Hello guys.
First of all, a very happy New Year to each one of you. This thread is on a serious matter which invites active participation and action. I have deliberately kept the content short to keep the reader's interest intact throughout. Otherwise, seeing the extent and spread of this issue, writing 3-4 pages on this won't be a big deal.
Image Source
With this thread, I aim to change the mindset of all my readers and request them to understand the extent of this issue and behave like a sane human with valuable things to do in life. On this New Year, nothing would be better than a resolution of "Being Kind To Animals".
What is Animal Abuse?
Animal abuse, in simple terms, is torturing an animal knowingly or unknowingly. In India, dogs, cats, cows, buffaloes, horses, donkeys and even monkeys are hot-favorites among some heartless morons who perform these cruel shameful acts. There have been many cases of animals being tortured/abused/killed by humans. Animal abuse means causing discomfort or pain to a defence-less animal. In India, stray animal population is considerably more and as expected, animal abise takes place more often. Just because they can't fight back or raise their voice, poor animals are tied up, beaten, starved, killed, attacked, harmed, legs/ears/tails cut, electrocuted, captured, shot and what not! Such abuse often goes unnoticed in Metro cities where urbanisation has created a mask over these problems. People are least bothered.
Animal abuse often takes the form prolonged torture in India, as laws for protection are not known to everyone and are not as strict as they should be. People are least bothered about innocent animals and treat them very badly. This gives a safe place for some heartless people to vent out their frustration, anger or say madness over these poor animals.
Animal Protection Laws
Source
Rescue Organisations
There are several rescue organisations all over India who work for this cause. I have had first hand experience with PETA, Kamdhenu Mangar Parivar and PFA Faridabad : and I must say that experience was very smooth and gave a proud feeling! The people in these organisations are co-operative, just like we have like-minded enthusiasts amongst us in TAI. Listing the websites and contact numbers of some organisations in NCR and around for reference, which I found alreadg compiled in a site :
Source
What YOU Can Do
Image Source
On your part, you can promise your inner self NOT to make an animal's state worse if you can't improve it. One can keep the contact details of animal rescue teams in handy and report any cases that need attention. If the animal's condition is critical, or it needs immediate attention, you can consider taking it safely to the nearest rescue centre or vet. If the animal involved can't be transferred without the help of a special team (due to its size or behaviour), consider staying with it till help arrives. You can take care of stray animals in your locality, and provide food, water and some warm rags or clothes. If possible, you must discourage all known ones from paying huge amounts for *buying* an animal and influence them to adopt a stray instead. Do not let people harm an animal. Instead of being a spectator, raise your voice and take a stand for these poor creatures. Remember, you are equally involved in a crime happening in front of your eyes if you do nothing about it.
Circus is another major site of animal abuse. Elephants, monkeys, parrots, etc. are mostly treated badly behind the stage. If we stop visiting these places of animal torture, we will donate our bit in stopping abuse. Some rituals say that animals need to sacrificed to God, which I am totally against. Even I belong to Uttarakhand, where these rituals were followed till a few years back, after which animal sacrifice was banned. Next thing is eating animal meat. If we start one by one (by not consuming non-vegetarian food), then only we can bring an end to animal murder. Just because it tastes good or gives more energy, we cannot sacrifice the lives of poor innocent animals for their meat. With these few good practices in our minds, let us start this new year with a good motive.
Some Aminal Abuse Cases
1. Cruelty to animals on the rise - The Hindu
2. This Guy Tortures A Dog & Posts The Video Online. Who
3. This Haryana Man Throws His Dog Into Illegal Dog-Fights And Then Shows Off Its Bloodied Pictures On FB For Likes!
4. Cruelty in pet shops: Plea to law panel for rules - Times of India
5. https://www.pinterest.com/jmnprb/horses-on-the-job/
6. Two arrested for killing and eating neighbour's pet dog | Latest News & Updates at Daily News & Analysis
7. Banned langurs continue for monkey business | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
8. Peace for Animals Welfare Association
9. Video -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdHOnz_iNWY
10. Video -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwFEBengVOY
First of all, a very happy New Year to each one of you. This thread is on a serious matter which invites active participation and action. I have deliberately kept the content short to keep the reader's interest intact throughout. Otherwise, seeing the extent and spread of this issue, writing 3-4 pages on this won't be a big deal.
Image Source
With this thread, I aim to change the mindset of all my readers and request them to understand the extent of this issue and behave like a sane human with valuable things to do in life. On this New Year, nothing would be better than a resolution of "Being Kind To Animals".
What is Animal Abuse?
Animal abuse, in simple terms, is torturing an animal knowingly or unknowingly. In India, dogs, cats, cows, buffaloes, horses, donkeys and even monkeys are hot-favorites among some heartless morons who perform these cruel shameful acts. There have been many cases of animals being tortured/abused/killed by humans. Animal abuse means causing discomfort or pain to a defence-less animal. In India, stray animal population is considerably more and as expected, animal abise takes place more often. Just because they can't fight back or raise their voice, poor animals are tied up, beaten, starved, killed, attacked, harmed, legs/ears/tails cut, electrocuted, captured, shot and what not! Such abuse often goes unnoticed in Metro cities where urbanisation has created a mask over these problems. People are least bothered.
Animal abuse often takes the form prolonged torture in India, as laws for protection are not known to everyone and are not as strict as they should be. People are least bothered about innocent animals and treat them very badly. This gives a safe place for some heartless people to vent out their frustration, anger or say madness over these poor animals.
Animal Protection Laws
The Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960 was amended in the year 1982.
According to the newly amended Indian animal welfare act, 2011 cruelty to animals is an offence and is punishable with a fine which shall not be less than ten thousand Rupees, which may extend to twenty five thousand Rupees or with imprisonment up to two years or both in the case of a first offence. In the case of second or subsequent offence, with a fine which shall not be less than fifty thousand Rupees, but may extend to one lakh Rupees and with imprisonment with a term which shall not be less than one year but may extend to three years.
Many organizations, including ones such as the local SPCA, PFA and Fosterdopt are actively involved in assisting the general population in reporting cruelty cases to the police and helping bring the perpetrator to justice. Due to this, much of change has been observed through the subcontinent.
According to the newly amended Indian animal welfare act, 2011 cruelty to animals is an offence and is punishable with a fine which shall not be less than ten thousand Rupees, which may extend to twenty five thousand Rupees or with imprisonment up to two years or both in the case of a first offence. In the case of second or subsequent offence, with a fine which shall not be less than fifty thousand Rupees, but may extend to one lakh Rupees and with imprisonment with a term which shall not be less than one year but may extend to three years.
Many organizations, including ones such as the local SPCA, PFA and Fosterdopt are actively involved in assisting the general population in reporting cruelty cases to the police and helping bring the perpetrator to justice. Due to this, much of change has been observed through the subcontinent.
Rescue Organisations
There are several rescue organisations all over India who work for this cause. I have had first hand experience with PETA, Kamdhenu Mangar Parivar and PFA Faridabad : and I must say that experience was very smooth and gave a proud feeling! The people in these organisations are co-operative, just like we have like-minded enthusiasts amongst us in TAI. Listing the websites and contact numbers of some organisations in NCR and around for reference, which I found alreadg compiled in a site :
1. Wildlife Rescue (Chawri Bazaar, Old Delhi)-98100-29698, 98101-29698, 98106-39698 – contact preferably for injuries in birds like Kites, Hawks, Eagles and other non-veg eating birds with dehydration based injuries or cut wings (due to kite strings or maanjas) requiring stitches
2. Jain Charity Bird Hospital, Delhi: Shri Digamber Jain Lal Mandir Ji, Opposite Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, Delhi – 110006. Contact Numbers: +91 9810016162, +91 9968855520
3. Jain Charity Bird Hospital, Gurgaon: Near Govt Girls School, St Jain Mandir, Gurgaon, Gurgaon – 122001 : Phone: +91 9213922978, +91 9818564624, +91 9810387093, +91 9136148361, +91 9311217325 Landline: 0124-3201740
4. Police 100; Fire: 101: Police and Fire Rescue Service also direct wildlife related calls to respective NGOs.
5. Wildlife Rescue (For Kites/Eagles and other non-vegetarian birds; located at Old Delhi): 98100 29698
6. Wildlife SOS (For all wildlife Located at Defence Colony in South Delhi): 98719 63535; 011- 2462 1939, 2464 4231
7. Friendicoes (Under Defence Colony flyover, South Delhi): 24 hour Ambulance Service: 98733 02580; 011-011- 24320707 and 011- 24314787
8. Friendicoes also runs, both, the Ghazipur Veterinary Hospital based Street Dog ABC Unit and Tilangpur Kotla based Street Dog ABC (Animal Birth Control) Unit, South West Delhi, near Najafgarh. Contact persons: Mr. Rishipal (ambulance contact ) – 8527192714, Dr. Rajesh – 9996904043
9. Animal India Trust (Lajpat Nagar, South Delhi): Dr. Devi: 93138 84347, 98112 52592; 011-5566 9924
This is primarily a Street Dog ABC Unit and a Clinic. Animal India Trust also runs a Street dog ABC unit at Tughlaqabad Veterinary Hospital.
10. Sanjay Gandhi Animal Care Centre (Raja Garden, West Delhi): 93122 11134, 011-2544 7751, 2544 8062
11. Sonadi Charitable Trust (Najafgarh): Mrs. Sen (C.R Park): 011- 26275216, 92121 31218; 9212797693; Dr. Vijay (Clinic at Ramesh Nagar, West Delhi): 98100 54693; Dr. Inder (Vet at Dwarka): 98103 46793
12. Jeevashram (Rajokri, Near Gurgaon): 011-2506 3696, 2506 4114, 2506 4118
PAWS (Masoodpur, Vasant Kunj, South Delhi): Dr. R.T Sharma: 98100 36254; 011 2689 5737
13. People for Animals -PFA Delhi Headquarters, Delhi: 011-2335 5883, 2335 7088, 2335 9241
14. Kamdhenu Mangal Parivaar (Free 24×7 Cow Ambulance Ambulance with doctor on board): 7503777888
15. Choudhary Mohinder Singh Tokas (operates from Munirka): 98103 05197, 96502 22787, 98103 94051
16. Dhyan Foundation: 9999 099 423
17. Love for Cows: 98184 34399
18. Just be Friendly (JBF India: Kotla Mubarakpur, Delhi): Dr. Shashanka: 011-2469 1181, 98182 41962
19. PFA Faridabad (Sector 55, Faridabad) :Mr. Ravi Dubey:9213961501, 9891816357
Voice of Voiceless Society, Faridabad
Website: https://www.facebook.com/voiceofvoicelesssociety, T: +91 9810268665
20. PFA Gurgaon: 9811703501
21. PFA Haryana: 98130 10595
22. PFA Sadhrana, Gurgaon: Ph. 0124 – 2276502, 98188 38628; Dr. Pandey : 93122 89628
23. Friendicoes Ambulance Service at Gurgaon: 9582337671, 9811324649
24. SPCA Noida, Animal Hospital, Helpline: 9818085256
25. PFA (People for Animals) Raj Nagar extn, near Nandi park, Ghaziabad, Ms. Sumeidha Iyer, Ph.:9910821629,9212548047
26. PFA Ghaziabad: Mrs. Ashima Sunil Swaminathan (nee Ashima Sharma), Ph. 98109 23679, 0120- 4122100, 93120 68152
27. POSH Foundation at Ghaziabad.
Website: http://www.poshfoundation.in Tel: +91 9716558043,+91 9953440509
28. Fauna Police (Sarojini Nagar, Delhi) – 9212-11111-6, 98683-55222
2. Jain Charity Bird Hospital, Delhi: Shri Digamber Jain Lal Mandir Ji, Opposite Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, Delhi – 110006. Contact Numbers: +91 9810016162, +91 9968855520
3. Jain Charity Bird Hospital, Gurgaon: Near Govt Girls School, St Jain Mandir, Gurgaon, Gurgaon – 122001 : Phone: +91 9213922978, +91 9818564624, +91 9810387093, +91 9136148361, +91 9311217325 Landline: 0124-3201740
4. Police 100; Fire: 101: Police and Fire Rescue Service also direct wildlife related calls to respective NGOs.
5. Wildlife Rescue (For Kites/Eagles and other non-vegetarian birds; located at Old Delhi): 98100 29698
6. Wildlife SOS (For all wildlife Located at Defence Colony in South Delhi): 98719 63535; 011- 2462 1939, 2464 4231
7. Friendicoes (Under Defence Colony flyover, South Delhi): 24 hour Ambulance Service: 98733 02580; 011-011- 24320707 and 011- 24314787
8. Friendicoes also runs, both, the Ghazipur Veterinary Hospital based Street Dog ABC Unit and Tilangpur Kotla based Street Dog ABC (Animal Birth Control) Unit, South West Delhi, near Najafgarh. Contact persons: Mr. Rishipal (ambulance contact ) – 8527192714, Dr. Rajesh – 9996904043
9. Animal India Trust (Lajpat Nagar, South Delhi): Dr. Devi: 93138 84347, 98112 52592; 011-5566 9924
This is primarily a Street Dog ABC Unit and a Clinic. Animal India Trust also runs a Street dog ABC unit at Tughlaqabad Veterinary Hospital.
10. Sanjay Gandhi Animal Care Centre (Raja Garden, West Delhi): 93122 11134, 011-2544 7751, 2544 8062
11. Sonadi Charitable Trust (Najafgarh): Mrs. Sen (C.R Park): 011- 26275216, 92121 31218; 9212797693; Dr. Vijay (Clinic at Ramesh Nagar, West Delhi): 98100 54693; Dr. Inder (Vet at Dwarka): 98103 46793
12. Jeevashram (Rajokri, Near Gurgaon): 011-2506 3696, 2506 4114, 2506 4118
PAWS (Masoodpur, Vasant Kunj, South Delhi): Dr. R.T Sharma: 98100 36254; 011 2689 5737
13. People for Animals -PFA Delhi Headquarters, Delhi: 011-2335 5883, 2335 7088, 2335 9241
14. Kamdhenu Mangal Parivaar (Free 24×7 Cow Ambulance Ambulance with doctor on board): 7503777888
15. Choudhary Mohinder Singh Tokas (operates from Munirka): 98103 05197, 96502 22787, 98103 94051
16. Dhyan Foundation: 9999 099 423
17. Love for Cows: 98184 34399
18. Just be Friendly (JBF India: Kotla Mubarakpur, Delhi): Dr. Shashanka: 011-2469 1181, 98182 41962
19. PFA Faridabad (Sector 55, Faridabad) :Mr. Ravi Dubey:9213961501, 9891816357
Voice of Voiceless Society, Faridabad
Website: https://www.facebook.com/voiceofvoicelesssociety, T: +91 9810268665
20. PFA Gurgaon: 9811703501
21. PFA Haryana: 98130 10595
22. PFA Sadhrana, Gurgaon: Ph. 0124 – 2276502, 98188 38628; Dr. Pandey : 93122 89628
23. Friendicoes Ambulance Service at Gurgaon: 9582337671, 9811324649
24. SPCA Noida, Animal Hospital, Helpline: 9818085256
25. PFA (People for Animals) Raj Nagar extn, near Nandi park, Ghaziabad, Ms. Sumeidha Iyer, Ph.:9910821629,9212548047
26. PFA Ghaziabad: Mrs. Ashima Sunil Swaminathan (nee Ashima Sharma), Ph. 98109 23679, 0120- 4122100, 93120 68152
27. POSH Foundation at Ghaziabad.
Website: http://www.poshfoundation.in Tel: +91 9716558043,+91 9953440509
28. Fauna Police (Sarojini Nagar, Delhi) – 9212-11111-6, 98683-55222
What YOU Can Do
Image Source
On your part, you can promise your inner self NOT to make an animal's state worse if you can't improve it. One can keep the contact details of animal rescue teams in handy and report any cases that need attention. If the animal's condition is critical, or it needs immediate attention, you can consider taking it safely to the nearest rescue centre or vet. If the animal involved can't be transferred without the help of a special team (due to its size or behaviour), consider staying with it till help arrives. You can take care of stray animals in your locality, and provide food, water and some warm rags or clothes. If possible, you must discourage all known ones from paying huge amounts for *buying* an animal and influence them to adopt a stray instead. Do not let people harm an animal. Instead of being a spectator, raise your voice and take a stand for these poor creatures. Remember, you are equally involved in a crime happening in front of your eyes if you do nothing about it.
Circus is another major site of animal abuse. Elephants, monkeys, parrots, etc. are mostly treated badly behind the stage. If we stop visiting these places of animal torture, we will donate our bit in stopping abuse. Some rituals say that animals need to sacrificed to God, which I am totally against. Even I belong to Uttarakhand, where these rituals were followed till a few years back, after which animal sacrifice was banned. Next thing is eating animal meat. If we start one by one (by not consuming non-vegetarian food), then only we can bring an end to animal murder. Just because it tastes good or gives more energy, we cannot sacrifice the lives of poor innocent animals for their meat. With these few good practices in our minds, let us start this new year with a good motive.
Some Aminal Abuse Cases
1. Cruelty to animals on the rise - The Hindu
2. This Guy Tortures A Dog & Posts The Video Online. Who
3. This Haryana Man Throws His Dog Into Illegal Dog-Fights And Then Shows Off Its Bloodied Pictures On FB For Likes!
4. Cruelty in pet shops: Plea to law panel for rules - Times of India
5. https://www.pinterest.com/jmnprb/horses-on-the-job/
6. Two arrested for killing and eating neighbour's pet dog | Latest News & Updates at Daily News & Analysis
7. Banned langurs continue for monkey business | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
8. Peace for Animals Welfare Association
![](/forums/proxy.php?image=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.theautomotiveindia.com%2Fforums%2Fimages%2Fimported%2F2016%2F01%2F1.jpg&hash=66bb56584912ee92d0cc920e5cfe32d3)
9. Video -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdHOnz_iNWY
10. Video -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwFEBengVOY