Renovating My Hindustan Ambassador

Hi Ambyson,
So progress is bit faster i believe. So when are you coming to India to check this things. Once you are back, kindly intimate me, so that we will meet up with our cars.
But as you mentioned, 30000 is costlier. In our Garage, we have a body which is in completed mode and asking price was around 25000 without giving your body shell. Finally that owner itself started the restoration. It’s still in our garage only.

Hi AMbyson,
Today i had a word with the Tinker who made my dashboard. Actually your Mechanic told him to reserve a day for him to get your car. So My tinker didnt take anynew work for that day it seems (before some 2 or 3 months). But your Mechanic havent replied him about that he switched to some other person. [surprise]

Hi Ambylovers, i also felt the amount i paid for that body was too much, but as you know i am not personally looking after the progress of the work, and for everything i am relying on the workshop owner and my brother-in-law. My brother in law doesn't have much knowledge about vehicles and he also beleived whatever the workshop owner says.

As i told in my previous thread, the idea of changing the body was the big mistake i have done, that has really really put me in big loss.

The photos what is seen in the last post was taken in september 2012. i left my car in that workshop in November 2011, and the old body was purchased in Decmber 2011, so you can imagine the pace of the work. And for your info still my vehicle is not ready.

actually after that initial coating of the paint was done, the vehicle was parked to finish all the mechanical and electrical works. then the paint started bubbling out and the workshop owner said that we have to scrap all the old paint and paste and make it to bare metal condition and start from the begining again. that was like a real blow on my head. The amount of mental pressure which i went through was un explainabe. i have almost decided to dorp this project at that point of time.

But by that time some lakhs have been pumped in to this project as all the spare parts have been purchased at one shot and lying in that workshop. so, if i dorp this project, everything will go waste, then i decided whatever may be the loss, let me get my car in good shape.

so still waiting for it.....

i will post more pics in detail later.

Ambyson,
Really acceptable.. When we are not with the car, surely these kind of things happen. But dont worry. The outcome of the project will satisfy you.
Kindly call me once you are in Coimbatore. If time permits, we will meet.

As i mentioned in my previous post, the project is taking "U" turn.

decided to scrap the paint completely and bring the body to bare metal condition and re do the paint process with complete Dupont products right from the base.

After scraping the paints, then comes another bomb shell from the workshop owner saying, complete tinkering work has to be done as there are some dents and corrosion.

the amount qouted for tinkering was exorbitant, i was totaly trapped and got no options left. the body seems to be not that bad and still i was charged 25k for tinkering. agreed and the work started

some pics of tinkering works

Finally my tinker baghwan gave final finish to the body after lots of welding, hammering, tapping and filing.

and ofcourse after lots of begging he made his heart very big to finish the work.
He too his sweet six months time to complete the job.
adding some pics of final shape