The Tata Aria: Family Adventure

What clutch plate change every 15000 kms? Clutch plates lasts upto 1 lakh kms. A little less for only city driven cars and a lot less for clutch riders. BUT not 15000 kms.
I would have thought so; that is been told to me by SA, now i don't know if there is a underlying message from them to get into their AMC.

Hi do you also own a pureLX ?
Yeah. I bought mine in May 2014. It is Refreshed version.
From whatever discussions i had with a TML engineer., clutch should last min 1 lakh. The sales person for Concorde bangalore told me , clutch has a warranty of 70K if the services are done at TASS.
But i do not find and mention of that in service manual. As per manual warranty is 1 lakh or 3 years. Plus 1.5 lakhs/3 years on engine and all its components
No mention of 25 K warranty of clutch anywhere in the manual

Yeah. I bought mine in May 2014. It is Refreshed version.
From whatever discussions i had with a TML engineer., clutch should last min 1 lakh. The sales person for Concorde bangalore told me , clutch has a warranty of 70K if the services are done at TASS.
But i do not find and mention of that in service manual. As per manual warranty is 1 lakh or 3 years. Plus 1.5 lakhs/3 years on engine and all its components
No mention of 25 K warranty of clutch anywhere in the manual
I want your view on storme and aria.

Earlier we use to replace the spares only when it starts misbehave while driving. But now, its totally different. Service guys make the owners to get into fear mode of what is going to happen if they are not going to replace it.
Everything depends on your driving style and the environment you driving. Car usage on the highways cant be compared to the City usage. But i see both type of cars spare change are getting replaced at the same interval. Even there were many cars still running on the Stock clutch after 1 lakh kilometers.

I want your view on storme and aria.
ARIA ride quality is better than Storme. But storme has better snob value and hence the resale price. Storme tends to nosedive on hard braking.

ARIA is much more comfortable than storme.

Storme may be having more luggage space than ARIA

I have not taken any AMC as it is waste in my opinion. Car has 4 free services upto 30K Km. In 30KM period there are only two services where one has to change engine oil, oil filter etc. I do not think it will cost more than 12-14K for both the services. For any other problem warranty of 1 lakh Km or 3 years is there. so why worry?

Clutch, brake pads, other consumables are not covered in warranty. If you take AMC everything will be covered till the validity of AMC.

I have clutch problem in my manza from 2012, in service center they say it will cost 15k and no guarantee if it does not make any difference. If AMC was in action then the story would have been the other way.

Only GOLD AMC covers everything.

One more thing in ARIA, if the clutch is not used properly, it damages the flywheel and repair cost can go upto 30k.

This expensive clutch was for first gen ARIA which came with a dual mass flywheel.The present model comes with a single mass flywheel.

Clutch, brake pads, other consumables are not covered in warranty. If you take AMC everything will be covered till the validity of AMC.

I have clutch problem in my manza from 2012, in service center they say it will cost 15k and no guarantee if it does not make any difference. If AMC was in action then the story would have been the other way.

Only GOLD AMC covers everything.

Service centre has taken you for a ride. Any part changed in TASS will have 1 year warranty on labour and parts.

Manza and Vista have same gear box. clutch costs around 5K with CRB. labour is 1200/ i had changed my vista clutch at 84K at TASS in March 2014. this is what i had paid.

New ARIA clutch is from LUK, Germany. it has a minimum life of 1 lakh KM as told to me by TML engineer. If all the services are done as TASS, TATA will change it till 70K Km.( not in warranty booklet, but what was told to me by Concorde guy who went for pre launch briefing)

Gold AMC will cost you much more than the cost of the parts. I do not have the brake pads cost, but i can post them shortly. Now a days all TASS are prominently displaying the parts and labour costs

My vista brake pads lasted 54K. ARIA has all 4 discss, hence braking will be better than Vista , so i expect the pads to last at least similar distance.

Almost all AMC packages have duration limit like 2 years/ 30K Km. It is highly unlikely that brake pads, clutch will go within 30K KM. if it is so, then they do come under warranty.

I think brake pads, shocks, clutch will have a minimum of 24-30K warranty

Service centre has taken you for a ride. Any part changed in TASS will have 1 year warranty on labour and parts.

Manza and Vista have same gear box. clutch costs around 5K with CRB. labour is 1200/ i had changed my vista clutch at 84K at TASS in March 2014. this is what i had paid.

New ARIA clutch is from LUK, Germany. it has a minimum life of 1 lakh KM as told to me by TML engineer. If all the services are done as TASS, TATA will change it till 70K Km.( not in warranty booklet, but what was told to me by Concorde guy who went for pre launch briefing)

Gold AMC will cost you much more than the cost of the parts. I do not have the brake pads cost, but i can post them shortly. Now a days all TASS are prominently displaying the parts and labour costs

My vista brake pads lasted 54K. ARIA has all 4 discss, hence braking will be better than Vista , so i expect the pads to last at least similar distance.

Almost all AMC packages have duration limit like 2 years/ 30K Km. It is highly unlikely that brake pads, clutch will go within 30K KM. if it is so, then they do come under warranty.

I think brake pads, shocks, clutch will have a minimum of 24-30K warranty
I am no agent, i was thinking to alert you, since you are yet to get used to tata service centers. you have certain understandings which you prove to be right and i do not want to discourage you, it is your vehicle not mine[;)], so why should i care so much[confused]. As a forum member have shared all the information.

I have already changed 2 brake pads set and running on third right now for my manza which has run 57k. The whole clutch assembly will cost close to 15k approximately. I have the chart and can share the same.

I am no agent, i was thinking to alert you, since you are yet to get used to tata service centers. you have certain understandings which you prove to be right and i do not want to discourage you, it is your vehicle not mine[;)], so why should i care so much[confused]. As a forum member have shared all the information.

I have already changed 2 brake pads set and running on third right now for my manza which has run 57k. The whole clutch assembly will cost close to 15k approximately. I have the chart and can share the same.
Thanks for the advise.
Iam fully aware of TASS condition. I have owned Vista for close to 6 years and it has run 92K. It was sold for 2.7 and i bought ARIA.
My experience is clutch lasted 84K( changed voluntarily as a long trip in due) I can share clutch bill 5K ( clutch+CRB) + 1200 labour
Brake pads lasted 54K. Wiper blades lasted 55K
I have changed front shocks voluntarily at 75K just before along trip
Aprt from this the major expenses are clutch MC at 80K, Poly V belt also at 80K tie rods, ball joints at aoround 80K.
My service expenses till 45K are very negligible.
All services till 92 were done at Concorde, Hosur road, bangalore

Thanks for the advise.
Iam fully aware of TASS condition. I have owned Vista for close to 6 years and it has run 92K. It was sold for 2.7 and i bought ARIA.
My experience is clutch lasted 84K( changed voluntarily as a long trip in due) I can share clutch bill 5K ( clutch+CRB) + 1200 labour
Brake pads lasted 54K. Wiper blades lasted 55K
I have changed front shocks voluntarily at 75K just before along trip
Aprt from this the major expenses are clutch MC at 80K, Poly V belt also at 80K tie rods, ball joints at aoround 80K.
My service expenses till 45K are very negligible.
All services till 92 were done at Concorde, Hosur road, bangalore
I too had a vista (2010 model Limited edition with tan and black roof sold in 2013 and bought POLO GT TSI) which had clutch replacement but still the clutch was very hard. Overall experience with Tata ASS is below average hence cancelled a recent purchase of 2 aria's for my business. But still thinking as i am getting with Gold AMC for 10.65lacs.

Please do post the interior pic with the music system.

I too had a vista (2010 model Limited edition with tan and black roof sold in 2013 and bought POLO GT TSI) which had clutch replacement but still the clutch was very hard. Overall experience with Tata ASS is below average hence cancelled a recent purchase of 2 aria's for my business. But still thinking as i am getting with Gold AMC for 10.65lacs.

Please do post the interior pic with the music system.
How it is 10.65 with gold AMC for ARIA? which version?
Mine cost me 11.4 without any AMC.
Or is it registartion is done for taxi?
Will post pictures shortly.
car has run 4.3K since may 14.
City milage around 10.5
Highway 13 .
planning to go to leh from next week

Ex showroom - 8.95lacs
Road tax 1.31lacs
insurance 30k
Others including AMC is 15k
Negotiated discount is 6k