Buying a Used Diesel Car - Need Advice

@reelish, liked the bullet and amby logic.

Indigo sedan would be a better buy, but irrespective of make and model OP has to keep RS 50K reservedfor unfore seen expenses.

Here are 2 links which might help you in estimating roughly the repair/refurbishment cost of any car you are buying. Although I have mentioned only about petrol cars on those threads, still I feel its worth having a look at.

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/automotive-shopper/14224-restored-sedans-vs-new-entry-level-hatchbacks.html#post321717

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/automotive-answers/14211-maruti-esteem-full-repair-job-required-new-post.html

Indica Yellow board:
I know that this is the least appealing car of the lot, made for taxi, poor plastics blah blah blah... the fact is "INDICA IS A VALUE FOR MONEY CAR".

The cab type looks
indica cabb.jpg

The same car, modified by someone like us :)
indica m1.jpg

Indica is a car that has withstood the abuse for lakhs of kilometers by thousands of cabbies. Etios/Dzire are not even biting a piece of the total market what Indica has.

If you ignore the cab looks of it. You can buy a Indica diesel yellow board for less than 80000/- and spend about 40000 on it and you have a decent, mileage oriented car. You can use it with yellow board itself, no issues whatsoever.

1. Spares are available everywhere, although they are not of great quality, their price is much lesser than MGP or HGP. Low quality spares at low price.
2. 1.5Lacs is not really enough to get a good diesel car.
3. Used diesel car usually means - ABUSED/OVER USED diesel car
4. No matter who sells a diesel car for less than 2lacs, it will have issues which will drain your money eventually in a year or so.
5. The only reason I am suggesting Indica is because - cabs older than 5yrs are not readily accepted at MNC's etc for tie-ups. Hence their resale value is low.
6. getting FC every year is really not that hard.

If you buy a Indica/Indigo then these are to changed for sure.

1. Front & rear bumpers
2. Remove all mother father god names from the car's windshields
3. Alloys (as existing rims will no where look like a circle)
4. Seat sponges & seat covers
5. Headlamps & tail lamps
6. Glow plugs (4nos)
7. Disc/disc brake pads
8. A major service to engine - 15K (replace a few gaskets, few valves, clean the engine, replace timing belt etc)
9. Drive shafts

You should be able to use the car for say about 20,000kms before you get any other major issues. However all this depends on the condition of the car.

Here is a link to a Indica for sale, I just saw in olx just now.
I want 2 sell my indica dlx urgently - Bangalore - Cars - Chandra Layout

Indica is really not that bad as people perceive, your budget will easily fit buying+servicing the Indica/ may be even Indigo. Most new diesel cars in India come with Fiat 1.3MJD engine, so these cars will be priced higher than actual value.

Please skip
1. Palio D (1.9 I guess) - spares are a nightmare, but car is built like a vault (rock solid)
2. Ford Ikon Diesel - Spares are easily available, but too costly.
3. Esteem & Zen Diesel - They came with a Peugeot engine, spares can be troublesome

Note: Images downloaded from google.

@SS80

Nice info and YES that is what is missing on Indica,Indigo,Manza the sharp and flat bonnet[:)] Yes Indica is still a VFM car

@SS80

Nice info and YES that is what is missing on Indica,Indigo,Manza the sharp and flat bonnet[:)] Yes Indica is still a VFM car
+100 SS80 & Gurrala

Indica is the most cheap diesel car in India and VFM too. only problem is low quality parts in the car.
I am really tempted to buy the new V2 LS BS 3 for the 4.3 lakh on road price here.it is still pending because of my less usage(600km monthly) and the fact that i miss the sudden acceleration in my esteem.
It has a good resale value too. My friend bought one new V2 DLS on march 2009 at less than 4 lakh on road.He used it for rent a car and sold just 6 months before at 2.35 lakhs. The car run around 1 lakh Km and the main parts replaced was front suspension, glow plugs and clutch i remember.

OT- Its my 500th post[:D]

@ Gurrala74 - Yes, there are a lot of scary stories about Hyundai Accent, so that is out of the picture. I guess I will look at Indicas. Skoda parts are expensive. I am no good at politics, even my family members are better at it than me![surprise]

@ Releesh - I will shortlist Indica, Lancer from your list and add Sierra to it![;)]

@ Fahad - Thanks for the advise, will stay away from Accent.

@ Gurrala74 - Yes, there are a lot of scary stories about Hyundai Accent, so that is out of the picture. I guess I will look at Indicas. Skoda parts are expensive. I am no good at politics, even my family members are better at it than me![surprise]

@ Releesh - I will shortlist Indica, Lancer from your list and add Sierra to it![;)]

@ Fahad - Thanks for the advise, will stay away from Accent.
One thing to check on the lancer is rust.Especially the underbody and suspension mounts.Lancer parts are expensive too.

Sir, please avoid buying a car that is not in production. It is not about spare parts alone, later if you fall in love with it, its a big struggle to get the cosmetic parts, as used ones wont satisfy us, new ones wont be available [surprise]

Ha Ha. I like that. My Esteem is an example. This car was just 7 year old. Now it is tough to get the body/ light parts in MGP itself.
Tried to buy 2 fog lamps.Got left side one, right side was not available.waited for 3 months.later bought another left side one and fixed removed the light and fixed in the old one's stay. Now water getting inside.Rs.1250 is the price for one in MGP.

Door glass beedings not available in MGP. If we booked that, all 4 door beedings we have to buy from MGP. I had to replace one, bought one from outside at Rs.950 before 2 months and now glass getting stuked on that.

Releesh, I can try to source these parts from MGP over here.Maybe someone is having the stock.Let me know what you need.

Thanks jar pickle.

may be i need one door beeding/all four within next Month. I shall contact MGP once again. If not available will need your help.
Zenandenfield @
Sorry for the OT