T-Rex is Here - Mahindra Ssangyong Rexton RX6

Thread Starter #46
Hi, I also have Rexton, RX7. The car is good, performance is very good, up to 200 km/h easily. I don´t know where it is coming from either AT or some Sensor is giving wrong signal, after sometime of driving, the speed is not going beyond 120 km/h. but the paddle on the ground floor, just shortly before 4000 rpm, no shifting of the gearbox. Right now car is with the dealer, trying to replicate the failure. But it is not coming permanently. So lets see what is the outcome. Lot of failure codes are coming from the ECU.
I had been to Vadodara last week & had chance to drive on Mahatma Gandhi Express Highway (Ahmedabad-Vadodara), my car was mostly in 140-160 kmph @3100-3200 rpm (once touch 170 for few seconds also), but no speed restriction felt. I feel paddle can be still press more but I just felt not to stress my brain more & it was 2x2 lane with traffic. Crossed 90kms in less than 45 mins.

So, here is now the feedback, why my car was not able to come out of 120 km/h.
After 3 weeks in workshop and exhautive testing, the failure had been a faulty vacuum modulator.
Now tested it found okay. 200 km/h easily.

Thread Starter #48
So, here is now the feedback, why my car was not able to come out of 120 km/h.
After 3 weeks in workshop and exhautive testing, the failure had been a faulty vacuum modulator.
Now tested it found okay. 200 km/h easily.
I will remember that if similar complaint occurs in my vehicle.

Congrates & enjoy the beast. Have many safe miles to come.

Thread Starter #49
My experience with 3M Service center, Ahmedabad

Tempted by so many reviews of 3M services , was thinking about it for T-Rex since long. After many unsuccessful plans, yesterday been to Ahmedabad & got appointment with 3M franchise at Ahmedabad, now shifted to newer address. 20141005_160659.jpg

It had very warm welcome, ready to explain all packages, ready to allow presence & photos during session, snap of price list after little hesitation, through cleanliness & professionalism everywhere. He tried to convince me Total car package worth Rs. 20K, but I insisted for underbody anti rust treatment which came in 2 flavours, 2 years guarantee (100micron thickness, 4 visits in 2 years) & 5 years guarantee (300micron thickness, 10 visits in 5 years, any thinning or peeling of coat will be redone free). I opted for 5 year package. He also offered windows glass films, he said it is not legal, but going up to 70% transparency doesn't attract authorities to bother us, but I thought not to go for it before discussion with fellow TAI-gers.
20141005_165622.jpg

First thorough wash was given to underbody & under wheel arch, & then unusual things started. They said underbody treatment facility (pit/lift) is not available right now on showroom, & hence need to go to another garage. 3M guy drove us there (Me, driver, 3M guy & assistant). Now that place was approx. >15km (50min ) away. The place was quite mediocre & pit had plenty dirty water. 3M guy left driving seat & asked my driver to drive on the pit as it was quite tricky & risky (walls quite nearby, ramp wall just small to allow tyres ). Pit was so dirty, unhygienic & without light facility.
20141005_172431.jpg
20141005_180247.jpg
20141005_180325.jpg

Assistant made mixture "Body Schutz" & some thinner, remove footwear & got down to pit & started spray of undercoating. I asked assistant how he mix both components, what ratio, what volume. His reply made me speechless. He said, he had measurements in mind, so no need for external tools for exact measure to mix.
20141005_172240.jpg

When I asked 3M guy that underbody wash was given at showroom & now we drove more than 15kms, doesn't it require re-underbody wash, his reply during driving was "yes, we will do that at garage" & at garage was "no need for that" as that time assistant guy has already fired the spray gun.
20141005_181113.jpg
20141005_181130.jpg

After sometime, I asked what about part under spare tyre. The 3M guy asked me "is spare tyre below the trunk", as it was my responsibility to inform him before procedure. Immediately spare tyre was removed, alloy wheel was cleaned of underbody coat, tyre rubber was also sprayed at places, but he was little hesitant to use 3M cleaner on rubber part.

Rear part of underbody after spare tyre removal & before coating
20141005_181759.jpg

Rear part of underbody after spare tyre removal & after coating
20141005_182127.jpg

Thread Starter #50
As assistant said he completed & came out, I hold my breath, step down in pit & take few snaps, while I see some bare metal, so I asked assistant how come no coating on that? Assistant says most people don't go for coating those metal parts, some prefer to do that. He said "if you want I will do that". I replied do as per standard protocol. Do it if required. As 3M guy was not there, assistant obliged me "if you want I will do it", go to refill the undercoating solution & sprayed on some parts.
20141006_223952.JPG
20141006_224020.JPG
20141006_224203.JPG
20141006_224240.JPG
20141006_224306.JPG

After some time 3M guy came, I questioned him what is exact protocol. Every time owner will not be accompanying the car & even if he accompanies, how coating be done as per his demand. He reassured me he will personally see underbody & will complete the treatment. But he was reluctant to enter pit & now it was almost sunset. So he started flashlight from mobile & bend down to instruct assistant to apply coat here & there, & declared coating was complete. I too bend down & saw many bare metal under front part, so I asked him why it is so? He replied company do antirust treatment to all body chassis metal, to all crucial part & so coating is not required on those metal part, only those underbody part which are not coated by company, is coated by 3M. I was highly unsatisfied with the answer.
If critical parts are already treated by company, what is the need of 3M underbody antirust treatment!!!
20141006_224513.JPG
20141006_224544.JPG
20141006_224614.JPG
20141006_224631.JPG

Ultimately I was tired of that place, no benefit was seen arguing with 3M guy. So we drove back to showroom, where nice total body wash was given, RTO yellow strip marks on right headlight were removed, that little smoothen me. I had very high regards about 3M services after reading various reviews in forum, but I was disappointed & left showroom with sore mind. May be they will become more professional & more competent with time, & possibly that time I may think of going to them again for other services.

I know I am late to party but still congrats. I hope you won't fire a shoe at me now![;)]

I had been to Vadodara last week & had chance to drive on Mahatma Gandhi Express Highway (Ahmedabad-Vadodara), my car was mostly in 140-160 kmph @3100-3200 rpm (once touch 170 for few seconds also), but no speed restriction felt. I feel paddle can be still press more but I just felt not to stress my brain more & it was 2x2 lane with traffic. Crossed 90kms in less than 45 mins.
Just one question I have got:
IS your car a 4X2 version? IF yes, then wasn't anything scary while doing 160 kph?
Actually I have driven on the same expressway for a month(Poor Indica of my prof) during my stay in Anand and personally I found that expressway not worth doing 160 or above speeds(I know Indica can't do those speeds).

Having experienced Rexton thrice(Twice in TD and once of some jugaad 'netaji' at my place) I am never convinced that this car has got the handling thing.

What's your take on the ride and handling if you compare to the likes of Pajero or Fortuner?

Looking at that friendly garage of 3M guys, I can tell you that my Mr. Sophie(chauffy) can give a better treatment to my cars and that also at home - a pure DIY it is.[glasses]

Thread Starter #52
I know I am late to party but still congrats. I hope you won't fire a shoe at me now![;)]
Don't worry. Best wishes are always welcome. Thanks dear.
Abhi toh party shuru hui hai.

Just one question I have got:
Is your car a 4X2 version? If yes, then wasn't anything scary while doing 160 kph?
Actually I have driven on the same expressway for a month (Poor Indica of my prof) during my stay in Anand and personally I found that expressway not worth doing 160 or above speeds (I know Indica can't do those speeds).

Having experienced Rexton thrice (Twice in TD and once of some jugaad 'netaji' at my place) I am never convinced that this car has got the handling thing.

What's your take on the ride and handling if you compare to the likes of Pajero or Fortuner?
My car - Rexton RX6 - is TOD (Torque On Demand), essentially 4x2 RWD, but can become 4x4 AWD automatically as & when required. It has 4L 4x4 too.

On that express highway, ride was absolutely rocking & confident. Minimum body roll & fantastic suspension. With AC & music on with subwoofer, only sight to speedometer make me realize I am overspeeding. I had overtake all different car & SUVs, & was overtaken by none [:)]. Car was glued to road at 160, braking with some slow traffic was also extreme confident, overtaking was just little press on accelerator pedal. At 165, there was still some power left in accelerator pedal but I was scary to press more. Actually I had intentionally chosen to drive on express highway to test power of the beast & actual road to Bhavnagar is Vadodara -> Borsad -> Tarapur chokdi was under construction to be 6 lane.

I had TD PS, vehicle is simply fine & can accommodate any terrain you throw at it, except lag is very predominant when slow down. Braking near speed breakers or pot holes require to engage in 1st gear & then move on. Never bothered to TD TF as I had Innova for 9 years. Rexton was initial choice of wife while we visited Mahindra showroom for XUV500 & as it had better & more features than both (except Japanese tag), & Mitsbishi ASS was 450KM away & Mahindra ASS was 10KM away, so ultimately win the choice & purchased.

Ohh god who is this 3m dealer ?
It looks like a complete novice job, he seemed to simply sprayed it all under - I suggest you send these pictures to 3m India and ask them if this is what they mean by under body rust protection.

He didn't even spare the differentials and propeller shaft joins it seems.

It looks like a complete novice job, he seemed to simply sprayed it all under - I suggest you send these pictures to 3m India and ask them if this is what they mean by under body rust protection.

I already wrote that my chauffy can give better treatment to my cars.

BTW sirji, here I got one more doubt:

I never got these jhol-jugaads done on any of my cars but I am yet to experience anything like the floor felling off in any of my cars due to rust. What you have to say about that?

Thread Starter #55

Thanks for the suggestion. I visited here 3M Contact & lodged my dissatisfaction.

hi max_demon, can you elaborate the above. Take test drive of both and decide.
Looks like someone stole my words.
Rexton or Paj may be good but the way 3.0 D-4D delivers is still fantastic. Paj handles well and Rexton feels tech laden, but I am still unable to find a reason for putting the T-Fort aside, and after having owned two Toyota cars(Innova for 92k kms and Corolla with 91) I am sold for Toyota.

@Dhoom9: Sorry for hijacking your thread buddy.[:)]

Thread Starter #59
Right now in South Africa on family tour. Found from SsangYong SA website that Mahindra is celebrating 10 years in SA, but very disappoint to see that I could not found single Mahindra vehicle on road or parking slots, as far as my eyes goes. Unfortunately not able to visit Mahindra cape town dealer inspite of previous email contact. I found lot many Audi, Merc, Toyoto even Fortuner, Jeep, Hyundai, Renault Duster & others, Ford Ecosport & others, Honda etc.[confused][confused]

Somebody from SA may clarify the details.

I found lot many Audi, Merc, Toyoto even Fortuner, Jeep, Hyundai, Renault Duster & others, Ford Ecosport & others, Honda etc.

Somebody from SA may clarify the details.
Exactly the same in Middle east, including Kuwait.
If we take 10 vehicles, 4 of them from Toyota Brand. Two to three BMW or Merc. Less chance for Korean make. But, one can find TATA bus, and TATA mini vehicles.

Toyota Innova is popular in India, but not countable in any of the middle-east countries.