Comprehensive Review of Ertiga ZDI. Its ICE and Travelogue

Re: Comprehensive Review of Ertiga ZDI, Its ICE and the Travelogue

Hi Mahi,

Thanks for your detail write-up. I agree with your points.

I have installed a reverse sensor for my Ertiga ZDi - which shows the distance in mts. It's installed on the original rear view mirror. I feel it's useless and I have look back to take reverse every time and the whole purpose of reverse sensor is gone for a waste.

Can you tell me which is best and how much does it cost me? Can we also get reverse sensor and navigation system as one instrument? Please let me know. Thanks.

Thread Starter #77
Re: Ertiga ZDI Ownership Review - A to Z Info Regarding Ertiga

Hi Mahii,

Thanks for all your effort reviewing the Features of this ICE. one thing i found missing is the comparison of audio quality of the device wrt the stock player. bcoz users already using this device complaining poor audio quality wrt the stock one. Please put forward your views in this regard !

thanks
Hi signin16,

The stock speakers are no good and I have plan to replace them along with AMP and sub woofer. But its just doable now.

Thread Starter #78

Thanks for detail writeup especially on ICE. Greatly appreciate ur efforts!!

I also want to put two screens on back of head rest for my kids to watch movies.
Do you know where I can get those in BLR? Any contacts?
Hi radsa,

You can get these additional units fitted at Konark, Jayanagar near east end road. Hope your HU is compatible with adding new screens.

Thread Starter #79

Thanks Mahii how would you compare the third row of Ertiga - are their any niggles/issues for owners to take care of ?
Hi Iron Rock,

The third row seats are very comfy I'm told. It has taken full 3 adults on two of my trips !! of course, they had to jostle around to fit in, but they liked the seating.

One more issue with the third row is that its very loosely fitted and mere push makes the entire 3rd row seating unit move/ply back and forth. But when seated, its ok.

Thread Starter #80

Hi Mahi,

Thanks for your detail write-up. I agree with your points.

I have installed a reverse sensor for my Ertiga ZDi - which shows the distance in mts. It's installed on the original rear view mirror. I feel it's useless and I have look back to take reverse every time and the whole purpose of reverse sensor is gone for a waste.

Can you tell me which is best and how much does it cost me? Can we also get reverse sensor and navigation system as one instrument? Please let me know. Thanks.
Hi Sree Vatsa, you can review my last few pages to get the answer. I've also answered this on Saby's thread as well where you had posted this query.

hi Mahi i am interested in buying a HU like yours,Will it be available in mumbai,and can get it fixed through my MS dealer and what sort of warranty do i will get with the said system

Hi Mahi,

Thanks for your reply. Your sensor and system looks great. Can you suggest a reverse sensor without changing / modifying the music system.

Many Thanks

Thread Starter #83

hi Mahi i am interested in buying a HU like yours,Will it be available in mumbai,and can get it fixed through my MS dealer and what sort of warranty do i will get with the said system
Hi Patkar,

You can the HU from one of the importer who has already supplied to many people on this forum. Pl reach out to him on the phone number advertised.

Swift 2012 Model Head Unit with GPS - Visakhpatnam - DVD - original cd

But you will have to get the HU installed at your local vicinity. Here you need to be little careful as they should not cut any wires as this model comes with all accessories to directly connect it to your Ertiga.

Pl let us know how you go about this journey of adding ICE to your LUV !!

Cheers..Mahi

Thread Starter #84

Hi Mahi,

Thanks for your reply. Your sensor and system looks great. Can you suggest a reverse sensor without changing / modifying the music system.

Many Thanks
Hi Sree,

I suggest you check few places like Konark shop near east end cirlce. They have few pieces and you can check them out.

But beware, this shop guy is bit pricey compared to JC Road shops / or any other automobile shops.

Cheers..mahi

Thread Starter #85

This has happened all the time when I had third row seaters in my Ertiga. While alighting, invariably people have slipped sligtly (that god not fallen off the vehicle) and all of had to literally struggle to get out due to slipper slope of nature of plastic in the marked area. Especially if you are getting in/out with wet shoes/chappals, you are bound to slip and fall. Hence, pl ensure that you are careful during ingress/egress with wet shoes/chappals.

Untitled.jpg

Having said that, my personal view is that MSIL should make the mould such that you have 4-5 inches of flat surface (as shown with red lines) on both sides of the door so that this is issue is addressed. Hope MSIL is reading this thread and will incorporate this suggestion in their next version of Ertiga.

Cheers..Mahi

Thanks Akash. Its supports almost all types of extensions, but most importantly it does not support MP4 yet and instead comes up with error saying codecs not supported. I guess I need to install these drivers on the ICE Windows CE 6.0 OS to get the HU to recognise and play the MP4 files.

It supports the following formats:

Supported Formats: DVD, VCD, CD, MP3, MPEG4, CD-R, WMA, JPEG

Media: DVD, DVD-R, DVD R, DVD-RW, CD, CD-R, CD-RW, MP3, DivX, VCD, SVCD

Hope it helps..thanks
Mahi
Good to know that it supports so many formats unlike many other players which do not play the DivX files.

Thread Starter #87
Dear All,

Here's a comprehensive details on the mileage for all my friends who are interested in "kitna deti hai" [:)]

Ertiga Mileage History.jpg

The green colored area is when I went on a long drive spree of 2000Kms in a weeks time. Got almost 17Kmpl avg.

But otherwise overall avg varies between 16 and 17 for the ZDI.

Haven't been able to put up the travelogue due to time constraint, but will post soon.

Hi Mahi,

I have been reading your thread for quite a while. It was good to see at your excel sheets for doing all the meticulous calculations on deciding for petrol or diesel vehicle or to making record of your mileage and service details. Those were simply superb functional tools [clap].

I wanted to keep record of the mileage and service chart for my Ertiga ZDI. If you can share the excel chart for this purpose, it would be a great help for me and all others who might want to keep track of their vehicle record.

Thread Starter #89
Thanks Harikomma,

Glad you liked the post.

Pl find attached XLS spreadsheet that has almost all details right from decision making factors, Petrol & Diesel dilemmas to mileage, all neatly maintained in one single XLS.

Hope you will find it useful.

Cheers..Mahi

Pl find attached XLS spreadsheet that has almost all details right from decision making factors, Petrol & Diesel dilemmas to mileage, all neatly maintained in one single XLS.
Hi Mahi, thanks for sharing the spreadsheet. However I cannot open it as it is password protected. Kindly share the password or upload a spreadsheet that is not password protected.