Diesel Sedan Under 10L: Bought Verna 1.6 SX CRDI

Re: Diesel Sedan Under 10L: Urgent Buy in 10 Days

@Tornado78

Along with the things you are looking in your new buy in terms of comfort and others, I have learned few things within these 2 years of using my Ritz diesel and will definitely keep in mind while my next purchase.

1. Good seating position where our legs will be more inline to the pedals
2. Pedals height and position
3. Enough space in pedals area and a dead pedal
4. Height adjustable seat
5. Not too heavy steering wheel is most important as we drive our car most of the time in city
6. Light clutch. Heavy clutch is really annoying in city traffic and cause leg pain
7. Seat comfort and proper thigh support
8. Gear position
9. Sufficient legroom
10. Rear seat comfort
11. Body roll
12. ABS, EBD
13. Strength of the body(safety point of view)
14. blind spots
15. Rear view and visibility of all glasses
16. suspension(soft or hard)
17. Ground clearance
18. Tyre brand(if there is choice)
19. Low end torque

Hope you also things out of the above[:)]

You can wait for the facelifted Rapid and Vento, New SX4, etc which are releasing next year.
Both Vento and Rapid are almost the same now, but the facelifted Rapid and Vento will be quite fresh and different from each other! new Sx4 will be great VFM and spacious and given that it is a Suzuki product, will be easy on the pocket and Suzuki's latest products are much safer now! Anyway if you can't wait, go for the Vento!

Hi All
Thanks for suggestions.
After reading the reviews of new Honda city and seeing its figures I have zeroed down to new Hyundai Verna 1.6 CRDi SX.
Lets see how soon I will be able to drive that.
Thanks guys
and do update me about the new Verna

Verna is not a good highway car, so I hope you will have good city driving!
Congrats!

I have used Vento Diesel,Its built solid i can tell you, Reliability is like the lottery,unpredictable guessing its same for its cousin the Rapid.Varies from car to car.
Diesel is not mean for hard drag style accelaration changing gears,as engine braking is too much even for a diesel.
Rear seat is also good
Verna is a good car with good rear seat space but tiny windows.You sit higher than Vento.

From what i see here i have a feeling the 2014 variant Rapid with projectors has captured your heart. Make sure you know someone in service sector for prompt work.

You must look into second hand market . You can get Chevrolet Cruze second hand near 10 lakhs

Thanks Guys,

Here are some of my observation of different cars:

1.) SX4: Even after paying a million rupee you wont get Bluetooth controls, 2 din music system, powerful engine. Although ASS is good, service is no way cheap now

Hi All
Thanks for suggestions.
After reading the reviews of new Honda city and seeing its figures I have zeroed down to new Hyundai Verna 1.6 CRDi SX.
Lets see how soon I will be able to drive that.
Thanks guys
and do update me about the new Verna
Are you planning to buy in Dec ? I guess Hyundai is throwing huge discounts on Verna Diesel. Check with your local dealer.

Kindly wait for New Honda city but NVH levels seems to be an issue but other than that its worth waiting. If you urgent buy, Look at rapid though ASS is a problem , it is same as vento at slightly lesser price and slightly better NVH levels.

Thanks a lot,

But I have checked Rapid and Vento but found their ASS is a pain to deal and very scare ASS centres. ASS cost is very high.

Vehicles are fantastic especially Rapid with projector headlights.
But now going for Verna due to silent cabin, good drivability, Fuel efficiency and Much better/Available ASS of Verna. Hyundai ASS is also cheaper than Vento or Rapid.

If you can wait,then the upcoming Honda City diesel looks too good to be true and should be worth the wait.
Everyone has different choice's,so you should do your homework and the best advice would be to check ownership reviews of the cars you are interested in.They give you much better picture of the car's all aspects (Pro's & con's,Service cost's,and a ton of other things.)
Being a Verna CRDI owner,i would like to tell that it's engine is a gem,turbo lag is less,it accelerates linearly,the clutch is very light (acc. to diesel car standard's), the interiors design is good but the suspension is not very good for petrolheads,rear seat is ok and also very comfortable, only it is a bit low set. The only other -ve for me is that i miss the petrol smell [;)]

+100, silverjet !! This is what I suggested Tornado78 to wait for the New Honda city.

Hi guys

Thanks a lot with your suggestions. New dragon has come home yesterday and in the same complexion of white. This time it is named as Verna 1.6 CRDi (SX) white.

New Honda City: Was also consider but it failed in the following:
1.) Based on reviews its noisy and Power and torque figures were not upto my mark.
2.) Exteriors are same as outgoing model
3.) Discounts on Verna (70K)
4.) Tried and tested verna and already one refresh has done in the car by company.
5.) Not as good as Hyundai ASS availability of Honda ASS.
6. I can run my vehicle for 18 months in 70K rupees.

more to come soon on this on its dedicated thread. but initial 100kms report is as:

Drive: Peppy, no turbo lag and refine
Comfort: Yes a light clutch and light steering makes life easy in city
FE: amazing, I got 24.6KMPL for a 50 kms drive today morning on the same route on which my aria used to give 13-14 kmpl. So light on wallet too.

Wish me luck guys for new association.

^^Congrats Tornado78 for your new josh machine. A complete shift from everything A ARIA to A VERNA a flat sedan. Would like to learn more about your experience on transformation from a Crossover to Sedan in your new thread. I wish you all the best with your New Verna buddy !!