My Toyota Etios V Petrol - 2 Years of Ownership!

Completed 4 years with my Etios. Following are some updates in last 1 year.

1. Changed stock Tata battery with Amaron. Tata battery given life for 3.5 years. If I was using car regularly, could have extended for some more time.
2. Done the 4 year/40K service. For me it was 14K service [:)]. Thanks to Bangalore traffic. Not using car for last 3 years to office and no long drives in last 1 year due to some personal reasons.

Following is the expense sheet for the 40k service.

Labour Charges:
COMB: Each additional wheel - Adjst : 80
Wheel Balance : 400
Wheel Alignment : 479
Rear coil spring - One side - R&R : 638
40k Service : 1505
Others - Hood
- Engine Guard : 523

Part Charges:
Fluid Windshield Wash : 120
Brake Fluid : 305
Element Sub-Assy, AI : 229
Sleeve RR Coil Spring : 66
Wheel Balancing Sticker Weigh : 229
Gasket : 54
Filter oil : 257
Plug, Spark : 705
Engine oil : 939

Total Cost : 6527

Smiles package cost (40K to 50k) : 7050
After adjusting with smiles package
- New Total Cost : 1650

Total Payable : 8700

I don't have any issues with the car. The so called car "enthusiasts" who rated poor interior quality when it was launched, FYI, the interior looks same as what I saw 4 years before [:)].

Sharing some of the pics.

Nice pics. [clap]
The car still looks showroom ready [:)]
I have a few questions though.
Do you find the body to be very delicate(unsafe) ?
How much mileage are you getting ?
Do you find loss of pickup when AC is switched ON ?

Nice pics. [clap]
Do you find the body to be very delicate(unsafe) ? I don't feel so since the vehicle is bigger and you have lots of room around. But coming to the structural safety, I am not the right person to comment. It has a superb braking and ABS works like a charm.
How much mileage are you getting ? As you know, mileage depends on the usage style, roads etc. In city, I am getting around 12 - 14 km/lit and in highways around 17 - 19 km/lit. I always drive in 80 - 100 km/hr.
Do you find loss of pickup when AC is switched ON ? I have not driven other cars except 800. you wont feel that much like a lag.. but yes there is slight lag you could feel with AC on, especially in slow moving traffic in city. But AC is very powerful. And remember it is 1.5 lit engine.. which competition is not providing
Thanks Kishore. I have shared my thoughts inline in the quotes.

Fixed front armrest

I have fixed front armrest to our Etios at the cost of one cup holder [:)]

Bought it from Paytm. See the link below.

Speedwav Car Armrest

Price - Rs. 788/-
Minus Cash back - Rs. 197/-
Fixing Charges - Rs. 150/-

Total expense - Rs. 741/-

Right side view, back view(see we lost one cup holder), top view (see no issues with seat belt buckle), left side view, height adjuster setting, sliding towards front/back option.

Let me know if you need more pictures or details.

Re: Fixed front armrest

Dear Mr. Sajju,

Nice work. Could you please advice hows the armrest doing now? Can you move the seats front and back easily and is it comfortable to rest the hands? Does the grey colour match with interior grey colour of the car?
Thank you.

Re: Fixed front armrest

Dear Mr. Sajju,

Nice work. Could you please advice hows the armrest doing now? Can you move the seats front and back easily and is it comfortable to rest the hands? Does the grey colour match with interior grey colour of the car?
Thank you.
Dear EtiosmanKL10, It wont be strong like built-in. But you can rest your hand in long journeys and have storage as well.

Absolutely no issues in moving seat front and back.

My car interior is grey and my car seats as well.. Hence I bought grey color.

Let me know if you need more details.

Thank you Sajju for the update on Hand rest. I have May 2013 Etios V model and looking for armrest installation for the last few months. Checked the link you have given and found the item is out of stock. Will get it as and when it is available.

Completed 5 years and done 50 K service. Nowadays not taking car much due to Bangalore traffic. Daily commute to office is in bike hence I just crossed 15.7 k.

I have done a Ooty trip in April through the 36 hairpin bends and Etios flawlessly gone through it. It was a long weekend and traffic was hectic. Could see several vehicles failed to go through and stopped the way.. Thanks to Toyota and Etios. [clap]

No issues till now and most of the people who cribbed about the quality of the Etios has proven wrong. [:)]

Sharing few pictures..

Nice review Sajju. The reason your car still looks new is probably due to low kms driven & timely cleaning (may be you [ark only in Shade too). The only Toyota should probably do is to add a regular dashboard (speedo location) & slightly thick doors, it would have been a great car. The door panels are so light everywhere, they just go in & out with just fingers pressure.

Having said that all that, it still has a gem of an engine, toyota reliability, strong chassy and peace of mind. Taxi guy's always chose a road runner, Etios is definitely made for the long run. I have been in Etios cabs that have done 175000/ 200000kms etc and I was amazed the way those cabbies vouch for the car.

All the best! Munch more miles on it.

Nice review Sajju. The reason your car still looks new is probably due to low kms driven & timely cleaning (may be you [ark only in Shade too). The only Toyota should probably do is to add a regular dashboard (speedo location) & slightly thick doors, it would have been a great car. The door panels are so light everywhere, they just go in & out with just fingers pressure.
Thanks ss80. I wash myself [:)]. Not just the doors, the entire body is thin. But Etios is a safer car according to the NCAP crash test and rated 4 stars. I think very less cars run in India have passed the crash test. The central console is ok and we have other cars as well in India with center instrument console.. We drive left side steering in US!

Having said that all that, it still has a gem of an engine, toyota reliability, strong chassy and peace of mind. Taxi guy's always chose a road runner, Etios is definitely made for the long run. I have been in Etios cabs that have done 175000/ 200000kms etc and I was amazed the way those cabbies vouch for the car.
Even i have traveled in Etios cab with 2.7 lakhs kms in Bangalore. One of my friend was telling there is a Etios car in Kochi which crossed 3.5 lakhs kms!

Thanks ss80. I wash myself [:)]. Not just the doors, the entire body is thin. But Etios is a safer car according to the NCAP crash test and rated 4 stars. I think very less cars run in India have passed the crash test. The central console is ok and we have other cars as well in India with center instrument console.. We drive left side steering in US!

Even i have traveled in Etios cab with 2.7 lakhs kms in Bangalore. One of my friend was telling there is a Etios car in Kochi which crossed 3.5 lakhs kms!
Hi Sanju!!!

Congratulation man for completing 5 years of ownership and thanks a lot by being so very helpful is sharing your reviews year on year.

I have just purchased the new Etios liva limited edition petrol on 3rd July after a lot of research. Was fully convinced that this is the car which completely suits my small family of 4 and a half and myself. Half , because my daughter is just 2 years old[:)].

The only problem I am facing or I can say is making me a bit worried is the mileage. It has a 1209cc engine and it's not giving more then 12km/L even though I have been driving very cautiously.

Initially it was giving 8 to 9km/L. But, I made certain changes in my driving style as well as janhit, but the maximum I am getting is a bit less then 12km/L.

I have completed 1600km till date, in close to 1 months time.

The changes I made in my driving style is listed below.

1) I don't keep my AC on if the signal is red for more then 40 seconds.

2) Upshift the gear @ 2000rpm

3) Always , atleast 90% of the time park my car in shade.

4) No extra luggage. Anyways 90% of the time I drive with a maximum of 1 or 2 occupant, other then me.

5) Get air pressure checked every week. 32psi front and 29psi back tyre.

6) I don't drive with my foot on clutch.

7) I drive very sedately, never accelerate suddenly or brake suddenly atleast 90% of the time.

8) Already got my 1st servicing done after completing 1000km, which by the way I completed within 15 days of my purchase.

9) I try not to drive all the time with AC on. Have not driven my car on highway yet. The mileage I am getting is 100% city driving with u can say 50% of the time bumper to bumper traffic.

Any suggestion towards improving the mileage would be appreciated. And if u guys feel that the mileage I am getting is ok then also kindly let me know.

The only problem I am facing or I can say is making me a bit worried is the mileage. It has a 1209cc engine and it's not giving more then 12km/L even though I have been driving very cautiously.

Initially it was giving 8 to 9km/L. But, I made certain changes in my driving style as well as janhit, but the maximum I am getting is a bit less then 12km/L.
Congrats on your new Etios! Drive safe and wishing you a wonderful travel experience in Etios. If you are not looking for a posh interior, Etios is the best choice with loads of space and smooth ride.

Coming to the mileage, i hope you have done the tank full method to arrive at the figure. Mileage will depends on the petrol from where you fill as well. Not just the driving style. I use Shell and getting around 14 km in city and 18 to 19 in long highway drive. You can wait for few more months.. If it is not increasing, check with your service adviser as well.

Congrats on your new Etios! Drive safe and wishing you a wonderful travel experience in Etios. If you are not looking for a posh interior, Etios is the best choice with loads of space and smooth ride.

Coming to the mileage, i hope you have done the tank full method to arrive at the figure. Mileage will depends on the petrol from where you fill as well. Not just the driving style. I use Shell and getting around 14 km in city and 18 to 19 in long highway drive. You can wait for few more months.. If it is not increasing, check with your service adviser as well.
Thanks for your advice sanju!!!!!

Appreciate it !!!!!

I was a bit worried as I can see that u r getting around 14kmpl with a 1500cc and mine is 1200cc only. So, I thought if not more then 14 then I should be getting atleast the mileage close to yours.

Will be out on my trip to Ranchi on 14th of this month and will be back on 16th. The route from patna to ranchi is decent and will cover around 700 to 750km up and down.

Hopefully , that will give a pretty clear picture regarding mileage I am getting.

Will share my experience post my trip.

Thanks for your advice sanju!!!!!

Appreciate it !!!!!

I was a bit worried as I can see that u r getting around 14kmpl with a 1500cc and mine is 1200cc only. So, I thought if not more then 14 then I should be getting atleast the mileage close to yours.

Will be out on my trip to Ranchi on 14th of this month and will be back on 16th. The route from patna to ranchi is decent and will cover around 700 to 750km up and down.

Hopefully , that will give a pretty clear picture regarding mileage I am getting.

Will share my experience post my trip.
You shouldn't be worried about the mileage that you are getting from your Liva 1.2P. Usually petrol cars don't give more than what you have already mentioned. Even my celerio AMT does not give more than 12kmpl in traffic. And celerio is a 998cc with tin can like built quality and Etios Liva is a much heavier car.

The reason Etios gives more mileage than Liva is due to a bigger engine. Yes, you heard me right. That 1500cc engine is more than adequate and if you look at the power to weight ratio, the engine need not work more to pull that car. It pulls it effortlessly. But 1.2 engine in your Liva has to rev a bit more to give the same push.

And the best part is, toyota retains its FE figures throughout its lifetime. Looking at the Innova Diesels that still manage to give 10kmpl even in 8th year of ownership is amazing. And owning a Toyota, you will only spend peanuts in maintaining your car. And you really need not do anything extra to get more mileage out of your car. Just enjoy your car. Maintain engine oil levels and coolant levels, that's it. Buy a genuine Toyota coolant from your dealer and top it up when required when engine is cool, especially in summer season and replace engine oil,coolant and lubricants as per service schedule and you will get the maximum mileage out of your car. Cleaning injectors and spark plugs, replacing air filters as per schedule and maintaining battery water will also help.

Honda Jazz gives marginally more mileage due to ivtec technology where one of the cylinders gets deactivated when driven sedately. So it gives slightly more mileage, but you must also remember that it's much more costlier than Liva. Corolla 1.8 VVT-I and upcoming Toyota Vios 1.5 VVT-I has the same cylinder deactivation technology.

Reliability wise Toyota is no.1 and so is Honda in petrols. If you want mind bending FE figures and bulletproof reliability, you should buy a Toyota Etios Diesel. But again it's based on your requirements. If you drive <= 10k kms in an year. It's not worth buying a Diesel as there is 1 lakh difference upfront in purchase price and maintenance of a diesel is slightly more. And looking at the upcoming BS-VI emission norms, buying diesels will become costlier and maintenance will also increase so one must buy the cars strictly based on their requirements.