Right let's talk bout
spokes , now,
Main factor why indian ppl put alloys on their rides is for
looks, well a majority of them.
1) Choose the spokes pattern you like they are all manufactured in a real
hardcore way, i saw a footage of alloys on Discovery once, i remember,
2) No. of spokes
hardly has anything to with strength of alloys, because it's the material
3) The lesser the number of spokes the easier it is to maintain them. (i.e. clean, wash etc...)
4) A spokier design (i personally like multi-spokes),it may be slightly difficult to maintain them, but when ur ride's rollin on the road, they work like real spinners man, especially the chrome ones.
5) (i)
Chrome alloys are the ones that attracts the customer's mind the most, buy Chrome alloys only and only if u live in some paush area, or the car doesn't travel much in rainy, waterlogged areas, (i.e because the salty water corrodes chrome electroplater layer very fast).
(ii) Chrome alloys require maintainance atleast a month, u some nice chrome polish, if u intend to put chromes. Reputed Chrome alloys would cost you atleast
Rs.14000 for DZire.
Other option is you can go for machined alloys, they are silver ones, or carbon alloys, greyish black or complete black ones. They should be starting at around Rs.10000 of a set of 4,
(iii) If chrome starts to erode off, it can be electroplated again but then it's the whole wheel and not just the scratched part, and mind it this is real expensive job. and not readily available with every alloys dealer.
6)
Alignment of alloy wheeled ride, doesn't depend on the number of spokes alloys has, it depends on the alloy wheel size and weight.
And finally a
myth about alloy wheels, that people have
"Yaar alloys se gaadi heavy ho jayegi aur mileage bhi kam degi, kya faayda ???"
And the
truth behind :- Alloy Wheels are somewhat lighter than steel rims, coz of the light material used and secondly mileage factor doesn't depend on the alloys, it depends on how much wide ur tyres are.
Sorry, i answered some chrome answers too, which u didn't ask, but i felt, u are worth helpin