Hello friends
Well,one of my known persons had booked a Maruti Suzuki A-Star ZXi some days ago(I don't know how long it was),but yesterday when he got all his financial work etc etc done,he had contacted the dealership for the car(He had already paid 2.4 lacs to the dealership).
The dealer said yes the car is with us,you can come and check it out.
He asked me to accompany him for the PDI,but due to some urgent work I was unable to go,but gave him the PDI check list,the same which is here in this thread:-
PDI guide
So the guy reached the dealer and was told that the car has gone for washing.After about 15 minutes he called me up and said "Yaar,car is in front of me and looking simply perfect,the paperwork is being completed,now what should I do with the list you have provided".
I-Have a close and alert look and strictly follow the list,any long time it may take and also take your friend who has accompanied you and start inspecting the car,if you find anything wrong,then put a cross in the bracket in front else put a tick.
After about half hour came another call..
He(Quite disturbed):I am not bringing the car,the guys are saying that these are the problems with many new cars but the car has scratches,one small dent and the paint finishing is also not good,seems like a coat has been done at the place.
I:Have you received the car?I mean have you signed all the papers etc?
He:No,I haven't done it yet.
I:Any other faults you found?
He:Yaar,it looks like its a JUNE 2011 made car according to the way you explained me the VIN.
I:Okay,no problem.5-6 months is nothing,your warranty will be from today itself.Okay,rest all other boxes ticked right?
He:I have done the inspection for 35 minutes and now..let me count...there are 12 wrong marks.Also its odometer was showing exactly ZERO km reading.While the tyres look like they have covered hundreds of kms(THIS REALLY SHOCKED ME).
I:12 crosses for a brand new car PDI!!!
Leave the car,I'll myself inspect it tomorrow.Any problem,or I'll have to do it today only?
He:No,you can do it tomorrow or even next day,whenever you feel free,but I'll buy a car only if it passes this complete list.
One more call after 5 minutes..
He:Yaar,come to the dealer,they are saying that i'll have to take the car now,I have given them the DD and they are saying that the car is perfect,I am just getting panicked.As you said,I must look at the tyres,the serial number is not in order the last digits of serial number are 1,2,6,3 and the stepny(spare tyre)is also looking quite old,I mean it has some dust on it and its company is also different.
I WAS SHOCKED TO HEAR IT..
I:Leave the place,just leave,don't sign any documents.Just come home,get the DD cancelled before coming.
He:Okay,I'll get it done.
Well,now what I am thinking is,firstly I myself will do the PDI of the car again tomorrow(maybe they rectify many faults till then),but in case if the car fails in the PDI.Then what steps are to be taken?
Secondly,are there any chances of the car being tempered by the A.S.S. guys?Like we hear that they can change the spares etc with the owners who pay them money for that...are there any chances that this car was dented and repaired before.
And this zero km reading is something I have first seen/heard on any brand new car.
Well,one of my known persons had booked a Maruti Suzuki A-Star ZXi some days ago(I don't know how long it was),but yesterday when he got all his financial work etc etc done,he had contacted the dealership for the car(He had already paid 2.4 lacs to the dealership).
The dealer said yes the car is with us,you can come and check it out.
He asked me to accompany him for the PDI,but due to some urgent work I was unable to go,but gave him the PDI check list,the same which is here in this thread:-
PDI guide
So the guy reached the dealer and was told that the car has gone for washing.After about 15 minutes he called me up and said "Yaar,car is in front of me and looking simply perfect,the paperwork is being completed,now what should I do with the list you have provided".
I-Have a close and alert look and strictly follow the list,any long time it may take and also take your friend who has accompanied you and start inspecting the car,if you find anything wrong,then put a cross in the bracket in front else put a tick.
After about half hour came another call..
He(Quite disturbed):I am not bringing the car,the guys are saying that these are the problems with many new cars but the car has scratches,one small dent and the paint finishing is also not good,seems like a coat has been done at the place.
I:Have you received the car?I mean have you signed all the papers etc?
He:No,I haven't done it yet.
I:Any other faults you found?
He:Yaar,it looks like its a JUNE 2011 made car according to the way you explained me the VIN.
I:Okay,no problem.5-6 months is nothing,your warranty will be from today itself.Okay,rest all other boxes ticked right?
He:I have done the inspection for 35 minutes and now..let me count...there are 12 wrong marks.Also its odometer was showing exactly ZERO km reading.While the tyres look like they have covered hundreds of kms(THIS REALLY SHOCKED ME).
I:12 crosses for a brand new car PDI!!!
Leave the car,I'll myself inspect it tomorrow.Any problem,or I'll have to do it today only?
He:No,you can do it tomorrow or even next day,whenever you feel free,but I'll buy a car only if it passes this complete list.
One more call after 5 minutes..
He:Yaar,come to the dealer,they are saying that i'll have to take the car now,I have given them the DD and they are saying that the car is perfect,I am just getting panicked.As you said,I must look at the tyres,the serial number is not in order the last digits of serial number are 1,2,6,3 and the stepny(spare tyre)is also looking quite old,I mean it has some dust on it and its company is also different.
I WAS SHOCKED TO HEAR IT..
I:Leave the place,just leave,don't sign any documents.Just come home,get the DD cancelled before coming.
He:Okay,I'll get it done.
Well,now what I am thinking is,firstly I myself will do the PDI of the car again tomorrow(maybe they rectify many faults till then),but in case if the car fails in the PDI.Then what steps are to be taken?
Secondly,are there any chances of the car being tempered by the A.S.S. guys?Like we hear that they can change the spares etc with the owners who pay them money for that...are there any chances that this car was dented and repaired before.
And this zero km reading is something I have first seen/heard on any brand new car.