Neighbors Deliberately Parking in Front of My Gate

I think you missed the next line. " I agree some people don't do that "
So yeah, Not many Indians do that. But its a fact we cannot hide though.

Anyways, how is it that they damaged your car, if I may ask?
Was it out of jealousy (G-i10 is a great car), or to avenge an older fight or something?

And if it is "public street", HOW COME YOU ARE BLOCKING IT? Ask the neighbors, this.
Jealousy could be one of the reason, while I touched his ego. By scolding him on the public street.
Cause It was his relative's car he made them to park ( based on previous grudge ) in-front of our gate and keeping space at his parking/gate

I was on road to find out who's car is that for 30 minutes. I was crazy enough to blow up his car. But unfortunately, he came out that time and That day was not his day.

Later he couldn't do anything coz I sold my i10 that time and waited for grandi10 release and bought Grand i10 last December which is new one.

He started his play differently now. I have no proof but based on previous incidents it clearly shows he made it.

1. 2 Nails both are identical and same in size
2. no rust on the nails
3. both were back tires facing the gate/entrance.
4. only happens when I take the car out.
5. noticed within 40 - 1hour outside.

No proof and No use of installing the camera. He could do it by washing his car and can easily bend down and fix the nails.

And It is impossible to fix a camera that's pointing that place though.

Hey bud, how about this? Keep your things in front of the gate, such that will not block it, but nobody should be able to park there. Sorry for the pun, couldn't control it!
Doing that will completely pull me under problem though. Cause its a public route/road where buses go by. Even we have cops patrol in evening and afternoon.

I previously parked my old i10 in front of my gate to go out for a meeting. Unfortunately, A Bus scratched my driving side mirror and tip of front bumper.
So after that incident, I don't park mine outside.

BTW, deceased person living inside the premises? [lol]
lol sorry, I meant.. Diseased person who is suffering from some kind of illness.

Mobile can also act as a cctv camera. Keep it with camera switched on in recording mode inside your car.
In reality it is not possible though. The battery will go down drastically. Specially, The iphone. Its a joke when it comes to battery.
And you can't just record all the time. Who knows when he will do it again ?

I think you missed the next line. " I agree some people don't do that "
So yeah, Not many Indians do that. But its a fact we cannot hide though.

Jealousy could be one of the reason, while I touched his ego. By scolding him on the public street.
Cause It was his relative's car he made them to park ( based on previous grudge ) in-front of our gate and keeping space at his parking/gate

I was on road to find out who's car is that for 30 minutes. I was crazy enough to blow up his car. But unfortunately, he came out that time and That day was not his day.

Later he couldn't do anything coz I sold my i10 that time and waited for grandi10 release and bought Grand i10 last December which is new one.

He started his play differently now. I have no proof but based on previous incidents it clearly shows he made it.

1. 2 Nails both are identical and same in size
2. no rust on the nails
3. both were back tires facing the gate/entrance.
4. only happens when I take the car out.
5. noticed within 40 - 1hour outside.

No proof and No use of installing the camera. He could do it by washing his car and can easily bend down and fix the nails.
Well, some people cannot live without troubling enemies. Neighbor, as in the neighboring building [confused]? 'cause if he's blocking the apartment's entrance, all the residents are being inconvenienced. And if you live in an apartment, you would have a security guard (pay him 100-200 bucks to keep an eye on your car. Not necessarily stop the idiots, but at least to give a statement to the police in case you are offended again). Else, if you have a considerate neighbor, try changing the parking spot with him. I know everyone paid for it, but you could try.
Be safe.

Well, then it seems hard. Maybe you can make a scratch on the parked car and when asked, tell that you made that accidentally when taking the car out. That might shoo them again.

Since its a small apartment we don't have the need for that. And changing parking space is not an option. I have attached a picture to give you an idea of what I mean.
Well let time & calmness solve it is what i would have suggested,but seeing this guy waited long for you to get your new car am sure he is jobless.
I suggest you look at the mentioned tire everyday when you leave.Spending 5 sec to see that tire can save you from this ordeal & also confirms your suspicion if you find a nail planted.
This is one of the reasons i dint plonk for a fancy apartment,and here in Bangalore they charge 6 lakhs for each allotted parking,so two car parking is 12 lakhs.
So saving up to buy a plot & make the whole ground floor as parking space.

Actually there is no security person such as watchman. Since its a small apartment we don't have the need for that. And changing parking space is not an option. I have attached a picture to give you an idea of what I mean.
Since both of your parking open to road, so what is the big fuss here ?

They have been allotted parking spaces, and the jerk blocks out Deceptron's parking, and both sides are blocked out by other vehicles. The blocking car also prevents the gate from opening, adding to problems. See the pic, please!

Re: Strange Habits of Car Lovers

I really hate:

• Ricers if you know what I mean
  • Guys who think their city car is a supercar and try to burn that much rubber, don't have a hint of petrol heads and wasting a lot of water washing the car
So, this chap who lives diagonally opposite to my house, asked my father about the Beat TCDi's mileage and bought one. BUT, he:

• Is an idiot
  • Doesn't bother to get his non-functional LHS tail light repaired
  • Wastes a lot of water (Just picks up the pipe and spends hours pouring water on the poor thing)
  • Drives like a maniac.

There's another guy who lives to the house 'right' beside me. He:

• Is an idiot
  • Has a Swift LXi
  • Comes driving with a new damage each day
  • Wastes a lot of water (Just picks up the pipe and spends hours pouring water on the poor thing)
  • Likes to grind gears like no other
  • Oh, and the starter too
  • Plays songs at a high volume
  • Likes to use the front of my house (a row house) to complete his turn to taunt us when our car in not parked there when he can very well do it in any other way (We have had several fights with these guys who somehow manage to live without brains)
  • Has a maniac dad who claims that OUR parking space is HIS (Tumchya baapachi jaaga aahe ka!? (Aap ke baap ki jagah hai kya!?)(Is this your father's space!?))
  • Uses his car as a shield to try and force us outta out parking space (Please refer to the second point before this one)
  • Oh and did I mention that all the car has to do is get out of the parking premises in the morning to let the two wheeled rides out and go inside in the night.

I apologize if this sounds a lot like a rant but was a try to compile things that cut me off near home [:)]

That's really funny man. I had a hearty laugh. Thanks.
You might feel weird and thinking that I made up this story, but it's true.
Yea you might think it is off topic but because it is related to my parking space me thinks it's relevant. Mods please decide.

Time: 0715
Scene: Neighbor's gate wide open, is uttering something strange. Anyways, I'm running late for school, so while brushing my teeth my father goes out to get my shoes. While the door's open, I hear this idiot saying "M<not suitable for the forum> saale! Baap ki jagah hai na!" and all that crap. I thought he's gonna die soon of heart attack, but then I realised that he is talking to my dad. So standing in the door, I see this guy saying all the crap again, this time more aggressively. WTF. It seems that the car went a little over 1 inch ahead of the common partition wall. And that 1 inch portion made the LXi owner really hard to reverse outta his house. Right! Anyways thankfully I was running late for school and my father didn't argue much, the wife and daughter-in-law shooed the old fool away and started to say:

Daughter-i-l
"Sir please, keep the car behind the common partition wall. <LXi Owner's name> can't see what's behind very well, both of the cars could have traded paint" etc.
We have kept a bunch of rocks and use it for reference up to where to drive. So...

Wife:
"We aren't that much of enemies. Please remove these rocks, they fall here and there. You can construct a concrete wall there if you like" etc.

Me:
"These 'rocks' are for OUR ref, we drive upto 'em and make sure it doesn't come into your 'forbidden land'. This time around we went ahead them, our mistake. STHU now."

Thankfully again my mother was in no mood to fight or else until I returned from school the fight would have continued :lol!:

To think he's a teacher, and the job is one of some of the most frustration-prone jobs yet he utters such words [sleep]

Earlier too, they said "If we bang you while reversing, WE ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE."

For 10 more days I gave them a you-come-closer-than-a-meter-radius-to-my-car-and-I'll-crush-you look whenever encountered. Still the old fool's wife talked on the phone leaning on my car. Shamelessness at its height. I mean, seriously, I've got some brake fluid in my backpack and if they do anything to the car, it is gonna be on their car roof overnight.

P.S. He already has torn one of the tires (I mean TORN completely, NOT punctured) sometime back. The tire guy confirmed this. 3000 Rs. for not letting them put their DTH cable through our rightful space! And this guy still thinks that the common wall is theirs. Right!

3000 Rs. for not letting them put their DTH cable through our rightful space! And this guy still thinks that the common wall is theirs. Right!
This appears to have gone out of hand dear. At the earliest inform the municipal authorities of your area to intervene and resolve. Uncalled unpleasantness does no good. Also, the tendencies quoted by you doesn't make that person look as a car-enthusiast.

... You might feel weird and thinking that I made up this story, but it's true ...
Yea you might think it is off topic but because it is related to my parking space me thinks it's relevant ...
Oops, you mistook me, Shridhar . The choice of words, the way you wrote, it is funny. That's what I meant. It brought some old memories.

I believe you. I spent considerable time in my life in Vivek Vihar, Delhi and Chander Nagar, Ghaziabad (both near Delhi-UP Border). I have seen and experienced what you are going thro'. During 2000-2002, I had a neighbour (we worked in same Co). We were friends and they had used our 2nd Bed-Room for their visiting relatives many times. There was no covered Car Parking. He had huge tree cover immediately in front of his house (from noon to evening) where his M800 used to be parked full day. In front of my house, it was scorching Sun from morning to evening. Yet, I had shade (from morning to noon) opposite to my house, across the road but it was not possible to park even a bike there, due to low branches.

One Saturday evening, I spent about 2 hours to clean THAT area of low branches so that Matiz could get some reprieve till noon. My Ngbr and his family were watching. I parked my Car for the night. Next day early morning I took the car and came back after some 2 hours around 8:30AM. Ngbr's M800 was neatly parked in the shaded space newly created by ME ! Without hesitation I parked Matiz, where M800 was normally parked, went inside my house and the fun started.

From my Living Room, we could hear the Ngbr couple moving to their lawn, to their car, to my car, moving on their porch restlessly and repeating all this. This activity became TOO MUCH after noon time, when M800 started getting fried up. I cancelled my regular Sunday lunch outing that day [evil] . Matiz did not leave the parked spot for next couple of days. The Ngbrs STOPPED talking to us and when he resigned, he did not inform me [sad].

What I did was due to impulse tit-for-tat reaction but I realised how much people get attached to their parking space. For many, it is smart to occupy someone else's space. When others do the same to them, it is chori. It happens on Indian roads daily, everywhere. People expect others to apply brake so that they need NOT apply brake. Funny.

Your writing brought ALL these in a nice manner; that experience is funny, if you are able to observe it as a 3rd person. But, a piece of advise. Consider settling the issue amicably and fast with your Ngbr.

I had a neighbour (we worked in same Co). We were friends and they had used our 2nd Bed-Room for their visiting relatives many times.

I cancelled my regular Sunday lunch outing that day. Matiz did not leave the parked spot for next couple of days.

The Ngbrs STOPPED talking to us and when he resigned, he did not inform me.

You lost a good friend. Most of us forget that - people are to be loved and things to be used. We do the other way.
I'm not justifying your friend. You are also at fault o an extent. Your impulse tit-for-tat triggered the break up of the friendship (though it might not have ben your intention).

...I cancelled my regular Sunday lunch outing that day. Matiz did not leave the parked spot for next couple of days.

... that experience is funny, if you are able to observe it as a 3rd person. But, a piece of advise. Consider settling the issue amicably and fast with your Ngbr.
This is good advice.

“We judge ourselves by our intentions and others by their behavior.” ― Stephen M.R. Covey

You lost a good friend. Most of us forget that - people are to be loved and things to be used. We do the other way.
I'm not justifying your friend. You are also at fault o an extent. Your impulse tit-for-tat triggered the break up of the friendship (though it might not have been your intention).
You are partly correct, but Sorry I beg to differ. Certain types of people need to be told to mend their ways. There are lot of teachings available in India :
Mahabharata: Treat others as you treat yourself.
Thirukural: Man should not inflict sufferings upon others, which he knows hurt himself.
Subramania Bharathi: Learn to be angry.

So I follow these:

• I shall not disturb others.
  • I shall not treat those with bad intentions with goodness.
  • I stay clear of trouble makers.
  • I am not born to get Conduct Certificate from every person. If someone doesn't care a certificate from ME, I don't need HIS.
  • I am not born to please everyone. NO bad things go from my side first. However, the way it comes, the way it goes.
PS: In the epic Mahabharata, Dhritarashtra loved his son Duryodhanaa lot. HAD he corrected his son much earlier, ALL of his children would have lived longer.