• Ford Aspire

Votes: 21 25.3%
  • Tata Zest

Votes: 8 9.6%
  • Volkswagen Ameo

Votes: 4 4.8%

Tigor although a good car on its own,is not from this league. Just meeting the length doesn't suffice.Look at the engines, especially diesel.Moreover its way too pricey compared to its hatchback sibling.
How much is the price difference which is way too pricey as it is a bigger car than just boot add on.

Voted for Ford Aspire. Why ? It's a Ford. Also, I have seen them doing impressively on open roads. It lacks few critical features, but them Safety features compensate the lack of other features. This is a crucial segment for those upgrading from Hatch. We need the Aspires, Ameos and Amazes to sell lot more, to benefit Indian Customer.

PS: The last time I voted for Tata Zest / Tiago and put in few appreciative words, they didn't perform well. May be something is not clicking between me and Tata. So, this time I will not spoil the new Tata offering (Nope, I will not even mention the name).

By the way, Tigor might sell few until this comes!! I hate saying this but that the way it is.
The new Dzire seems like a fairly fresh car, I think its easily one of the more proportionate looking in the CS segment
Dzire is also based on the new Baleno platform, I think this is a welcome move and will give way to safer, fresher cars compared to the ageing Swift platform(not 2017 Swift, thats also Baleno platform based)
Interiors are a clear multiple steps up and so is the styling

Tigor engines are a letdown, Zest is the correct car to place in this category imho overall

The new Dzire seems like a fairly fresh car, I think its easily one of the more proportionate looking in the CS segment
Really?? Can't agree with you.
Its the most ugly and disproportionate looking car I have seen.
When I see this pic only one thing comes from my heart, 'YUCK!!'.

On road price diff is about 1.15 lakh, Not justified despite a marginal increase on wheelbase.
Please compare ex showroom for better understanding as there are different slabs for tax in different states and its not only wheel base which is better, below are the few differences which I can tell you now and much more are there if you check carefully

ACC (XZO)
Touch screen with 4 tweeters and 4 speakers
Bigger diamond cut Alloys n Wheels
Projector Headlamps
LED split tail lamps
Rear View Camera
Balancer Shaft in Petrol (most important)
Better Seats than Tiago (end to end)
Rear arm rest
Better Wheel base, Bigger Car in most aspects
And obviously the biggest boot in the segment

Please compare ex showroom for better understanding as there are different slabs for tax in different states and its not only wheel base which is better, below are the few differences which I can tell you now and much more are there if you check carefully

ACC (XZO)
Projector Headlamps
LED split tail lamps
Rear View Camera
Rear arm rest
Had TD it today.
Yes balance Shaft does makes a difference, but seats were identical to my Tiago, abide few changes like rear headrests. Rear armrest for me is useless.
Car overall size isn't big either, in person I didn't like the integration of boot.
Biggest boot is good but appeture is small enough.
Camera may come handy (I personally prefer ORVMs and IRVM)
Projector headlights, let's hope light throw is better (Hexa too is bad in headlight department, so not expecting much from Tigor).
15" Alloys only available in Petrol, that's bad
And better to use switches rather than laggy touchscreen.

I agree with him, the OTR difference between Tiago and Tigor is close to 1.5 lacs which is not worth IMHO.

I am yet to vote for any car,for me it would be between Aspire and Tigor.

Aspire is a very good car for what it offers at its price,but one serious downside is its lack of appeal both in exterior and interior.

Tigor is a nice car overall but I still think it should have been wider,little bit lower .Even though I have not personally experienced it from up close,I have heard quite a lot of people complaining about refinement level of TATA 3 pot engine.TATA should have worked more on its engines,what is the benefit of owning Jaguar if you can't built a decent 3 pot.For me TATA has failed on two front refinement and power ,you can compromise on one but failing on both front is not acceptable!TATA need more ethics,passion,vision and hard work. I would say it is overpriced by 20000-30000 easily.Still ,it is a strong contender because of the perceived quality ,design,features and those alloy on petrol.I am yet to see one in flesh,would vote only after that.

Having said all this,earlier I was okay with most of the cars.Then I started to observe cars in detail and that has totally changed my perception.Now ,I am against any pseudo sedan or suv .I would prefer a well designed hatchback if it has to be under 4m.Another car which looks promising under 4m is TATA Nexon,but then you will have to look at it as a big hatchback rather than a suv.

I know manufacturers make these cars because people among us favour them and buy them but still they can make a equally good looking and practical car within 4m dimension without going for the pseudo tag of sedan,suv and I am sure that car would sell on its merit .

At last few words for Zest,it has everything going for it, except design .Which will be taken care of with new zest,I am expecting big things based on the new design language of TATA.I believe once it will arrive it will be the king of this segment.

Really?? Can't agree with you.
Its the most ugly and disproportionate looking car I have seen.
When I see this pic only one thing comes from my heart, 'YUCK!!'.
As usual, you people never leave an opportunity
Forget it, wont bother typing
Say something about Tata Tigor looking odd from side and back and youll get triggered

ACC (XZO)
Projector Headlamps
LED split tail lamps
Rear View Camera
Rear arm rest
The problem is except for ACC and balancer shaft, rest I get in Tiago XZ variant. I do not see how it can justify 1 lakh premium over the the equivalent Tiago. We can agree that the Tigor customers are mostly for City dwellers and the car is intended for mostly city commute and rarely for highway runs. Under such a scenario why would someone buy Tigor over Tiago. I do not how a 400 litres boot is going to help in city, unless the owner makes multiple airport runs. Is Tata open to sell Tigor to commercial segment? I think for a city person, a 250 odd litre boot of Tiago would more than suffice. I can't any specific reason to pay a 1 lakh premium over Tiago. I am not even comparing with the other C1 cars. If I put them into the mix, with xcent and Dzire facelifts around the corner, I think Tata and Tigor has got a mountain to climb. My vote is for Zest.

Safety & Engine takes the most amount of weightage in my selection . Then comes suspension, ease of driving, build quality. I have not driven all of then but having read various comprehensive reviews, only contenders were Ameo & Aspire. Bit tough choice since Aspire got 6 airbags but I voted for Ameo for quality, engine, Dsg.

Had TD it today.
Yes balance Shaft does makes a difference, but seats were identical to my Tiago, abide few changes like rear headrests. Rear armrest for me is useless.
Car overall size isn't big either, in person I didn't like the integration of boot.
Biggest boot is good but appeture is small enough.
Camera may come handy (I personally prefer ORVMs and IRVM)
Projector headlights, let's hope light throw is better (Hexa too is bad in headlight department, so not expecting much from Tigor).
15" Alloys only available in Petrol, that's bad
And better to use switches rather than laggy touchscreen.

I agree with him, the OTR difference between Tiago and Tigor is close to 1.5 lacs which is not worth IMHO.
Changes are changes whether we use/like it or not. All this add on to pricing.

One more thing I want to mention that Tata need to make money. Tiago was never a profit making product for Tata thus we see it as huge difference

Regarding refignment of engine, I would say drive it now and you would notice the changes made(petrol).
Yes diesel should be priced bit lower however Petrol is good and priced perfectly

Changes are changes whether we use/like it or not. All this add on to pricing.

One more thing I want to mention that Tata need to make money. Tiago was never a profit making product for Tata thus we see it as huge difference

Regarding refignment of engine, I would say drive it now and you would notice the changes made(petrol).
Yes diesel should be priced bit lower however Petrol is good and priced perfectly
The price is problem with Tigor because the engines are inadequate for the car. Give me 1.3 Fiat in the same car, I will be first one to book the car(if I need) but 1.0 Ltr diesel is just too small