'.

I have a friend, who want to buy a car. He has a family of 5. Man, woman, kid, old man and an old woman. He had a budget for a small car. He zeroed in on Swift and all the other friends advised him to buy a Swift.

Now Swift is a good car. BUT as per his requirements (as I pointed it to him early on) he had to look at a car he could travel with 5 people. So he should have looked at Figo or Vista or I20.

Suzuki manages to shift 20000 Altos a month (may be more). BUT there are equally good cars in the market at that price.

SO therz nothing wrong about this thing 'herd mentality'. People who bought an Alto or a Scorpio or a Bolero or a Fortuner for the only reason "it sells in big number so it must be good", will feel offended by this word.

The sales figures do not come all of a sudden,It is people's reliability on the company and experience on the product that made it sell more.
Good cars of a reputed and reliable company always sells more and that best seller always have a good re-sale too.
It is easy and good and wise for a fresh buyer who has a Zero knowledge on cars to go behind the best sellers than taking risk on bad sellers.
Nothing wrong on herd mentality,
If a herd believes that a product is reliable, nothing wrong in being a part of the herd.

The sales figures do not come all of a sudden,It is people's reliability on the company and experience on the product that made it sell more.
Good cars of a reputed and reliable company always sells more and that best seller always have a good re-sale too.
It is easy and good and wise for a fresh buyer who has a Zero knowledge on cars to go behind the best sellers than taking risk on bad sellers.
Nothing wrong on herd mentality,if a herd believes that a product is reliable nothing wrong in being a part of the herd.
In Short, car that sells more are the safest of choice but may not be the best suited one.

safest in terms of ?
Safest not in terms of safety features, but you cannot go much wrong with the car that sells more. Reason being tested, proven and many are already using it happily. But saying that it is not necessary that it meets all your need.

Thread Starter #58

Safest not in terms of safety features, but you cannot go much wrong with the car that sells more. Reason being tested, proven and many are already using it happily. But saying that it is not necessary that it meets all your need.
I had given a example of sx4 vs Verna and new fiesta , which sells the most ? Verna right and guess what more problems are in Verna compared to new fiesta and sx4 . So how does it prove that it can be the best and safest choice because many buying it ?

That's the reason I said you cannot go much wrong. I never said you cannot go wrong at all. [;)]

Verna can be compared to Dezire also, The comparison is not made strictly segment wise.Common man may not care whether it is a compact sedan or a sedan.
A santo is compared to a WhagonR and to an Estilo,one sells more and the other less.