Want a Low Budget Used Car For Wife

Yes swift has very bad nose/side view and the seat is also placed low adding to worse.

Grand i10 is new compared to i10 and I guess you will not get one in used market.

I would prefer WagonR/Estilo (K Series) compared to i10.
Thanks for your imputs, What makes you rate WagonR Above i10? I feel Hyundai cars are much more of a package better than maruti ones (Esp 2010~2011 models) regarding Looks, gadgetry, Ergonomics etc

I understand the road conditions is not so good in oyur area so I would suggest go for a car with minimum 180 mm ground clearance and 15 inch tyre I think I saw some quantos on OLX from Nasik, Aurangabad that would fit in your budget. I would suggest go for this vehicle
Thank you, But it feels difficult to get 180mm+ GC in this catagory and price range. 180mm is XUV500 or Duster catagory and I already have XUV500.

Why dont you go for Hyundai Santro Xing. That fits in to your budget. It has good ground clearance and good seating height too.
Santro I feel is an outdated model and is no match for newer stuff like eon, i10
Also, most of Santros available used are 5 year+ Old models and could be prone to niggles and issues

I know they are saying pricing around 6 lacks but there are no buyers at that price If you negotiate I am sure you can get a Quanto C4 model at around 4.5 lacks I you are open try for mumbai cars over there the market is big so you can get more options and negotiations are very much possible if possible try to avoid brokers and contact direct owners
I had preference for Quanto, but after reading news I came to know that it has a Top-heavy feel and Tyres are too small for a car its size. Middle row does not Fold (Old models) and such small buggers. Mahindra is putting 2 new Mini-SUV next year, which wil make my Quanto purchase a Duck.

none of the hatchbacks has a good ground clearance. why don't you try the used mahindra logan. it gives you a excellent mileage and spacious sedan.
Will think, Thanks
I second that Santro, Wagon R , Nano all have good GC and very high driving position which gives new learners an advantage.

If you are OK with Quanto try to get an used one, which should be realistically around 4.5-5 lacs (2 year old model).
Too many recommendations about santro. Hmm....Someone explain me.
I am no going for Nano for its Cartoonish Image (The face looks like some Fish!) and reliablity issues. Also, I am unsure of its safety in case of crash

I would suggest to go for the following in orders:
Wagon R
i10 (manual preferred but automatic will be better for learners)
Figo

I wont recommend Quanto as its bigger than the above ones which may cause discomfort for learners in crowded street and also poor resale value too.
I'm in market for Manual shifters only.
Please mention whats better in WagonR than i10? I'm reading it second time.
OK, I am dropping Quanto Finally
One good thing I want to learn from your thread is which car has less blind spots. Also thank you for the information that girls do not like the cars like swift/Ritz for thier big dash which will be a problem for visibility and has many blind spots the subject which never came into my mind so far, but I agree with you about the blind spots of Ritz and the worst is the A pillar driver side.

Keeping the blind spots thing a side as I do not know which car has more and less, my advise would be either go for Wagon R OR a New Nano which tick most of your requirements except the diesel which I feel not suitable for the criteria you mentioned.
About the Blind spots, an Incident came to my Mind.
In Bhopal, I drove my Uncle's Ritz. I had my own XUV500 parked up, But as i was visiting traffic ares, I thought, why not take this "Small car" compared to SUV... WRONG! Ritz is horrible to drive in Traffic due to Big Dash (Which is sort of baloon shaped and blocks close view). I did sweat more in Ritz than i would have in my XUV. Wrong decision that day.

The Pillars are so thick that Kids/ Motor cycles can just dissapear in that area and you drive by pure luck. Same with Rear view (fish like rear bumper) and CO-driver side view. Swift is Just as worse. Very poor design by Suzuki!

In those years, I had suggested Hyundai Getz to my Uncle over Ritz.

For the Diesel, I feel Turbo Diesels have more Grunt and are more fun to drive if you love shifting gears!

Hiii , I wanted to know why you hate Honda brand. I drive car a Honda daily and at 70,000 it is still like new.
If you a want car with less blind spots see Zen Estilo or Zantro.
Honda ASS is very far to me and their spares are tooo Costly. Experience with my Uncle's Honda City. Plus they have a much too stiff ride over bad roads.

Santro I feel is an outdated model and is no match for newer stuff like eon, i10
Also, most of Santros available used are 5 year+ Old models and could be prone to niggles and issues

Too many recommendations about santro. Hmm....Someone explain me.
I am no going for Nano for its Cartoonish Image (The face looks like some Fish!) and reliablity issues. Also, I am unsure of its safety in case of crash
Lookwise Santro is far appealing than Eon. I own a santro that has just completed 5 yrs. No issues at all. It all depends on how one maintains his/her car.

Folks, I did some market reseach online, and I see-
Models 2009 and Newer.

Alto 1.5~1.8 lac
Wagon R 1.8~2.5 Lac
Hyundai i10 3 lac
Hyundai i20 petrol 5.5 lac
Hyundai i10 Grand- 5.5 lac

What do you guys think? Are prices OK?

I also rang up my friend who is at Hyundai ASS. He said He'll find something for me, he does not have a used car in view right now.

Folks, I did some market reseach online, and I see-
Models 2009 and Newer.

Alto 1.5~1.8 lac
Wagon R 1.8~2.5 Lac
Hyundai i10 3 lac
Hyundai i20 petrol 5.5 lac
Hyundai i10 Grand- 5.5 lac

What do you guys think? Are prices OK?

I also rang up my friend who is at Hyundai ASS. He said He'll find something for me, he does not have a used car in view right now.
Prices look to be reasonable. Before buying the car, i would suggest you to take a known mechanic alongside for inspecting the car.

Hyundais are always costly. And their maintenance is also expensive.

Wagon R - Only go for 2010+ models with K Series engine. You can try Estilo also which will be cheaper than Wagon R, with same engine.

Hi bhvm
Congratulations on your car . Is it diesel ?
Hoping you have trouble free ownership.

Drive Safe .
Thanks ankit.
The car is a Petrol. Diesels overshot my budget by atleast 2 lac.
Congrats on your purchase which model is it ? Is it AT ?

i10 (except Grand) never came in diesel [anger]
The Model is absolute Top end i10. The condition is almost new and it would be hard to tell its a used car sitting insde. The model is with ABS, Air Bag and a little surprise....
Its Manual (My girl did'nt want AT)

Oh sorry i forgot .[embarass]:sorry:

BTW Thanks Anshuman8 for telling me .

Ankit
yeah, Automotive Manufacturers are not focusing on Diesel small cars. What a shame.

I want to start an ownership review thread soon! keep your eyes peeled.

The Model is absolute Top end i10. The condition is almost new and it would be hard to tell its a used car sitting insde. The model is with ABS, Air Bag and a little surprise....
Its Manual (My girl did'nt want AT)
This is good deal, good you did not get i10 AT as they are absolute fuel guzzlers.

Here are some teaser pics to ogle while i compose my review.
Till then, I'll let you play GUESS THE PRICE game. Bring it on!

Well Frankly bhvm I don't believe its second hand if steering wheel could have been better .
The price would be around 5 lakhs or 4 lakhs