Second Hand Sports Bike: Yamaha R1 vs Suzuki GSXR vs Hayabusa?

Re: Yamaha r1

check the bill of lading or DRI clearance certificate(incase of a grey market)

the bill of lading has a serious of documents if i remember correctly it should have 4 to 6 papers. details

1. where it was manfactured.
2. new or old bike
3. by whom it was imported
4. from which country it was shipped.
5. which port it landed.
6. checked by customs or not
7. it will have the forms or photocopies of the forms 23 to 29 that are needed for transfer of ownership
8.check engine and chasis number
9.grey market bikes will have mostly tampered speedo

when i was on the hunt for a used super bike, got a lot of grey market imports from chennai port.

now living with a grey market bike, it's okay unless you are caught or a accident happens. if you are caught, the bike will be auctioned saying that's not a legal one. if you wish to pay the auction amount you can get the bike back it's like paying twice the amount.

Now go through this important things no matter which bike you buy

it's not possible to judge just by idling the bike. for ex: honda sbk's are refined and kawaskai bikes aren't refined make a lot of sound

Some visible things to check:

check front fork and rear suspension this can be found while riding and cornering, if there is tank slapping there is something fishy about the front forks mostly it needs a replacement.

brake pads, disc rotors should have material left in them. do not test the bike in open roads, do it in crowded streets where the bike heats up. the problems become eminent when the engine heats up.most superbikes needed octane 98 petrol which is not easily available.

Having lived with a superbike, tyres make the most biggest hole in your pocket. the tyres last less than a 5000kms. replace the tyre if it has more than one or two punctures. go slow through potholes and speedbumps to avoid alloy bends.

wish you all the best for your purchase. do update what bike you bought.
What do you mean by caught? Like do you mean I won't be getting any registration certificate for the bike or something else? Another thing I wanted to ask is that a few weeks ago I saw a 2009 yamaha r1 in white and red colour on olx for 4.7lacs. Now I really liked the deal but it just seemed to be too good to be true. And today I saw a ninja zx14r 2008 model red colour up for a sale at 7.5 lacs I guess. So are both of these "grey imports" since they are going so cheap?? Thanks

If you caught you have two options pay 110%+5%(fine) of tax on bike value & they calculate the bike value not by us. Another option is they seize your bike & auction it with all Cleared documents. Yes that r1 & zx14 are seems to be grey import & don't have Clear document.

what manish12345 mentioned is the options. also you can twice the genunity of the bike say if the bike is 2010 model, you will see the year 2010 in fairing, if the year is different in the fairing, then there is something fishy

@Techlaller:
Why don't you try a Suzuki Bandit 1250S? It is a liter class motorcycle with way more manageable power delivery as compared to other wild cats. Bandit is a brilliant sports tourer too and can be had for 7 lac and that also for a clean motorcycle with 100% clean papers. Only the semi fared looks can be an issue but if you are okay with that then I don't find any other liter class motorcycle which is even closer to Bandit in terms of a compromise between everyday usability, cruising ability, touring ability and performance.

Since a couple of months back I was also contemplating to buy a Ninja 650 (even booked one) and then bought a car; sheer bad luck of mine but one thing for sure; Ninja 650 is one brilliant sports tourer which can be used even as an everyday motorcycle too.

I have personally ridden Bandit a couple of times and I really don't find anything to complain in the motorcycle except a bit of bulk that it carries.

You will get a registration certificate but of some other bike like an FZ16 or a pulsar etc. you wont have any kind of insurance riding that bike in case of a grey import.

Not only this, you will never show that RC to any SBK mechanic or A.S.S. guys. Why so? Because these people are the best friends of your customs officials and are quick when it comes to informing them of the same.

So basically one is driving a 100% illegal vehicle on the road and hence needs to keep away from any kind of activity which can get the police involved. Even if you meet with an accident; silently compromise and leave (if you are alive).

After all if this grey import stuff I think I'll be better off buying a ninja 650r. I like it but the only thing is that I'll have to buy an aftermarket exhaust for it. The reason I was planning to go for an r1 was because I just love the quad toce exhaust that's available for it (not in india though [cry])
But yes I'll be going for ninja. I even had the option of er6n but I don't like naked bikes so yes I think it's the ninja 650r then. Please suggest some good exhausts for ninja (If possible, sonething like the toce one I mentioned for the yamaha r1 [;)])

Normally a clean bike will have something called as Bill of Lading and the customs receipt (if I am not wrong). where it should be mentioned in what year the bike was imported and what was the customs you paid on it.

Grey import refers to bikes and cars which were imported in India as parts and were assembled here locally. It was done because for spare parts the cutom duty is around 30% where as for the entire motorcycle it is around 110%.

In 2009 the R1 used to cost around 12-13 lakhs on road so going by that and taking into account a 10% depreciation of rate every year theoretically you should be able to find a 09 R1 at around 6-7 lakhs. but as others have mentioned its unusable in India, exhorbitant maintenance.

regarding the sound, please have a look at the TNT 600i and the TNT 899. you will be blown away by the stock sound itself. and later on you can put in an aftermarket full exhaust system or a slip on to enhance it further if needed.

A typical 600 in India makes around 70-75 horse power which is more than enough to propel it to speeds north of 200kmph, with some other mods that power can be bumped up by almost 20-25%.
Hi there. So while looking for a good SBK I found an ad on olx for a 2012 cbr 600rr and when I contacted the guy he asked me to email him and then on further talking I found it very doubtful and felt that it might be a stolen one kr something like that. But the guy is promising to provide all the legal papers and is saying that he can even get the registration done (he has this company I guess for selling used sbk's). So I am attaching my conversation with him and could you guide me regarding what to do next.

Had forgotten to add another pic
mods please merge the two posts