To make it short, avoid this showroom like you would avoid AIDS and cancer.
Was at Delhi on 1.2.2013 to help my friend take delivery of his Duster RXZ (O) 110.
The showroom was a total mess. I have seen better slums. No wait, I have seen better cases of measels and third degree burns.
Delivery was promised at 1400h in the afternoon. When we reached there, the Duster was nowhere to be found. SA's (Manpreet Singh) reply "aa jaayega sir, jaayega kahan?" ("It will be here sir, where else could it go?")
After aimlessly wandering in the showroom for about an hour and pleading with multiple people if they had any clue of our Duster, the SA finally announces "sir bahar khada hai" ("sir, its standing outside").
My friend said YAHOO. I said Oh Yeah.
Went outside and saw our MEESRHA36c874556 (VIN) for the first time. Worthy contender for the dirtiest car in the world. And I havent even spoken about the state of the interiors yet.
The interiors were as if they've just hosted the final round of the rugby league. On a rainy day.
I tried to be cynical and said to the SA "Dont you think you should get it all wiped down with a er...duster?"
SA giggled but I still believe that he did not get the joke.
Lo and behold, he got the Duster parked adjacent to the showroom where a security guard picked up a pipe, connected it to a tap and started watering down the Duster (apparantly, there's no washing bay at the showroom - vehicles have to be taken to their workshop for washing). The security guard then opened the bonnet and started watering down the entire engine bay. The connectors, battery terminals, ECU......till I shouted "STOPPPPPPPPPP, FOR GOD'S SAKE STOPPPPPP!!!!!"
It was 6 p.m. by then but the SA still maintained that he can deliver a clean vehicle today itself with all accessories fitted.
So we decided to have a visual inspection of our Duster (MEESHRA Ji - what we decided to name it, blame it on the ViN).
There were scratches on the left edge of the front bumper, the rear bumper wasn't aligned properly, and there was a hole in the centre of the rear bumper. At this moment, we thought that instead of calling our Duster MEESHRA Ji, we would call it Polo - The car with a hole.
Asked many people about the hole (I was convinced that it was drilled to install a reversing camera and then the customer later on refused to take delivery so the camera was taken off, leaving the hole untouched). Got weird replies "It comes like this only", "RXZ (O) has a provision for reversing cam so the hole has to be there naa sir", "All RXZ (O)s being delivered since November have this hole" at which I said "my dear, but this is an October model, see the VIN". More sheepish grins.
The SA still maintained that he could deliver the vehicle today itself with all accessories fitted.
So we decided to take a test drive of our MEESHRA Ji/Polo/Dirtyer blah....
Happily, all was well with the test drive and everything functioned the way it should. This is a good, solid car.
After the test drive, we met a senoir sales manager (Mr. Rana) who made another great technical revelation to us "Remember, when you brake suddenly from 120/140 kmh ish speeds, the vehicle will veer to the left."
My friend: "Why?"
Mr. Rana: "All vehicles are like this only"
My friend looks at me. I shrug. WHATTODOSIR, we are like this only.
Mr Rana goes on: "When you take it to your hometown from here, you will be driving at 140 kmph because the roads are good. Then you will observe this left pulling phenomena when you brake"
Er, I thought a new vehicle (47 km on the odo) is to be run in before pushing it to 140 kmph. Nevertheless, by this time we were too angry, frustrated, and tired to go on.
"Please keep the vehicle ready tomorrow. What time do we come, SIR?"
Mr. Rana and Manpreet in unison: "2 baje tak" ("by 2 p.m.").
My Rs 10000 worth of air tickets went down the drain as I had to rush back on the same day - I had come specifically to help my friend take this delivery. I wished him all the best and flew back to my hometown.
Thankfully, he could take the delivery next day. At 7 p.m.
And what was the first thing he did after he got home with his Duster?
Yup, he cleaned it.
There is no God.
Was at Delhi on 1.2.2013 to help my friend take delivery of his Duster RXZ (O) 110.
The showroom was a total mess. I have seen better slums. No wait, I have seen better cases of measels and third degree burns.
Delivery was promised at 1400h in the afternoon. When we reached there, the Duster was nowhere to be found. SA's (Manpreet Singh) reply "aa jaayega sir, jaayega kahan?" ("It will be here sir, where else could it go?")
After aimlessly wandering in the showroom for about an hour and pleading with multiple people if they had any clue of our Duster, the SA finally announces "sir bahar khada hai" ("sir, its standing outside").
My friend said YAHOO. I said Oh Yeah.
Went outside and saw our MEESRHA36c874556 (VIN) for the first time. Worthy contender for the dirtiest car in the world. And I havent even spoken about the state of the interiors yet.
The interiors were as if they've just hosted the final round of the rugby league. On a rainy day.
I tried to be cynical and said to the SA "Dont you think you should get it all wiped down with a er...duster?"
SA giggled but I still believe that he did not get the joke.
Lo and behold, he got the Duster parked adjacent to the showroom where a security guard picked up a pipe, connected it to a tap and started watering down the Duster (apparantly, there's no washing bay at the showroom - vehicles have to be taken to their workshop for washing). The security guard then opened the bonnet and started watering down the entire engine bay. The connectors, battery terminals, ECU......till I shouted "STOPPPPPPPPPP, FOR GOD'S SAKE STOPPPPPP!!!!!"
It was 6 p.m. by then but the SA still maintained that he can deliver a clean vehicle today itself with all accessories fitted.
So we decided to have a visual inspection of our Duster (MEESHRA Ji - what we decided to name it, blame it on the ViN).
There were scratches on the left edge of the front bumper, the rear bumper wasn't aligned properly, and there was a hole in the centre of the rear bumper. At this moment, we thought that instead of calling our Duster MEESHRA Ji, we would call it Polo - The car with a hole.
Asked many people about the hole (I was convinced that it was drilled to install a reversing camera and then the customer later on refused to take delivery so the camera was taken off, leaving the hole untouched). Got weird replies "It comes like this only", "RXZ (O) has a provision for reversing cam so the hole has to be there naa sir", "All RXZ (O)s being delivered since November have this hole" at which I said "my dear, but this is an October model, see the VIN". More sheepish grins.
The SA still maintained that he could deliver the vehicle today itself with all accessories fitted.
So we decided to take a test drive of our MEESHRA Ji/Polo/Dirtyer blah....
Happily, all was well with the test drive and everything functioned the way it should. This is a good, solid car.
After the test drive, we met a senoir sales manager (Mr. Rana) who made another great technical revelation to us "Remember, when you brake suddenly from 120/140 kmh ish speeds, the vehicle will veer to the left."
My friend: "Why?"
Mr. Rana: "All vehicles are like this only"
My friend looks at me. I shrug. WHATTODOSIR, we are like this only.
Mr Rana goes on: "When you take it to your hometown from here, you will be driving at 140 kmph because the roads are good. Then you will observe this left pulling phenomena when you brake"
Er, I thought a new vehicle (47 km on the odo) is to be run in before pushing it to 140 kmph. Nevertheless, by this time we were too angry, frustrated, and tired to go on.
"Please keep the vehicle ready tomorrow. What time do we come, SIR?"
Mr. Rana and Manpreet in unison: "2 baje tak" ("by 2 p.m.").
My Rs 10000 worth of air tickets went down the drain as I had to rush back on the same day - I had come specifically to help my friend take this delivery. I wished him all the best and flew back to my hometown.
Thankfully, he could take the delivery next day. At 7 p.m.
And what was the first thing he did after he got home with his Duster?
Yup, he cleaned it.
There is no God.