You could have avoided driving the car till your home when CEL came on as soon as you cranked ! You could have tried "switch on-wait-off -wait for 10 min-on again" there in the parking only.
Bhai I too didn't want to but Papa thay sath mein. So, he was getting tensed and told me to drive it back home and then see what can be done. I drove back home at speed of 30-40 km/h with flasher on.
Actually rat bites aren't possible since no wires etc looked damaged to me but yes I too agree with
@bhvm babu on the ghost issues and bad grounds.
@Suryaputhra, bro since the incident, it has been a week+ and nothing happened again. It seems a false alarm by the car.
Please observe more for 1-2 days and see. Also have a look at these queries too.
Was the rpm erratic when you switched on the car?
Though the CEL hasn't come back again since a week+ but
yes on the day of incident, for a good 3-4 minutes, the car was shaking, engine sound wasn't the same as the diesel engine sound and the RPM which remains around 800-900 was about 1300-1400 for the duration of 3-4 minutes.
Was the car serviced recently?
Was the engine bay cleaned/pressure washed recently?
No
To you all,
@bhvm @mayankdixit @Suryaputhra
As it's very cold in our side of the state, tell me something, how much time normally does the 'GLOW PLUG' sign takes to go off post first crank of morning?
Secondly, Mayank and BHVM, how long do the bulbs used by TML last? MY car's tail light bulb (brake wala) has fused again about a month ago. Last year that same bulb was changed after it fused. My earlier cars never had such small but pinching issues.
Though I'll also be posting pics later in the day, Please tell me, my car is nearing 22K and the Good Year Tires aren't holding up, from the present condition, my car may need a new set around 30-33K mark. Is it normal? I don't drive rash and neither any long drives or on hilly terrains and as much as possible, I try to avoid bad roads too.