• Tata Indica Vista

Votes: 35 50.7%
  • Maruti Suzuki Swift

Votes: 35 50.7%

I am Glad to see AMG back!!!

Having owned a Vista for exactly for one year I would say Indica vista is far better than swift in many things.

vista have much better brakes .

Vista is more spacious and comfy than any other car.

More tough build than swift. i have done a close analysis on vista and swift and i am sure chances of survival is little bit higher in vista or Tata car.

But end of the day the fact where vista gets beaten up against any other brand is unending niggles and issues which ASS guys takes it "eyes" wide open.

Some of the issues in tata cars are unknown to automotive technology

Thanks for the welcome, mate.
I missed this forum, which I would like to call my second home. [:)]

And as for your analysis, it is right to a point.

The Vista is a perfect old man's car.
Not very dynamic or sporty. Acres of space.
Decent Af.S.S. (though can be pretty horrible at some places)

The only places where the Swift scores over it is the image.
Tata's taxi brand image has come to haunt it a lot.
Also the niggling issues are not uncommon,.

My replies in bold
1] Comfort may not be the only factor but it surely is the most important factor,otherwise no point of having a car even auto ricks would do[:)]
2]My point about vista being more heavy +wider meant more safety was based on the fact that both these cars have passed european safety norms thus extra weight and extra internal width of vista will make sure that passengers are relatively more safe inside it. WHICH CENTURY I LIVE IN?Perhaps you better want to check your auto knowledge before questioning mine EXAMPLE: TATA ARIA 4X4 IS 200 KG HEAVIER THAN 4X2 AND IS EURO NCAP COMPATIBLE WHILE 4X2 ISN'T.SO EXTRA WEIGHT WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT DOES MATTER AS DOES INNER CABIN SPACE.
3]You wanna talk about looks NEW VISTA IS BETTER ANY DAY THAN THAT SQUINT EYED BUG SUZUKI SWIFT.
4]A lot more features like blue tooth, 60:40 split seats,bigger boot,engine immmobiliser and many more AND 40,000 RS CHEAPER.

Thread Starter #78
You wanna talk about looks NEW VISTA IS BETTER ANY DAY THAN THAT SQUINT EYED BUG SUZUKI SWIFT.
@The xover , that is too harsh to say.suzuki swift also does look great and "beauty is the eyes of beholder" am i right.

My only concern regarding suzuki since begining and till now is swift is totaly plagarised from mini cooper,(Ritz Front grill etc is cent percent Audi) . I mean how come they can steal a design so blatantly.

It is easier to earn something by stealing which is not at acceptable.

ha ha ha now I KNOW why swift is such an ugly car , suzuki have bashlessly tried to infuse japanese quirky designing into muscular and classy european design.HENCE I HAVE HEARD COMMENTS OF SO MANY PEOPLE ABOUT SWIFT THAT 'IT LOOKS LIKE A FROG [pig]' AND:agree:
By the way saw the pics of new vista on the other forum in SUNSHINE YELLOW colour, man it now, especially in that colour looks a scorcher, so new swift BEWARE

Day by day waiting period is increasing to get swift we can see so many people canceling booking and going for Visata or other cars. People want cars tobe delivred at festive time and Maruti is not able to deliver them.

Its 50 -50 now, I guess folks realizing the true value of Vista! some one go and vote vista let her go a step ahead....of Swift here on poll, which she is in reality!

Thread Starter #83
Its 50 -50 now, I guess folks realizing the true value of Vista! some one go and vote vista let her go a step ahead....of Swift here on poll, which she is in reality!
vista supposedly will win even if the poll is 30-70 against swift as swift being an old player with famous ASS. has to take major share of 95 percent to show that it have something in it else.
but surprisingly swift in real is not what generally is perceived or talked about.
but vista definitly is;i guess honest.

Voted for Vista.

All said and mentioned about features, IMO, four very important points which could be a deal maker or breaker are:

1. Waiting period - Almost infinite for Swift.
2. Rear Space - Vista is the segment leader.
3. On Road Price - Vista ABS model is close to VDI which does not have music system and ABS.
4. Cost of maintenance: IMO, TATA is cheaper here as well. I own Esteem, which is now discontinued, and believe me the cost of parts are much higher in comparison to running models.

Only one point where Swift has an edge:

A$$ - TATA after sales is at par with Maruti, if not better, though there are few on & off instances. IMHO, I think those are acceptable and such things happens with Maruti A$$ also (I own Esteem from last 6 years and have faced some off instances).

So, Vista is out and out winner.

Hi, i go with vista. but swift has usp of looks and after sales over it.
I don't agree with you completely, I am a tata customer for the past 5 yrs and TASS has been quite kind to me,listening all my feedback and always improving. [:)]
As far as looks is concerned SWIFT is kind of love me or hate me car while the new VISTA looks quite nice actually.
Swift has no advantage over Vista except our herd mentality ( mere neighbour ne khareda hai mai bhe kharedoonga) IMO [frustration]

Looks are always subjective, you will find people like swift like anything, people hate swift, but the I didn't find anyone who doesn't like Vista's looks, some may dislike its rear looks but overall looks are decent and no one hates it.

I see in this tread a lot of talk about how good MASSs are and how bad TASSs are.

I have driven Maruti cars for over a decade and have shifted to Tata Manza this Feb.

As far as the hype about ASS of Maruti and Tata, I would like to add my experience with both Maruti and Tata ASS.

Maruti ASS

My 1997 zen sprung a leak in the radiator and got it replaced in Bimal, whitefield, Bangalore. The next day I drove down to Chennai and after reaching Chennai while driving down Nungambakkam highroad I started getting strange metallic noise from the engine, lost power and saw the engine temperature gauge redlining. I stopped the car and made the mistake of offing the engine. Soon the whole lot of coolant just sprayed off under the car and caused a great scene. After the engine cooled of I filled up the radiator and the coolant tank with water and drove off. Later on when I took it to a service station to find out the cause, it was found that the inlet and outlet tubes to the coolant tank were interchanged. Luckily no damage to the engine.

I had cracked side rearview mirror in my 2004 zen and wanted to replace it at Service Masters in Chennai during a routine service. The service advisor told me that the whole assembly (internally adjustable type – and the mirror alone was not available) had to be replaced and that it would cost 1200 Rs. I told him to reconfirm and he came back and said that it was so. I told him not to replace it and go on with the service. When I went to collect the car, there was a delay. So I just walked around and found the spares store. I went there and casually asked the guy there if they have side rear view mirror for zen. He asked me if I wanted the full assembly or just the mirror. I was like shocked. I then called the service advisor to the spares stores and then he said he was sorry and fixed the mirror for 110 rs.

Again in Bimal, whitefield when I gave my zen for accident repairs to the hatch and rear bumper ( a tata sumo had banged into me) they replaced the bumper and did tinkering to the hatch (it was only a minor dent). They delivered the car late in the evening and everything looked fine. The next day in the morning when I looked closely I found a small bulge where they have done the tinkering. Took the car back to them escalated the issue to the workshop/bodyshop manager, then again, the same sorry sir, please leave the car and we will get it done again. This time they did a good job. But screwed up the hatch lock. The key just keeps turning loosely without any action. The driver side remote hatch open lever worked, so just left it at that.

At Samy’s MASS near Don Bosco, Egmore, Chennai. Wanted to rectify the screeching sound that came whenever I brake. The chief mechanic test drove the car with me and informed me that the front disc brake pads have to be replaced. I said ok, but I want to be there when while you repair my car. After a lot of arguing with and elderly person who was in charge of the place, I was allowed to be there. They changed both the front disc brake pads and took drive inside their workshop. The same screeching sound was there. After a dozen braking attempts with another mechanic standing near different wheels each time they found that it was the rear left wheel that was making the sound. They cleaned the drum with some emery sheet and that solved the problem. Now if I was not there they would have simply said that they changed the Front disc brake pads and charged me for that.

I have a few more stories about MASS like the one in Suraksha, Boomanahalli, when they replaced the dash for removing a dead rat, they forgot to connect the drainpipe from the AC cooling coil to the outlet. That resulted in flooding the passenger side when the AC was on.

Tata ASS

When I complained that the high beam was flashing lower than the low beam, they had no clue as to what to do. They told me that it was the design in Manza, there was no adjustment only for the high beam, upgrade to higher wattage bulb, etc. I send an email to Tata motors and within 2 days I was invited to the service station and the very same technicians who claimed that there were no adjustments for the high beam located the adjustment screws and raised the high beam. They even asked me to check it out for a week and if required come back for more adjustments.

Noise coming from the AC fresh air inlet damper – replaced in 2 hours

One of the switches in the driver side power window switch assembly not working – replaced in 1 hour.

My Conclusion

Maruti is no better than Tata in terms of quality of work done.

I also found the washing and cleaning of the cars of the same quality both in Maruti and Tata.

Maruti may have an advantage over Tata over better customer interaction and customer comfort/facility, like better lounge, coffee/tea, etc

In the end, it all depends on the relationship that you maintain with the service guys.