Does Sales Figures of a Car Matter in Your Buying Decision?

Does Sales Figures of a Car Influence Your Buying Decision?

Re: Car Sales Figures – Do They Really Matter To You?

"we indians are a bit more serious when it comes to spending our hard earned money"
This statement of yours is your personal belief ? Or its a well researched documented academic fact ? If yes kindly provide any link to the study .
Raja,need no link to prove that,
The sales figures on Alto,SwiftD and innova will tell the story.
We indians are having a good market study and are looking on the sales figures and are finding the best company's best car to buy.
We are a lot more serious when it cones on hard earned money and so we are not taking risk over it and are more depending on consistent car sales figures to by our cars.
And this reflects on the car sales figures year by year as we keep on buying the best sellers.

Raja, the ritz/figo story it is the like factor that comes in play,he will buy the car he likes, the car sale figures does not mater to him. Recommending a car on car qualities and sales figures is foolishness because he already have a car in his mind and he will buy it.

I may buy an indicaV2 but will only recommend my friends the above cars, just because it is safe to recommend them.

Raj punto was 7. 80 lakhs on road he used it one year with 15,000 Kms and sold for 5.80 lakhs , if we calculate even with 25% the depreciated value comes to 2. 34 lakhs right ?
Guess what he just sold it for 2 lakhs less from his on road price for a car which only sales 200-300 units per month do you think he faced a loss ?
As I have mentioned before, I got a better price for my car because -

1) The prospective buyer was a FIAT enthusiast
2) He was a spirited driver and there are not many Punto 90hp in the used market
3) I had an aftermarket ICE in my car, which he liked
4) He had read my ownership reports and knew the in and outs of my car!

As i said, most offers were in the range of 5-5.3 Lacs.

Thread Starter #138
Re: Sales Figures – Do They Really Matter To You?

We indians are having a good market study and are looking on the sales figures and are finding the best company's best car to buy.
Iam sorry but this just a arbitrary assumption you are making . So now you mean Renault is the best company because it sells duster in high numbers ? What about their other cars ? Can we move ahead then swift D, Innova and alto since they are not the only cars being sold . Iam sure you know their are other companies also .
We are a lot more serious when it cones on hard earned money and so we are not taking risk over it and are more depending on consistent car sales figures to by our cars.
And how can you prove this , you can talk about yourself but how you know all think like you ? And btw who are this "WE" you are referring too ?
And this reflects on the car sales figures year by year as we keep on buying the best sellers.
And it proves nothing .
Raja, the ritz/figo story it is the like factor that comes in play,he will buy the car he likes, the car sale figures does not mater to him. Recommending a car on car qualities and sales figures is foolishness because he already have a car in his mind and he will buy it.
Can you explain me in detail a bit what exactly you mean ?
I may buy an indicaV2 but will only recommend my friends the above cars, just because it is safe to recommend them.
Good to know .
[confused] as in "what on offer" the factors quoted by you are inclusive.
Means ? [confused] which factors are you asking and for what ?

As I have mentioned before, I got a better price for my car because -

1) The prospective buyer was a FIAT enthusiast
2) He was a spirited driver and there are not many Punto 90hp in the used market
3) I had an aftermarket ICE in my car, which he liked
4) He had read my ownership reports and knew the in and outs of my car!

As i said, most offers were in the range of 5-5.3 Lacs.
In the end you got a better offer , I have taken the least amount of depreciation in account actual depreciation can be much higher , If I take market value still you are in a good position.

Sales fig doesn't matter at all, the after sales service & availability of spares is what matters. If car has poor sales like Fiat Linea, getting spares is also a pain. Hence, to this extent it does matter but if a car has sold well before & not doing well now, then it is not much of concern. Eg. Santro, no issues with spares & a.s.s but i10 selling more than santro.

Incase of premium cars, I look at spares & a.s.s. only. Now I like Porsche, but I won't buy it now even if I had enough Vitamin M as it doesn't have any dealership in Pune. I will prefer Merc & Jaguar as both are made in Pune. BMW, Audi owners are also happy in Pune.

Now other thing comes in mind is dealership experience. In regular cars, I prefer Maruti for the simple reason that I had fantastic experience with Chowgule, a platinum dealer of Maruti. So just for the sake of Chowgule, I will buy say Swift rather than i10. Similarly, I had reservations about Tata a.s.s in Pune, but as Concorde motors has opened its showroom in Pune, I am relaxed about Tata a.s.s. now.

All in all, after sales & spares is what matters to me rather than sales fig.
Just because Alto 800 or Mahindra Bolero is selling in large nos doesn't mean one buys these 2 vehicles. [lol] One advantage of buying less selling car is it stands out in crowd.

BTW, I have seen people who buy car which they don't really like just because it has better resale value. [anger] This is like marrying a particular girl who will demand less compensation in case of divorce. [lol]

^the case of marrying and dating does not apply here.
One simply does not marry a girl who has been married a number of times or demands a less compensation .
But is attributed to the compatibility between two individuals.

A product which sells higher than the rest of the competition in its segment has many factors going for it.

They can be a balance of many factors or an upper hand for critical factors compared to competition.
But just putting them across as herd mentality is denial of reality.

Can anyone tell me from where I can download monthly sales
figures of all automobiles sold in India?

Thread Starter #142

^
But just putting them across as herd mentality is denial of reality.
Hold on . Nobody , atleast me here is saying that high sales = herd mentality only.

Infact iam saying herd mentality plays one crucial / major role in sales of cars .
.And not accepting it too is a denial of reliaty .

And to have a decent product in first place is very important .

Everybody going out of the way to buy reliance power iPo thinking wow not all must be wrong and it must be good .

In 1980's craze of Sony television and VCR , thinking its the only best and people are not foolish that most of them are only buying them , are classic examples of herd mentality in works .

Does it mean Sony tvs were bad ? Ofcourse not but does it mean that since Sony were selling the most , the rest were bad or inferior ?

See again herd mentality is a part of evolution ,there is nothing wrong in that word , that is how cites were formed too .

yes i meant it is not the only reason.
There are ignorant people around who would stick their neck out and Say that maruti makes the best diesel engines.
Guess we can say they belong to those herd.

As for the two examples given.
Those companies had built up a solid reputation by Then.

Sony then used to follow very strict QC along with many japanese manufacturers then which is hard to find during recent times.

Same with reliance .
They had built up Good reputation of satisfying the investors .

those examples provided are instances of faith gained by customers of the reliability of the respective companies which will happen when the performance is consistent over long span of time.

Even in this advanced Era of things, suprisingly people(more are educated) follow "Herd" in India, it is proven number of times with number of products, so no wonder when people relay on sales numbers most of the times. Even if some body say it is on of the criteria only, by in his subconscious mind there is a strong thought of those numbers.

As far as my show room experience(any brand) tells me that the common buyers are less informed about real facts or factors of vehicles, but they are influenced by their friends or relatives most of the times.

Ok, not able to believe the above, ok, yes see these simple examples here

1. My BIL who completely relayed on me while buying Vista recently and never tried what it is why Vista. Just gone with my opinion. Now though the Vista is superior in all departments than Ritz and a VFM, sometime I heard from my sis them I doesn't want them to buy Ritz since I have one and that is the reason I made them to go with Vista[lol]

2. My friend who bought XUV in a hurry relaying on those sales numbers and regret now !! for some reasons.

In both those cases, I am not saying that those cars are bad(treat them just as just examples please), but they have never tried to know what they want and which one suits them more.

So this is how most of the buying decisions happen these days and sad part is that every body thinks that due to highest sales numbers a vehicle will become superior than others[:)] I wish this thinking has to change and people really get on to the facts and other parameters while spending their valuable money

Some interesting personal stories here.Thanks for sharing guys.

Sorry for a bit OT to start with.
lol [lol] especially after reading some content quoted in post, most being beyond my sensibilities and experience. http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/indian-auto-news/11868-sales-figures-do-they-really-matter-you-9.html#post266300

If,according to you " herd mentality" is vouched for "success" of certain car/s,say "X" in a country of ours with more less informed buyers, the same should be equally applicable to the "failures" of certain other car/s too,say "Y".

Now the question is why does "X" become a good car and "Y" a bad one, not the other way around , for those herds? Then one may conclude that that is how it was perceived in the society among people. If one goes deeper in to the case and ask a few more questions there,

1. Initially , why was 'X' assessed as a good car and 'Y' a bad car and not the other way around ? No herd mentality here.
2. Why has 'X' been perceived consistently well and continue to remain at the top over many years and "Y" continued to be a failure, in this world of full of critics and media freedom with ever increasing competition and Not the other way around ?

Now how do you attribute the success of "X" in comparison with "Y" as an auto enthusiast?

Even in this advanced Era of things, suprisingly people(more are educated) follow "Herd" in India, it is proven number of times with number of products, so no wonder when people relay on sales numbers most of the times. Even if some body say it is on of the criteria only, by in his subconscious mind there is a strong thought of those numbers.

As far as my show room experience(any brand) tells me that the common buyers are less informed about real facts or factors of vehicles, but they are influenced by their friends or relatives most of the times.

Ok, not able to believe the above, ok, yes see these simple examples here

1. My BIL who completely relayed on me while buying Vista recently and never tried what it is why Vista. Just gone with my opinion. Now though the Vista is superior in all departments than Ritz and a VFM, sometime I heard from my sis them I doesn't want them to buy Ritz since I have one and that is the reason I made them to go with Vista[lol]

2. My friend who bought XUV in a hurry relaying on those sales numbers and regret now !! for some reasons.

In both those cases, I am not saying that those cars are bad(treat them just as just examples please), but they have never tried to know what they want and which one suits them more.

So this is how most of the buying decisions happen these days and sad part is that every body thinks that due to highest sales numbers a vehicle will become superior than others[:)] I wish this thinking has to change and people really get on to the facts and other parameters while spending their valuable money
so as per the given examples your bil Was of herd mentality since he depended totally on what was guided by you.

While your friend was also of herd mentality since he followed the sales chart.

I am getting confused here.

Thread Starter #147

Some interesting personal stories here.Thanks for sharing guys.

Sorry for a bit OT to start with.
lol [lol] especially after reading some content quoted in post, most being beyond my sensibilities and experience. http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/indian-auto-news/11868-sales-figures-do-they-really-matter-you-9.html#post266300

If,according to you " herd mentality" is vouched for "success" of certain car/s,say "X" in a country of ours with more less informed buyers, the same should be equally applicable to the "failures" of certain other car/s too,say "Y".

Now the question is why does "X" become a good car and "Y" a bad one, not the other way around , for those herds? Then one may conclude that that is how it was perceived in the society among people. If one goes deeper in to the case and ask a few more questions there,

1. Initially , why was 'X' assessed as a good car and 'Y' a bad car and not the other way around ? No herd mentality here.
2. Why has 'X' been perceived consistently well and continue to remain at the top over many years and "Y" continued to be a failure, in this world of full of critics and media freedom with ever increasing competition and Not the other way around ?

Now how do you attribute the success of "X" in comparison with "Y" as an auto enthusiast?
none of your post or this post is OT. You allways bring good points to discuss imho .What you have posted is interesting,iam at airport now ,and on phone once I reach home will answer your questions .

also for the fact that it was cheaper than an a-star
and in future would have given him comfort of a better resale value .

dont you think?

RESALE VALUE??

If you are selling your car after 6-7 years, Why bother about that??

AND I remember your post about 'no substitute for safety'. So why now the cost factor?

RESALE VALUE??

If you are selling your car after 6-7 years, Why bother about that??

AND I remember your post about 'no substitute for safety'. So why now the cost factor?
the difference in pricing has mattered here.

Somebody argued resale value is immaterial.