SsangYong (M&M) Rexton Launched at 17.67 Lakhs.

Just saw a pic of the third row and i was like "cmon Mahindra what were you thinking ?" - even the XUV third row is better than that. I would want to do a detailed validation of the seating comfort in this vehicle especially.

are you doing a detailed review of the rexton too?

Rexton RX5 launched. Manual for Rs 17.67 lakh (ex-Delhi) and 19.67 lakh for automatic

Mahindra SsangYong Rexton prices: RX5 (M/T)- Rs 17.67L, RX7 (A/T)- Rs 19.67L - Ex, showroom- Mumbai

Mahindra SsangYong Rexton launched, complete details here Mahindra SsangYong Rexton launched | News | Autocar India

hormazdsorabjee
Well the pricing seems to be good but will the customers put that much amount on an unknown manufacturer as said by THE XOVER and secondly i think people might put more and go for the base Fortuner in that case or even for the Endy as they are known products unlike the Rexton.

Many of them might go for the W8 AWD.

^^ we are hoping to hear from Mahindra on whether a test drive vehicle can be made available.
Looking forward to it as the review will be just GREAT as usual from our very own IRON ROCK[:)]

M&M has planned to produce 5,000 units a year. guess Mahindra is underestimating the market
It is good that they are not setting expectation high. they have set benchmark as 400 units per month. But I doubt that as well, With the pricing they have introduced. Pricing are very much similar to well established Ford Endy. and if the budget is stretched bit further, anyone can buy Pajero as well.

Pajero and Endy has a poor sales card, the only real competition is the big selling Fortuner and when you compare this product to Fortuner, Rexton is a good 2+L cheaper.

But still, while buying Rexton I will definitely look at other options within same price bracket, and that's where Endy and Pajero will come into picture.

But who knows, no one can predict the Indian customers. Rexton might be another hit form Mahindra. [lol]

While I understand your annoyance to Mahindra's naming convention and i am not averse to naming humour, i fail to understand why anyone(unless you are working for a shivering competitor) hopes a product to fail pre launch with no qualification whatsoever.
First, I would like to inform that we have booked 3 XUVs, of which 2 have already been delivered. Twisting my words out of context is misinterpretation. Please see that the above comment was made in the context that Rexton was launched on same day as that of Storme.....which shows some jealous attitude of M & M for sure.
And yes, we now live in one world, forget that mentality of Indian made or US made. Even home grown Maruti is now Jap.

And why this double standard buddy ?? When Storme thread is full of pessimists who declare storme as dud even before launch, it's OK. I post something against M & M or rather ping pong, and it becomes as I have committed some heinous crime. Double standards as usual. [anger]

I find your post distasteful to be perfectly honest and urge you to rethink. Dont misunderstand me but you do have the right to thrash the Rexton for the flaws it has, but lets put forward those facts vis-a-vis price at launch.

Just hoping a product would fail isn't a statement an automotive enthusiast would make, i am sorry to say that. Also just because something is Korean or Chinese or German doesnt make it inherently good or bad.
Hope above para clarifies this. And I am surprised that no such statement was issued by any MOD in Storme thread. Why ??

+100

even a "chinese" volvo has better safety standards when compared to their german segment competitors. and even then people calling them names for being "chinese" does make reading such posts leave a bitter taste.
Ah, I knew you must be there. Seems you didn't see the Volvo brake malfunction video on you tube. And it failed in company shown demo. [lol]
BTW, your beloved M & M via ping-pong is using obsolete tech from Merc, a German. Their other car, Chairman is based on E Class of my school days.
Ofcourse, there are people who will buy obsolete goods packed in new box.
[roll]

Dear S Class I can assure there are enough moderation activities in the Storme thread too, though that's complete OT here, 2 wrongs dont make it a right - i dont need to share that publicly to just to qualify another equivalent wrong. I havent been twisting any of your statements and you can really re read what you said and what I responded. There is really no question of double standards.

You have a right of view no dispute to that, but please do look at the crux of the matter and understand beyond the words. Thats all i have to say in this matter.[:)]

BTW, your beloved M & M via ping-pong is using obsolete tech from Merc, a German. Their other car, Chairman is based on E Class of my school days.
Ofcourse, there are people who will buy obsolete goods packed in new box.
[roll]
obsolete tech as in? be specific in your posts. there is no need to drag posts out of context which will eventually lead to flaming.

do you know how old the hilux platform is?

I came here to have a look at the Rexton's pricing and was really surprised. I was expecting a price of 20 Lacs ex showroom for the base model. 17 Lacs is a steal.

Now will I buy a SsangYong? Yes, if M&M can provide the right service backup for it.

I came here to have a look at the Rexton's pricing and was really surprised. I was expecting a price of 20 Lacs ex showroom for the base model. 17 Lacs is a steal.

Now will I buy a SsangYong? Yes, if M&M can provide the right service backup for it.
M & M price is always a steal ....I am sure if M & M had priced based model for 20L, you would have said, ah..good to see the price, I was expecting base model to cost about 25L. [lol]
BTW, in Rexton, the 3rd row passenger sits almost on floor, huge body roll even on regular corners & the looks are those of 90s.
Somehow I feel that XUV looks more premium than Rexton !
And yes, having some 9-10 badges on the car makes it look down-market.

MAHINDRA TO LAUNCH SSANGYONG REXTON W SUV IN 7 MORE INDIAN CITIES DURING NOVEMBER 2012

In line with its strategy of launching new products in a phased manner across the country, Mahindra &Mahindra will begin launching the Ssangyong Rexton W SUV across seven cities in India. Currently available for sale only in Delhi and Mumbai, by the end of November 2012, the Rexton will be available in 7 more cities: Hyderabad, Chennai, Bangalore, Pune, Ludhiana, Patiala and Chandigarh. This is the second phase of launch for the Rexton W SUV in India and in due course of time, expect this SUV to be available for ordering throughout India, in almost every Mahindra dealership.